yes, therapy helps!
The 4 types of bulimia and their characteristics

The 4 types of bulimia and their characteristics

October 28, 2020

Bulimia is one of the most well-known eating disorders, although some people confuse it with anorexia. Now, to understand well what is its nature It must be clarified that there are different types of bulimia , and not a homogenous diagnostic category.

Next we will see what these types of bulimia are and what their characteristics are. But first, let's start with the basics.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most common eating disorders"

What is bulimia?

Bulimia is a feeding disorder characterized by bingeing and purging phases of what has been eaten or compensatory behaviors. It is associated with a strong emotional discomfort, damage to health and a behavior dynamic based on impulsivity, since you lose control over what you do and sacrifice long-term projects simply because you live in a spiral of bingeing and purging, moments of anxiety and strong sadness associated with a low self-esteem.


Unlike anorexia, bulimia usually appears between 18 and 25 years of age and, moreover, is more typical of people who are impulsive and prone to addiction than of perfectionists and planners.

  • Related article: "5 differences between anorexia and bulimia"

Phases of this disorder

The phases of bulimia are the following:

1. Binge

Is the intake of a lot of food and drink to satisfy an impulse . In addition, normally the foods that are eaten have a high caloric load. Appears abruptly and under a feeling of loss of control, since, among other things, you try to eat as much food in the minimum time possible, filling your mouth and chewing little.


The frequency with which these episodes occur is very variable, and can go from once every several weeks to several times a day. This phase It is common in all types of bulimia .

2. The purge and compensatory rituals

After the binge appears a feeling of guilt and reactions aimed at preventing weight gain . Normally the purge is to induce vomiting by inserting the fingers in the mouth, but in certain cases it may be the use of laxatives. Compensatory behaviors, such as exercising a lot or trying to fasten, are also common.

It is believed that this "ritual" is a consequence of the cognitive dissonance generated by the conflict between ideas (I do not want to get fat but I have binge) and a history of contingencies that have reinforced this action.

3. Surveillance status

After these phases the person remains in a state of concern and vigilance , a stage associated with a feeling of discomfort. The state of vigilance helps to feed rumination and make recurrent thoughts appear more frequently.


On the other hand, this condition makes attention constantly return to the memory of the experiences linked to the disorder, with which everything that is done is conditioned by the way in which the person is positioned before this problem.

The types of bulimia

Once we have seen the main characteristics of the disorder, let's move on to types of bulimia. Are two: Purging bulimia and non-purging bulimia .

1. Purging or purging bulimia

This type of bulimia is characterized by being accompanied by a purging phase.

It usually takes place in private, but you do not plan too much and it also obeys an impulse . In this case, it is a desperate attempt to reverse what has been done and return to the situation before binge eating, although its effects are also harmful, because stomach acids damage the cells of the duct that leads to the mouth and wears out the tooth enamel.

Another behavior that characterizes purging bulimia is the fact of resorting to diuretics and laxatives , something that also has its associated risks and in any case does not prevent a good part of the calories ingested from entering the body.

2. Bulimia non-purging

In this type of bulimia after the binge there is no purge, but a compensatory behavior. Unlike the other method, here it is assumed that what has been eaten will be processed by the digestive system, and therefore do not resort to provoked vomiting nor diuretics or laxatives. However, actions are taken to compensate for this calorie intake, such as doing a lot of cardiovascular exercise or fasting for long periods.

The dangers related to non-nervous bulimia are, mainly, the possible cuts of digestion, the overuse of muscle groups or cardiovascular accidents, as well as the danger of fasting for too many hours (more than 24 hours can be harmful) and / or become dehydrated by attempts to drink little and not have water at hand.

According to the degree of obesity

Bulimia can also be classified into two types according to the profile of the people who suffer it .

3. Bulimia associated with obesity

In these cases, the person is overweight to a greater or lesser degree, and feels bad about it. Your identity is already linked to that physical appearance , and that makes their self-esteem very low.

4. Bulimia associated with variable weight

In this type of bulimia, the body weight of the patients goes up and down as if it were a yo-yo . This means that many of these people can continue believing that they do not have a problem that should be treated by professionals because, although they feel bad, their true identity is that of their version with less weight.

The fact of being frequently with low volume and less fat makes them believe that this is "their essence" and that they will return to it at any time without therapeutic help. It is one of the types of bulimia most reluctant to cause a visit to a doctor or psychologist.

  • Related article: "Psychology and Nutrition: the importance of emotional feeding"

Bulimia and Binge Eating in Teens: What We Know and What To Do (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 types de boulimie et leurs caractéristiques

Les 4 types de boulimie et leurs caractéristiques

Juillet 9, 2020

La boulimie est l'un des troubles de l'alimentation les plus connus, bien que certaines personnes le confondent avec l'anorexie. Maintenant, pour bien comprendre quelle est sa nature Il faut préciser qu'il existe différents types de boulimie , et pas une catégorie de diagnostic homogène.

Nous verrons ensuite quels sont ces types de boulimie et quelles sont leurs caractéristiques. Mais commençons par les bases.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que la boulimie?

La boulimie est un trouble de l'alimentation caractérisé par des phases de boulimie et de purge de ce qui a été mangé ou par des comportements compensatoires. Il est associé à un fort inconfort émotionnel et à des problèmes de santé. et une dynamique comportementale basée sur l'impulsivité, puisque vous perdez le contrôle de ce que vous faites et sacrifiez des projets à long terme simplement parce que vous vivez dans une spirale de frénésie et de purge, de moments d'anxiété et de forte tristesse associés à une faible estime de soi.


Contrairement à l'anorexie, la boulimie apparaît généralement entre 18 et 25 ans et, de plus, elle est plus caractéristique des personnes impulsives et sujettes à la dépendance que des perfectionnistes et des planificateurs.

  • Article connexe: "5 différences entre l'anorexie et la boulimie"

Les phases de ce trouble

Les phases de la boulimie sont les suivantes:

1. Binge

C'est la consommation de beaucoup de nourriture et de boisson pour satisfaire une impulsion . De plus, les aliments consommés ont normalement une charge calorique élevée. Apparaît brusquement et avec une sensation de perte de contrôle, puisque vous essayez entre autres de manger le plus de nourriture possible en un minimum de temps, de vous remplir la bouche et de ne pas trop mastiquer.


La fréquence d'apparition de ces épisodes est très variable et peut aller d'une fois toutes les plusieurs semaines à plusieurs fois par jour. Cette phase Il est commun dans tous les types de boulimie .

2. Les rituels d'épuration et de compensation

Après la frénésie apparaît un sentiment de culpabilité et réactions visant à prévenir la prise de poids . Normalement, la purge doit provoquer des vomissements en insérant les doigts dans la bouche, mais dans certains cas, il peut s'agir de laxatifs. Les comportements compensatoires, tels que faire beaucoup d'exercice ou essayer de se lier, sont également courants.

On croit que ce "rituel" est une conséquence de la dissonance cognitive générée par le conflit entre les idées (je ne veux pas grossir, mais que je suis hyperphagie) et d’une histoire de contingences qui ont renforcé cette action.

3. Statut de surveillance

Après ces phases la personne reste préoccupé et vigilant , étape associée à une sensation de gêne. L'état de vigilance contribue à nourrir la rumination et à faire apparaître plus fréquemment des pensées récurrentes.


D'autre part, cette condition fait que l'attention revient constamment à la mémoire des expériences liées au désordre, avec lequel tout ce qui se fait est conditionné par la façon dont la personne est positionnée face à ce problème.

Les types de boulimie

Une fois que nous avons vu les principales caractéristiques du trouble, passons aux types de boulimie. Ils sont deux: Purger la boulimie et la boulimie non-purge .

1. Purger ou purger la boulimie

Ce type de boulimie est caractérisé par le fait qu’il est accompagné d’une phase de purge.

Il se déroule généralement en privé, mais vous ne planifiez pas trop et il obéit également à une impulsion . Dans ce cas, il s’agit d’une tentative désespérée d’inverser ce qui a été fait et de revenir à la situation avant une frénésie alimentaire, bien que ses effets soient également nocifs, car les acides gastriques endommagent les cellules du canal conduisant à la bouche et usent les émail des dents.

Un autre comportement qui caractérise la boulimie de purge est le recours aux diurétiques et aux laxatifs , ce qui présente également des risques et n'empêche en aucun cas une bonne partie des calories ingérées de pénétrer dans l'organisme.

2. Boulimie non purgée

Après ce type de boulimie, il n’ya pas de purge, mais un comportement compensatoire. Contrairement à l’autre méthode, on suppose ici que ce qui a été mangé sera traité par le système digestif, et donc ne pas avoir recours aux vomissements provoqués ni les diurétiques ni les laxatifs. Cependant, des mesures sont prises pour compenser cet apport calorique, telles que des exercices cardiovasculaires ou un jeûne prolongé.

Les dangers liés à la boulimie non nerveuse sont principalement les coupures possibles de la digestion, la surconsommation de groupes musculaires ou les accidents cardiovasculaires, ainsi que le danger de jeûner trop longtemps (plus de 24 heures peuvent être nocifs) et / ou se déshydrater en essayant de boire peu et de ne pas avoir de l'eau à portée de main.

Selon le degré d'obésité

La boulimie peut également être classée en deux types selon le profil des personnes qui en souffrent .

3. boulimie associée à l'obésité

Dans ces cas, la personne fait de l'embonpoint à un degré plus ou moins élevé et en éprouve de la peine. Votre identité est déjà liée à cet aspect physique , et cela rend leur estime de soi très faible.

4. Boulimie associée à un poids variable

Dans ce type de boulimie, le poids corporel des patients monte et descend comme s'il s'agissait d'un yo-yo . Cela signifie que beaucoup de ces personnes peuvent continuer à croire qu’elles n’ont pas de problème qui devrait être traité par des professionnels car, bien qu’elles se sentent mal, leur véritable identité est celle de leur version qui pèse moins lourd.

Le fait d’être fréquemment avec peu de volume et moins de graisse leur fait croire que c’est "leur essence" et qu’ils y reviendront à tout moment sans aide thérapeutique. C'est l'un des types de boulimie les plus réticents à rendre visite à un médecin ou à un psychologue.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie et nutrition: l'importance de l'alimentation émotionnelle"

Comprends ta personnalité avec la métaphore de l'arbre - Psykonnaissance #13 (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes