yes, therapy helps!
The 4 types of Contextual Therapy: what they are and what they are based on

The 4 types of Contextual Therapy: what they are and what they are based on

November 29, 2022

Throughout the history of psychology, therapies have evolved from a predominantly philosophical perspective to a much more empirical approach, thus developing behavioral therapies (first generation therapies) or cognitive-behavioral therapies (second generation).

However, this trend is going down; being the contextual therapies, or third generation therapies, increasingly common in clinical practice. The different types of contextual therapy are based on the philosophical current of Functional Contextualism, whose basis is based on the results of research in the laboratory; and has applications in any area of ​​human life.

  • Related article: "The 10 most effective types of psychological therapy"

What is Contextual Therapy?

As already pointed out, contextual therapies are called Functional Contextualism. From this perspective, the person and their behavior are studied within their context and not in isolation.


Further, these therapies give special importance to the patient's verbal behavior and the values ​​that it possesses . That is, what the patient says to himself and to others directly influences his behavior and daily functioning.

Types of Contextual Therapy

Despite not being the only, there are four models of contextual therapies that stand out from the others. But all with a common goal: to alleviate the patient's mitigation through the development of much more effective, extensive and elastic behavior patterns.

1. Mindfulness

Mindfulness has already been established as a reference therapy within contextual models. Although there is no specific word to refer to Mindfulness, the closest translation would be Full Mindfulness or Full Consciousness, among others.


Although as a rule, we think we have control of our attention and our thoughts, the reality is that we are constantly dealing with intrusive thoughts about the past or the future, or registering only a small part of what happens to us in the present .

This practice allows you to explore what is happening while it is happening . Accepting the experience as it is, whether it is positive or negative and accepting that it is part of our way through life. This avoids the suffering caused by trying to make that unpleasant disappear.

Although Mindfulness is linked to many aspects of a more traditional psychology, such as exposure and self-regulation, it offers a degree of innovation within its own technique:

Focus on the present moment

It is about the patient focusing his attention and feeling things as they happen, without exercising any kind of control over them. The benefit of this technique lies in the possibility of living a moment completely.


Radical acceptance

Unlike the usual procedure in psychology, the radical acceptance is that the patient focuses on their experiences without making any kind of assessment and accepting themselves as natural.

Choice of experiences

Although it may seem that mindfulness preaches to live personal experiences passively, this is not the case. People actively choose what goals and experiences of their life to be involved with.

Control

The acceptance of our experiences implies a renunciation of direct control of these . It seeks that the person experience their feelings and emotions as they happen. It is not about controlling the discomfort, fear, sadness, etc., but to experience them as such. This point is opposed to the traditional procedures of psychology that pursue the elimination of negative thoughts, or the control of anxiety.

These techniques allow the person to learn to relate directly to everything that is happening in their life in the present moment, becoming aware of their reality and consciously working the challenges that life poses, such as stress, pain, the disease, etc.

2. Dialectical Behavioral Therapy (TDC)

Dialectical behavioral therapy focuses on the learning of psychosocial skills . This combines several cognitive-behavioral techniques for emotional regulation with some of the typical concepts of contextual therapies, such as the acceptance and fullness of consciousness or tolerance to anguish and stressful events.

In the TDC, the professional accepts and validates the patient's feelings. But, at the same time, it makes him aware that some of these feelings he experiences are maladaptive. Next, the therapist signals to the patient alternative behaviors that will lead to more pleasant feelings.

It is a reference therapy in the treatment of borderline personality disorder (BPD), as well as in patients with symptoms and behaviors characteristic of mood disorders.

3. Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT)

Acceptance and commitment therapy is a type of intervention that uses acceptance, understood as the ability to attend to sensations, thoughts, feelings, etc., together with the commitment to carry out actions coherent with personal values.

The ACT is based on the theory that psychological problems are based on language , making inevitable the thoughts and sensations that can be lived as annoying. Through techniques such as metaphors, paradoxes and experimental exercises, the patient learns to connect with these thoughts or sensations, recontextualizing them and giving light to what really matters in his life. To do so, acquire the commitment with the necessary changes that must be carried out.

In addition, acceptance and commitment therapy is linked to strategies to improve psychological flexibility, that is, the ability of the person to be present and adapt to the situations that arise; thus avoiding the psychological suffering produced by constantly avoiding contact with negative thoughts, emotions or memories.

4. Functional analytic psychotherapy (FAP)

In addition to being considered a contextual or third generation therapy, it is also part of the movement called Clinical Behavior Analysis. What differentiates it from the other therapies of this wave is the use of the therapeutic relationship as a way to promote change in the patient's behavior.

This therapy uses what the patient does and says during the therapeutic session , or what are called clinically relevant behaviors. These behaviors include thoughts, perceptions, feelings, etc., which should be attempted to occur within the treatment session in order to work with them.

Another category is the improvements in behavior that occur during these sessions and that must be reinforced by the therapist. The objective of this type of therapy is to get the patient to perform interpretations of their own behavior and its causes from the analytical-functional perspective.

For this the therapist uses five strategies:

  • Identification of clinically significant behaviors that occur during therapy sessions
  • Construction of a contextual therapy that promotes the appearance of conflicting behaviors, to allow the positive development of the patient
  • Positive reinforcement of patient improvements
  • Detection of aspects of patient behavior that are reinforcing for this
  • Favored the development of skills and functional analysis of the relationship between their behaviors and other elements

Counseling and Psychotherapy Theories in Context and Practice Video (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 types de thérapie contextuelle: ce qu’ils sont et ce sur quoi ils sont basés

Les 4 types de thérapie contextuelle: ce qu’ils sont et ce sur quoi ils sont basés

Novembre 21, 2022

Au cours de l'histoire de la psychologie, les thérapies ont évolué d'une perspective principalement philosophique à une approche beaucoup plus empirique, développant ainsi des thérapies comportementales (thérapies de première génération) ou des thérapies cognitivo-comportementales (deuxième génération).

Cependant, cette tendance est en baisse; en tant que thérapies contextuelles, ou thérapies de troisième génération, de plus en plus courantes en pratique clinique. Les différents types de thérapie contextuelle sont basés sur le courant philosophique du contextualisme fonctionnel, dont la base est basée sur les résultats de recherches en laboratoire; et a des applications dans n'importe quel domaine de la vie humaine.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de thérapie psychologique les plus efficaces"

Qu'est-ce que la thérapie contextuelle?

Comme déjà indiqué, les thérapies contextuelles sont appelées contextualisme fonctionnel. Dans cette perspective, la personne et son comportement sont étudiés dans leur contexte et non de manière isolée.


En outre, ces thérapies accordent une importance particulière au comportement verbal du patient et aux valeurs qu'il possède . Autrement dit, ce que le patient dit à lui-même et aux autres influence directement son comportement et son fonctionnement quotidien.

Types de thérapie contextuelle

Bien que n'étant pas le seul, il existe quatre modèles de thérapies contextuelles qui se distinguent des autres. Mais tous avec un objectif commun: atténuer l'atténuation du patient par le développement de modèles de comportement beaucoup plus efficaces, extensifs et élastiques.

1. pleine conscience

La pleine conscience a déjà été établie en tant que thérapie de référence dans les modèles contextuels. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de mot spécifique pour faire référence à Mindfulness, la traduction la plus proche serait Full Mindfulness ou Full Consciousness, entre autres.


En règle générale, nous pensons que nous avons le contrôle de notre attention et de nos pensées, mais en réalité, nous sommes constamment confrontés à des pensées intrusives sur le passé ou le futur, ou en enregistrant seulement une petite partie de ce qui nous arrive au présent. .

Cette pratique vous permet d'explorer ce qui se passe pendant que cela se produit . Accepter l'expérience telle qu'elle est, qu'elle soit positive ou négative, et accepter qu'elle fait partie de notre chemin à travers la vie. Cela évite les souffrances causées par la tentative de faire disparaître ce désagréable.

Bien que la pleine conscience soit liée à de nombreux aspects d'une psychologie plus traditionnelle, telle que l'exposition et l'autorégulation, elle offre un degré d'innovation au sein de sa propre technique:

Focus sur le moment présent

Il s’agit du patient qui concentre son attention et ressent les choses au fur et à mesure, sans exercer aucun contrôle sur elles. L'avantage de cette technique réside dans la possibilité de vivre un moment complètement.


Acceptation radicale

Contrairement à la procédure habituelle en psychologie, l'acceptation radicale est que le patient se concentre sur ses expériences sans faire aucune sorte d'évaluation et de s'accepter comme naturel.

Choix d'expériences

Bien que l’attention prêche de vivre passivement des expériences personnelles, cela n’est pas le cas. Les gens choisissent activement les objectifs et les expériences de leur vie avec lesquels s’impliquer.

Contrôle

L’acceptation de nos expériences implique une renonciation au contrôle direct de ces . Il cherche à ce que la personne expérimente ses sentiments et ses émotions au fur et à mesure qu'elles se produisent. Il ne s'agit pas de contrôler le malaise, la peur, la tristesse, etc., mais de les ressentir comme tels. Ce point s'oppose aux procédures traditionnelles de la psychologie qui poursuivent l'élimination des pensées négatives ou le contrôle de l'anxiété.

Ces techniques permettent à la personne d'apprendre à se rapporter directement à tout ce qui se passe dans sa vie au moment présent, à prendre conscience de sa réalité et à travailler consciemment aux défis que la vie pose, tels que le stress, la douleur, la maladie, etc.

2. Thérapie comportementale dialectique (CDT)

La thérapie comportementale dialectique met l'accent sur l'apprentissage des compétences psychosociales . Cela combine plusieurs techniques cognitivo-comportementales pour la régulation émotionnelle avec certains des concepts typiques des thérapies contextuelles, tels que l'acceptation et la plénitude de la conscience ou la tolérance à l'angoisse et aux événements stressants.

Au CDT, le professionnel accepte et valide les sentiments du patient, tout en le sensibilisant au fait que certains de ses sentiments sont mal adaptés. Ensuite, le thérapeute signale au patient des comportements alternatifs conduisant à des sentiments plus agréables.

C'est un traitement de référence dans le traitement du trouble de la personnalité limite (DBP), ainsi que chez les patients présentant des symptômes et des comportements caractéristiques des troubles de l'humeur.

3. Thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement (ACT)

La thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement est un type d'intervention qui utilise l'acceptation, entendue comme la capacité d'assister à des sensations, des pensées, des sentiments, etc., ainsi que l'engagement de mener des actions cohérentes avec les valeurs personnelles.

L’ACT est basé sur la théorie selon laquelle les problèmes psychologiques sont basés sur le langage , rendant inévitables les pensées et les sensations qui peuvent être vécues comme agaçantes. À l'aide de techniques telles que métaphores, paradoxes et exercices expérimentaux, le patient apprend à se connecter à ces pensées ou sensations, à les recontextualiser et à éclairer ce qui compte vraiment dans sa vie. Pour ce faire, acquérez l'engagement avec les changements nécessaires qui doivent être effectués.

En outre, la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement est liée à des stratégies visant à améliorer la flexibilité psychologique, c'est-à-dire la capacité de la personne à être présente et à s'adapter aux situations qui se présentent. évitant ainsi la souffrance psychologique produite en évitant constamment le contact avec des pensées négatives, des émotions ou des souvenirs.

4. Psychothérapie analytique fonctionnelle (FAP)

En plus d'être considérée comme une thérapie contextuelle ou de troisième génération, elle fait également partie du mouvement appelé Analyse du comportement clinique. Ce qui la différencie des autres thérapies de cette vague est l'utilisation de la relation thérapeutique comme moyen de promouvoir un changement de comportement du patient.

Cette thérapie utilise ce que le patient fait et dit pendant la séance thérapeutique , ou ce qu'on appelle des comportements cliniquement pertinents. Ces comportements comprennent les pensées, les perceptions, les sentiments, etc., qui doivent être tentés pendant la séance de traitement afin de travailler avec eux.

Une autre catégorie concerne les améliorations comportementales qui se produisent au cours de ces sessions et qui doivent être renforcées par le thérapeute. L'objectif de ce type de thérapie est d'amener le patient à interpréter son propre comportement et ses causes du point de vue analytique et fonctionnel.

Pour cela, le thérapeute utilise cinq stratégies:

  • Identification des comportements cliniquement significatifs qui se produisent pendant les séances de thérapie
  • Construction d'une thérapie contextuelle qui favorise l'apparition de comportements contradictoires, pour permettre le développement positif du patient
  • Renforcement positif des améliorations du patient
  • Détection des aspects du comportement du patient qui renforcent pour cela
  • Favorisé le développement des compétences et l'analyse fonctionnelle de la relation entre leurs comportements et d'autres éléments

Formation "La recette des couples heureux" (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes