yes, therapy helps!
The 4 types of homophobia, and how to recognize them

The 4 types of homophobia, and how to recognize them

March 1, 2021

The existence of different types of homophobia It shows us that this type of discrimination based on sexual orientation is not something easy to isolate and detect according to stereotypical and repetitive behaviors, but it can be adapted to any context, however changing it may be. Times are evolving, and forms of homophobia, too.

However, this does not mean that we can not establish categories to better understand this kind of discrimination and the ways in which it is presented.

  • Related article: "How to stop being homophobic and accept the difference"

The main types of homophobia

Discrimination is capable of taking many different forms. This is so, among other things, because when you discriminate, you also try to do it in a way that fits well with the mental frames that establish what is politically correct and what is not. It may be possible in a certain social circle to criminalize a group because of its essence , for example, but in others it will be necessary to attribute this criminalization not to what these minorities are, but to what they are supposed to do, for example.


In the case of discrimination against homosexual persons, this translates into the existence of different types of homophobia

Types of homophobia according to their transmission medium

Considering the way in which homophobia is transmitted and perpetuated, we can find the following two categories.

Cultural homophobia

This type of discrimination towards homosexuals is based on unwritten laws that are transmitted from generation to generation through oral transmission and imitation of behaviors . Most expressions of homophobia have to do with this category.

Institutional homophobia

It is about the type of homophobia that has to do with formalized norms and present in the regulations of public and private organizations . For example, in laws that criminalize actions associated with homosexuality, or company bylaws that justify the dismissal of homosexual persons.


Also included in this category are samples of homophobia promoted by certain religious groups, even those that do not have a well-defined organization or do not have sacred texts, although in this case it would be a phenomenon halfway between cultural homophobia and the institutional

According to your degree of expression

The can also be divided according to the degree in which it is expressed or, on the contrary, it remains latent .

Cognitive homophobia

This type of homophobia refers to the beliefs that are part of the cognitive system of individual people and that show homosexuality as something negative, usually related to vague notions of what is "the unnatural" and the "degenerate" . Thus, it is based on stereotypes and associations between concepts linked to homosexuality that are at the same time associated with rejection or even disgust.


For example, the predisposition of some people to reject their children if they come to know that they are homosexual is a sign of cognitive homophobia.

Behavioral homophobia

This concept refers to the objective expressions of homophobia by parts of individuals who they do not hide behind any rule to discriminate against homosexuals because they are .

For example, those who organize demonstrations to take away rights from those who have a sexual orientation other than heterosexuality, who physically assault homosexuals because they are homosexual, who exclude people from believing they are homosexual ... the forms homophobia can adopt behavioral are virtually endless, as varied as human behavior.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Bullying for homophobia: its harmful effects on society and education"

Seemingly well-meaning discrimination

There are variants of behavioral homophobia that do not appear directly under a mental framework of confrontation, but of tolerance. In these cases, homosexuality is "tolerated" (implying that there is something in it that already causes discomfort), as long as it is not expressed in a very visible way.

In any case, in practice, it is assumed that people with a sexual orientation that does not belong to heterosexuality have fewer rights than heterosexuals, or that this lack of rights is justified under the need not to extend it to other members of the population (assuming once again that it is bad, since otherwise it would not be necessary to take measures to prevent it from spreading).


Conclusion: there is much to be questioned

Centuries of homophobia have left a cultural mark deeply rooted in our way of acting and thinking. Therefore, it is important to question whether certain behaviors and beliefs that we believed to be innocuous are not really a basis for homophobia.

Sometimes, discriminatory actions and attitudes go unnoticed because since our childhood we have learned to see them as something normal , and to see any questioning of these as a way out of tone or a ridiculous way of thinking. It is an intellectual neglect that is reflected in suffering and victims, because although we do not have to participate directly in the harassment of homosexuals, we participate in the perpetuation of a cultural framework that legitimizes those actions.



Russia: State of homophobia - #Observers (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 types d'homophobie et comment les reconnaître

Les 4 types d'homophobie et comment les reconnaître

Septembre 11, 2022

L'existence de différents types d'homophobie Cela nous montre que ce type de discrimination fondée sur l'orientation sexuelle n'est pas une chose facile à isoler et à détecter en fonction de comportements stéréotypés et répétitifs, mais qu'elle peut être adaptée à n'importe quel contexte, aussi changeant soit-il. Les temps évoluent et les formes d'homophobie aussi.

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que nous ne pouvons pas établir de catégories pour mieux comprendre ce type de discrimination et la manière dont elle est présentée.

  • Article connexe: "Comment arrêter d'être homophobe et accepter la différence"

Les principaux types d'homophobie

La discrimination peut prendre de nombreuses formes différentes. Cela est vrai, entre autres choses, parce que lorsque vous faites de la discrimination, vous essayez également de le faire d’une manière qui cadre bien avec les cadres mentaux qui établissent ce qui est politiquement correct et ce qui ne l’est pas. Il peut être possible dans un certain cercle social de criminaliser un groupe en raison de son essence par exemple, mais dans d'autres cas, il sera nécessaire d'attribuer cette criminalisation non pas à ce que sont ces minorités, mais à ce qu'elles sont censées faire, par exemple.


Dans le cas de discrimination à l'égard de personnes homosexuelles, cela se traduit par l'existence de différents types d'homophobie

Types d'homophobie en fonction de leur milieu de transmission

Considérant la manière dont l'homophobie est transmise et perpétuée, on peut trouver les deux catégories suivantes.

Homophobie culturelle

Ce type de discrimination envers les homosexuels est basé sur des lois non écrites qui sont transmises de génération en génération. par transmission orale et imitation de comportements . La plupart des expressions d'homophobie ont à voir avec cette catégorie.

Homophobie institutionnelle

Il s'agit du type d'homophobie lié aux normes formalisées et présent dans les réglementations de organismes publics et privés . Par exemple, dans les lois qui criminalisent les actes liés à l'homosexualité ou les règlements de la société qui justifient le renvoi de personnes homosexuelles.


Sont également inclus dans cette catégorie des échantillons d’homophobie promus par certains groupes religieux, même ceux qui n’ont pas d’organisation bien définie ou qui n’ont pas de textes sacrés, bien que dans ce cas ce serait un phénomène à mi-chemin entre l’homophobie culturelle et l'institutionnel

Selon votre degré d'expression

Le peut également être divisé en fonction de son degré d’expression ou, au contraire, il reste latent .

Homophobie cognitive

Ce type d'homophobie fait référence aux croyances qui font partie du système cognitif des individus et qui présentent l'homosexualité comme quelque chose de négatif, généralement lié à: notions vagues de ce qui est "le non naturel" et le "dégénéré" . Ainsi, il repose sur des stéréotypes et des associations entre des concepts liés à l'homosexualité qui sont à la fois associés à un rejet, voire à un dégoût.


Par exemple, la prédisposition de certaines personnes à rejeter leurs enfants si elles se rendent compte qu'elles sont homosexuelles est un signe d'homophobie cognitive.

Homophobie comportementale

Ce concept fait référence aux expressions objectives de l'homophobie par des parties d'individus qui ils ne se cachent derrière aucune règle discriminatoire envers les homosexuels parce qu'ils sont .

Par exemple, ceux qui organisent des manifestations pour priver de droits ceux qui ont une orientation sexuelle autre que l'hétérosexualité, qui agressent physiquement les homosexuels parce qu'ils sont homosexuels, qui empêchent les gens de se croire homosexuels ... les formes que l'homophobie peut adopter les comportements sont pratiquement infinis, aussi variés que le comportement humain.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "L'intimidation pour homophobie: ses effets néfastes sur la société et l'éducation"

Discrimination apparemment bien intentionnée

Il existe des variantes de l'homophobie comportementale qui n'apparaissent pas directement dans un cadre mental de confrontation, mais de tolérance. Dans ces cas, l'homosexualité est "tolérée" (ce qui implique qu'il y a déjà quelque chose qui cause déjà un malaise), tant qu'elle n'est pas exprimée de manière très visible.

Dans tous les cas, dans la pratique, on suppose que les personnes ayant une orientation sexuelle qui n'appartiennent pas à l'hétérosexualité ont moins de droits que les hétérosexuels, ou que cette absence de droits est justifiée sous la nécessité de ne pas l'étendre à d'autres membres de la population (en supposant une fois de plus qu’il est mauvais, sinon il ne serait pas nécessaire de prendre des mesures pour empêcher sa propagation).


Conclusion: il y a beaucoup à remettre en question

Des siècles d'homophobie ont laissé une marque culturelle profondément enracinée dans notre façon d'agir et de penser. Par conséquent, il est important de se demander si certains comportements et croyances que nous croyons inoffensifs ne constituent pas vraiment un fondement de l'homophobie.

Parfois, les actions et les attitudes discriminatoires passent inaperçues parce que depuis notre enfance, nous avons appris à les voir comme quelque chose de normal , et de voir leur remise en question comme un moyen de perdre le ton ou une façon de penser ridicule. C'est une négligence intellectuelle qui se traduit par des souffrances et des victimes, car même si nous n'avons pas à participer directement au harcèlement des homosexuels, nous participons à la perpétuation d'un cadre culturel qui légitime ces actions.



Les différents types de lesbienne (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes