yes, therapy helps!
The 4 types of self-esteem: do you value yourself?

The 4 types of self-esteem: do you value yourself?

July 27, 2022

There are different types of self-esteem depending on whether it is high or low and stable or unstable. Self-esteem is one of the most relevant factors for personal well-being and a key to relate to the environment that surrounds us in a positive way.

Since the different types of self-esteem have their peculiarities, in today's article we are going to review their characteristics.

Self-esteem and its relationship with well-being

Although the concept of self-esteem has been one of the most confused, questioned and analyzed Throughout the history of psychology, most experts indicate that it is an element that is found innate in each individual and that is exposed to multiple modifications throughout our lives.


Self-esteem evolves and develops due to the relationship with the world, and constantly changing since it is linked to the change of society. Different social and cultural contexts will correspond with different perceptions about what we consider to be healthy self-esteem.

The 4 types of self-esteem

As we have said, self-esteem needs to be nurtured, in varying degrees, from the outside. Although the bases are built during childhood, self-esteem is not unalterable in other stages of life.

It is important to emphasize that self-esteem is not the same as self-confidence. Self-confidence (also called self-efficacy) is related to the specific goals and objectives that we propose, while self-esteem refers to the global assessment what we do about ourselves


Since self-efficacy refers to the confidence in the ability of oneself for a specific task goal, someone may think that he is very good at practicing tennis, however he may have low self-esteem: he would like to be taller or have a better physique, on the contrary, he trusts in his ability to beat your rivals in a tennis court. Self-efficacy could positively affect the self-esteem of the individual if he considers it a priority in his life.

To know more about self-confidence, you can visit our article "Albert Bandura's self-efficacy: do you believe in yourself?".

Factors that explain good (or bad) self-esteem

It seems that there are 4 relevant factors that affect self-esteem, are the following:

  • The history of triumphs and the position achieved through the recognition that triumphs provide.
  • The areas associated with the different triumphs, always and when they are significant for the person.
  • The respect, acceptance and interest that the individual receives from the people he considers important in his life.
  • The control and defense against consequences and negative implications . That is, the internal or external attribution that the person makes of the negative events.

In his book Self-esteem and identity Narcissism and Social values, Luis Hornstein proposes 4 types of self-esteem. According to the author, the types of self-esteem vary because the assessment of oneself can be more or less high and more or less stable.


Below are the 4 types of self-esteem:

1. High and stable self-esteem

External circumstances and life events have little influence on self-esteem. People with this type of self-esteem they unfold in an open manner since they do not need to defend their image, they defend themselves. In addition, the person is able to defend their point of view without being destabilized.

2. High and unstable self-esteem

People with this type of self-esteem have a high self-esteem but are unable to keep it constant. Competitive contexts can have a destabilizing effect. Respond with critical attitude to failure , since these are perceived as threats. The individual will show conviction in defending his point of view, but will not accept other points of view and will tend to monopolize the word in a discussion.

The instability of self-esteem leads to placing self-esteem as a central concern and requires preserving it at any price and appealing to an aggressive attitude (to promote it) or a passive one (to protect it).

3. Low and stable self-esteem

In cases where there is a low and stable self-esteem, external events (whether favorable or not) do not alter the self-esteem of the subject, who does not strive to promote their personal image and is underestimated.

Individuals with this type of self-esteem They are undecided and have a great fear of being wrong . These people do not defend their points of view since the valuation of themselves is always negative, they believe that they are not up to par.

This type of self-esteem is very common in people with depressive tendencies , that because of their pessimistic mentality they do not usually perceive their personal achievements as such, assuming that they are the result of luck or chance.

4. Low and unstable self-esteem

People with this type of self-esteem are usually be sensitive and influenced by external events . As soon as they face a successful event, their self-esteem rises, but as soon as the euphoria of the moment ends, their level of self-esteem drops again.

That is, that this type of self-esteem is defined by its lack of solidity and the instability that it presents , which makes it highly sensitive to all types of events, however irrelevant they may seem from a rational point of view.

Certain classes of narcissistic people, for example, are characterized among other things by having a low self-esteem and very dependent on the opinion they perceive from others.

To know more about this kind of self-esteem, I recommend you read this article: "Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy"

Bonus: Inflated self-esteem

Other authors also speak of a type of self-esteem that is detrimental to well-being, inflated self-esteem . But what is inflated self-esteem?

The person with the inflated self-esteem is unable to listen to others , much less to accept or recognize an error. The perception of themselves is so inflated that they think they are better than the rest. When things get complicated, do not recognize the mistakes and then blame others. This type of attitude generates negative behaviors since they are not capable of self-criticism and correcting mistakes . In general, these individuals disparage others and adopt hostile behavior toward them.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 4 types d'estime de soi: vous valorisez-vous?

Les 4 types d'estime de soi: vous valorisez-vous?

Février 24, 2021

Il existe différents types d'estime de soi, selon qu'il est élevé ou faible et stable ou instable. L’estime de soi est l'un des facteurs les plus pertinents pour le bien-être personnel et une clé pour avoir une relation positive avec l’environnement qui nous entoure.

Puisque les différents types d’estime de soi ont leurs particularités, nous allons, dans l’article d’aujourd’hui, examiner leurs caractéristiques.

L'estime de soi et sa relation avec le bien-être

Bien que le concept d’estime de soi ait été l'un des plus confus, interrogé et analysé Au cours de l'histoire de la psychologie, la plupart des experts ont indiqué qu'il s'agissait d'un élément inhérent à chaque individu et exposé à de multiples modifications tout au long de notre vie.


L'estime de soi évolue et se développe en raison de la relation avec le monde et en constante évolution car elle est liée au changement de la société. Différents contextes sociaux et culturels correspondront à différentes perceptions de ce que nous considérons être une saine estime de soi.

Les 4 types d'estime de soi

Comme nous l'avons dit, l'estime de soi doit être entretenue à des degrés divers, de l'extérieur. Bien que les bases soient construites pendant l’enfance, l’estime de soi n’est pas inaltérable à d’autres étapes de la vie.

Il est important de souligner que l'estime de soi n'est pas la même chose que la confiance en soi. La confiance en soi (aussi appelée efficacité personnelle) est liée aux buts et objectifs spécifiques que nous proposons, alors que l’estime de soi se réfère à la évaluation globale ce que nous faisons à propos de nous-mêmes


Puisque l'efficacité personnelle se réfère à la confiance en la capacité On peut penser qu’il est très bon pour la pratique du tennis, mais qu’il a peut-être une faible estime de soi: il voudrait être plus grand ou avoir un meilleur physique, au contraire, il fait confiance à sa capacité de battre. vos rivaux sur un court de tennis. L'auto-efficacité peut affecter positivement l'estime de soi de l'individu s'il le considère comme une priorité dans sa vie.

Pour en savoir plus sur la confiance en soi, vous pouvez consulter notre article "Efficacité personnelle d'Albert Bandura: croyez-vous en vous-même?".

Facteurs expliquant la bonne (ou la mauvaise) estime de soi

Il semble que 4 facteurs pertinents affectant l'estime de soi sont les suivants:

  • Le histoire des triomphes et la position obtenue grâce à la reconnaissance des triomphes.
  • Les zones associées aux différents triomphes, toujours et quand ils sont importants pour la personne.
  • Le respect, acceptation et intérêt que l'individu reçoit des personnes qu'il considère importantes dans sa vie.
  • Le contrôle et défense contre les conséquences et les conséquences négatives . C'est-à-dire l'attribution interne ou externe que la personne fait des événements négatifs.

Dans son livre Estime de soi et identité Narcissisme et valeurs socialesLuis Hornstein propose 4 types d’estime de soi. Selon l'auteur, les types d'estime de soi varient parce que l'évaluation de soi peut être plus ou moins élevée et plus ou moins stable.


Voici 4 types d’estime de soi:

1. Estime de soi élevée et stable

Les circonstances extérieures et les événements de la vie ont peu d'influence sur l'estime de soi. Personnes ayant ce type d'estime de soi ils se déroulent de manière ouverte comme ils n'ont pas besoin de défendre leur image, ils se défendent. De plus, la personne est capable de défendre son point de vue sans être déstabilisée.

2. Estime de soi élevée et instable

Les personnes ayant ce type d'estime de soi ont une haute estime de soi mais ne peuvent pas le maintenir constant. Les contextes concurrentiels peuvent avoir un effet déstabilisateur. Répondre avec une attitude critique à l'échec , puisque ceux-ci sont perçus comme des menaces. L'individu fera preuve de conviction en défendant son point de vue, mais n'acceptera pas d'autres points de vue et aura tendance à monopoliser le mot dans une discussion.

L'instabilité de l'estime de soi conduit à placer l'estime de soi au centre des préoccupations et nécessite de la préserver à tout prix et de faire appel à une attitude agressive (la promouvoir) ou passive (la protéger).

3. Faible et stable estime de soi

Dans les cas où l'estime de soi est faible et stable, les événements extérieurs (favorables ou non) ne modifient pas l'estime de soi du sujet, qui ne cherche pas à promouvoir son image personnelle et qui est sous-estimé.

Les individus avec ce type d'estime de soi Ils sont indécis et ont une grande peur de se tromper . Ces personnes ne défendent pas leurs points de vue car la valorisation d’elles-mêmes est toujours négative, elles estiment ne pas être à la hauteur.

Ce type d’estime de soi est très fréquent chez les personnes ayant des tendances dépressives , qu’en raison de leur mentalité pessimiste, ils ne perçoivent généralement pas leurs réalisations personnelles comme telles, en supposant qu’elles soient le fruit du hasard ou de la chance.

4. Faible et instable estime de soi

Les personnes ayant ce type d’estime de soi sont généralement être sensible et influencé par des événements extérieurs . Dès qu'ils rencontrent un événement réussi, leur estime de soi augmente, mais dès que l'euphorie du moment prend fin, leur niveau d'estime de soi diminue à nouveau.

C’est-à-dire que ce type d’estime de soi se définit par son manque de solidité et l'instabilité qu'il présente , ce qui le rend très sensible à tous les types d’événements, même s’ils ne semblent pas pertinents du point de vue rationnel.

Certaines catégories de personnes narcissiques, par exemple, se caractérisent entre autres par une faible estime de soi et dépendent beaucoup de l'opinion qu'elles perçoivent des autres.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce type d'estime de soi, je vous recommande de lire cet article: "Faible estime de soi? Quand vous devenez votre pire ennemi"

Bonus: estime de soi gonflée

D’autres auteurs parlent également d’un type d’estime de soi préjudiciable au bien-être, estime de soi gonflée . Mais qu'est-ce que l'estime de soi gonflée?

La personne avec l'estime de soi gonflée est incapable d'écouter les autres , beaucoup moins pour accepter ou reconnaître une erreur. La perception d'eux-mêmes est tellement gonflée qu'ils se croient meilleurs que les autres. Lorsque les choses se compliquent, ne reconnaissez pas les erreurs et accusez les autres. Ce type d’attitude génère des comportements négatifs depuis ils ne sont pas capables d'autocritique et de corriger les erreurs . En général, ces individus dénigrent les autres et adoptent un comportement hostile à leur égard.


Comment attirer à soi le partenaire idéal en 4 étapes (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes