yes, therapy helps!
The 5 auditory areas of the brain

The 5 auditory areas of the brain

January 8, 2023

People are used to living with sound. The fact of hearing everything that we have around us is something that we have so internalized that we do not even stop to think how this information enters our ears and comes to be experienced by us.

In this article we will discuss the auditory areas of the brain , which, together with the auditory system, is responsible for collecting these signals sent by the auditory nerves and sending the information already processed to the rest of the nervous system.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What are the auditory areas of the brain?

The auditory pathways of our brain include both auditory pathways, which consist of bundles of fibers that carry information from the ear to the brain and vice versa, and the areas of the brain dedicated to hearing .


These brain areas are the brain stem together with the superior olive complex, the lemniscus and the colliculus; the thalamus and the primary auditory cortex.

In addition, it is necessary to point out the importance of the function of the auditory nerve. This nerve is essential for our hearing. Composed of more than 30,000 neurons, it is responsible, along with the auditory pathways, for transporting information to the brain by means of electrical impulses.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 parts of the ear and the sound reception process"

Function of the auditory pathways

Like the rest of sensory modalities, the auditory system is composed of a series of primary pathways and centers of the brain whose function is to process and transport auditory information.


In the case of the auditory pathways we find the primary auditory path whose sole purpose is to transport auditory information, and the non-primary pathway which also integrates other sensory modalities.

Primary auditory pathway

The primary auditory pathway is a short-lived neuronal circuit and with the ability to transport information very quickly, since it consists of thick myelinated fibers.

Its sole purpose is to transport the information that is collected by the cochlea, performing decoding and interpretation tasks in each of the levels. This information is transferred from one level to another until it reaches the auditory cortex.

However, before the information reaches the auditory cortex, the thalamus integrates the information and prepares to issue an answer or reaction to the auditory stimulus.


Non-primary route

After the first level, which integrates both auditory pathways as one, a part of this path known as a non-primary path deviates by joining the ascending reticular path, which integrates sensory information of all types.

The main function of this way is to gather several different sensory messages, but they are taking place at the same time, to select those that should be processed more urgently.

Parts of the brain stem involved in hearing

The brainstem is the structure through which almost all sensory pathways pass and its function is to communicate the spinal cord, the cerebellum and the brain. In it we can locate the nuclei corresponding to the auditory system in the brain . These are the following.

1. Cochlear nuclei

Cochlear nuclei are found on the surface of the brainstem , its main function being to examine the intensity of the sound, as well as the beginning, duration and end of it. In addition, they also provide information to the brain about the frequency of sound, that is, whether it is a bass or high-pitched sound.

2. Superior olive complex

One of the most complex systems of the auditory brain is the superior olive complex. Its dense neural network is designed to analyze and filter all acoustic information that goes to the cerebral cortex.

3. Lateral lemniscus and colliculus

The nucleus of the lateral lemniscus is involved in encoding the duration of the most complex sounds.

On the other hand, the colliculus is divided into the dorsal and external cortex and the central nucleus , which is composed of a large number of neurons.

The dorsal and external cortex is dedicated to examine the acoustic information and the recognition of complex sounds. While the central core analyzes the frequency of the sound and divides it into bass or treble.

The thalamus and the auditory cortex

Other areas of the brain involved in hearing are the thalamus and the auditory cortex. Let's see how they work.

Auditory thalamus

The auditory thalamus, also known as the Medial Geniculate Body (CGM) , receives fibers both from the dorsal and external cortex of the colliculus and from the central core of this.This part of the thalamus is divided into three specialized zones in a function. These zones are: the dorsal zone, the middle zone and the ventral zone.

Back area

The neurons of the dorsal area send projections to the secondary auditory cortex. These neurons have to respond to various different sensory stimuli.

Ventral zone

Your neurons travel to the primary auditory cortex and they also intervene in the analysis of sound frequency , maintaining the latency between communications.

Primary auditory cortex

In people, the auditory cortex covers 8% of the entire surface of the cerebral cortex .

This primary auditory cortex consists of more than twelve different auditory fields that they are located in the upper area of ​​the temporal lobe , where they extend by the angular turn towards Silvio's fissure; there they meet the transverse turns of Heschl.

This brain area can be divided into two differentiated regions by the organization of their neurons and by the functions of these. These areas are the following.

  • The AI ​​area is composed of neurons that determine the spatial representation of the stimulus .
  • The AII area is dedicated to locate sound in outer space, to examine complex sounds and is closely related to auditory memory.

Finally, the area surrounding these two areas is responsible for analyzing and integrating the auditory information with the other sensory information that the person perceives.


Auditory processing | Processing the Environment | MCAT | Khan Academy (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 zones auditives du cerveau

Les 5 zones auditives du cerveau

Juin 22, 2022

Les gens sont habitués à vivre avec le son. Le fait d'entendre tout ce que nous avons autour de nous est quelque chose que nous avons tellement intériorisé que nous ne nous arrêtons même pas de penser à la manière dont ces informations nous parviennent et deviennent vécues.

Dans cet article, nous allons discuter des zones auditives du cerveau qui, avec le système auditif, est responsable de la collecte des signaux envoyés par les nerfs auditifs et de la transmission des informations déjà traitées au reste du système nerveux.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quelles sont les zones auditives du cerveau?

Les voies auditives de notre cerveau comprennent les deux voies auditives, qui consistent en des faisceaux de fibres qui acheminent des informations de l'oreille au cerveau et inversement. les zones du cerveau dédiées à l'audition .


Ces zones du cerveau sont le tronc cérébral ainsi que le complexe oléicole supérieur, le lemniscus et le colliculus; le thalamus et le cortex auditif primaire.

De plus, il est nécessaire de souligner l’importance de la fonction du nerf auditif. Ce nerf est essentiel pour notre audition. Composé de plus de 30 000 neurones, il est responsable, avec les voies auditives, du transport des informations vers le cerveau au moyen d'impulsions électriques.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 10 parties de l'oreille et le processus de réception du son"

Fonction des voies auditives

Comme le reste des modalités sensorielles, le système auditif est composé d'une série de voies primaires et de centres du cerveau dont la fonction est de traiter et de transporter des informations auditives.


Dans le cas des voies auditives, nous trouvons la voie auditive principale dont le seul but est de transporter des informations auditives, et la voie non principale qui intègre également d'autres modalités sensorielles.

Voie auditive primaire

La voie auditive principale est un circuit neuronal de courte durée et avec la capacité de transporter des informations très rapidement, car il se compose de fibres myélinisées épaisses.

Son seul objectif est de transporter les informations recueillies par la cochlée, en effectuant des tâches de décodage et d'interprétation à chacun des niveaux. Cette information est transférée d'un niveau à l'autre jusqu'à atteindre le cortex auditif.

Cependant, avant que les informations atteignent le cortex auditif, le thalamus intègre l'information et se prépare à répondre ou réaction au stimulus auditif.


Route non principale

Après le premier niveau, qui regroupe les deux voies auditives, une partie de cette voie appelée voie non principale dévie en rejoignant la voie réticulaire ascendante, qui intègre des informations sensorielles de tous types.

La principale fonction de cette méthode est de rassembler plusieurs messages sensoriels différents, mais ils se déroulent simultanément, afin de sélectionner ceux qui doivent être traités de manière plus urgente.

Parties du tronc cérébral impliquées dans l'audition

Le tronc cérébral est la structure par laquelle passent presque toutes les voies sensorielles. Sa fonction est de communiquer la moelle épinière, le cervelet et le cerveau. Dans ce que nous pouvons localiser les noyaux correspondant au système auditif dans le cerveau . Ce sont les suivantes.

1. Noyaux cochléaires

Les noyaux cochléaires se trouvent à la surface du tronc cérébral , sa fonction principale étant d’examiner l’intensité du son, ainsi que son début, sa durée et sa fin. En outre, ils fournissent également au cerveau des informations sur la fréquence du son, qu’il s’agisse d’un son grave ou grave.

2. Complexe d'olives supérieur

L'un des systèmes les plus complexes du cerveau auditif est le complexe d'olives supérieur. Son réseau neuronal dense est conçu pour analyser et filtrer toutes les informations acoustiques cela va au cortex cérébral.

3. Lemniscus latéral et colliculus

Le noyau du lemniscus latéral participe à l’encodage de la durée des sons les plus complexes.

D'autre part, le collicule est divisé en cortex dorsal et externe et le noyau central , qui est composé d’un grand nombre de neurones.

Le cortex dorsal et externe est dédié à l'examen des informations acoustiques et à la reconnaissance des sons complexes. Tandis que le noyau central analyse la fréquence du son et le divise en graves ou en aigus.

Le thalamus et le cortex auditif

Le thalamus et le cortex auditif sont d'autres régions du cerveau impliquées dans l'audition. Voyons comment ils fonctionnent.

Thalamus auditif

Le thalamus auditif, également appelé corps géniculé médial (CGM) , reçoit les fibres du cortex dorsal et externe du collicule et du noyau central de celui-ci.Cette partie du thalamus est divisée en trois zones spécialisées dans une fonction. Ces zones sont: la zone dorsale, la zone médiane et la zone ventrale.

Zone arrière

Les neurones de la région dorsale envoient des projections au cortex auditif secondaire. Ces neurones doivent répondre à différents stimuli sensoriels.

Zone ventrale

Vos neurones se rendent dans le cortex auditif primaire et ils interviennent également dans l'analyse de la fréquence du son , en maintenant la latence entre les communications.

Cortex auditif primaire

Chez les gens, le cortex auditif couvre 8% de la surface totale du cortex cérébral .

Ce cortex auditif primaire comprend plus de douze champs auditifs différents qui ils sont situés dans la partie supérieure du lobe temporal , où ils s'étendent par le virage angulaire vers la fissure de Silvio; là, ils rencontrent les virages transversaux de Heschl.

Cette région du cerveau peut être divisée en deux régions différenciées par l'organisation de leurs neurones et par les fonctions de ceux-ci. Ces domaines sont les suivants.

  • La zone d'IA est composée de neurones qui déterminent la représentation spatiale du stimulus .
  • La zone AII est dédiée à localiser le son dans l'espace extra-atmosphérique pour examiner des sons complexes et est étroitement liée à la mémoire auditive.

Enfin, la zone entourant ces deux zones est chargée d’analyser et d’intégrer les informations auditives aux autres informations sensorielles perçues par la personne.


Régions fonctionnelles du cerveau (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes