yes, therapy helps!
The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism

The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism

July 19, 2024

In the study of personality psychology, the one known as Model of the Big Five (in English, "Big Five") it is a pattern in the study of the personality that examines the structure of the personality based on five broad elements or personality traits (personality dimensions).

Personality traits: the big five

These constituent elements were reported during a study on the descriptions made by individuals about the personality of others (Goldberg, 1993), and is one of the models on the most recognized human personality traits .


The five great personality traits, also called main factors , usually receive the following names: O factor (openness to new experiences), factor C (responsibility), factor E (extroversion), factor A (kindness) and factor N (neuroticism or emotional instability), thus forming the acronym "OCEAN ”.

Each of the traits is made up of a set of more specific personality traits. For example, the E (extroversion) factor includes specific qualities such as the search for emotions, sociability or optimism .


The model of the five big ones that he developed Raymond Cattell (in the photograph), it tries to describe the personality, and the professionals of the psychology have been contributing new evidences and approaches through the different different methodologies to analyze these personality traits of each individual.

The 5 personality factors

There is a certain agreement among personality experts in affirming that the personality can be categorized in these 5 big traits that were described in the theory of Big Five personality traits.

The definition of each of them is the following:

(Factor O): Opening to Experience

It shows to what degree a subject He tends to seek new personal experiences and conceives his future in a creative way . The person open to experience has a fluid relationship with his imagination, appreciates art and aesthetics, and is consistent with his emotions and those of those around him. They prefer to break with the routine and usually have knowledge about broad topics due to their intellectual curiosity. Its opposite is the Cerrazón to the Experience (or Change).


Individuals who score low have more conventional interests. They enjoy the simple rather than the complex, ambivalent and subtle. They tend to observe science or art as impractical disciplines. They prefer familiarity to the novel; They are moderate and attached to tradition.

(Factor C): Responsibility

It refers to how focused the subject is in its objectives , in addition to how disciplined it is shown to achieve these ends. We could say that the person with a high score in factor C is an organized individual, with a capacity for concentration, who completes his tasks and thinks before making a decision.

(Factor E): Extraversion

Defines the degree to which the subject he is open with others and channels his energy in social contexts . In other words, factor E examines how much a subject likes to be surrounded by other people, how much they like to express themselves in front of others, etc. Its opposite is the Introversion, which is characterized by reserved people, who are often labeled as unfriendly. They tend to be certainly independent, prefer the routine and family environment.

They prefer to be alone and do not like to be part of people's bustle, which does not mean they are less happy. Often they are as animated as the one in close friendship circles. They are more reflective than extroverts, and tend less to action.

(Factor A): Kindness

Is the degree to which the person is respectful, tolerant and calm . The kind person is one who trusts the honesty of other individuals, has a vocation to help and assist those who need it, is humble and simple, and is empathetic towards the emotions and feelings of others.

(Factor N): Emotional stability

Define to what degree a person faces without problems the complicated situations of life . Calm subjects, not very inclined to feel angry or angry, usually remain animated and manage their personal crises very well.

Within the personality traits, the N Factor is the one that we find with high score in the moderate and calm people.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cattell, R.B., (1947). Confirmation and clarification of primary personality factors. Psychometrika, 12, 197-220.

20 Minutes on UnderstandMyself.com (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et neuroticisme

Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et neuroticisme

Août 7, 2022

Dans l'étude de la psychologie de la personnalité, celle connue sous le nom de Modèle des cinq grands (en anglais, "Big Five") c'est un modèle dans l'étude de la personnalité qui examine la structure de la personnalité en fonction de cinq éléments généraux ou traits de personnalité (dimensions de la personnalité).

Traits de personnalité: les cinq grands

Ces éléments constitutifs ont été rapportés lors d'une étude sur les descriptions faites par des individus concernant la personnalité d'autrui (Goldberg, 1993). est l'un des modèles sur les traits de personnalité les plus reconnus .


Les cinq grands traits de personnalité, appelés aussi facteurs principaux , reçoivent généralement les noms suivants: Facteur O (ouverture à de nouvelles expériences), facteur C (responsabilité), facteur E (extraversion), facteur A (gentillesse) et facteur N (neuroticism ou instabilité émotionnelle), formant ainsi l'acronyme "OCEAN ”.

Chacun des traits est constitué d'un ensemble de traits de personnalité plus spécifiques. Par exemple, le facteur E (extraversion) comprend des qualités spécifiques telles que la recherche d'émotions, de sociabilité ou d'optimisme .


Le modèle des cinq grands qu'il a développé Raymond Cattell (sur la photo), il tente de décrire la personnalité, et les professionnels de la psychologie ont apporté de nouvelles évidences et approches à travers différentes méthodologies pour analyser ces traits de personnalité de chaque individu.

Les 5 facteurs de personnalité

Il existe un certain accord parmi les experts de la personnalité pour affirmer que la personnalité peut être classée dans ces 5 grands traits qui ont été décrits dans la théorie de Cinq grands traits de personnalité.

La définition de chacun d'eux est la suivante:

(Facteur O): s'ouvrir à l'expérience

Cela montre à quel point un sujet Il a tendance à rechercher de nouvelles expériences personnelles et conçoit son avenir de manière créative. . La personne ouverte à l'expérience a une relation fluide avec son imagination, apprécie l'art et l'esthétique et est cohérente avec ses émotions et celles de son entourage. Ils préfèrent rompre avec la routine et ont généralement des connaissances sur des sujets généraux en raison de leur curiosité intellectuelle. Son opposé est le Cerrazón à l'expérience (ou changement).


Les individus qui ont un score faible ont des intérêts plus conventionnels. Ils apprécient le simple plutôt que le complexe, l'ambivalent et le subtil. Ils ont tendance à observer la science ou l'art comme des disciplines peu pratiques. Ils préfèrent la familiarité au roman; Ils sont modérés et attachés à la tradition.

(Facteur C): Responsabilité

Fait référence à comment le sujet est concentré dans ses objectifs , en plus de la discipline dont il est fait preuve pour atteindre ces objectifs. Nous pourrions dire que la personne ayant un score élevé dans le facteur C est une personne organisée, dotée d'une capacité de concentration, qui remplit ses tâches et réfléchit avant de prendre une décision.

(Facteur E): Extraversion

Définit le degré auquel le sujet il est ouvert avec les autres et canalise son énergie dans des contextes sociaux . En d'autres termes, le facteur E examine à quel point un sujet aime s'entourer d'autres personnes, à quel point il aime s'exprimer devant d'autres personnes, etc. Son opposé est l'Introversion, qui se caractérise par des personnes réservées, souvent qualifiées d'agressives. Ils ont tendance à être certainement indépendants, préfèrent la routine et l'environnement familial.

Ils préfèrent être seuls et n'aiment pas faire partie de l'agitation des gens, ce qui ne veut pas dire qu'ils sont moins heureux. Souvent, ils sont aussi animés que celui des cercles d'amitié proches. Ils sont plus réfléchissants que les extravertis et ont moins tendance à agir.

(Facteur A): gentillesse

C'est le degré de respect, de tolérance et de calme de la personne . La bonne personne est quelqu'un qui fait confiance à l'honnêteté des autres, qui a vocation à aider et assister ceux qui en ont besoin, qui est humble et simple et qui fait preuve d'empathie envers les émotions et les sentiments des autres.

(Facteur N): stabilité émotionnelle

Définir dans quelle mesure une personne affronte sans problèmes les situations compliquées de la vie . Les sujets calmes, peu enclins à se sentir fâchés, restent généralement animés et gèrent très bien leurs crises personnelles.

Parmi les traits de personnalité, le facteur N est celui que nous trouvons avec un score élevé chez les personnes modérées et calmes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cattell, R. B. (1947). Confirmation et clarification des facteurs de personnalité primaires. Psychometrika, 12, 197-220.

Secrets d'Histoire - Louis XIV : le Roi est mort, vive le Roi ! (Intégrale) (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes