yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between colonialism and imperialism

The 5 differences between colonialism and imperialism

December 3, 2022

The concepts of colonialism and imperialism are often confused, but they are not synonymous. It is true that both are political, military and economic phenomena in which one nation submits to another to exploit it and use it to its advantage in its geostrategic objectives, but beyond this similarity, we must distinguish between what each implies.

In this article we will see what are the differences between colonialism and imperialism and in what ways does each one affect people's lives?

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 differences between capitalism and socialism"

Main differences between imperialism and colonialism

In the present or in the past, a large part of the people have been unable to enjoy sovereignty to decide on their territory . The interests of foreign powers, many times, govern everything that happens both in the public and private sphere. And it is that neither the force of arms nor the favors bought with money know borders.


Below you can find a list of the differences between colonialism and imperialism.

1. Amplitude of the term

The concept of imperialism refers to the suppression of the national sovereignty of the population of a country , either formally or informally, in favor of another, which dominates the first.

On the other hand, colonialism can be understood as a way of suppressing the sovereignty of one region and in favor of another that is more concrete than imperialism. Thus, colonialism is a relatively specific phenomenon, while imperialism is a broader concept, as we shall see.

2. The explicit or implicit character of the domination

In colonialism it is evident that there is a country that dominates another by force , in the same way that a kidnapper dominates the hostage. This does not prevent the dominating nation from taking advantage of the situation, since it does not need to give the impression that it does not direct all relevant political and economic events that occur in the dominated part.


In imperialism, on the other hand, it may happen that the country that exploits the other follows a strategy whereby its dominating role is disguised, creating the conditions to make it appear that the weak country is sovereign. For example, it does not directly contradict the decisions of local government bodies, although these are subject to what foreign authorities dictate . It may be the case that the real authorities of a country are in an embassy, ​​and not in the parliament or national congress.

3. Use or non-use of direct physical violence

Where there is colonialism, violence towards the population can be exercised with relative freedom , without having to render accounts before other authorities. This is done both to repress the possible popular revolts of the colonies from the metropolis and to make clear the military superiority of the colonizing nation over the colonized through fear.


On the other hand, in imperialism it is not essential to resort to the use of direct military repression against the population to make the domination effective. This is so because the tools that the dominating country can use to impose their interests are so varied that they will be able to choose other ways, such as propaganda. In many cases the dominant elites are not identified with the owners of capital coming from abroad.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

4. Differences in the arrival of settlers

In colonization, there is always an arrival of settlers who arrive to the occupied lands, often expelling their former owners directly without making a purchase. These can be families whose emigration may have been promoted by the metropolis to weaken the influence of the native ethnic groups, or it may be a minority of families that are limited to own the great resources of this territory. In addition, these families live separately from the native population, dealing only with servants.

In imperialism, on the other hand, this form of emigration does not have to occur and, in fact, it is often the inhabitants of the subjugated lands who are forced to emigrate to the metropolis. On the other hand, in imperialism the dominated country can be stable enough so that the families that control the territory do not need to move to the area.

  • Related article: "Aporophobia (rejection of the poor): causes of this phenomenon"

5. Objectives sought by the dominant country

Wherever there is colonialism, there is also the will to exploit the natural resources of the subjugated region.Thus, raw materials are extracted from these areas and these are normally processed in the nation that dominates the other, given that it is at this stage of production where there is more added value.

In imperialism the previous situation can also occur, but it does not always happen. Sometimes, simply, a region is dominated to favor military or other interests . For example, it is possible to take control of a country close to another country with which it competes to destabilize the region and harm the adversary, making it always subject to the risk of internal rebellions, secessionist movements, etc.

conclusion

Both colonialism and imperialism are based on suppressing the sovereignty of a national collective in favor of the extractive or geostrategic interests of the elites of the dominant country , but beyond this, both types of power are exercised somewhat differently.

In general, colonialism is based on brute force in order to plunder the natural resources of the subjugated zone, as well as to exploit the popular classes through slavery or semi-slavery. In imperialism, this domination can be more disguised under the pretext that each individual has the freedom to offer or not the jobs that are offered and the mercantile deals to which he can choose from his situation of clear inferiority.

In any case, the dominant elites use the material inequalities already existing between their country of origin and the subject to create new inequalities through the exploitation of other countries and a tight control of the borders.


Colonisation and Imperialism, What is the difference? Positive & negative impact on world, Part 1 (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre colonialisme et impérialisme

Les 5 différences entre colonialisme et impérialisme

Juillet 30, 2022

Les concepts de colonialisme et d'impérialisme sont souvent confondus, mais ils ne sont pas synonymes. Il est vrai que ce sont des phénomènes politiques, militaires et économiques dans lesquels une nation se soumet à une autre pour l'exploiter et l'utiliser à son avantage dans ses objectifs géostratégiques, mais au-delà de cette similitude, il convient de distinguer ce que chacun implique.

Dans cet article nous verrons quelles sont les différences entre le colonialisme et l'impérialisme et de quelle manière chacun affecte-t-il la vie des gens?

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 6 différences entre le capitalisme et le socialisme"

Principales différences entre impérialisme et colonialisme

Dans le présent ou dans le passé, une grande partie de la population a été incapables de jouir de la souveraineté pour choisir leur territoire . Les intérêts des puissances étrangères régissent maintes fois tout ce qui se passe dans la sphère publique et privée. Et c'est que ni la force des armes ni les faveurs achetées avec de l'argent ne connaissent de frontières.


Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des différences entre le colonialisme et l'impérialisme.

1. Amplitude du terme

Le concept de l'impérialisme fait référence à la suppression de la souveraineté nationale de la population d'un pays , formellement ou informellement, en faveur d’un autre, qui domine le premier.

D'autre part, le colonialisme peut être compris comme un moyen de supprimer la souveraineté d'une région et en faveur d'une autre plus concrète que l'impérialisme. Ainsi, le colonialisme est un phénomène relativement spécifique, alors que l'impérialisme est un concept plus large, comme nous le verrons.

2. Le caractère explicite ou implicite de la domination

Dans le colonialisme, il est évident qu’un pays en domine un autre par la force , de la même manière qu'un kidnappeur domine l'otage. Cela n'empêche pas la nation dominante de profiter de la situation, car elle n'a pas besoin de donner l'impression qu'elle ne dirige pas tous les événements politiques et économiques pertinents qui se produisent dans la partie dominée.


En revanche, dans l’impérialisme, il peut arriver que le pays qui exploite l’autre suive une stratégie consistant à déguiser son rôle dominant en créant les conditions lui permettant de donner l’impression que le pays faible est souverain. Par exemple, il ne contredit pas directement les décisions des organes des administrations locales, bien que ceux-ci sont soumis à ce que les autorités étrangères dictent . Il se peut que les véritables autorités d’un pays se trouvent dans une ambassade et non au parlement ou au congrès national.

3. Recours ou non à la violence physique directe

Là où il y a le colonialisme, la violence envers la population peut être exercée avec une relative liberté , sans avoir à rendre des comptes devant d'autres autorités. Ceci est fait à la fois pour réprimer les possibles révoltes populaires des colonies de la métropole et pour clarifier la supériorité militaire de la nation colonisatrice sur les colonisés par la peur.


En revanche, dans l'impérialisme, il n'est pas essentiel de recourir à la répression militaire directe contre la population pour rendre la domination effective. En effet, les outils que le pays dominant peut utiliser pour imposer ses intérêts sont tellement variés qu’ils pourront choisir d’autres moyens, tels que la propagande. Dans de nombreux cas, les élites dominantes ne sont pas identifiées aux propriétaires de capitaux venant de l'étranger.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

4. Différences dans l'arrivée des colons

Dans la colonisation, il y a toujours une arrivée de colons qui arrivent dans les terres occupées, expulsant souvent directement leurs anciens propriétaires sans effectuer d'achat. Ce peuvent être des familles dont l'émigration peut avoir été favorisée par la métropole d’affaiblir l’influence des groupes ethniques indigènes, ou bien ce peut être une minorité de familles qui sont limitées à posséder les grandes ressources de ce territoire. De plus, ces familles vivent séparément de la population autochtone et ne traitent qu'avec des domestiques.

En revanche, dans l'impérialisme, cette forme d'émigration n'est pas nécessaire et ce sont souvent les habitants des terres assujetties qui sont obligés d'émigrer dans la métropole. D'un autre côté, dans le cas de l'impérialisme, le pays dominé peut être suffisamment stable pour que les familles qui contrôlent le territoire n'aient pas besoin de se déplacer dans la région.

  • Article connexe: "L'apophobie (rejet des pauvres): causes de ce phénomène"

5. Objectifs recherchés par le pays dominant

Partout où il y a colonialisme, il y a aussi la volonté d'exploiter les ressources naturelles de la région soumise.Ainsi, les matières premières sont extraites de ces zones et elles sont normalement transformées dans le pays qui domine l’autre, puisqu’il ya plus de valeur ajoutée à ce stade de la production.

Dans l'impérialisme, la situation antérieure peut aussi se produire, mais cela n'arrive pas toujours. Parfois, simplement, une région est dominée pour favoriser les intérêts militaires ou autres . Par exemple, il est possible de prendre le contrôle d'un pays proche d'un autre pays avec lequel il est en concurrence pour déstabiliser la région et nuire à l'adversaire, en le soumettant toujours au risque de rébellions internes, de mouvements sécessionnistes, etc.

conclusion

Le colonialisme et l'impérialisme sont tous deux fondés sur la suppression de la souveraineté d'un collectif national en faveur des intérêts extractifs ou géostratégiques des élites du pays dominant , mais au-delà, les deux types de pouvoir s’exercent un peu différemment.

En général, le colonialisme repose sur la force brute afin de piller les ressources naturelles de la zone soumise et d'exploiter les classes populaires par le biais de l'esclavage ou du semi-esclavage. Dans l'impérialisme, cette domination peut être plus déguisée sous prétexte que chaque individu a la liberté d'offrir ou non les emplois proposés et les contrats mercantiles auxquels il peut choisir parmi sa situation d'infériorité évidente.

En tout état de cause, les élites dominantes utilisent les inégalités matérielles déjà existantes entre leur pays d'origine et le sujet créer de nouvelles inégalités par l’exploitation d’autres pays et par un contrôle strict des frontières.


La Colonisation (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes