yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between law and decree and how they regulate society

The 5 differences between law and decree and how they regulate society

June 15, 2024

The legal rules are the set of rules made by the authority assigned to certain institutions by the State to regulate and organize the functioning of society . The most well-known type of legal norm is the law, but besides this it is not strange to hear about other types of norms and regulations such as decrees.

For people outside the legal world, it can sometimes be difficult to distinguish between the two concepts. That is why in this article we present you The main differences between law and decree .

  • Related article: "The 5 differences between law and regulation"

Analyzing both concepts

Before establishing the differences between law and decree, we will observe a brief definition of each of them in order to understand their concept and as a basic introduction to their differences.


We understand by law a type of mandatory legal norm that aims to regulate the performance of the human being in society. The law establishes the set of obligations and rights of all citizens in general, without exceptions, and failure to comply with them implies sanctions even if it is due to ignorance. It is the type of legal norm of greater rank, being absolute. Laws are advocated and ratified by the legislature, requiring to be approved by Congress to be carried out.

As far as the decree is concerned, it is about another type of legal norm that usually establishes the way in which the law is applied , usually developing a regulation. It is a subtype of legal norm with which it is also mandatory, although it can be modified and in fact must be done in order to follow the current legislation.


The elaboration of the decrees is usually due to the urgent need to regulate a given situation with urgency. The government is responsible for its preparation and implementation. In case a decree wants to become a law it must be ratified by Congress.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 forms of government that govern our social and political life"

Main differences between law and decree

Law and decree have several similarities, as we can deduce from their definition. However, it is also possible to observe the existence of large differences, which we will now analyze.

1. Organ or power that issues it

One of the points in which law and decree are different is the type of body or power that issues or dictates it, which in turn will cause them to present other differential characteristics. The law will always be elaborated and ratified by the legislative power . However, in the case of the decree, it is proposed and applied by the executive branch (that is, the government).


  • Related article: "The 4 differences between State and government"

2. Content

Although both concepts have as their main objective to govern and manage the behavior and functioning of society, the fact is that the law and the decree tend to differ slightly in terms of their content. While the law states what should be done or not, the decree indicates how it should be carried out.

The decree intends to face an urgent situation and establish how to act and the rules and rules to follow in such situation (can be considered as a regulation).

3. Level of generalization

Laws are decreed with the intention of governing and organizing the actions of society in general, affecting various situations and actions. However, the decree is elaborated in order to deal with a specific situation that must be solved quickly .

4. Hierarchical ordering

Law and decree, as legal norms that are, must be respected and are mandatory. However, they do not maintain an equal relationship: in the hierarchy of legal norms we would first find the law and right after it the decrees (unless it is a decree-law, in which case it would have the same rank as the law).

The decree will never be able to contradict the law, having to be repealed or modified in case it changes or a new law appears that contradicts the decree.

5. Stability or temporality

In the same way, although both laws and decrees can be modified, they have different levels of stability. A decree is usually temporary in order to deal with the situation that generates it. However, a law is made with the intention of lasting in time , requiring for its modification or withdrawal that other laws annul or replace it.


How do executive orders work? - Christina Greer (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre loi et décret et comment elles régulent la société

Les 5 différences entre loi et décret et comment elles régulent la société

Janvier 15, 2021

Les règles juridiques sont l'ensemble des règles établies par l'autorité assignée à certaines institutions par l'État pour réguler et organiser le fonctionnement de la société . Le type de norme juridique le plus connu est le droit, mais il n’est pas étonnant d’entendre parler d’autres types de normes et de règlements tels que les décrets.

Pour les personnes extérieures au monde juridique, il peut parfois être difficile de faire la distinction entre les deux concepts. C'est pourquoi dans cet article nous vous présentons Les principales différences entre loi et décret .

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 différences entre loi et réglementation"

Analyser les deux concepts

Avant d’établir les différences entre loi et décret, nous allons observer une brève définition de chacune d’entre elles afin de comprendre leur concept et comme introduction de base à leurs différences.


Nous comprenons par la loi un type de norme juridique obligatoire visant à réglementer les performances de l'être humain dans la société. La loi établit l'ensemble des obligations et des droits de tous les citoyens en général, sans exception, et le non-respect de ceux-ci entraîne des sanctions, même dues à l'ignorance. C'est le type de norme juridique de rang supérieur, absolu. Les lois sont préconisées et ratifiées par la législature, elles doivent être approuvées par le Congrès pour être exécutées.

En ce qui concerne le décret, il s'agit de un autre type de norme juridique qui établit généralement la manière dont la loi est appliquée , développant généralement un règlement. C'est un sous-type de norme juridique avec lequel elle est également obligatoire, même si elle peut être modifiée et doit en fait être modifiée afin de respecter la législation en vigueur.


L'élaboration des décrets est généralement due à la nécessité urgente de régler de manière urgente une situation donnée. Le gouvernement est responsable de sa préparation et de sa mise en œuvre. Si un décret veut devenir une loi, il doit être ratifié par le Congrès.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 6 formes de gouvernement qui régissent notre vie sociale et politique"

Principales différences entre loi et décret

Loi et décret ont plusieurs similitudes, comme on peut le déduire de leur définition. Cependant, il est également possible d’observer l’existence de grandes différences que nous allons maintenant analyser.

1. Organe ou pouvoir qui le délivre

L'un des points sur lesquels la loi et le décret diffèrent est le type d'organe ou de pouvoir qui le délivre ou le dicte, ce qui les amènera à présenter d'autres caractéristiques différentielles. La loi sera toujours élaborée et ratifiée par le pouvoir législatif . Toutefois, dans le cas du décret, il est proposé et appliqué par le pouvoir exécutif (c’est-à-dire le gouvernement).


  • Article connexe: "Les 4 différences entre l'État et le gouvernement"

2. Contenu

Bien que les deux concepts aient pour objectif principal de régir et de gérer le comportement et le fonctionnement de la société, le fait est que la loi et le décret ont tendance à présenter des différences légèrement quant à leur contenu. Alors que la loi stipule ce qui doit être fait ou non, le décret indique comment cela doit être fait.

Le décret vise à faire face à une situation urgente et établir comment agir et les règles à suivre dans une telle situation (peut être considéré comme un règlement).

3. Niveau de généralisation

Les lois sont édictées dans le but de gouverner et d’organiser les actions de la société en général, affectant diverses situations et actions. Cependant, le décret est élaboré afin de faire face à une situation spécifique qui doit être résolue rapidement .

4. Classement hiérarchique

La loi et le décret, en tant que normes juridiques, doivent être respectés et sont obligatoires. Cependant, ils ne maintiennent pas une relation d'égalité: dans la hiérarchie des normes juridiques nous trouverions d'abord la loi et juste après les décrets (sauf s'il s'agit d'un décret-loi, auquel cas il aurait le même rang que la loi).

Le décret ne pourra jamais être en contradiction avec la loi, il devra être abrogé ou modifié au cas où il changerait ou si une nouvelle loi en contradiction avec le décret serait publiée.

5. Stabilité ou temporalité

De la même manière, bien que les lois et les décrets puissent être modifiés, ils ont des niveaux de stabilité différents. Un décret est généralement temporaire pour faire face à la situation qui le génère. Cependant, une loi est fait avec l'intention de durer dans le temps , exigeant pour sa modification ou son retrait que d’autres lois l’annulent ou le remplacent.


LAÏCITÉ : LIBERTÉ OU SERVITUDE ? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes