yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between machismo and misogyny

The 5 differences between machismo and misogyny

July 19, 2024

Both sexism and misogyny are phenomena related to sexism that harm massive numbers of women. However, it is important not to confuse these terms, because although they refer to phenomena that have some similarities, they can not be used as if they were synonyms.

So, throughout this article we will see the main differences between misogyny and machismo , as well as the way in which their manifestations and their harmful effects differ in people.

  • Related article: "Chauvinist people: these are the 8 beliefs that characterize them"

Differences between misogyny and machismo

Until not so long ago, the problems derived from sexism were practically invisible to public opinion. The cases of direct violence could be commented and punished in those cases in which any rule was violated, but there was no reflection about the social and historical phenomenon related to the situation of submission of women . In recent decades, however, this has changed, and that is why it is so common to hear about machismo and hatred of women (or misogyny) in the countries of Western culture and many others.


However, although both machismo and misogyny talk to us about different types of violence directed towards the feminine in general and women in particular, they have a different nature and are also differentiated. Let's see it

1. One is based on hatred, the other is not

By definition, misogyny is always based on hatred towards women, while machismo does not have to be based on this. In fact, the latter is based not so much on specific feelings directed towards women, but on all a series of relational dynamics that have been normalized over the centuries and that are considered normal, devoid of any emotional component.


Thus, one of the characteristics of machismo is that it is experienced as something natural, related to objective truth and realism, through affirmations such as "everyone knows that women need a man".

In this class of beliefs there is not always an element that allows us to identify if the person who holds them feels sympathy or antipathy for the woman by the simple fact of being, while in misogyny the opposite occurs: yes that you can know the attitude of acceptance or rejection of the feminine.

2. Misogyny is an individual phenomenon

Unlike machismo, which has to do with a whole system of material and ideological domination over women that has been transmitted from generation to generation, misogyny is relatively individual.

While machismo has been present in practically all people, misogyny it's something more exceptional, of rather isolated appearance . However, it does have a slight social component, since the very fact that femininity can come to define how we perceive an individual (a woman) has to do with gender roles attributed by society, very present since birth .


  • Maybe you're interested: "Misogyny: 9 attitudes that portray misogynists"

3. Machismo can take the form of kindness

It is perfectly possible to be sexist and be very concerned that women feel comfortable and live well. This is so because the machismo is not always based on the contempt or the desire to harm someone in particular; as well can appear through paternalism and condescension .

Of course, that does not imply that whoever is macho and wishes the woman the best does not harm her through his actions; but he will not be aware of it, given that he will see justified what he does "for the good" of the other person, being less able to decide what he wants and have less criteria to understand what happens (according to the beliefs of the person treat like a non-independent person).

4. Misogyny usually leads to estrangement

As a general rule, those who feel hatred for a given group try not to expose themselves too much to it. This principle is relatively difficult to apply when the group of people who hate each other make up about half of the human population, but in spite of that those who experience misogyny they prefer to interact with men , minimizing their interactions with women.

On the other hand, machismo does not have to lead to this, given that its existence is totally independent of attitudes of acceptance and rejection of the feminine.

5. Machismo is a historical phenomenon

The very existence of machismo is related to gender roles and the strong identification we make between the sex of a person and their functions in society, something that can be modified by changing political, economic and cultural elements.Instead, Misogyny has many different causes , and the only common denominator in which their cases are supported has to do with the importance of gender when it comes to identifying people.

Where there is a strong element of identification to which we attribute much meaning (religion, race, nationality, etc.) there may be material from which to develop mistrust or even hatred for generalization.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hirai, M., Winkel, M., & Popan, J. (2014). The role of machismo in prejudice. Personality and Individual Differences, 70, 105-110.
  • Rinck, M. J. (1990). Christian "Men Who Hate Women: Healing Hurting Relationships, Zondervan, pp. 81-85.
  • Zaira A. (2000). Masculine and feminine in the Catholic imaginary: From Catholic Action to Liberation Theology São Paulo: Annablume.

The Adorkable Misogyny of The Big Bang Theory (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre machisme et misogynie

Les 5 différences entre machisme et misogynie

Avril 1, 2020

Le sexisme et la misogynie sont des phénomènes liés au sexisme qui nuisent à un nombre considérable de femmes. Cependant, il est important de ne pas confondre ces termes, car même s’ils font référence à des phénomènes présentant certaines similitudes, ils ne peuvent pas être utilisés comme s’ils étaient synonymes.

Donc, tout au long de cet article nous verrons les principales différences entre la misogynie et le machisme , ainsi que la manière dont leurs manifestations et leurs effets nocifs diffèrent chez les hommes.

  • Article connexe: "Les Chauvinistes: ce sont les 8 croyances qui les caractérisent"

Différences entre la misogynie et le machisme

Il n'y a pas si longtemps, les problèmes découlant du sexisme étaient pratiquement invisibles pour l'opinion publique. Les cas de violence directe peuvent être commentés et punis dans les cas où une règle a été violée, mais le phénomène social et historique n'a pas été pris en compte liés à la situation de soumission des femmes . Cependant, au cours des dernières décennies, cela a changé et c'est pourquoi il est si courant d'entendre parler de machisme et de la haine des femmes (ou de la misogynie) dans les pays de culture occidentale et dans bien d'autres.


Cependant, bien que le machisme et la misogynie nous parlent de différents types de violence dirigée contre le féminin en général et les femmes en particulier, ils ont une nature différente et sont également différenciés. Voyons le

1. L'un est basé sur la haine, l'autre n'est pas

Par définition, la misogynie est toujours basée sur la haine envers les femmes, alors que le machisme ne doit pas nécessairement être basé sur cela. En fait, cette dernière ne repose pas tant sur des sentiments spécifiques envers les femmes, mais sur tous une série de dynamiques relationnelles normalisées au cours des siècles et qui sont considérés comme normaux, dépourvus de toute composante émotionnelle.


Ainsi, l'une des caractéristiques du machisme est qu'il est vécu comme quelque chose de naturel, lié à la vérité objective et au réalisme, par le biais d'affirmations telles que "tout le monde sait que les femmes ont besoin d'un homme".

Dans cette classe de croyances, il n’ya pas toujours un élément qui nous permette de déterminer si la personne qui les détient éprouve de la sympathie ou de l’antipathie pour la femme par le simple fait d’être, alors que dans la misogynie se produit le contraire: oui, vous pouvez connaître l’attitude. d'acceptation ou de rejet du féminin.

2. La misogynie est un phénomène individuel

Contrairement au machisme, qui a à voir avec tout un système de domination matérielle et idéologique sur les femmes qui s'est transmise de génération en génération, la misogynie est relativement individuelle.

Bien que le machisme ait été présent dans pratiquement tout le monde, la misogynie c'est quelque chose de plus exceptionnel, d'apparence plutôt isolée . Cependant, elle a une légère composante sociale, puisque le fait même que la féminité puisse en venir à définir comment nous percevons un individu (une femme) a à voir avec les rôles de genre attribués à la société, très présents depuis la naissance. .


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Misogynie: 9 attitudes qui dépeignent les misogynes"

3. Le machisme peut prendre la forme de gentillesse

Il est parfaitement possible d’être sexiste et d’être très préoccupé par le fait que les femmes se sentent bien et vivent bien. En effet, le machisme n’est pas toujours basé sur le mépris ou le désir de nuire à quelqu'un en particulier; aussi peut apparaître à travers le paternalisme et la condescendance .

Bien entendu, cela ne signifie pas que quiconque est machiste et souhaite la meilleure des chances à la femme ne lui fait pas de mal par ses actions; mais il ne s'en rendra pas compte, sachant que ce qu'il fait "pour le bien" de l'autre personne est justifié. Il est moins en mesure de décider ce qu'il veut et a moins de critères pour comprendre ce qui se passe traiter comme une personne non indépendante).

4. La misogynie conduit généralement à une distanciation

En règle générale, ceux qui éprouvent de la haine envers un groupe tentent de ne pas trop s’y exposer. Ce principe est relativement difficile à appliquer lorsque le groupe de personnes qui se détestent représente environ la moitié de la population humaine, mais malgré cela, ceux qui vivent la misogynie ils préfèrent interagir avec les hommes , minimisant leurs interactions avec les femmes.

Par contre, le machisme n’a pas à y conduire, son existence étant totalement indépendante des attitudes d’acceptation et de rejet du féminin.

5. Le machisme est un phénomène historique

L'existence même du machisme est liée aux rôles de genre et à la forte identification que nous faisons entre le sexe d'une personne et ses fonctions dans la société, ce qui peut être modifié en modifiant des éléments politiques, économiques et culturels.En échange, La misogynie a de nombreuses causes différentes , et le seul dénominateur commun dans lequel leurs cas sont pris en charge est lié à l’importance du genre lorsqu’il s’agit d’identifier des personnes.

Là où il y a un fort élément d'identification auquel nous attribuons beaucoup de sens (religion, race, nationalité, etc.), il peut exister des éléments permettant de développer la méfiance ou même la haine de la généralisation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hirai, M., Winkel, M. et Popan, J. (2014). Le rôle du machisme dans les préjugés. Personnalité et différences individuelles, 70, 105-110.
  • Rinck, M. J. (1990). "Les hommes qui détestent les femmes: Guérir les relations blessantes", Zondervan, p. 81-85.
  • Zaira A. (2000). Masculin et féminin dans l'imaginaire catholique: de l'action catholique à la théologie de la libération, São Paulo: Annablume.

La Misogynie dans la S.F. ... (Avril 2020).


Articles Connexes