yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia

The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia

October 4, 2022

Symptoms of psychosis, such as those that occur in schizophrenia , they call attention in a particular way to the wide range of mental disorders: hallucinations or delusions fit perfectly with the idea of ​​psychopathology that many people have.

The terms "psychosis" and "schizophrenia" are often used interchangeably. However, there are clear conceptual differences between them ; In this article we will see what they are and we will clarify what their relationship is.

  • Related article: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

What is psychosis?

It is known as "psychosis" a a series of symptoms related to the loss of contact with reality . It is frequently associated with disturbances of thought and behavior, including verbal, which cause alterations in many areas of functioning.


The term began to be used in 1841 by the German psychiatrist Karl Friedrich Canstatt. It comes from Latin and can be translated as "alteration of the soul" or "of the mind". Initially included schizophrenia and bipolar disorder and was used in opposition to the concept "neurosis" , which is still common today.

The experiences encompassed in the concept of psychosis are multiple and varied. Hallucinations, delusions and catatonia (a state of psychogenic immobility) are three of the most characteristic psychotic manifestations, but they do not always occur in pathological contexts; for example, hypnagogic hallucinations, which sometimes appear just before we fall asleep, are formally equivalent to psychosis.


Psychotic symptoms can have very different causes . As in schizophrenia, bipolar disorder or dementia, they are usually the result of the combination of psychosocial stress with brain alterations, or the excessive consumption of certain substances and drugs, including alcohol and amphetamines.

On the other hand, psychotic disorders include schizophrenia, schizotypal personality disorder, schizoaffective, delusional, schizophreniform, brief psychotic disorder, catatonia, and psychosis induced by disease and substance use.

Definition of schizophrenia

Schizophrenia it is an alteration that is included in the group of psychotic disorders , being the most representative and known within these. Its cardinal symptoms are of a psychotic type, such as the disorganization of thought or the presence of delusions and hallucinations.


It is a disorder that frequently causes social maladjustment and favors the onset of depression, anxiety and substance abuse . In many cases it occurs chronically and is managed by very powerful antipsychotic drugs, requiring frequent hospitalization.

The symptoms of schizophrenia are divided into positive and negative . The positive symptoms are related to the alteration of mental functions, such as hallucinations, while the negative ones are emotional, motivational or social deficits, among others.

The DSM-IV manual divides schizophrenia into five types: paranoid, disorganized, catatonic, undifferentiated and residual . This classification is made based on the predominant symptoms and the course of the disorder. The DSM-5 eliminated the distinction between subtypes of schizophrenia.

To diagnose schizophrenia it is necessary to have delusions, hallucinations, disorganized language, catatonia or negative symptoms continuously for at least 6 months. Furthermore, these symptoms must cause personal, social or work-related difficulties and can not be directly due to illness or the use of drugs or drugs .

Differences between psychosis and schizophrenia

Summarized we can say that "psychosis" and "schizophrenia" are two closely related concepts, but schizophrenia is a mental disorder with specific diagnostic criteria while psychosis is a group of symptoms that can be caused by schizophrenia or by other motives.

Below you will find 5 keys that will help you differentiate psychosis and schizophrenia .

1. The one includes the other

Schizophrenia is a disorder that causes multiple symptoms, among which the psychotic ones stand out, although they are not the only ones: for example, Anxiety and depression are also very frequent in the context of schizophrenia.

On the other hand, psychosis encompasses schizophrenia if we understand the term "psychosis" as equivalent to "psychotic disorder". This usually happens when we refer to this group of alterations as "psychoses".

two.Psychosis does not always involve schizophrenia

Psychotic experiences are relatively frequent in certain settings, such as the consumption of hallucinogenic substances or brain damage due to dementia. Thus, it is not necessary to meet the criteria of schizophrenia to be able to talk about the existence of a psychosis, especially if it is a short episode.

  • Related article: "Psychotic outbreak: definition, causes, symptoms and treatment"

3. The presence of psychopathology

When they occur as a result of schizophrenia or other more or less similar alterations, such as psychotic depression or schizoaffective disorder, psychotic symptoms are considered a key indicator of psychopathology. In affective disorders or in dementia, the psychotic symptoms are associated with an increase in the severity or with the progress of the alteration.

However, the psychotic symptoms they do not always imply greater severity : people diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia, which is characterized by hallucinations and delusions, have a better prognosis than those in which negative symptoms predominate.

4. The duration of symptoms

The duration of psychotic manifestations varies greatly, from episodes of a few seconds or minutes induced by drug use to schizophrenia, which requires that symptoms be maintained for at least 6 months . At an intermediate point is the brief psychotic disorder, which has a maximum duration of one month.

5. Psychosis has multiple causes

Although the cerebral alterations typical of schizophrenia can cause psychotic experiences, they are also may be due to other psychological and biological causes . These include stress and intense fatigue, depression, brain injuries and the consumption of some substances.


Psychosis: Schizophrenia, Schizoaffective Disorder, Delusional Disorder, Hallucinations (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie

Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie

Décembre 9, 2021

Symptômes de psychose, tels que ceux qui se produisent dans la schizophrénie , ils attirent particulièrement l’attention sur le large éventail de troubles mentaux: les hallucinations ou les délires correspondent parfaitement à l’idée de psychopathologie que beaucoup de gens ont.

Les termes "psychose" et "schizophrénie" sont souvent utilisés de manière interchangeable. Cependant, il existe des différences conceptuelles claires entre eux ; Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qu’ils sont et clarifierons leur relation.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Qu'est-ce que la psychose?

Il est connu comme "psychose" une une série de symptômes liés à la perte de contact avec la réalité . Il est fréquemment associé à des troubles de la pensée et du comportement, notamment verbaux, qui entraînent des altérations dans de nombreux domaines du fonctionnement.


Le terme a commencé à être utilisé en 1841 par le psychiatre allemand Karl Friedrich Canstatt. Il vient du latin et peut être traduit par "altération de l'âme" ou "de l'esprit". Inclus initialement la schizophrénie et le trouble bipolaire et a été utilisé en opposition au concept de "névrose" , ce qui est encore courant aujourd'hui.

Les expériences englobées dans le concept de psychose sont multiples et variées. Les hallucinations, les délires et la catatonie (état d'immobilité psychogène) sont trois des manifestations psychotiques les plus caractéristiques, mais elles ne se produisent pas toujours dans des contextes pathologiques; Par exemple, les hallucinations hypnagogiques, qui apparaissent parfois juste avant que nous nous endormions, sont formellement équivalentes à la psychose.


Les symptômes psychotiques peuvent avoir des causes très différentes . Comme dans la schizophrénie, le trouble bipolaire ou la démence, ils résultent généralement de la combinaison d'un stress psychosocial avec des altérations du cerveau ou d'une consommation excessive de certaines substances et drogues, notamment d'alcool et d'amphétamines.

Par ailleurs, les troubles psychotiques incluent la schizophrénie, le trouble de la personnalité schizotypique, les troubles schizoaffectifs, délirants, schizophréniformes, les troubles psychotiques brefs, la catatonie et la psychose induite par la maladie et la toxicomanie.

Définition de la schizophrénie

La schizophrénie c'est une altération qui fait partie du groupe des troubles psychotiques , étant le plus représentatif et connu parmi ceux-ci. Ses symptômes cardinaux sont de type psychotique, tels que la désorganisation de la pensée ou la présence de délires et d'hallucinations.


C’est un trouble qui cause souvent un déréglage social et favorise l'apparition de la dépression, de l'anxiété et de la toxicomanie . Dans de nombreux cas, il survient de manière chronique et est administré par des antipsychotiques très puissants, nécessitant une hospitalisation fréquente.

Les symptômes de la schizophrénie sont divisés en deux catégories: positif et négatif. . Les symptômes positifs sont liés à l'altération des fonctions mentales, telles que les hallucinations, tandis que les négatifs sont des déficits émotionnels, motivationnels ou sociaux, entre autres.

Le manuel DSM-IV divise la schizophrénie en cinq types: paranoïaque, désorganisé, catatonique, indifférencié et résiduel . Cette classification est faite sur la base des symptômes prédominants et de l'évolution de la maladie. Le DSM-5 a éliminé la distinction entre les sous-types de schizophrénie.

Pour diagnostiquer la schizophrénie, il est nécessaire d’avoir des idées délirantes, des hallucinations, un langage désorganisé, une catatonie ou des symptômes négatifs de façon continue pendant au moins six mois. De plus, ces symptômes doivent causer des difficultés personnelles, sociales ou liées au travail et ne peut pas être directement due à la maladie ou à l'utilisation de drogues ou de drogues .

Différences entre psychose et schizophrénie

En résumé, nous pouvons dire que "psychose" et "schizophrénie" sont deux concepts étroitement liés, mais que la schizophrénie est un trouble mental avec des critères de diagnostic spécifiques, d'autres raisons

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez 5 clés qui vous aideront différencier la psychose et la schizophrénie .

1. L'un comprend l'autre

La schizophrénie est un trouble à l'origine de multiples symptômes parmi lesquels se distinguent les psychotiques, bien qu'ils ne soient pas les seuls. Par exemple: L'anxiété et la dépression sont également très fréquentes dans le contexte de la schizophrénie.

D'autre part, la psychose englobe la schizophrénie si nous entendons le terme "psychose" comme équivalent à "trouble psychotique". Cela se produit généralement lorsque nous appelons ce groupe de modifications «psychoses».

2La psychose n'implique pas toujours la schizophrénie

Les expériences psychotiques sont relativement fréquentes dans certains contextes, telles que la consommation de substances hallucinogènes ou des lésions cérébrales dues à la démence. Ainsi, il n'est pas nécessaire de répondre aux critères de la schizophrénie pour pouvoir parler de l'existence d'une psychose, surtout s'il s'agit d'un épisode court.

  • Article connexe: "Épidémie psychotique: définition, causes, symptômes et traitement"

3. La présence de psychopathologie

Lorsqu'ils surviennent à la suite d'une schizophrénie ou d'autres modifications plus ou moins similaires, telles qu'une dépression psychotique ou un trouble schizo-affectif, les symptômes psychotiques sont considérés comme un indicateur clé de la psychopathologie. Dans les troubles affectifs ou la démence, les symptômes psychotiques sont associés à une augmentation de la gravité ou à la progression de l'altération.

Cependant, les symptômes psychotiques ils n'impliquent pas toujours une plus grande sévérité : les personnes chez qui on a diagnostiqué une schizophrénie paranoïde, caractérisée par des hallucinations et des idées délirantes, ont un meilleur pronostic que celles dans lesquelles prédominent les symptômes négatifs.

4. La durée des symptômes

La durée des manifestations psychotiques varie considérablement, allant d’épisodes de quelques secondes ou minutes induits par la consommation de drogues à la schizophrénie, qui exige que les symptômes soient maintenus pendant au moins 6 mois . Le trouble psychotique bref, d'une durée maximale d'un mois, se situe à un point intermédiaire.

5. La psychose a des causes multiples

Bien que les altérations cérébrales typiques de la schizophrénie puissent provoquer des expériences psychotiques, elles sont également peut être dû à d'autres causes psychologiques et biologiques . Ceux-ci incluent le stress et la fatigue intense, la dépression, les lésions cérébrales et la consommation de certaines substances.


Psychologie 34 ─ Les différentes psychoses (schizophrénie, paranoïa etc.) (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes