yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between science and technology

The 5 differences between science and technology

May 3, 2024

Human beings are paradoxical. On the one hand, our fragility and special needs make us seem little adapted to live on planet Earth. On the other, we are one of the most successful mammal species evolutionarily; our population is counted by billions and we have colonized all the continents.

The fact that humanity is prosperous in number of inhabitants is mainly due to the fact that we have developed a unique capacity for use the potentialities of the environment and modify it so that it fits our needs and strategic purposes.

In this article we will distinguish the two phenomena that have made this possible: we will see the differences between science and technology , that allow us to know better the nature and to use this knowledge with practical purposes inside and outside the laboratories.


  • Related article: "The 15 types of energy: what are they?"

The main differences between science and technology

Next we will see the aspects that allow to distinguish between technology and science, but bear in mind that, in certain way, there are plots of the human activity in which both go of the hand and in which, the difference only occurs in a sense theoretical.

1. One allows to know, the other to modify

Science is a way of generate knowledge about nature , regardless of whether this information is applied to the practice or not.

Technology, on the other hand, consists of a process of improvement based on the manipulation of nature. That means that the use of technology usually only provides knowledge about itself, not about what exists independently of human action.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Research questions: how to approach a study, with examples"

2. The technology can be easily tested

It is easy to know if the processes of technological development end up fulfilling their objectives or not, since they point to specific needs: for example, developing a car capable of reaching a certain speed during a certain time consuming less fuel than its analogues. Through objective measurements you can know if it has hit the target.

As for science, on the other hand, there is a great ambiguity about whether a scientific project has met expectations . The reason for this is that science never fully meets its objectives, given that all explanations of the reality it provides are provisional, not definitive.

3. Science is relatively young, technology is old

Although popularly it is assumed that technology has to do with computers and the latest electronic and biomedical advances in general, the truth is that the use of technology has existed for thousands of years . For example, the use of fire for heating or cooking is considered a sample of technology, and it is believed that it was something that even other species of the homo genus that existed long before us did.


Science, on the other hand, arose after the end of the Middle Ages, although there were interesting precedents before that historical point.

4. Technology seeks efficiency, science does not

The objectives of science go far beyond the most efficient use of resources. That is why many times explanations of reality are proposed that completely clash with the previously established and that usually cause problems in an intellectual sense, provided that it is consistently stated that the theories accepted so far are erroneous or insufficient .

In technology, however, what does not present clear practical advantages tends to be displaced for other projects.

5. One part of designs, the other of theories

In the world of technology, which rests basically on engineering, we work from designs. In science, on the other hand, it is based on theories and theoretical models , which in themselves are not designs but relations between ideas that do not even have to be expressed in a mathematical way.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Giant neurons associated with consciousness are discovered"

Your relationship in engineering

As we have said, in many professional fields science and technology go hand in hand. Engineering, although they are not proper sciences , are based on scientific research to find new routes towards efficiency. Science, in turn, can test theories thanks to the existence of certain technological options that allow us to contrast expectations with reality.

On the other hand, it should be noted that although the existence of technology is prior to that of science, currently the first depends on the second, since in practice science has proven to be a much more reliable way of creating knowledge than its alternatives when generating useful information for engineering. Once the scientific revolution appeared, there was no point in looking back on the creation of new tools and technical proposals to improve the quality of life, so to speak.


Difference between Science and Technology (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre science et technologie

Les 5 différences entre science et technologie

Juin 21, 2022

Les êtres humains sont paradoxaux. D'une part, notre fragilité et nos besoins particuliers nous font paraître peu adaptés à la vie sur la planète Terre. De l'autre, nous sommes l'une des espèces de mammifères les plus performantes au cours de l'évolution; notre population compte des milliards et nous avons colonisé tous les continents.

Le fait que l’humanité soit prospère en nombre d’habitants est principalement dû au fait que nous avons développé une capacité unique de utiliser les potentialités de l'environnement et le modifier afin qu'il corresponde à nos besoins et à nos objectifs stratégiques.

Dans cet article, nous distinguerons les deux phénomènes qui ont rendu cela possible: nous verrons les différences entre la science et la technologie , qui nous permettent de mieux connaître la nature et d’utiliser ces connaissances à des fins pratiques à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des laboratoires.


  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types d’énergie: de quoi s'agit-il?"

Les principales différences entre science et technologie

Nous verrons ensuite quels sont les aspects qui permettent de faire la distinction entre technologie et science, mais gardons à l’esprit que, d’une certaine manière, il existe des tracés de l’activité humaine dans lesquels tous deux vont de la main à ceux où la différence ne se produit que dans un sens. théorique

1. L'un permet de savoir, l'autre de modifier

La science est un moyen de générer des connaissances sur la nature , peu importe si cette information est appliquée à la pratique ou non.

La technologie, en revanche, consiste en un processus d'amélioration basé sur la manipulation de la nature. Cela signifie que l'utilisation de la technologie ne fournit généralement que des connaissances sur elle-même, et non sur ce qui existe indépendamment de l'action humaine.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Questions de recherche: comment aborder une étude, avec des exemples"

2. La technologie peut être facilement testée

Il est facile de savoir si les processus de développement technologique finissent par atteindre leurs objectifs ou non, car ils répondent à des besoins spécifiques: par exemple, développer une voiture capable d'atteindre une certaine vitesse pendant un certain temps, consommant moins de carburant que ses analogues. Grâce à des mesures objectives, vous pouvez savoir si la cible a été touchée.

En ce qui concerne la science, en revanche, il existe un grand ambiguïté quant à savoir si un projet scientifique a répondu aux attentes . La raison en est que la science n'atteint jamais pleinement ses objectifs, étant donné que toutes les explications de la réalité qu'elle fournit sont provisoires et non définitives.

3. La science est relativement jeune, la technologie est ancienne

Bien que l’on suppose généralement que la technologie concerne les ordinateurs et les dernières avancées électroniques et biomédicales en général, la vérité est que l'utilisation de la technologie existe depuis des milliers d'années . Par exemple, l’utilisation du feu pour le chauffage ou la cuisson est considérée comme un exemple de technologie et on pense que c’est quelque chose que même les autres espèces du genre homo existaient bien avant nous.


La science, en revanche, est apparue après la fin du Moyen Âge, bien qu'il y ait eu des précédents intéressants avant ce point historique.

4. La technologie recherche l'efficacité, pas la science

Les objectifs de la science vont bien au-delà de l'utilisation la plus efficace des ressources. C’est la raison pour laquelle il est souvent proposé d’expliquer la réalité dans des explications de la réalité qui posent généralement problème, au sens intellectuel du terme, à condition que les théories retenues jusqu’à présent soient erronées ou insuffisantes. .

En technologie, cependant, ce qui ne présente pas d'avantages pratiques évidents tend à être déplacé pour d'autres projets.

5. Une partie des dessins, l'autre des théories

Dans le monde de la technologie, qui repose essentiellement sur l’ingénierie, nous travaillons à partir de conceptions. En science, d'autre part, il est basé sur des théories et des modèles théoriques , qui en soi ne sont pas des desseins, mais des relations entre des idées qui ne doivent même pas être exprimées de manière mathématique.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Des neurones géants associés à la conscience sont découverts"

Votre relation en ingénierie

Comme nous l'avons dit, dans de nombreux domaines professionnels, la science et la technologie vont de pair. L'ingénierie, bien que ce ne soient pas des sciences propres , reposent sur des recherches scientifiques pour trouver de nouvelles voies d’efficacité. La science, à son tour, peut tester des théories grâce à l’existence de certaines options technologiques permettant de contraster les attentes avec la réalité.

D'autre part, il convient de noter que, bien que l'existence de la technologie soit antérieure à celle de la science, la première dépend actuellement de la seconde, car dans la pratique la science s'est avéré être un moyen beaucoup plus fiable de créer des connaissances que ses alternatives lors de la génération d’informations utiles pour l’ingénierie. Une fois que la révolution scientifique est apparue, il était inutile de regarder en arrière pour créer de nouveaux outils et propositions techniques pour améliorer la qualité de la vie, pour ainsi dire.


Capsule 3 - LA DIFFÉRENCE ENTRE PROBIOTIQUE ET PRÉBIOTIQUE (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes