yes, therapy helps!
The 5 differences between social psychology and community psychology

The 5 differences between social psychology and community psychology

May 14, 2023

Although social and community psychology share theoretical frameworks and research methods, each of these disciplines is characterized by particular aspects that are important to know. In this article we will analyze the main differences between social and community psychology , one of its most relevant and vindicating branches.

  • Related article: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

What is social psychology?

Social psychology can be defined as the scientific study of the influence of the presence of other people on observable behavior and in the mental contents of specific individuals or groups. The others do not have to be physically present, but also act in an imaginary or symbolic way through social norms and other factors.


Thus, from this aspect of psychology, behavior is understood as an interaction between the variables of a social type that are present at a given moment and the state of the individual. In general, particular attention has been paid to the relevance of cognitive constructs such as feelings, attitudes or intentions.

Among the phenomena and processes most commonly studied by social psychology we find social cognition, attribution of causality to behaviors and events or self-concept (referred to the beliefs of a person about herself), self-image (mental representation of oneself) and self-esteem (emotional component of self-concept).


Most experts believe that social psychology as we know it today arose at the beginning of the 20th century, with the United States as the nucleus. Norman Triplett's experiments on social facilitation were a key milestone; later the School of the Gestalt appeared, and after World War II the interest in the discipline increased.

It is considered that social psychology constitutes the point of union between psychology and sociology , focused to a greater extent on the collectives. Although these two social sciences have acquired their own identities over the last decades, the knowledge of both are equally useful for research and the theory of social psychology.

  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

Defining community psychology

It is considered that community psychology emerged around the 1950s and 1960s in the United States. During this period the consequences of the Second World War favored the introduction of social policies with the aim of increasing the welfare of the population, particularly in risk groups such as ethnic minorities and veterans.


In general, the work of community psychologists consists of analyze the characteristics, problems and needs of a given population to plan and apply intervention programs with a corrective or empowering purpose. Often the interest of community psychology falls on the less favored groups.

Although we can encompass community psychology within the framework of social psychology, which is broader, in its emergence the movements that demanded a higher quality in public mental health services also had a significant influence. These political claims had a great weight in the Anglo-Saxon world of the time.

In this sense, It is difficult to separate community psychology from its political and claiming side , very linked to movements for the defense of social rights. Thus, community psychology has traditionally worked for the empowerment of marginalized communities, public services and citizen participation in political life.

Community psychology is closely related to other psychological disciplines, including environmental, transcultural and ecological psychology. Likewise, its area of ​​application is intertwined with that which is characteristic of social work, public health, political science, community development and applied anthropology.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 31 best Psychology books you can not miss"

Main differences between both

Given that community psychology can be understood as a subdiscipline within social psychology, there are many similarities between both, especially in relation to the theoretical foundations of both branches.

Thus, community psychology drinks from the knowledge obtained by social psychology and uses it in concrete human contexts.

1. Theory and practice

Social psychology has a mainly theoretical character . The contributions of professionals in this field are used by other psychologists and social scientists in multiple applied disciplines; Community psychology, which focuses almost exclusively on practical aspects of reality, is a very good example of this fact.

2. Main objective

Community psychologists usually work towards the improvement of living conditions or social functioning in specific geographical areas. In contrast, social psychology focuses on understand and predict the behavior of human beings based on their interactions , thus having a much broader character.

3. Focus of analysis

Community psychology acts, by definition, in larger or smaller human groups; Concrete individuals are relevant insofar as they influence the functioning of the collective in question. Social psychology has a group side but also another, perhaps more important, with the individual focus typical of psychology in general.

4. Political ideology

As usual community psychologists have a clear claim to vindication , identifying with ideas and socialist proposals (although evidently in every field there are contradictory exceptions and tendencies). In contrast, social psychologists may prefer to stay out of politics, which has earned them criticism from community psychology.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

5. Relationship with other disciplines

While social psychology tends to contain itself to a greater extent, community psychology has a more interdisciplinary nature: professionals in this discipline usually work together with other social actors and experts in different subjects to solve problems. specific to a group.


What is COMMUNITY PSYCHOLOGY? What does COMMUNITY PSYCHOLOGY mean? COMMUNITY PSYCHOLOGY meaning (May 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 différences entre psychologie sociale et psychologie communautaire

Les 5 différences entre psychologie sociale et psychologie communautaire

Juillet 30, 2021

Bien que la psychologie sociale et communautaire partage des cadres théoriques et des méthodes de recherche, chacune de ces disciplines est caractérisée par des aspects particuliers qu'il est important de connaître. Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principales différences entre la psychologie sociale et la psychologie communautaire , une de ses branches les plus pertinentes et les plus revendicatives.

  • Article connexe: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?

La psychologie sociale peut être définie comme l’étude scientifique de l'influence de la présence d'autres personnes sur le comportement observable et dans le contenu mental d'individus ou de groupes spécifiques. Les autres n'ont pas besoin d'être physiquement présents, mais agissent également de manière imaginaire ou symbolique par le biais de normes sociales et d'autres facteurs.


Ainsi, sous cet aspect de la psychologie, le comportement est compris comme une interaction entre les variables d'un type social présentes à un moment donné et l'état de l'individu. En général, une attention particulière a été portée à la pertinence des constructions cognitives telles que les sentiments, les attitudes ou les intentions.

Parmi les phénomènes et processus les plus couramment étudiés par la psychologie sociale, on trouve cognition sociale, attribution de la causalité à des comportements et à des événements ou à un concept de soi (fait référence aux croyances d'une personne sur elle-même), à ​​l'image de soi (représentation mentale de soi) et à l'estime de soi (composante émotionnelle de la notion de soi).


La plupart des experts pensent que la psychologie sociale telle que nous la connaissons aujourd'hui est apparue au début du XXe siècle, avec les États-Unis comme noyau. Les expériences de Norman Triplett sur la facilitation sociale ont constitué une étape clé. plus tard, l'école de la Gestalt est apparue et, après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'intérêt pour la discipline s'est accru.

On considère que la psychologie sociale constitue le point d'union entre psychologie et sociologie , plus axé sur les collectifs. Bien que ces deux sciences sociales aient acquis leur propre identité au cours des dernières décennies, leurs connaissances sont également utiles à la recherche et à la théorie de la psychologie sociale.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Définir la psychologie communautaire

On considère que la psychologie communautaire a émergé vers les années 50 et 60 aux États-Unis. Pendant cette période, les conséquences de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont favorisé la mise en place de politiques sociales visant à accroître le bien-être de la population, en particulier dans les groupes à risque tels que les minorités ethniques et les anciens combattants.


En général, le travail des psychologues communautaires consiste à analyser les caractéristiques, les problèmes et les besoins d'une population donnée planifier et appliquer des programmes d’intervention dans un but correctif ou de responsabilisation. L'intérêt de la psychologie communautaire retombe souvent sur les groupes les moins favorisés.

Bien que nous puissions englober la psychologie communautaire dans le cadre plus large de la psychologie sociale, les mouvements qui réclamaient une qualité supérieure dans les services publics de santé mentale ont également eu une influence significative. Ces revendications politiques avaient un grand poids dans le monde anglo-saxon de l'époque.

Dans ce sens, Il est difficile de séparer la psychologie communautaire de son côté politique et revendicateur , très liée aux mouvements de défense des droits sociaux. Ainsi, la psychologie communautaire a toujours œuvré pour l'autonomisation des communautés marginalisées, les services publics et la participation des citoyens à la vie politique.

La psychologie communautaire est étroitement liée à d'autres disciplines psychologiques, notamment la psychologie environnementale, transculturelle et écologique. De même, son domaine d'application est étroitement lié à ce qui caractérise le travail social, la santé publique, les sciences politiques, le développement communautaire et l'anthropologie appliquée.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

Principales différences entre les deux

Étant donné que la psychologie communautaire peut être comprise comme une sous-discipline de la psychologie sociale, il existe de nombreuses similitudes entre les deux, en particulier en ce qui concerne les fondements théoriques des deux branches.

Ainsi, la psychologie communautaire tire profit des connaissances acquises par la psychologie sociale et les utilise dans des contextes humains concrets.

1. Théorie et pratique

La psychologie sociale a un caractère principalement théorique . Les contributions de professionnels dans ce domaine sont utilisées par d’autres psychologues et spécialistes des sciences sociales dans plusieurs disciplines appliquées; La psychologie communautaire, qui se concentre presque exclusivement sur les aspects pratiques de la réalité, en est un très bon exemple.

2. Objectif principal

Les psychologues communautaires travaillent généralement à l'amélioration des conditions de vie ou du fonctionnement social dans des zones géographiques spécifiques. En revanche, la psychologie sociale se concentre sur comprendre et prédire le comportement des êtres humains en fonction de leurs interactions , ayant ainsi un caractère beaucoup plus large.

3. Objet de l'analyse

La psychologie communautaire agit, par définition, dans des groupes humains plus grands ou plus petits; Les individus concrets sont pertinents dans la mesure où ils influencent le fonctionnement du collectif en question. La psychologie sociale a un côté groupe mais aussi un autre, peut-être plus important, avec la focalisation individuelle typique de la psychologie en général.

4. idéologie politique

Habituellement les psychologues communautaires ont clairement le droit de faire valoir leurs droits , en s’identifiant aux idées et aux propositions socialistes (même s’il existe évidemment dans chaque domaine des exceptions et des tendances contradictoires). En revanche, les psychologues sociaux peuvent préférer rester en dehors de la politique, ce qui leur a valu les critiques de la psychologie communautaire.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

5. Relation avec d'autres disciplines

Si la psychologie sociale tend à se contenir davantage, la psychologie communautaire revêt un caractère plus interdisciplinaire: les professionnels de cette discipline travaillent généralement avec d'autres acteurs sociaux et des experts de différents domaines pour résoudre des problèmes. spécifique à un groupe.


L'Aide-mémoire de psychologie médicale et psychologie du soin (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes