yes, therapy helps!
The 5 functions of society: how does it influence our lives?

The 5 functions of society: how does it influence our lives?

June 11, 2024

In psychology and other social sciences, we often talk a lot about "society". We discuss how it affects us, about the types of societies we have built, we talk about the changes that our societies have gone through, and so on. We even differentiate between Western, non-Western, individualistic, collectivist, knowledge societies, developed, undeveloped societies, and many others. However, we rarely ask ourselves what we mean exactly when we talk about "society".

Considering that there is no single definition, and that it is a topic that we could approach from very different perspectives, in this article we will briefly review the psychosocial approach to what society is and what some of its elements are. Specifically we will see several of the main functions of life in society .


  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

What is society and what elements does it have?

From the most classical traditions of the social sciences, society has presented itself as the element opposite the individual , that is, as an entity that is external to the subjects and that affects us, shapes us, oppresses us, or vice versa: it frees us, strengthens us or drives us. That is to say, society tends to think of itself as something that exists outside the subject, but in relation to it: it sustains it and at the same time limits it.

However, society can also be understood as the result of the activity of human beings ; activity that, when shared, also generates a set of rules. That is, society can also be understood as the result of our interaction.


And, when interacting, we produce and share a series of codes that allow us to organize ourselves in different ways. These codes are translated into elements that foster socialization (the process by which an individual becomes a competent subject for society).

Examples of these elements are institutions (family, marriage, school, science, religion, etc.), which depends on the geographical, economic, political situation, traditions , the values ​​and history of each set of individuals.

In other words, there is no single way of doing society; The same dynamics and minimal processes are not generated everywhere, nor have they been the same at all times. And beyond being an entity different from the subject, society is the result of the activity and interaction of the same subjects.


5 functions of society

Starting from what was stated before we could ask ourselves: why do we live in society? What's the use? Could we live without society or outside it?

No doubt the functions of society are, at least, problematic. Beyond the fact that the society itself is good or bad, harmful or beneficial, the whole of our own activity is often uncertain, with which, the effects and functions of society also become ambiguous .

If we also think about society in pragmatic terms, we can say that it is not only responsible for influencing our lives or our activity, but it is through the same society that we are able to maintain our own life (physical and psychic). However, and depending on what dynamics are generated, the opposite effect can also be had.

Broadly speaking we can describe the functions of society in different processes that are generated through shared human activity: identity, social norms, practices related to care, activities related to provision, and environmental management.

1. Generate identity

Identity is a psychosocial process by means of which a person recognizes himself in relation to a series of characteristics, traits, interests, desires, abilities, etcetera. Such recognition occurs largely through other people. And this is so because only through others can we recognize ourselves as "equal to ..." or "different from ...", that is, as unique individuals and at the same time part of a group.

In other words, if an individual recognizes himself as such, it is because there are other individuals who have recognized him as well. So, one of the functions of life in society is shape the subject and the small groups : society generates both psychic structures and social groups, without which we could hardly relate to the world.

2. Produce social norms

Social norms are the set of implicit or explicit guidelines that tell us in what way we should behave. Not only that, but also indicate what interests, desires, habits or expectations are appropriate or possible. Through social norms we relate to the world and to other members of society .


We generate and reproduce them through that same relationship, and when it is transformed, social norms also change. For example, the interaction and behavioral norms between human beings (and between human beings and nature), was not the same before we developed technology, and this is so because by introducing small material and discursive changes, social norms also change .

In short, another of the main functions of society is to generate and transform the rules of behavior that distinguish us as part of a social group. Thanks to this, we can make our interests fit without the appearance of too many conflicts to live close to one another.


3. Ensure practices of care and filiation

Another function of life in society is to generate practices that ensure the satisfaction of our human needs. To ensure this satisfaction, it is also necessary that the practices generated correspond to the needs and values ​​of a geographical and historical moment concrete. For example, a need shared by human beings is filiation, which is related to affective interdependence and care practices.

The latter is a value that some societies share, and to a lesser extent others. It is also related to the sexual division of labor and the socialization of gender that can be different between human groups. For example, in some western societies that have more economic resources, the practices related to care and filiation are different from other societies in which, having fewer resources, they also generate an important need for support and care among individuals


  • Maybe you're interested: "Affective Prediction: a very useful mental skill"

4. Generate activities related to the provision

Related to the previous point, another of the functions of life in society is to ensure that practices related to provision are generated, that is, activities that assure the supply of products of first necessity , which we do through exchange and relationship with other people.

In other words, the interaction and shared activity among human beings has among its objectives to ensure that we survive. In this case, such as activities related to care, provision is a practice that in the history of Western societies is often socialized in relation to the values ​​of masculinity and based on the sexual division of labor .

5. Manage the environment in which we develop

Organize as a society, and become competent members of this, has among its effects the management and manipulation of the environment where our interaction occurs. That is, the manipulation of the environment. Life in society allows us not only to take from the middle what we need to survive, but because of the same norms and identities that are generated, social activity can have as a consequence the excessive wear of the environment due to the constant use of its resources .

Thus, society often not only has the function of satisfying basic needs, but also generates other needs and other forms of satisfaction that lead to the massive exploitation of the environment where society itself emerges. For this, another of the functions that our societies have generated has been the production of knowledge and the development of technology , devices that have influenced significantly, not only in the management of the environment but also in the same interpersonal relationships.

In short, rather than having certain functions, life in society has a series of effects that are not precisely external to the subjects, but are the result of our interaction. Also, they can be problematic, so it is important to take into account to ensure that this interaction is translated into coexistence and quality of life.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ibáñez, T. (2004) (Ed.). Introduction to social psychology. Editorial UOC: Barcelona.

10 WAYS THE INTERNET HAS CHANGED OUR LIVES FOREVER (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 fonctions de la société: comment influence-t-il nos vies?

Les 5 fonctions de la société: comment influence-t-il nos vies?

Juillet 4, 2022

En psychologie et autres sciences sociales, on parle souvent de "société". Nous discutons de la façon dont cela nous affecte, des types de sociétés que nous avons construites, des changements que nos sociétés ont subis, etc. Nous distinguons même les sociétés occidentales, non occidentales, individualistes, collectivistes, du savoir, développées, non développées et bien d’autres. Cependant, nous nous demandons rarement ce que nous voulons dire exactement quand nous parlons de "société".

Considérant qu’il n’existe pas de définition unique et que c’est un sujet que nous pourrions aborder sous des perspectives très différentes, nous allons dans cet article brièvement présenter l’approche psychosociale de la société et de certains de ses éléments. Plus précisément, nous verrons plusieurs des principales fonctions de la vie en société .


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Qu'est-ce que la société et quels sont ses éléments?

Parmi les traditions les plus classiques des sciences sociales, la société s’est présentée comme un l'élément opposé à l'individu c’est-à-dire en tant qu’entité extérieure aux sujets et qui nous affecte, nous façonne, nous opprime, ou inversement: elle nous libère, nous renforce ou nous anime. C'est-à-dire que la société a tendance à se penser comme quelque chose qui existe en dehors du sujet, mais en relation avec lui: elle le soutient tout en le limitant.

Cependant, la société peut aussi être comprise comme le résultat de l'activité des êtres humains ; activité qui, lorsqu'elle est partagée, génère également un ensemble de règles. Autrement dit, la société peut également être comprise comme le résultat de notre interaction.


Et, lors de nos interactions, nous produisons et partageons une série de codes qui nous permettent de nous organiser de différentes manières. Ces codes sont traduits en éléments favorisant la socialisation (le processus par lequel un individu devient un sujet compétent pour la société).

Des exemples de ces éléments sont les institutions (famille, mariage, école, science, religion, etc.), qui dépend de la situation géographique, économique, politique, des traditions , les valeurs et l'histoire de chaque groupe d'individus.

En d'autres termes, il n'y a pas une seule façon de faire la société; La même dynamique et les processus minimaux ne sont pas générés partout, ni ont-ils été les mêmes à tout moment. Et au-delà d'être une entité différente du sujet, la société est le résultat de l'activité et de l'interaction des mêmes sujets.


5 fonctions de la société

Partant de ce qui a été énoncé avant de pouvoir nous demander: pourquoi vivons-nous en société? Quelle est l'utilisation? Pourrions-nous vivre sans la société ou en dehors de celle-ci?

Nul doute que les fonctions de la société sont, au moins, problématiques. Au-delà du fait que la société elle-même est bonne ou mauvaise, nuisible ou bénéfique, l’ensemble de notre propre activité est souvent incertain, avec lequel, les effets et les fonctions de la société deviennent également ambigus .

Si nous pensons aussi à la société de manière pragmatique, nous pouvons dire qu'elle n'est pas seulement responsable d'influencer nos vies ou notre activité, mais que c'est à travers la même société que nous sommes capables de maintenir notre propre vie (physique et psychique). Cependant, et en fonction de la dynamique générée, l'effet inverse peut également être obtenu.

D'une manière générale, nous pouvons décrire les fonctions de la société dans différents processus générés par une activité humaine partagée: identité, normes sociales, pratiques liées aux soins, activités liées à la fourniture et gestion de l'environnement.

1. Générer une identité

L'identité est un processus psychosocial au moyen duquel une personne se reconnaît en relation avec une série de caractéristiques, traits, intérêts, désirs, capacités, etc. Une telle reconnaissance se produit principalement par le biais d'autres personnes. Et c’est parce que c’est seulement par les autres que nous pouvons nous reconnaître comme "égaux à ..." ou "différents de ...", c’est-à-dire comme des individus uniques et en même temps faisant partie d’un groupe.

En d’autres termes, si un individu se reconnaît comme tel, c’est parce que d’autres individus l’ont également reconnu. Ainsi, l’une des fonctions de la vie en société est façonner le sujet et les petits groupes : la société génère à la fois des structures psychiques et des groupes sociaux, sans lesquels nous pourrions difficilement nous relier au monde.

2. Produire des normes sociales

Les normes sociales sont un ensemble de directives implicites ou explicites nous indiquant comment nous devons nous comporter. De plus, indiquez également quels intérêts, désirs, habitudes ou attentes sont appropriés ou possibles. À travers les normes sociales, nous nous rapportons au monde et aux autres membres de la société .


Nous les générons et les reproduisons à travers cette même relation, et lorsque celle-ci est transformée, les normes sociales changent également. Par exemple, l'interaction et les normes de comportement entre les êtres humains (et entre l'homme et la nature) n'étaient pas les mêmes avant le développement de la technologie. En effet, en introduisant de petits changements matériels et discursifs, les normes sociales changent également. .

En bref, une autre des fonctions principales de la société est de générer et de transformer les règles de comportement qui nous distinguent en tant que partie d’un groupe social. Grâce à cela, nous pouvons adapter nos intérêts sans l'apparition de trop nombreux conflits pour nous rapprocher des autres.


3. Assurer des pratiques de soin et de filiation

Une autre fonction de la vie en société est de générer des pratiques garantissant la satisfaction de nos besoins humains. Pour assurer cette satisfaction, il est également nécessaire que les pratiques générées correspondent aux besoins et aux valeurs d'un moment géographique et historique béton Par exemple, un besoin partagé par les êtres humains est la filiation, qui est liée à l'interdépendance affective et aux pratiques de soins.

Ce dernier est une valeur que certaines sociétés partagent et, dans une moindre mesure, d’autres. Elle est également liée à la division sexuelle du travail et à la socialisation du genre, qui peut être différente entre les groupes humains. Par exemple, dans certaines sociétés occidentales disposant de plus de ressources économiques, les pratiques en matière de soins et de filiation sont différentes de celles des sociétés dans lesquelles, générant moins de ressources, elles génèrent également un besoin important de soutien et de prise en charge chez les individus


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La prévision affective: une compétence mentale très utile"

4. Générer des activités liées à la fourniture

Par rapport au point précédent, une autre fonction de la vie en société est de garantir la génération de pratiques liées à la fourniture de services, c’est-à-dire: activités assurant l'approvisionnement en produits de première nécessité , ce que nous faisons par le biais d’échanges et de relations avec d’autres personnes.

En d’autres termes, l’interaction et l’activité partagée entre les êtres humains ont notamment pour objectif de garantir notre survie. Dans ce cas, comme les activités liées aux soins, l’offre est une pratique qui, dans l’histoire des sociétés occidentales, est souvent socialisée par rapport aux valeurs de la masculinité et de la masculinité. basé sur la division sexuelle du travail .

5. Gérer l'environnement dans lequel nous développons

S'organiser en société et en devenir des membres compétents a parmi ses effets la gestion et la manipulation de l'environnement où se déroule notre interaction. C'est-à-dire la manipulation de l'environnement. La vie en société nous permet non seulement de prendre au centre ce dont nous avons besoin pour survivre, mais, en raison des mêmes normes et des mêmes identités, l'activité sociale peut avoir pour conséquence l'usure excessive de l'environnement due à l'utilisation constante de ses ressources .

Ainsi, la société remplit souvent non seulement la fonction de satisfaction des besoins essentiels, mais génère également d’autres besoins et d’autres formes de satisfaction qui conduisent à l’exploitation massive de l’environnement dans lequel la société elle-même émerge. Pour cela, une autre des fonctions générées par nos sociétés a été la production de connaissances et le développement de la technologie , des appareils qui ont beaucoup influencé non seulement la gestion de l’environnement mais aussi les mêmes relations interpersonnelles.

En bref, au lieu d’avoir certaines fonctions, la vie en société a une série d’effets qui ne sont pas précisément extérieurs aux sujets, mais résultent de notre interaction. En outre, ils peuvent être problématiques, il est donc important de prendre en compte pour que cette interaction se traduise en coexistence et qualité de vie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ibáñez, T. (2004) (Ed.). Introduction à la psychologie sociale. UOC éditorial: Barcelone.

Comment MANIPULER les autres et avoir de l'INFLUENCE : les 6 principes (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes