yes, therapy helps!
The 5 most famous Viking gods

The 5 most famous Viking gods

May 26, 2024

It has been about three years since the first pagan temple was inaugurated in Iceland, in the hands of the Neopagan association Asatruarfelagid, where veneration and worship of the Viking gods take place. Without apparent scientific explanation, the rise of this type of religions or sects is spreading throughout the northern part of Europe, especially in the Scandinavian regions.

Returning to the data of the mentioned associations, only the Icelandic has tripled in number of affiliates in 10 years of history. Wanting to avoid the controversy generated by this phenomenon, the maximum authority of the association Asatru, Hilmar Örn, claims the metaphorical and poetic role of their beliefs. Shunning the bad image generated, the priest claims not to believe in monstrous beings with a mutant head with green skin.


However, yesteryear the Viking gods were entities in which this Nordic people believed fervently . Even today, the mythology associated with them continues to arouse the fascination of many people.

  • Maybe you're interested: "25 Egyptian gods (biography, personality and legacy)"

The main Viking gods

Nordic and Germanic mythology is full of super-powerful beings that have to do, mainly, with the earth and nature. Below you will find a brief explanation about the most important Viking gods.

1. Thor

Today, it appears in movies, comics, comics and even in cereals. In the present, the god Thor is surely the most popular mythological viking being on a universal level . Son of Odin, the god of the gods, Thor represents strength, power and war. Blonde or redhead beard and fierce eyes were part of the physical characteristics with which he was used to describe, although almost as important as he was his weapon.


Thor is always depicted wielding a hammer known as mjolnir, forged by dwarves. His means of transport was an imposing carriage that was dragged by some goats whose passage was marked by sounds that emulated the thunder and lightning.

2. Odin

As we mentioned in the first place, Odin was the god of the gods, to whom we had to pay homage. Father of Thor, he possessed some of the characteristics that he transmitted to his son: strength, dexterity, war, intelligence and cunning. It was his reason for being, knowledge and wisdom. Mutaba being to acquire more intellect, and He was always accompanied by crows .

To carry out an increase in intelligence, Odin was associated with human and animal sacrifices, which earned him the loss of an eye. It is said that the English word "Wednesday", day of the supreme god, is due to the English name: "Woden".


3. Frigg

She is Odin's wife and stepmother of Thor. This Viking deity represented love, fertility, marriage, motherhood and the art of home. As a special power had the quality of prophesying, knowing and knowing the fate of all humans, as well as the only, after Odin, to occupy the throne of the gods and observe the universe.

It is said that the origin of the word "Friday" in English, which means Friday, comes from the Germanic origin "Freitag", whose epistemology has much to do with this Viking goddess.

4. Tyr

Within the Germanic-Norse mythology, the god Tyr is considered as the absolute warrior of all the Viking gods. Although most of his encounters, stories and narrations have to do with military and force scenarios, he was not an exclusively brute character, but he is also credited with iconographies associated with wisdom and laws.

In the same way, he also made a sacrifice of his own and he let his left arm be amputated so that the gods could save the world of the Fenrir wolf . It should be noted that only Thor surpassed him in terms of physical strength.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The history of the symbol of Psychology (Ψ)"

5. Freyja

She was the goddess of love and fertility, beauty and romance. I was madly in love with her husband Odr. It is said that when he moved away from her, Freyja burst into tears and, as beautiful as she was, she shed tears of gold between her lashes. For these reasons, among others, it was one of the most respected deities, although from the modern perspective it seems more like a grouping of characteristics traditionally associated with the feminine .

His clothes were worthy of what he represented. Beautiful, shiny and precious necklaces, a hypnotic plumage that allowed him to fly among the underworld and a carriage carried by wonderful felines were part of the objects with which it was represented.Although she was the least bellicose deity, she accompanied soldiers and gods to war to instill security and motivation, as she was considered wise.


Norse Mythology Explained In 15 Minutes (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 plus célèbres dieux viking

Les 5 plus célèbres dieux viking

Mai 25, 2022

Cela fait environ trois ans que le premier temple païen a été inauguré en Islande, entre les mains de l'association Neopagan Asatruarfelagid, lieu de vénération et de culte des dieux viking. Sans explication scientifique apparente, l'essor de ce type de religions ou de sectes se répand dans le nord de l'Europe, en particulier dans les régions scandinaves.

Pour en revenir aux données des associations mentionnées, seul l’Islandais a triplé son nombre d’affiliés en 10 ans d’histoire. Voulant éviter la controverse générée par ce phénomène, l'autorité maximale de l'association Asatru, Hilmar Örn, revendique le rôle métaphorique et poétique de leurs croyances. Fuyant la mauvaise image générée, le prêtre affirme ne pas croire en des êtres monstrueux à la tête mutante et à la peau verte.


Cependant, hier les dieux viking étaient des entités dans lesquelles ce peuple nordique croyait avec ferveur . Même aujourd'hui, la mythologie qui leur est associée continue de susciter la fascination de beaucoup de gens.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "25 dieux égyptiens (biographie, personnalité et héritage)"

Les principaux dieux viking

La mythologie nordique et germanique est pleine d'êtres super puissants qui ont à voir principalement avec la terre et la nature. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une brève explication des principaux dieux viking.

1. Thor

Aujourd'hui, il apparaît dans les films, les bandes dessinées, les bandes dessinées et même dans les céréales. Dans le présent, le dieu Thor est sûrement le viking mythologique le plus populaire au niveau universel . Fils d'Odin, le dieu des dieux, Thor représente la force, le pouvoir et la guerre. Une barbe blonde ou rousse et des yeux féroces faisaient partie des caractéristiques physiques avec lesquelles il était habitué à décrire, bien que presque aussi important que son arme.


Thor est toujours représenté brandissant un marteau appelé mjolnir, forgé par des nains. Son moyen de transport était une voiture imposante qui était traînée par des chèvres dont le passage était marqué par des sons imitant le tonnerre et la foudre.

2. Odin

Comme nous l'avons mentionné en premier lieu, Odin était le dieu des dieux, à qui nous devions rendre hommage. Père de Thor, il possédait certaines des caractéristiques qu’il avait transmises à son fils: force, dextérité, guerre, intelligence et ruse. C'était sa raison d'être, sa connaissance et sa sagesse. Mutaba étant d'acquérir plus d'intellect, et Il était toujours accompagné de corbeaux .

Pour accroître l'intelligence, Odin a été associé à des sacrifices humains et animaux, ce qui lui a valu la perte d'un œil. On dit que le mot anglais "mercredi", jour du dieu suprême, est dû au nom anglais: "Woden".


3. Frigg

Elle est la femme d'Odin et la belle-mère de Thor. Cette divinité viking représentait l'amour, la fertilité, le mariage, la maternité et l'art de la maison. En tant que pouvoir spécial, il avait la qualité de prophétiser, de savoir et de connaître le sort de tous les humains, ainsi que d'être le seul, après Odin, à occuper le trône des dieux et à observer l'univers.

On dit que l'origine du mot "Friday" en anglais, qui signifie vendredi, vient de l'origine germanique "Freitag", dont l'épistémologie a beaucoup à voir avec cette déesse viking.

4. Tyr

Dans la mythologie germano-nordique, le dieu Tyr est considéré comme le guerrier absolu de tous les dieux vikings. Bien que la plupart de ses rencontres, récits et narrations concernent des scénarios militaires et de forces, il n'était pas exclusivement un personnage brutal, mais il est également crédité d'iconographies associées à la sagesse et aux lois.

De la même manière, il a aussi consenti un sacrifice personnel et il a laissé son bras gauche être amputé afin que les dieux puissent sauver le monde du loup Fenrir . Il est à noter que seul Thor le surpassait en termes de force physique.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "L'histoire du symbole de la psychologie ()"

5. Freyja

Elle était la déesse de l'amour et de la fertilité, de la beauté et de la romance. J'étais follement amoureuse de son mari Odr. On raconte que lorsqu'il s'éloigna d'elle, Freyja éclata en sanglots et, aussi belle qu'elle fût, elle versa des larmes d'or entre ses cils. Pour ces raisons, entre autres, c’était l’une des divinités les plus respectées, bien que, du point de vue moderne, cela ressemble davantage à un groupe de caractéristiques traditionnellement associées au féminin .

Ses vêtements étaient dignes de ce qu'il représentait. De beaux colliers brillants et précieux, un plumage hypnotique qui lui permettait de voler parmi la pègre et une voiture transportée par de merveilleux félins faisaient partie des objets avec lesquels il était représenté.Bien qu’elle fût la divinité la moins belliqueuse, elle accompagnait soldats et dieux à la guerre pour renforcer la sécurité et la motivation, car elle était considérée comme sage.


La mythologie nordique - Mythes et légendes #2 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes