yes, therapy helps!
The 5 phases of stress (and how to fight them)

The 5 phases of stress (and how to fight them)

May 18, 2024

The lifestyle of Western societies has caused stress to become a frequent phenomenon today. This condition can occur acutely, in periods where we have, for example, an excess of work.

However, when stress is prolonged over time, chronic stress (burnout or burn syndrome in the workplace) appears, which is even more harmful and causes negative consequences both physically and psychologically.

Stress can be classified as positive stress (eustress) or negative stress (distress). In this article we will talk about the phases of habitual stress , which is considered negative.

  • Related article: "Types of stress and its triggers"

What causes this problem?

Stress does not have a single cause, but it is a multi-causal and complex phenomenon in which both internal factors and the expectations of the person or the way the person has to interpret and deal with the negative situations that occur around them come into play; and external factors (for example, not having a job, living a situation of economic uncertainty or being harassed at school).


Phenomena that cause stress are called stressors.

Work stress: a problem that affects many people

In recent decades, many investigations have been carried out to try to understand a form of stress that affects a large part of the population: work stress.

The data obtained through several studies show that the cause of this type of stress it's not just workplace factors , but also they influence several that are foreign to this one, like the economic crisis, the cultural expectations, the bad relation of the worker with his pair, etc.

In addition, recent research claims that stress occurs at several levels, not only individual but also collective . Individuals share emotional experiences, and both these emotional experiences and experiences of stress can be contagious.


  • You can learn more about this interesting topic in this article: "8 essential tips to reduce work stress"

Its consequences

The negative consequences of distress are numerous; however, it is important highlight the differences between acute stress and chronic stress .

The first occurs at specific moments and temporarily, as a response to the experimentation of one or several highly stressful events. For example, due to an exam that has to be prepared in a week when the person has had the whole year to do it. As a result, the individual may suffer from anxiety, muscle aches, headaches, exhaustion, gastric problems, tachycardia, etc. This type of stress is less severe, and over time the body returns to normal.

But when stress is chronic the consequences are even more harmful , causing physical, emotional or mental exhaustion and causing general damage to the health of the affected person, especially through the weakening of the immune system.


In addition, chronic stress produces changes in self-esteem. Imagine a person who is unemployed for several years and has economic problems; When the stressor appears again and again in a repeated way, the person can reach a serious situation of demoralization.

Some consequences of long-term negative stress are:

  • Emotional fatigue
  • Diseases of the digestive system, skin diseases and heart problems.
  • Feelings of insecurity and the feeling of learned helplessness.
  • Depersonalization, irritability and loss of motivation.
  • Insomnia.
  • Anxiety.
  • Depression.
  • Abuse of alcohol or substances.

Stress phases: what are they?

A pioneer in stress research Hans Selye was , that carried out its studies in the decade of the 50. At present, its theory continues having of great importance at the time of analyzing the evolution of this psychological and physiological phenomenon.

According to this author, the stress response consists of three distinct phases:

1. Reaction alarm

Any physical, emotional or mental alteration consequence of having detected a threat or have crossed with a stressor causes an instantaneous reaction aimed at combating this situation. This response is called a "fight or flight" reaction, and consists of the release of adrenaline to different parts of the body: the blood vessels, the heart, the stomach, the lungs, the eyes, the muscles ...

In the face of a stressful stimulus, this hormone provides a rapid impulse for our energy to increase so that we can escape danger.We notice the effects because breathing, pulse and heart rate are accelerated so that the muscles respond more quickly. The pupils dilate, the blood circulates at a higher speed and this moves away from the digestive system to prevent vomiting.

In addition to these physiological functions, adrenaline also affects the brain, which is put into alert mode: attention is narrowed and we are more sensitive to any stimulus. Adrenaline, in addition to being a hormone, is also a neurotransmitter that acts on our brain.

In this phase, the level of cortisol also increases and, as a consequence, the amount of blood sugar increases and the immune system weakens to save energy and help the metabolism of fats, proteins and carbohydrates. The release of these hormones can be beneficial for the organism in some cases, but in the long term the consequences are extremely harmful.

  • Related article: "Cortisol: the hormone that generates stress"

2. Resistance

In the resistance stage, the body tries to adapt thanks to a process called homeostasis, which leads to a recovery and repair phase. The cortisol and adrenaline return to their normal levels, but the resources are exhausted and the defenses and the energy necessary for the previous phase of stress diminish. The body has over exerted and now must rest .

The problem arises when the stressful situation or stimulus does not cease or reappears continuously, because fatigue, sleep problems and general malaise can be manifested. As a result, the person becomes very irritable and has a great difficulty concentrating or being productive in their daily lives.

3. Exhaustion

When stress lasts a long time, the body ends up depleting resources and gradually loses the adaptive capacity of the previous phases. The body weakens and, after some time in this harmful situation, the organism can succumb to the disease , either a viral or bacterial infection, because their defenses have been exhausted. All the negative effects of chronic stress mentioned above are manifested in this stage.

If you want to delve into chronic stress, you may be interested in the following articles:

  • "Chronic stress: causes, symptoms and treatment"
  • "Burnout (burning syndrome): how to detect it and take action"

The five phases of negative stress

Research has continued over the years, and recently, the Canadian Stress Institute, after studying thousands of people with negative stress, affirms that there are five phases of distress :

Phase 1: Physical and / or mental fatigue

In this phase the person experiences the first consequences of stress: a loss of vitality and the appearance of fatigue , fatigue, drowsiness, demotivation ... For example, when someone comes home from work in this phase, all he wants is to disconnect and lie down on the couch.

Phase 2: Interpersonal problems and emotional disengagement

In this phase the person he is irritable and in a bad mood , and experience problems in their personal relationships, whether with family, friends or co-workers. This creates a vicious circle, since the stressed person worsens the situation even more. The individual prefers to be alone and to close in on himself.

Phase 3: Emotional turbulence

In this phase the person experience a pronounced emotional imbalance . The previous phase has destabilized the close interpersonal relationships, creating a more tense close environment. As a result, the individual begins to doubt himself and is emotionally affected.

Phase 4: Chronic physical ailments

Stress is becoming chronic and not only the mind (brain) is affected, but the body as a whole. Continued tension can cause muscle pain in the cervical, shoulders and lumbar areas, in addition to headaches. In this phase you can take measures such as playing sports or receiving massages, but if the real stressful problem is not treated, neither the stress nor the ailments will disappear.

Phase 5: Diseases related to stress

After a state of chronic exhaustion and depersonalization the person begins to manifest serious physical damage. Colds, colds, ulcers, colitis, are some examples that, although they have not been produced directly by this phenomenon, are cause of the weakening of the immune system .

The longer the stressful situation lasts, the worse the consequences will be, as hypertension, cardiovascular problems and even heart attack can appear.

How to fight stress

Combat stress is not an easy task, since, sometimes, we can not control external stressors. For example, if the stressful situation is the lack of employment and the economic crisis or if our partner leaves us or makes our lives impossible.

Without a doubt, psychological therapy becomes a good alternative to alleviate this situation , because it helps to develop a series of strategies and skills so that we can control the experiences and consequences that stress produces and thus reduce the discomfort in a significant way. In addition, psychotherapy is also useful to help us correct the way we interpret stressful events.

Stress theorists claim that stress occurs when the person does not have sufficient resources to face the situation . That is, the source of stress is in the mismatch between existing demands and the control that the person has to meet these demands. When it is not possible to eliminate the stimulus or stressful situation, providing the person with sufficient resources is a good alternative to combat stress.

Scientific studies also claim that the social environment can not only trigger the stressful situation , but can act as a buffer, reducing negative effects, and even as a way to prevent and reduce stress. At work, for example, different strategies can be used so that the relationship with colleagues is positive and, in this way, the negative impact of stress is reduced or even disappears.

In less severe cases, a series of measures can be taken to reduce stress: Correctly managing time, practicing Mindfulness or exercising are some alternatives. If you want to know some tips to reduce stress, you can read this article: "10 essential tips to reduce stress".

Bibliographic references:

  • Brugnera, A; Zarbo, C; Adorni, R; Tasca, Giorgio A.; Rabboni, M and Bondi, E et al. (2017): Cortical and cardiovascular responses to acute stressors and their relations with psychological distress. International Journal of Psychophysiology, 114, pp.38-46.
  • Peiró, J. M. (1993). Triggers of Work Stress. Madrid: Eudema.
  • Persson, P. B. and Zakrisson, A. (2016): Stress. Acta Physiologica, 216 (2), pp. pp.149 - 152.
  • Selye, H. (1975). Stress and distress. Comprehensive Therapy, 1, pp. 9 - 13.
  • Soria, B., Caballer, A. & Peiró, J.M. (2011). Consequences of job insecurity. The modulating role of organizational support from a multilevel perspective. Psicothema, 23 (3), pp. 394 - 400.
  • Zach, S., & Raviv, S. (2007). The benefits of a graduate training program for security officers on physical performance in stressful situations. International Journal of Stress Management, 14, pp. 350-369.

Three stages of stress response - Intro to Psychology (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 phases de stress (et comment les combattre)

Les 5 phases de stress (et comment les combattre)

Juillet 23, 2019

Le mode de vie des sociétés occidentales a fait du stress un phénomène fréquent de nos jours. Cette situation peut survenir de manière aiguë, par exemple lorsque nous avons trop de travail.

Toutefois, lorsque le stress est prolongé dans le temps, un stress chronique (épuisement professionnel ou syndrome de brûlure sur le lieu de travail) apparaît, ce qui est encore plus néfaste et entraîne des conséquences négatives tant physiques que psychologiques.

Le stress peut être classé en stress positif (eustress) ou négatif (détresse). Dans cet article nous parlerons des phases de stress habituel , ce qui est considéré comme négatif.

  • Article connexe: "Types de stress et ses déclencheurs"

Qu'est-ce qui cause ce problème?

Le stress n’a pas une cause unique, mais c’est un phénomène multi-causal et complexe dans lequel interviennent à la fois des facteurs internes et les attentes de la personne ou la manière dont elle doit interpréter et gérer les situations négatives qui se produisent autour d'eux; et des facteurs externes (par exemple, le fait de ne pas avoir d'emploi, de vivre dans une situation d'incertitude économique ou d'être harcelé à l'école).


Les phénomènes qui causent le stress sont appelés des facteurs de stress.

Le stress au travail: un problème qui touche beaucoup de gens

Au cours des dernières décennies, de nombreuses enquêtes ont été menées pour tenter de comprendre une forme de stress qui touche une grande partie de la population: le stress au travail.

Les données obtenues à travers plusieurs études montrent que la cause de ce type de stress il n'y a pas que des facteurs liés au lieu de travail , mais aussi ils influencent plusieurs étrangers à celui-ci, comme la crise économique, les attentes culturelles, la mauvaise relation du travailleur avec sa paire, etc.

En outre, des recherches récentes affirment que le stress se produit à plusieurs niveaux, non seulement individuels mais aussi collectifs . Les individus partagent des expériences émotionnelles, et ces expériences émotionnelles et ces expériences de stress peuvent être contagieuses.


  • Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce sujet intéressant dans cet article: "8 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress au travail"

Ses conséquences

Les conséquences négatives de la détresse sont nombreuses; cependant, il est important souligner les différences entre le stress aigu et le stress chronique .

La première survient à des moments spécifiques et de manière temporaire, en réponse à l’expérimentation d’un ou de plusieurs événements très stressants. Par exemple, en raison d'un examen qui doit être préparé dans une semaine où la personne a eu toute l'année pour le faire. En conséquence, l'individu peut souffrir d'anxiété, de douleurs musculaires, de maux de tête, d'épuisement, de problèmes gastriques, de tachycardie, etc. Ce type de stress est moins grave et le corps redevient normal au fil du temps.

Mais quand le stress est chronique les conséquences sont encore plus néfastes , provoquant un épuisement physique, émotionnel ou mental et causant des dommages généraux à la santé de la personne touchée, notamment par l'affaiblissement du système immunitaire.


De plus, le stress chronique produit des changements d'estime de soi. Imaginez une personne qui est au chômage depuis plusieurs années et qui a des problèmes économiques; Lorsque le facteur de stress réapparaît de manière répétée, la personne peut atteindre une situation de démoralisation grave.

Certaines conséquences du stress négatif à long terme sont:

  • Fatigue émotionnelle
  • Maladies du système digestif, maladies de la peau et problèmes cardiaques.
  • Sentiments d’insécurité et sentiment d’impuissance acquise.
  • Dépersonnalisation, irritabilité et perte de motivation.
  • L'insomnie
  • Anxiété
  • La dépression
  • Abus d'alcool ou de substances.

Les phases de stress: de quoi s'agit-il?

Hans Selye était l’un des pionniers de la recherche sur le stress , qui a effectué ses études dans la décennie des années 50. À l'heure actuelle, sa théorie continue d'avoir une grande importance au moment d'analyser l'évolution de ce phénomène psychologique et physiologique.

Selon cet auteur, la réponse au stress comprend trois phases distinctes:

1. Alarme de réaction

Toute altération physique, émotionnelle ou mentale conséquence d'avoir détecté une menace ou d'avoir croisé un facteur de stress provoque une réaction instantanée visant à lutter contre cette situation. Cette réaction est appelée réaction de "lutte ou de fuite" et consiste en une libération d'adrénaline dans différentes parties du corps: les vaisseaux sanguins, le cœur, l'estomac, les poumons, les yeux, les muscles ...

Face à un stimulus stressant, cette hormone donne une impulsion rapide à notre énergie pour augmenter afin que nous puissions échapper au danger.Nous constatons les effets de l’accélération de la respiration, du pouls et du rythme cardiaque, ce qui permet aux muscles de réagir plus rapidement. Les pupilles se dilatent, le sang circule à une vitesse supérieure et cela s'éloigne du système digestif pour éviter les vomissements.

En plus de ces fonctions physiologiques, l'adrénaline affecte également le cerveau, qui est mis en alerte: l'attention est réduite et nous sommes plus sensibles à tout stimulus. L'adrénaline, en plus d'être une hormone, est également un neurotransmetteur qui agit sur notre cerveau.

Au cours de cette phase, le niveau de cortisol augmente également et, par conséquent, la quantité de sucre dans le sang augmente et le système immunitaire s'affaiblit pour économiser de l'énergie et aider le métabolisme des graisses, des protéines et des glucides. La libération de ces hormones peut être bénéfique pour l'organisme dans certains cas, mais à long terme, les conséquences sont extrêmement néfastes.

  • Article connexe: "Le cortisol: l'hormone qui génère le stress"

2. résistance

En phase de résistance, le corps tente de s’adapter grâce à un processus appelé homéostasie, qui conduit à une phase de récupération et de réparation. Le cortisol et l'adrénaline retrouvent leur niveau normal, mais les ressources sont épuisées et les défenses et l'énergie nécessaires à la phase de stress précédente diminuent. Le corps a trop exercé et doit maintenant reposer .

Le problème se pose lorsque la situation ou le stimulus stressant ne cesse pas ou ne réapparaît pas continuellement, car la fatigue, les problèmes de sommeil et le malaise général peuvent se manifester. En conséquence, la personne devient très irritable et a beaucoup de difficulté à se concentrer ou à être productive dans sa vie quotidienne.

3. épuisement

Lorsque le stress dure longtemps, le corps finit par épuiser ses ressources et perd progressivement la capacité d'adaptation des phases précédentes. Le corps s'affaiblit et, après un certain temps dans cette situation néfaste, l'organisme peut succomber à la maladie , soit une infection virale ou bactérienne, car leurs défenses ont été épuisées. Tous les effets négatifs du stress chronique mentionnés ci-dessus se manifestent à ce stade.

Si vous souhaitez plonger dans le stress chronique, les articles suivants pourraient vous intéresser:

  • "Stress chronique: causes, symptômes et traitement"
  • "Burnout (syndrome de brûlure): comment le détecter et agir"

Les cinq phases du stress négatif

La recherche s'est poursuivie au fil des ans et, récemment, l'Institut canadien du stress, après avoir étudié des milliers de personnes stressées négativement, affirme qu'il y a cinq phases de détresse :

Phase 1: fatigue physique et / ou mentale

Dans cette phase, la personne subit les premières conséquences du stress: une perte de vitalité et l'apparition de fatigue , fatigue, somnolence, démotivation ... Par exemple, quand quelqu'un rentre du travail dans cette phase, tout ce qu'il veut, c'est se déconnecter et s'allonger sur le canapé.

Phase 2: problèmes interpersonnels et désengagement émotionnel

Dans cette phase la personne il est irritable et de mauvaise humeur et rencontrent des problèmes dans leurs relations personnelles, que ce soit avec leur famille, leurs amis ou leurs collègues. Cela crée un cercle vicieux, car la personne stressée aggrave encore la situation. L'individu préfère être seul et se fermer sur lui-même.

Phase 3: turbulence émotionnelle

Dans cette phase la personne éprouver un déséquilibre émotionnel prononcé . La phase précédente a déstabilisé les relations interpersonnelles étroites, créant un environnement plus tendu. En conséquence, l'individu commence à douter de lui et est émotionnellement affecté.

Phase 4: Maux physiques chroniques

Le stress est en train de devenir chronique et non seulement l’esprit (le cerveau) est affecté, mais l’ensemble du corps. Une tension continue peut causer des douleurs musculaires dans les zones cervicale, des épaules et lombaires, en plus des maux de tête. Dans cette phase, vous pouvez prendre des mesures telles que faire du sport ou recevoir des massages, mais si le vrai problème de stress n’est pas traité, ni le stress ni les maux ne disparaîtront.

Phase 5: Maladies liées au stress

Après un état d'épuisement chronique et de dépersonnalisation, la personne commence à manifester de graves dommages physiques. Les rhumes, les rhumes, les ulcères, la colite, sont quelques exemples qui, bien qu'ils n'aient pas été produits directement par ce phénomène, sont la cause de l'affaiblissement du système immunitaire .

Plus la situation de stress perdure, plus les conséquences en seront graves: hypertension, problèmes cardio-vasculaires et même crise cardiaque.

Comment combattre le stress

Combattre le stress n’est pas une tâche facile, car, parfois, nous ne pouvons pas contrôler les facteurs de stress externes. Par exemple, si la situation stressante est le manque d’emploi et la crise économique ou si notre partenaire nous quitte ou nous rend la vie impossible.

Sans aucun doute, la thérapie psychologique devient une bonne alternative pour atténuer cette situation , parce qu’il est utile de développer une série de stratégies et de compétences pour pouvoir contrôler les expériences et les conséquences du stress et réduire ainsi l’inconfort de manière significative. En outre, la psychothérapie est également utile pour nous aider à corriger notre interprétation des événements stressants.

Les théoriciens du stress prétendent que le stress se produit lorsque la personne n'a pas suffisamment de ressources pour faire face à la situation . C'est-à-dire que la source de stress réside dans l'inadéquation entre les demandes existantes et le contrôle que la personne doit avoir pour satisfaire ces demandes. Lorsqu'il n'est pas possible d'éliminer le stimulus ou la situation stressante, fournir à la personne des ressources suffisantes est une bonne alternative pour lutter contre le stress.

Des études scientifiques affirment également que l'environnement social peut non seulement déclencher une situation stressante , mais peut agir comme un tampon, réduisant les effets négatifs, voire comme un moyen de prévenir et de réduire le stress. Au travail, par exemple, différentes stratégies peuvent être utilisées pour que la relation avec les collègues soit positive et que, de ce fait, l'impact négatif du stress soit réduit, voire même disparu.

Dans les cas moins graves, une série de mesures peut être prise pour réduire le stress: Gérer correctement le temps, pratiquer la pleine conscience ou faire de l'exercice sont des alternatives. Si vous souhaitez connaître quelques astuces pour réduire le stress, vous pouvez lire cet article: "10 astuces essentielles pour réduire le stress".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brugnera, A; Zarbo, C; Adorni, R; Tasca, Giorgio A .; Rabboni, M et Bondi, E et al. (2017): Réponses corticales et cardiovasculaires aux facteurs de stress aigus et leurs relations avec la détresse psychologique. International Journal of Psychophysiology, 114, p. 38-46.
  • Peiró, J. M. (1993). Déclencheurs du stress au travail. Madrid: Eudéma.
  • Persson, P. B. et Zakrisson, A. (2016): Stress. Acta Physiologica, 216 (2), pp. pp.149 - 152.
  • Selye, H. (1975). Stress et détresse. Thérapie globale, 1, pp. 9 - 13.
  • Soria, B., Caballer, A. et Peiró, J.M. (2011). Conséquences de la précarité de l'emploi. Le rôle modulateur du soutien organisationnel dans une perspective multiniveau. Psicothema, 23 (3), pp. 394 - 400.
  • Zach, S. et Raviv, S. (2007). Les avantages d'un programme de formation supérieur pour les agents de sécurité sur les performances physiques dans des situations stressantes. Journal international de gestion du stress, 14, pp. 350-369.

BURN OUT : les 5 clés pour s'en sortir (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes