yes, therapy helps!
The 5 phases to overcome the duel of the breakup of couple

The 5 phases to overcome the duel of the breakup of couple

January 18, 2021

Overcoming the lack of love and the break with the person we love is not easy . There are many good moments that we leave behind, and the emotional torrent that this situation generates makes us live this moment as the end of the world.

Generally, one of the two members of the relationship is the one who decides to leave it, and although it might seem that he suffers the least, that is not always the case. There are relationships that end but love is still alive . Something that complicates the transition to a new life without the loved one.

  • You are interested in reading: "The 6 uncomfortable truths about the breakup of a couple"

It is not easy to accept the rupture

And of course, at the point of leaving behind everything we have experienced, there are many memories that hit our minds again and again. Certainly, it is not easy to accept that the situation has reached its end , that the other person will remake his life without us and all that he has lived will be left behind to never return.


Emotional pain can be even more devastating than physical pain, and some individuals get hooked on the couple as if it were a drug. In fact, love and drugs use the same neuronal circuits , so that psychologists recommend not having contact with the other person (at least for a time) to avoid relapses.

  • You can know more about the process of falling in love and the neurochemicals involved in this phenomenon in our article: "The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug"

The lack of love is not a linear process

What if!, Relapses are common in heartbreak because it is not a linear process . What I mean by this? Well, there are ups and downs. There are several phases of heartbreak that are overcome over time, but it is possible to return to the previous stages when we see the beloved again.


Because experts say that in the lack of love, as with drugs, the best is "all or nothing". At least if we want to avoid suffering for longer and avoid relapses that can lead to a greater sense of failure and greater conflicts with the former partner.

  • Recommended article: "4 keys to overcome the rupture with your ex-partner"

Time becomes a great ally for the lack of love

When we stop seeing the beloved person, the neural circuits that are involved in this phenomenon weaken, and the levels of neurochemicals such as dopamine, serotonin, norepinephrine, among others, stabilize. Over time, the body adapts to change and it is possible to return to normal.

Having said that, there are people who have serious difficulties to overcome these situations , because different problems (their low self-esteem, their poor social skills ...) hinder their recovery. In these cases it is necessary to go to a psychologist specialized in this topic, and it is important to avoid the administration of drugs, since it is necessary to acquire realistic beliefs about relationships, improve the skills of relationship with others, or learn to love oneself same.


The phases of a love break

But what are the phases of lack of love that exist? What are their characteristics?

The stages of heartbreak are five and the last step is the acceptance. Each person lives the stages in their own way and the time of overcoming will depend on many factors. For example, the intensity of the feeling, the time of relationship or previous experiences of lack of love.

These are the phases of heartbreak:

1. Phase of denial and isolation

This phase is characterized because the person denies the reality and acts as if everything will continue the same (the two together) . It is a generally brief stage, which usually occurs as a form of protection, since the impact of the rupture is so great that it is difficult to assimilate it. At this stage it is important that the individual is aware of the emotions they feel and the reason why they are there. You need to see the situation in the most objective way to get more clarity.

2. Phase of anger

This phase is characterized because the person feels a strong rage and anger towards the person who has left him . If in the previous phase the person did not want to accept reality, now he feels a tremendous frustration for what has happened and blames the other person for the couple's ills. Then revenge usually appears. Sometimes, it also happens that, in this situation, the rage is directed towards oneself or the people around them (and even towards the whole world).

3. Negotiation phase

This phase can be really dangerous if it is not managed well, because in an attempt to accept the situation and approach the other person again , you can make the mistake of trying to do anything to recover the relationship. A bad approach can ruin the situation again, and even make it worse.

4. Depression phase

In this stage the person loses the hope of recovering that person who has really loved . Begins to be objective and to realize that there is no going back. So he feels really sorry for the loss of who was so special to him or her.

5. Acceptance phase

After the sadness of the previous phase, the person begins to visualize a new future . Accept that the relationship is over and that what could not be, will not be. He no longer seeks to be with the other person and feels at peace and ready to meet a new partner.

The lack of love can be overcome

As we have seen, our psyche is ready to take on and overcome a breakup of a couple. Anyway, there are some cases in which pain and bad sensations are difficult to assimilate and this can lead to some kind of psychological disorder.

If you think you are in a situation of risk, do not hesitate to contact a professional.

Bibliographic references:

  • Perestelo Pérez L, González Lorenzo M, Rivero Santana AJ, Pérez Ramos J. (2007) Help tools for decision making of patients with depression. Quality Plan for the SNS of the MSPS. SESCS; 2010. STD Reports: SESCS.
  • Kübler-Ross, E. (2006) On mourning and pain. Editions Luciérnaga. Barcelona.

Superar una ruptura de pareja por Covadonga Pérez-Lozana PARTE 1 (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 phases pour surmonter le duel de la rupture du couple

Les 5 phases pour surmonter le duel de la rupture du couple

Mai 22, 2019

Surmonter le manque d'amour et la rupture avec la personne que nous aimons n'est pas facile . Nous laissons derrière nous de nombreux bons moments et le torrent émotionnel que cette situation génère nous fait vivre ce moment comme la fin du monde.

Généralement, l’un des deux membres de la relation est celui qui décide de la quitter, et bien que l’on puisse croire qu’il souffre le moins, ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Il y a des relations qui se terminent mais l'amour est toujours vivant . Quelque chose qui complique la transition vers une nouvelle vie sans l'être cher.

  • Vous êtes intéressé par la lecture: "Les 6 vérités inconfortables sur la rupture d'un couple"

Il n'est pas facile d'accepter la rupture

Et bien sûr, au moment de laisser derrière nous tout ce que nous avons vécu, de nombreux souvenirs nous reviennent encore et encore. Certainement il n'est pas facile d'accepter que la situation soit arrivée à son terme , que l’autre personne refasse sa vie sans nous et que tout ce qu’il a vécu soit laissé pour ne jamais revenir.


La douleur émotionnelle peut être encore plus dévastatrice que la douleur physique, et certaines personnes deviennent accrochées au couple comme s'il s'agissait d'une drogue. En fait l'amour et la drogue utilisent les mêmes circuits neuronaux , de sorte que les psychologues recommandent de ne pas avoir de contact avec l'autre personne (au moins pour un temps) pour éviter les rechutes.

  • Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le processus de tomber amoureux et les substances neurochimiques impliquées dans ce phénomène dans notre article: "La chimie de l'amour: un médicament très puissant"

Le manque d'amour n'est pas un processus linéaire

Et si!, Les rechutes sont courantes dans le chagrin, car ce n'est pas un processus linéaire . Qu'est-ce que je veux dire par là? Eh bien, il y a des hauts et des bas. Il y a plusieurs phases de chagrin qui sont surmontées au fil du temps, mais il est possible de revenir aux étapes précédentes lorsque nous revoyons la personne aimée.


Pour cela Les experts disent que dans le manque d'amour, comme pour les drogues, le meilleur est "tout ou rien". Du moins si nous voulons éviter de souffrir plus longtemps et éviter les rechutes qui peuvent conduire à un plus grand sentiment d'échec et à de plus grands conflits avec l'ancien partenaire.

  • Article recommandé: "4 clés pour surmonter la rupture avec votre ex-partenaire"

Le temps devient un grand allié pour le manque d'amour

Lorsque nous cessons de voir la personne aimée, les circuits neuronaux impliqués dans ce phénomène s'affaiblissent et les niveaux de substances neurochimiques telles que la dopamine, la sérotonine, la noradrénaline, entre autres, se stabilisent. Au fil du temps, le corps s'adapte au changement et il est possible de revenir à la normale.

Cela dit, il y a des gens qui ont de sérieuses difficultés à surmonter ces situations , parce que différents problèmes (manque d'estime de soi, manque de compétences sociales, etc.) entravent leur rétablissement. Dans ces cas, il est nécessaire de consulter un psychologue spécialisé dans ce domaine et d'éviter l'administration de drogues, car il est nécessaire d'acquérir des convictions réalistes sur les relations, d'améliorer les compétences des relations avec les autres ou d'apprendre à s'aimer soi-même. idem


Les phases d'une pause amoureuse

Mais quelles sont les phases de manque d'amour qui existent? Quelles sont ses caractéristiques?

Les étapes de chagrin sont cinq et la dernière étape est la acceptation. Chaque personne vit les étapes à sa manière et le temps nécessaire pour surmonter dépend de nombreux facteurs. Par exemple, l'intensité du sentiment, le moment de la relation ou les expériences précédentes de manque d'amour.

Ce sont les phases de chagrin d'amour:

1. Phase de déni et d'isolement

Cette phase est caractérisé parce que la personne nie la réalité et agit comme si tout allait continuer comme avant (les deux ensemble) . Il s’agit généralement d’une étape brève, qui se présente généralement comme une forme de protection, car l’impact de la rupture est si important qu’il est difficile de l’assimiler. À ce stade, il est important que la personne soit consciente des émotions qu’elle ressent et de la raison pour laquelle elle est présente. Vous devez voir la situation de la manière la plus objective possible pour obtenir plus de clarté.

2. Phase de colère

Cette phase est caractérisée parce que la personne ressent une forte colère et colère à l'égard de la personne qui l'a quittée . Si, dans la phase précédente, la personne ne voulait pas accepter la réalité, elle ressent maintenant une énorme frustration devant ce qui s’est passé et blâme l’autre pour les maux du couple. Ensuite, la vengeance apparaît généralement. Parfois, il arrive aussi que, dans cette situation, la colère s’adresse à soi-même ou à son entourage (et même au monde entier).

3. Phase de négociation

Cette phase peut être très dangereuse si elle n’est pas bien gérée, car dans une tentative d'accepter la situation et approcher l'autre personne à nouveau , vous pouvez commettre l’erreur d’essayer de tout faire pour rétablir la relation. Une mauvaise approche peut à nouveau ruiner la situation et même l’aggraver.

4. phase de dépression

Dans cette étape la personne perd l'espoir de récupérer cette personne qui a vraiment aimé . Commence à être objectif et à se rendre compte qu'il n'y a pas de retour en arrière. Donc, il se sent vraiment désolé pour la perte de qui était si spécial pour lui.

5. Phase d'acceptation

Après la tristesse de la phase précédente, la personne commence à visualiser un nouvel avenir . Accepter que la relation est terminée et que ce qui ne pourrait pas être ne le sera pas. Il ne cherche plus à être avec l'autre personne et se sent en paix et prêt à rencontrer un nouveau partenaire.

Le manque d'amour peut être surmonté

Comme nous l’avons vu, notre psychisme est prêt à affronter la rupture d’un couple. De toute façon, il y a des cas dans lesquels la douleur et les mauvaises sensations sont difficiles à assimiler et cela peut conduire à une sorte de désordre psychologique.

Si vous pensez être en situation de risque, n'hésitez pas à contacter un professionnel.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Perestelo Pérez L, González Lorenzo M, AJ Rivero Santana, J. Pérez Ramos (2007). Plan qualité pour le SNS du MSPS. SESCS; 2010. Rapports STD: SESCS.
  • Kübler-Ross, E. (2006) Le deuil et la douleur. Editions Luciérnaga. Barcelone

Enfants du divorce : Tous les coups sont permis - reportage (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes