yes, therapy helps!
The 5 signs of envy: how to recognize it in people

The 5 signs of envy: how to recognize it in people

June 15, 2024

There is something we often forget: our way of knowing ourselves goes through compare the experiences that happen to us with those that happen around us . Living in society is something indispensable to form what we call self-concept, which is the set of ideas that we associate with the "I". To judge and assess those characteristics in which we stand out for good or for bad, we must see how the rest of the people are doing.

This, for some things, is positive, since it allows us to demand that injustices be corrected. But it also has its bad side, since favors the appearance of envy .

  • Related article: "Psychology of envy: 5 keys to understand it"

The 5 signs of envy

Envy is what happens when there is a state of discomfort caused by the comparison between oneself and others, and the result of this mental operation we do not like. It is a phenomenon closely related to self-esteem, because it appears when it is threatened by new information about third parties with whom we believe we can compare.


However, envy is not a negative thing just because it makes us feel bad. In addition, it is for how it interferes in the way we relate . On the one hand, as we will see, there is a reason to show a certain hostility to the person we envy. On the other, envy is something socially badly seen, so that whoever experiences it tries to hide that it feels that way, even if he manages to make his passive-aggressive or directly aggressive attitude toward the other apparently rationally justified. .

But nevertheless, there are ways to know approximately when a person acts by envy . Whoever feels this way is not capable of masking all the causes that move her to behave in a certain way, for different reasons. In the following lines we will review several signs that denote envy. The fact that one or two of them are present does not mean that what is happening is just a problem of wounded egos, but in general, they help to understand what happens by chance.


1. Badly justified animosity

One of the characteristics of envy, as we have seen, is that it arises from self-esteem in a compromised or damaged state. That makes the emotional impact of these comparisons generate something that in psychology is known as cognitive dissonance .

This phenomenon has to do with the discomfort that appears when a piece of information comes into contradiction with a deeply rooted belief and whose defense defines us as people. Paradoxically, what usually happens in these cases is not that we try to readjust our ideas to have a more realistic understanding of what is happening, but we make the minimum changes necessary to assimilate those data.

In the case of envy, one of the ways in which cognitive dissonance is resolved is to assume that the person with whom one is compared is someone who is contemptible, so that what at first might seem a threat to our self-esteem ends up being a sign of vanity , a deception to have a good image before others, a trick, an illegitimate use of the efforts of others to take credit, etc.


  • Related article: "Cognitive dissonance: the theory that explains self-deception"

2. Use of jokes and sarcasm to attack

Under the effects of envy, the person feels in the dilemma of expressing his hostility while trying to be superior to the person with whom the comparison has arisen.

This means that ambiguous ways of attacking are used, as for example through supposed jokes and sarcasm, since they allow to have a dominant role (even for a few seconds) without it seems that there is a certain need to satisfy one's ego for decrease cognitive dissonance

So, what really is a way to alleviate the discomfort that is felt, is disguised as signs of wit or even affability. Is It is one of the most frequent signs of envy .

3. Unjustified outbursts of anger

This is not something that happens in all people who feel envy, but only in some of more impulsive character. As the damage to self-esteem gives grounds to feel hostility for someone, it may happen that they look for excuses to attack the person who considers themselves better than oneself. In this sense, something that can be interpreted as a way to boast of one's merits It can be almost unbearable for someone who is going through one of those "envious stages".

4. Replicas in the presence of more people

In envy, the fact that there are more people listening causes discomfort to increase before what is interpreted as samples of superiority of the other.

This happens especially if the personal characteristic in which one feels attacked is something relatively unique or uncommon. For example, if in a meeting there are two poets who are recognized for their talent, the two artists who feel more threatened by the abilities of another will have more reason to feel attacked, because remaining silent would be like giving attention to the other person and make him "sell" himself to others as he wants.

5. Defamation

It's quite typical, because talking badly about someone behind their back is seen as an easy way to undermine your public image from a relative safety , without giving him the opportunity to show that in reality the only thing that is looked for is to cause damage so that it is easier to think that that person is not "a competitor", since nobody takes it seriously.

Conclusion: jealousy is cured at home

It must be clear that the basis of the problem of jealousy has basically to do with an injured self-esteem. That is the problem is of oneself, and not of the other .

It is possible that a mentality very focused on competitiveness and constant comparisons makes us more vulnerable to this psychological phenomenon. Therefore, it is good to change both the concept we have of ourselves and our philosophy of life.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 signes d'envie: comment le reconnaître chez l'homme

Les 5 signes d'envie: comment le reconnaître chez l'homme

Novembre 7, 2022

Il y a quelque chose que nous oublions souvent: notre façon de se connaître passe par comparer les expériences qui nous arrivent avec celles qui nous entourent . Vivre en société est indispensable pour former ce que nous appelons le concept de soi, qui est l'ensemble des idées que nous associons au "je". Pour juger et évaluer les caractéristiques dans lesquelles nous nous distinguons pour le meilleur ou pour le pire, nous devons voir comment vont les autres.

Cela est positif pour certaines choses, car cela nous permet de demander que les injustices soient corrigées. Mais il a aussi son mauvais côté, car favorise l'apparition de l'envie .

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de l'envie: 5 clés pour la comprendre"

Les 5 signes d'envie

L'envie est ce qui se passe quand il y a un état d'inconfort causé par la comparaison entre soi et les autres, et le résultat de cette opération mentale que nous n'aimons pas. C'est un phénomène étroitement lié à l'estime de soi, car il apparaît lorsqu'il est menacé par de nouvelles informations sur des tiers avec lesquels nous pensons pouvoir nous comparer.


Cependant, l'envie n'est pas une chose négative simplement parce que cela nous fait nous sentir mal. De plus, c’est pour comment cela interfère dans notre relation . D'une part, comme nous le verrons, il y a une raison de faire preuve d'une certaine hostilité envers la personne que nous envions. De l'autre côté, l'envie est quelque chose de socialement mal vu, de sorte que quiconque en fait l'expérience essaie de cacher cela, même s'il parvient à justifier son attitude passive-agressive ou directement agressive envers l'autre, apparemment rationnellement rationnelle. .

Cependant, Il y a moyen de savoir approximativement quand une personne agit par envie . Quiconque se sent de cette façon n'est pas capable de masquer toutes les causes qui la poussent à se comporter d'une certaine manière, pour différentes raisons. Dans les lignes suivantes, nous examinerons plusieurs signes qui dénotent l’envie. Le fait qu’un ou deux d’entre eux soient présents ne signifie pas que ce qui se passe n’est qu’un problème d’ego blessé, mais en général, ils aident à comprendre ce qui se passe par hasard.


1. Animosité mal justifiée

Comme nous l'avons vu, l'une des caractéristiques de l'envie est qu'elle résulte de l'estime de soi dans un état compromis ou endommagé. Cela rend l'impact émotionnel de ces comparaisons générer quelque chose qui en psychologie est connu comme dissonance cognitive .

Ce phénomène est lié au malaise qui apparaît lorsqu'un élément d'information entre en contradiction avec une croyance profondément enracinée et dont la défense nous définit en tant que personne. Paradoxalement, ce qui se passe habituellement dans ces cas-là n’est pas que nous essayions de réajuster nos idées pour avoir une compréhension plus réaliste de ce qui se passe, mais que nous apportions le minimum de changements nécessaires pour assimiler ces données.

Dans le cas de l’envie, l’un des moyens de résoudre la dissonance cognitive consiste à supposer que la personne avec laquelle on se compare est une personne méprisable, de sorte que ce qui au premier abord peut sembler une menace pour notre estime de soi finit par être un signe de vanité , une déception d’avoir une bonne image avant les autres, un tour, une utilisation illégitime des efforts des autres pour se faire crédit, etc.


  • Article connexe: "Dissonance cognitive: la théorie qui explique l'auto-illusion"

2. Utilisation de blagues et de sarcasmes pour attaquer

Sous l'effet de l'envie, la personne se sent dans le dilemme d'exprimer son hostilité tout en essayant d'être supérieure à la personne avec laquelle la comparaison a été faite.

Cela signifie que des méthodes d’attaque ambiguës sont utilisées, par exemple par le biais de blagues supposées et de sarcasmes, car elles permettent d’avoir un rôle dominant (même pendant quelques secondes) sans qu’il ne semble y avoir un certain besoin de satisfaire son ego. diminuer la dissonance cognitive

Alors, ce qui est vraiment un moyen de soulager l’inconfort ressenti est déguisé en signe d’esprit ou même d’affabilité. Celui-ci C'est l'un des signes les plus fréquents d'envie .

3. Explosions de colère injustifiées

Ce n'est pas quelque chose qui se passe chez toutes les personnes qui ressentent l'envie, mais seulement chez certains des personnages plus impulsifs. Les dommages causés à l'estime de soi suscitant l'hostilité d'une personne, il peut arriver que celle-ci cherche des excuses pour attaquer la personne qui se considère meilleure que soi. Dans ce sens, quelque chose qui peut être interprété comme un moyen de se vanter de ses mérites Cela peut être presque insupportable pour quelqu'un qui traverse une de ces "étapes envieuses".

4. Répliques en présence de plus de personnes

Dans l'envie, le fait qu'il y ait plus de personnes à l'écoute provoque une gêne accrue avant ce qui est interprété comme des échantillons de supériorité de l'autre.

Cela se produit surtout si la caractéristique personnelle dans laquelle on se sent attaqué est quelque chose de relativement unique ou peu commun. Par exemple, si dans une réunion il y a deux poètes reconnus pour leur talent, les deux artistes qui se sentent plus menacés par les capacités d'un autre auront plus de raisons de se sentir attaqués, car rester silencieux reviendrait à prêter attention à l'autre. et lui faire "vendre" à d'autres comme il veut.

5. Diffamation

C'est assez typique, car parler mal de quelqu'un derrière son dos est perçu comme un moyen facile de saper votre image publique d'une sécurité relative , sans lui donner l’occasion de montrer qu’en réalité, la seule chose recherchée est de causer des dommages, de sorte qu’il est plus facile de penser que cette personne n’est pas "un concurrent", puisque personne ne le prend au sérieux.

Conclusion: la jalousie est guérie à la maison

Il doit être clair que le problème de la jalousie a essentiellement à voir avec l'estime de soi blessée. C'est que le problème vient de soi et non de l'autre .

Il est possible qu'une mentalité très axée sur la compétitivité et des comparaisons constantes nous rend plus vulnérables à ce phénomène psychologique. Par conséquent, il est bon de changer le concept que nous avons de nous-mêmes et notre philosophie de la vie.


5 signes qui montrent qu'un homme est attiré par une femme (ou intéressé) (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes