yes, therapy helps!
The 5 stages of depression, and early warning signs

The 5 stages of depression, and early warning signs

May 1, 2024

A large number of people are diagnosed each year with major depression. It is a disorder that hinders and even invalidates the normal functioning of the subject due to the high discomfort it produces, being one of the most common mental disorders and known both by professionals in psychology and by the general population.

This problem appears in different ways and due to different causes, but in general it is possible to observe a process with different phases. That is why in this article we will talk about the stages of depression .

  • Related article: "Major depression: symptoms, causes and treatment"

Major depression

Major depression is one of the main disorders of mood and one of the two most common mental disorders, ranking first with anxiety disorders.


Suffer from this problem supposes experiencing a wide possible variety of symptoms among those that at least should appear sad and depressed mood and / or anhedonia or absence of pleasure before previously pleasurable activities. Other typical symptoms are sleep or feeding problems, as well as search for isolation.

Depressed people tend to adopt a passive attitude towards life, feeling helpless and hopeless. They lose the motivation and the desire to act, and over time they end up avoiding activities that were previously pleasant, since they already consider that they make sense.

Also, it occurs a deterioration in the capacity for concentration, attention and memory . In some cases aggressiveness and impulsivity also appear, being a frequent irritable state that sadness in cases of childhood depression.


Subjects with a depressive disorder manifest a series of cognitive biases that make them perceive reality in a distorted way, which leads them to maintain negative automatic thoughts towards their own person, their future and the world that are organized as schemata. dysfunctional thinking. They also tend to attribute errors to internal, stable and global factors, something that facilitates distorted depressive thinking .

The causes

This disorder has a lot of possible origins , may be due to biological factors (as in endogenous depression) or external factors.

The most usual is that in all cases there is an event or situation that triggers the appearance of feeling of helplessness and hopelessness . It can be a traumatic event, the accumulation of small stressful events or the existence of insufficient reinforcement.


Stages or phases of depressive disorder

Although depression can have different types of courses and the specific symptomatology can vary from person to person, it is considered that who suffers it goes through a series of phases until it is fully developed . They are the following:

1. Triggering event

Although there are factors of vulnerability such as genetic inheritance or sensitivity to damage that are important when triggering a depressive disorder, it usually comes hand in hand with the experience of a negative event, which will end up unleashing the first problems.

The triggering event causes them to start being born in the subject feelings of vulnerability and sadness , and even helplessness and hopelessness if the aversive situation continues over time.

If these sensations are maintained without the subject is or believes capable of overcoming them, a depression can be established.

2. Activation of cognitive distortions

The triggering event causes the person to activate a series of cognitive schemes, that is, the way in which their ideas and beliefs about the world and about themselves are related.

This, in turn, makes the interpretation of what happens to him change, generating cognitive distortions that make the world see as hostile and itself as something helpless, incapable and desperate. This is the stage of the depression in which they begin to change many of the beliefs on which life itself is based .

3. Appearance of symptoms

From the distorted processing of information, the person begins to manifest the typical symptomatology , with a low level of positive affect and a high negative affect, being some of them the sad mood and the diminution of the capacity to feel pleasure, mental and physical slowness and search of isolation.

4. Vital inhibition

The appearance of apathy, anhedonia and abulia (respectively lack of energy and motivation, pleasure and desire or willingness to act) typical of depressive disorders causes the depressive individual Finish moving away from activities that you used to like , such as hobbies and other passions, actively isolating themselves and / or decreasing their productivity, effectiveness and commitment.

5. Emergence of maintenance problems of depression

The set of symptoms of a depressive person tends to cause, over time, the appearance of new events or aspects that can worsen or maintain symptoms in the mind .

For example, although at first the depressed person tends to awaken the sympathies of their immediate environment, over time the situation of the affected and sometimes their desire for solitude ends up being aversive, producing a distance of the individual from their environment. This induces the perception of lack of support, which accentuates the existing problem and the feeling of vulnerability, helplessness and despair.

And then? Possible treatments

These stages or phases of depression usually occur frequently in almost all cases. Subsequently, the individual may resort to psychological and / or pharmacological therapy in order to treat your problem.

Based on the response to treatment, it will be possible to enter a phase of partial or total remission of symptoms and even to reach complete recovery.

However, we must bear in mind that occasionally we find depressions of recurrent course, in which several depressive episodes occur over time with seasons with partial or total remissions. In these cases In addition to the previous stages we can also talk about relapse , which must also be attended.

  • Related article: "Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?"

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Belloch, A .; Sandín, and Ramos (2008). Manual of psychopathology. Madrid. McGraw-Hill (vol 1 and 2). Revised edition.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Depression in Women – Warning Signs and TMS Treatment (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 étapes de la dépression et les signes avant-coureurs

Les 5 étapes de la dépression et les signes avant-coureurs

Juillet 23, 2019

Un grand nombre de personnes sont diagnostiquées chaque année avec une dépression majeure. C’est un trouble qui entrave, voire invalide, le fonctionnement normal du sujet en raison de la grande gêne qu’il engendre. Il s’agit de l’un des troubles mentaux les plus courants et connu des professionnels de la psychologie et de la population en général.

Ce problème apparaît de différentes manières et pour différentes causes, mais en général, il est possible d'observer un processus avec différentes phases. C'est pourquoi dans cet article nous allons parler des étapes de la dépression .

  • Article connexe: "Dépression majeure: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Dépression majeure

La dépression majeure est l’un des principaux troubles de l’humeur et l’un des deux troubles mentaux les plus courants, se classant au premier rang des troubles anxieux.


Souffrir de ce problème suppose l'expérience d'une grande variété de symptômes possibles parmi ceux qui, au moins, devraient paraître de l'humeur triste et déprimée et / ou de l'anhédonie ou de l'absence de plaisir avant des activités auparavant agréables. Les autres symptômes typiques sont les problèmes de sommeil ou d'alimentation, ainsi que la recherche de l'isolement.

Les personnes déprimées ont tendance à adopter une attitude passive à l'égard de la vie, se sentant impuissantes et sans espoir. Ils perdent la motivation et le désir d'agir et finissent par éviter des activités auparavant agréables, car ils considèrent déjà que cela a du sens.

En outre, il se produit une détérioration de la capacité de concentration, d'attention et de mémoire . Dans certains cas, l'agressivité et l'impulsivité apparaissent également, étant un état irritable fréquent que la tristesse dans les cas de dépression infantile.


Les sujets atteints d'un trouble dépressif manifestent une série de biais cognitifs qui leur font percevoir la réalité de manière déformée, ce qui les conduit à maintenir des pensées automatiques négatives envers leur propre personne, leur avenir et le monde organisé en schémas. pensée dysfonctionnelle. Ils ont aussi tendance à attribuer des erreurs à des facteurs internes, stables et globaux, ce qui facilite la pensée dépressive déformée .

Les causes

Ce désordre a beaucoup d'origines possibles , peut être due à des facteurs biologiques (comme dans la dépression endogène) ou à des facteurs externes.

Le plus souvent, c’est que dans tous les cas, un événement ou une situation déclenche l’apparition de sentiment d'impuissance et de désespoir . Il peut s'agir d'un événement traumatisant, de l'accumulation de petits événements stressants ou de l'existence d'un renforcement insuffisant.


Stades ou phases du trouble dépressif

Bien que la dépression puisse avoir différents types de parcours et que la symptomatologie spécifique puisse varier d'une personne à l'autre, on considère que la personne qui en souffre passe par une série de phases jusqu'à ce qu'il soit complètement développé . Ils sont les suivants:

1. Evénement déclencheur

Bien que certains facteurs de vulnérabilité, tels que l'héritage génétique ou la sensibilité aux dommages, soient importants pour déclencher un trouble dépressif, ils s'accompagnent généralement de l'expérience d'un événement négatif, qui finira par déclencher le premier événement. des problèmes

L'événement déclencheur les fait commencer à naître chez le sujet sentiments de vulnérabilité et de tristesse et même d’impuissance et de désespoir si la situation aversive perdure au fil du temps.

Si ces sensations sont maintenues sans que le sujet soit ou croit capable de les surmonter, une dépression peut être établie.

2. Activation des distorsions cognitives

L'événement déclencheur amène la personne à activer une série de schémas cognitifs, c'est-à-dire la manière dont ses idées et ses croyances sur le monde et sur elles-mêmes sont liées.

Cela, à son tour, fait évoluer l'interprétation de ce qui lui arrive, générant des distorsions cognitives qui font que le monde se voit hostile et lui-même comme une personne impuissante, incapable et désespérée. C’est le stade de la dépression dans lequel ils commencent à changer beaucoup de croyances sur lesquelles la vie elle-même est basée .

3. Apparence des symptômes

De la distorsion du traitement de l'information, la personne commence à manifester la symptomatologie typique , avec un faible niveau d’affect positif et un affect très négatif, comme par exemple la tristesse et la diminution de la capacité de ressentir du plaisir, de la lenteur mentale et physique et de la recherche de l’isolement.

4. Inhibition vitale

L'apparence d'apathie, d'anhédonie et d'abulia (respectivement manque d'énergie et de motivation, plaisir et désir ou volonté d'agir) typique des troubles dépressifs provoque l'individu dépressif Finissez de vous éloigner d'activités que vous aimiez , tels que les loisirs et autres passions, s’isolant activement et / ou diminuant leur productivité, leur efficacité et leur engagement.

5. Émergence de problèmes d'entretien de la dépression

L’ensemble des symptômes d’une personne dépressive a tendance à causer, avec le temps, l’apparition de nouveaux événements ou aspects qui peut aggraver ou maintenir les symptômes dans l'esprit .

Par exemple, bien que la personne déprimée ait tendance au début à éveiller les sympathies de son environnement immédiat, la situation des personnes touchées au fil du temps et parfois leur désir de solitude finissent par devenir aversifs, ce qui éloigne l'individu de son environnement. Cela induit la perception d'un manque de soutien, ce qui accentue le problème existant et le sentiment de vulnérabilité, d'impuissance et de désespoir.

Et après? Traitements possibles

Ces stades ou phases de dépression se produisent généralement fréquemment dans presque tous les cas. Par la suite, l'individu peut recours à un traitement psychologique et / ou pharmacologique afin de traiter votre problème.

En fonction de la réponse au traitement, il sera possible d'entrer dans une phase de rémission partielle ou totale des symptômes et même d'atteindre un rétablissement complet.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que nous trouvons parfois des dépressions de cours récurrents, dans lesquels plusieurs épisodes dépressifs se produisent au fil du temps avec des saisons avec des rémissions partielles ou totales. Dans ces cas En plus des étapes précédentes, nous pouvons aussi parler de rechute , qui doit également être assisté.

  • Article connexe: "Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes s'appuie-t-elle?"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Belloch, A .; Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. Madrid McGraw-Hill (vol 1 et 2). Édition révisée.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

LES SIGNES AVANT-COUREURS DE L'ISOLEMENT SOCIAL (Juillet 2019).


Articles Connexes