yes, therapy helps!
The 5 stages of personality development

The 5 stages of personality development

March 1, 2021

I am introverted or extroverted, stable or unstable, sensitive or insensitive, intuitive or rational. All these these categories reflect aspects of personality which are widely used in psychology.

The personality we have will mark how we see the world and react to it. But the personal characteristics that are ours have not always been there in the same way, but rather We have been going through different stages of personality development until we become what we are, from childhood to our current situation and even to our future death.

  • Related article: "Differences between extroverted, introverted and timid people"

Definition of personality

The personality is defined as a pattern of behavior, thought and emotion relatively stable over time and through the different situations we live. This pattern explains how we perceive reality , the judgments that we make of it or the way in which we interact with the environment, being partly inherited and partly acquired and subsequently shaped by the life experience.


Because it is born in a large part of the set of experiences that we live throughout our life, it is considered that the personality as such is not fully configured until adulthood, having a long process of development until it becomes stable (although it can suffer subsequent variations, are not frequent nor tend to be marked).

  • Maybe you're interested: "The Eysenck Personality Theory: the PEN model"

Evolution through the different life stages

To establish a chronology of the stages of personality development, it is interesting to start with the classification of the main stages of life.

Starting from them as a reference, let's see how the psychological structure develops of the human beings.


1. The first moments

The moment a baby is born we can not consider that it has a marked personality, since the new individual has not had concrete experiences that make him be, think or act in a certain way. However, it is true that as the days go by we see how the boy or girl has a tendency to behave in a certain way : for example, we can see if he cries a lot or a little, how he feeds or if he responds to touch with fear or curiosity.

These first characteristics they are part of what is called temperament , which is part of the innate constitution of the person and can later be shaped by learning. The temperament has a biological basis and comes mainly from the genetic inheritance of our ancestors. Being a component linked mainly to affectivity, it is a primal component that will act as a basis for the construction of personality.


2. Childhood

As the subject grows, he gradually develops different cognitive and physical abilities that will allow him to grasp reality, begin to try to understand how the world works and how one's own being can influence and participate in it.

This stage is characterized by Acquisition of values, beliefs and norms from abroad , in a way initially imitative and with few critical dyes. The personality begins to form according to the characteristics of the temperament are confronted to reality, acquiring patterns of behavior and ways of seeing the world and forming character.

In this stage self-esteem tends to be initially elevated due to the high level of attention that is usually lavished on the child in the family environment. However, at the time of entry to the school world tends to decrease, because it leaves behind the family environment to enter an unknown in which converge numerous points of view.

3. Puberty and adolescence

Adolescence, the point where we go from being children to being adults, is a key stage in the formation of personality . It is a complex life stage in which the body is in the process of change, while increasing expectations regarding the behavior of the individual and this begins to experience different aspects and realities.

It is a vital moment characterized by the need to differentiate, often being a break or separation with adults in charge and a continuous questioning of everything that until then has been inculcated .

It increases the number of environments in which the person participates, as well as the number of people with whom he interacts, encouraging along with the hormonal changes and the increase in the capacity of abstraction characteristic of cognitive maturation will make him experience different roles that will They will teach what they like and what is expected of them. There is a enhancing the search for social bonding and the first relationships appear. The adolescent seeks an identity of his own as well as a feeling of belonging to the social environment, trying to insert himself as part of the community and the world.

In this stage, self-esteem tends to vary as a result of the insecurities and discoveries of adolescence. Through experimentation, the adolescent will try different ways of seeing life, staying and introjecting some aspects and varying others. An identity of its own is sought, a search that over time crystallizes into a differentiated personality.

4. Adulthood

It is considered that it is from adolescence when we can speak of personality itself, having already forged a relatively stable pattern of behavior, emotion and thought.

This personality it's still going to vary throughout life , but in broad strokes the structure will be similar unless there is some event very relevant to the subject that pushes him to make changes in his way of viewing the world.

In relation to other life stages, self-esteem tends to rise and in general the adult's self-concept tends to try to bring his real self closer to the ideal, so shyness decreases , in case it has been raised previously. As a consequence, what others think of oneself is no longer as important, and activities that in earlier stages would be embarrassing may be carried out.

5. Ancianity

Although in general the personality remains stable, the arrival to old age implies the progressive experience of situations such as the loss of skills, work activity and loved ones, which can greatly affect our way of relating to the world. One records tendency to decrease extraversion and self-esteem .

Two old theories about personality development

The elements written above reflect a general trend throughout the life stages. However, there are many authors who have established theories about how personality develops. Two of the best known, although also outdated, are Freud's psychosexual development theory and Erikson's theory of psychosocial development, establishing each one different stages of personality development .

It must be borne in mind that these proposals for the development of the personality are based on a paradigm of meta-psychology that has been criticized for its speculative nature and impossible to put to the test, so today they are not considered scientifically valid, although historically they have had a great influence.

Freud's psychosexual development

For the founding father of psychoanalysis, the personality of the human being is shaped throughout life through various stages of personality development. The personality is structured in an id or drive part, a superego that censures these desires based on morality and a self that mediates between these aspects.

With the libido as fundamental psychic energy , the theory of Freud considers that we are born only with our instinctual part, the ego and the superego being born with time as we introject the social norms. The constant instinctual conflicts cause the organism to use defense mechanisms in order to reduce the tension they produce, mechanisms that are often used and that explain personality traits and facets.

For Freud, we went through a series of stages in which we place our sources of pleasure and frustration in different body areas, expressing the libido from them. These stages are progressively overcome, although there may be regressions or stagnation that produce fixations in certain behaviors and ways of seeing the world and personal relationships.

1. Oral stage

During the first year of life the human being is immersed in what is known as the oral stage, in which we use our mouths to explore the world and get gratification from him. We nourish, bite and try different objects through it. Thus, the mouth exercises the role that will later have hands, and that for Freud conditions the psychosexual development in this stage of life.

2. Anal stage

After the oral stage and until around three years of age, the nucleus of psychosexual interest becomes the anus, when beginning to control the sphincters and suppose it an element of pleasure to be able to manage what he keeps inside himself and what he expels . The child can have a bowel movement, which reduces internal tension or retains stool voluntarily.

3. Phallic stage

Between three and six years of age the individual usually enters the phase or phallic stage. It is at this stage that there begins to be an interest towards the sexual, focusing on genitality and appearing the Oedipus complex, jealousy and repentance.

4. Latency stage

From the age of seven until adolescence we can find that the expression of sexual energy he does not find a physical correlate through which to express himself , due in large part to the influence of social and moral. Modesty appears and sexual impulses are reduced.

5. Genital stage

Owing to puberty and adolescence, this stage is accompanied by physical, psychic and emotional changes typical of such a vital moment. The libido begins to express itself through genitality, The desire for attachment and attachment appears intensely and having sufficient capacity to carry out the expression of sexuality both symbolically and physically.

  • Related article: "The 5 stages of psychosexual development of Sigmund Freud"

Psychosocial development of Erikson

Another prominent author and one of the pioneers in proposing that the personality develops from birth to death was Erik Erikson, who considered the development of the psychic and personality configuration they are derived from the social nature of the human being or, in other words, social interaction.

For this author, each life stage involves a series of conflicts and problems that the individual has to face up to get overcome, growing and strengthening their self as they are overcome and forging the way of seeing, thinking and acting in the world of each subject.

The different stages of personality development for Erikson are the following.

1. Basic trust vs. Distrust

The first of the crises that the human being must face throughout life appears at the moment of birth, being the basis from which the rest of the psychic structure is going to be configured. According to this theory, d ura until approximately eighteen months of age . During this stage the individual must decide if he is able to trust or not in the stimuli and people coming from abroad or in the effects that the action itself has on the world.

That is, if you can feel comfortable in the presence, for example, of your parents and relatives. Overcoming this stage correctly implies that you are able to find a balance between trust and distrust in which confidence prevails, which will allow you to establish secure relationships with other people while trusting in yourself.

Thus, in this stage of development of Erikson, as in the following, the goal is to reach a point of balance or adjustment in which autonomy fits well with the social life that is carried, without harming or being harmed.

2. Autonomy vs. Shame / Doubt

After overcoming the previous stage and up to three years of age the individual will gradually go developing their body and mind, learning to control and manage their body and behavior from both maturation and practice as of the information that comes to him from his parents, who teach him what he can and can not do.

Over time, these circumstances will be internalized, and the child will be doing behavioral tests to check the effects and consequences , developing their autonomy little by little. They seek to be guided by their own ideas. However, they also need limits, and there is a question of what they can or can not do. The objective of this crisis is to achieve self-control and self-management of their own behavior so that we act adaptively.

3. Initiative vs Guilt

In the period of time between three and five years of age, the child begins to develop greater activity autonomously . Their level of activity drives them to generate new behaviors and ways of relating to the world, with the initiative appearing.

However, the feedback of this initiative can generate feelings of guilt in the child, if the consequences of experimenting are adverse. It is necessary a balance that allows us to see our responsibility in our acts while we can be free.

4. Laboriousness vs. Inferiority

From seven years of age until adolescence, children continue to mature cognitively and learn how reality works. You need to act, do things, experiment . If you can not carry them out, feelings of inferiority and frustration may appear. The result of this stage of personality development is to obtain the sense of competence. It is about being able to act in a balanced way, without surrendering to the minimum obstacle but without making unattainable expectations.

5. Exploration of Identity vs. Identity Dissemination

Own adolescence, it is one of the most known crises by most people . In this stage the main problem of the individual is to find his identity, to discover who he is and what he wants. For this they tend to explore new options and separate themselves from what they have known until then. But the large number of variables involved or a coarctation of the exploration can generate that the identity does not develop freely, producing multiple personality problems.

6. Intimacy vs. Isolation

From the age of twenty to forty the main conflict that the human being must face in the development of his personality is the search for personal relationships and an appropriate and committed way of relating. It seeks the ability that in the interrelations can give feelings of security and confidence .

7. Generativity vs Stagnation

From the age of forty to approximately sixty years of age, the person tends to dedicate himself to the protection of his family and to the search and maintenance of a future for the next generations.

In this stage the main conflict is based on the idea of ​​feeling useful and productive , feeling that their efforts make sense. However, it is necessary to take into account that a balance between activity and quiet must be sought, or there is a risk of either not reaching everything or not being able to produce or feel useful.

8. Self Integrity vs. Despair

The last of the life crises occurs in old age . When the moment comes when productivity is reduced or ceases to exist, the subject comes to assess whether his existence has had a meaning. Accepting the life that we have lived and seeing it as valid is the fundamental thing of this stage, which culminates in the moment of death.

  • Related article: "Erikson's Theory of Psychosocial Development"

Bibliographic references:

  • Gélis, J. (1989), "The Child: from anonymity to individuality", in Philippe Ariès and Georges Duby, A History of Private Life III: Passions of the Renaissance, 309.
  • Kail, Robert; Barnfield, Anne (2014). Children and Their Development. Pearson.
  • Kawamoto, T. (2016). "Personality Change from Life Experiences: Moderation Effect of Attachment Security." Japanese Psychological Research, vol. 58, no. 2, pp. 218-231.

Psychosexual Stages of Development (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 étapes du développement de la personnalité

Les 5 étapes du développement de la personnalité

Mai 23, 2022

Je suis introverti ou extraverti, stable ou instable, sensible ou insensible, intuitif ou rationnel. Toutes ces ces catégories refléter des aspects de la personnalité qui sont largement utilisés en psychologie.

La personnalité que nous avons va marquer notre façon de voir le monde et d'y réagir. Mais les caractéristiques personnelles qui sont les nôtres n’y ont pas toujours existé de la même manière, mais plutôt Nous avons traversé différentes étapes du développement de la personnalité jusqu'à ce que nous devenions ce que nous sommes, de l'enfance à notre situation actuelle et même à notre mort future.

  • Article connexe: "Différences entre personnes extraverties, introverties et timides"

Définition de la personnalité

La personnalité est définie comme un modèle de comportement, de pensée et d’émotion relativement stable dans le temps et à travers les différentes situations que nous vivons. Ce modèle explique comment nous percevons la réalité , les jugements que nous en faisons ou la manière dont nous interagissons avec l’environnement, étant en partie hérités, en partie acquis et ensuite façonnés par l’expérience de la vie.


Comme elle est née dans une grande partie de l'ensemble des expériences que nous vivons tout au long de notre vie, on considère que la personnalité en tant que telle n'est pas entièrement configurée avant l'âge adulte, son développement se poursuivant longtemps jusqu'à ce qu'elle devienne stable (bien qu'elle puisse subissent des variations ultérieures, ne sont pas fréquents ni ont tendance à être marqués).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "La théorie de la personnalité d'Eysenck: le modèle PEN"

Evolution à travers les différentes étapes de la vie

Pour établir une chronologie des étapes du développement de la personnalité, il est intéressant de commencer par la classification des principales étapes de la vie.

A partir d'eux comme référence, voyons comment se développe la structure psychologique des êtres humains.


1. Les premiers moments

Au moment où un bébé est né, nous ne pouvons pas considérer qu'il a une personnalité marquée, car le nouvel individu n'a pas eu d'expériences concrètes qui le font être, penser ou agir d'une certaine manière. Cependant, il est vrai qu'au fil des jours, nous voyons comment le garçon ou la fille a tendance à se comporter d'une certaine manière : par exemple, on peut voir s’il pleure beaucoup ou un peu, comment il se nourrit ou s’il réagit au toucher avec peur ou curiosité.

Ces premières caractéristiques ils font partie de ce qu'on appelle le tempérament , qui fait partie de la constitution innée de la personne et peut ensuite être façonné par l’apprentissage. Le tempérament a une base biologique et provient principalement du patrimoine génétique de nos ancêtres. En tant que composante liée principalement à l'affectivité, c'est une composante primordiale qui servira de base à la construction de la personnalité.


2. enfance

Au fur et à mesure que le sujet grandit, il développe progressivement différentes capacités cognitives et physiques qui lui permettront d'appréhender la réalité, d'essayer de comprendre comment le monde fonctionne et comment son propre être peut l'influencer et y participer.

Cette étape est caractérisée par Acquisition de valeurs, de croyances et de normes de l'étranger , d’une manière initialement imitative et avec peu de colorants critiques. La personnalité commence à se former selon les caractéristiques du tempérament et est confrontée à la réalité, acquérant des comportements, des manières de voir le monde et un caractère.

Dans cette étape l'estime de soi a tendance à être élevée au début en raison de la grande attention qui est généralement accordée à l’enfant en milieu familial. Cependant, au moment de l'entrée dans le monde scolaire, le monde a tendance à diminuer, car il laisse derrière lui l'environnement familial pour entrer dans un inconnu où convergent de nombreux points de vue.

3. Puberté et adolescence

L’adolescence, le point où nous passons d’enfants à l’âge adulte, est une étape clé dans la formation de la personnalité . Il s'agit d'une étape complexe de la vie au cours de laquelle le corps est en train de changer, tout en augmentant les attentes concernant le comportement de l'individu, ce qui commence à faire l'expérience de différents aspects et réalités.

C’est un moment vital caractérisé par la nécessité de se différencier, qui consiste souvent en une rupture ou une séparation avec des adultes un questionnement continu de tout ce qui jusque-là a été inculqué .

Il augmente le nombre d'environnements dans lesquels la personne participe, ainsi que le nombre de personnes avec lesquelles il interagit, en même temps que les changements hormonaux et l'augmentation de la capacité d'abstraction caractéristique de la maturation cognitive lui donneront la possibilité de jouer différents rôles Ils vont enseigner ce qu'ils aiment et ce qu'on attend d'eux. Il y a un renforcer la recherche de liens sociaux et les premières relations apparaissent. L'adolescent recherche une identité propre ainsi qu'un sentiment d'appartenance à l'environnement social, en essayant de s'intégrer à la communauté et au monde.

À ce stade, l'estime de soi tend à varier en raison des insécurités et des découvertes de l'adolescence: à travers des expériences, l'adolescent tentera différentes manières de voir la vie, de rester et d'introjecter certains aspects et de varier les autres. Une identité propre est recherchée, une recherche qui au fil du temps se cristallise en une personnalité différenciée.

4. l'âge adulte

On considère que c'est à partir de l'adolescence que l'on peut parler de la personnalité elle-même, ayant déjà forgé un schéma de comportement, d'émotion et de pensée relativement stable.

Cette personnalité ça va encore varier au cours de la vie , mais dans les grandes lignes, la structure sera similaire sauf s’il existe un événement très important pour le sujet qui le pousse à modifier sa façon de voir le monde.

Par rapport aux autres étapes de la vie, l'estime de soi a tendance à augmenter et, en général, le concept de soi de l'adulte a tendance à essayer de le rapprocher de l'idéal, la timidité diminue , au cas où il aurait été soulevé précédemment. En conséquence, ce que les autres pensent de soi n’est plus aussi important et les activités qui, au début, seraient embarrassantes pourraient être menées à bien.

5. Ancianité

Bien que la personnalité reste généralement stable, l’arrivée dans la vieillesse implique l’expérience progressive de situations telles que la perte de compétences, l’activité professionnelle et les êtres chers, ce qui peut grandement affecter notre manière de nous relier au monde. On enregistre tendance à diminuer l'extraversion et l'estime de soi .

Deux anciennes théories sur le développement de la personnalité

Les éléments écrits ci-dessus reflètent une tendance générale tout au long des étapes de la vie. Cependant, de nombreux auteurs ont établi des théories sur le développement de la personnalité. Deux des plus connues, bien que également dépassées, sont la théorie du développement psychosexuel de Freud et la théorie du développement psychosocial d'Erikson. établir chacune des différentes étapes du développement de la personnalité .

Il convient de garder à l’esprit que ces propositions de développement de la personnalité reposent sur un paradigme de métaphysologie critiqué pour son caractère spéculatif et impossible à mettre à l’épreuve; elles ne sont donc plus considérées aujourd'hui. scientifiquement valable, bien qu'historiquement ils aient eu une grande influence.

Le développement psychosexuel de Freud

Pour le père fondateur de la psychanalyse, la personnalité de l'être humain est façonnée tout au long de la vie à travers différentes étapes du développement de la personnalité. La personnalité est structurée dans une partie identifiant ou motrice, un surmoi qui censure ces désirs basés sur la moralité et un moi qui sert d'intermédiaire entre ces aspects.

Avec la libido comme énergie psychique fondamentale , la théorie de Freud considère que nous ne naissons qu'avec notre partie instinctive, le moi et le surmoi naissant avec le temps lorsque nous introjectons les normes sociales. Les conflits instinctifs constants amènent l'organisme à utiliser des mécanismes de défense afin de réduire la tension qu'il génère, mécanismes souvent utilisés qui expliquent les traits de personnalité et les facettes.

Pour Freud, nous avons traversé une série d'étapes dans lequel nous plaçons nos sources de plaisir et de frustration dans différentes zones du corps, exprimant ainsi la libido. Ces étapes sont progressivement surmontées, même s'il peut exister des régressions ou une stagnation qui produisent des fixations dans certains comportements et certaines façons de voir le monde et les relations personnelles.

1. Stade oral

Au cours de la première année de la vie, l'être humain est plongé dans ce que l'on appelle le stade oral, dans lequel nous utilisons nos bouches pour explorer le monde et obtenir la gratification de lui. Nous nourrissons, mordons et essayons différents objets à travers elle. Ainsi, la bouche exerce le rôle qui plus tard aura des mains, et cela conditionne pour Freud le développement psychosexuel à cette étape de la vie.

2. Stade anal

Après le stade oral et jusqu’à l’âge de trois ans environ, le noyau de l’intérêt psychosexuel devient l’anus, lorsqu’il commence à contrôler les sphincters et suppose qu’il est un élément de plaisir à pouvoir gérer ce qu'il garde en lui et ce qu'il expulse . L'enfant peut aller à la selle, ce qui réduit les tensions internes ou retient volontairement les selles.

3. Stade phallique

Entre trois et six ans, l'individu entre généralement dans la phase ou le stade phallique. C’est à ce stade que commence à s’intéresser aux relations sexuelles, en se concentrant sur la génitalité et apparaissant le complexe d'Œdipe, la jalousie et le repentir.

4. Stade de latence

De l'âge de sept ans jusqu'à l'adolescence, on peut constater que l'expression de l'énergie sexuelle il ne trouve pas de corrélat physique à travers lequel s'exprimer , due en grande partie à l’influence des facteurs sociaux et moraux. La modestie apparaît et les pulsions sexuelles sont réduites.

5. Stade génital

En raison de la puberté et de l’adolescence, cette étape est accompagnée de changements physiques, psychiques et émotionnels caractéristiques d’un moment aussi vital. La libido commence à s'exprimer par la génitalité, Le désir d'attachement et d'attachement apparaît intensément et ayant la capacité suffisante pour mener à bien l'expression de la sexualité à la fois symboliquement et physiquement.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 étapes du développement psychosexuel de Sigmund Freud"

Développement psychosocial d'Erikson

Erik Erikson, un autre auteur connu et l'un des pionniers qui ont proposé que la personnalité se développe de la naissance à la mort, s'est penché sur le développement de la configuration psychique et de la personnalité. ils sont dérivés de la nature sociale de l'être humain ou, en d'autres termes, interaction sociale.

Pour cet auteur, chaque étape de la vie implique une série de conflits et les problèmes auxquels l’individu doit faire face pour être surmontés, grandir et se renforcer à mesure qu’ils sont surmontés et forger la manière de voir, de penser et d’agir dans le monde de chaque sujet.

Les différentes étapes du développement de la personnalité chez Erikson sont les suivantes.

1. Confiance de base contre méfiance

La première des crises auxquelles l’être humain doit faire face tout au long de la vie apparaît au moment de la naissance, constituant la base à partir de laquelle le reste de la structure psychique va être configuré. Selon cette théorie, d ura jusqu’à environ dix-huit mois . Au cours de cette étape, l’individu doit décider s’il est ou non capable de faire confiance aux stimuli et aux personnes venant de l’étranger ou aux effets que l’action elle-même a sur le monde.

Autrement dit, si vous pouvez vous sentir à l'aise en présence, par exemple, de vos parents et de vos proches. Surmonter correctement cette étape signifie que vous êtes capable de trouver un équilibre entre la confiance et la méfiance dans laquelle la confiance prévaut, ce qui vous permettra d’établir des relations sûres avec d’autres personnes tout en ayant confiance en vous-même.

Ainsi, à ce stade de développement d’Erikson, comme dans ce qui suit, l’objectif est d’atteindre un point d’équilibre ou d’ajustement dans lequel l’autonomie correspond bien à la vie sociale qui est menée sans nuire ni être lésée.

2. Autonomie contre honte / doute

Après avoir dépassé le stade précédent et atteint l’âge de trois ans, la personne va progressivement développer son corps et son esprit, et apprendre à contrôler et gérer son corps et son comportement, à partir de la maturation et de la pratique. des informations qui lui viennent de ses parents, qui lui apprennent ce qu’il peut et ne peut pas faire.

Au fil du temps, ces circonstances seront intériorisées et l'enfant fera des tests comportementaux pour vérifier les effets et les conséquences , développant leur autonomie petit à petit. Ils cherchent à être guidés par leurs propres idées. Cependant, ils ont également besoin de limites et la question qui se pose est de savoir ce qu’ils peuvent ou ne peuvent pas faire. L’objectif de cette crise est de parvenir à la maîtrise de soi et à l’autogestion de leur propre comportement afin que nous puissions agir de manière adaptative.

3. Initiative vs culpabilité

Entre trois et cinq ans, l'enfant commence à développer une activité plus intense de manière autonome . Leur niveau d'activité les amène à générer de nouveaux comportements et de nouvelles relations avec le monde, avec l'initiative.

Cependant, le retour d'information de cette initiative peut générer un sentiment de culpabilité chez l'enfant si les conséquences de l'expérimentation sont défavorables. Il faut un équilibre qui nous permette de voir notre responsabilité dans nos actes pendant que nous pouvons être libres.

4. laboriousness vs infériorité

Entre l'âge de sept ans et l'adolescence, les enfants continuent à évoluer de manière cognitive et à apprendre le fonctionnement de la réalité. Vous devez agir, faire des choses, expérimenter . Si vous ne pouvez pas les exécuter, des sentiments d'infériorité et de frustration peuvent apparaître. Le résultat de cette étape du développement de la personnalité est d’obtenir le sens de la compétence. Il s’agit d’être capable d’agir de manière équilibrée, sans renoncer à l’obstacle minimal, mais sans susciter d’attentes inaccessibles.

5. Exploration de l'identité vs diffusion de l'identité

Propre adolescence, c’est l'une des crises les plus connues par la plupart des gens . A ce stade, le principal problème de l'individu est de trouver son identité, de découvrir qui il est et ce qu'il veut. Pour cela, ils ont tendance à explorer de nouvelles options et à se séparer de ce qu'ils savaient jusque-là. Mais le grand nombre de variables impliquées ou une coarctation de l'exploration peut générer que l'identité ne se développe pas librement, générant de multiples problèmes de personnalité.

6. Intimité contre isolement

De 20 à 40 ans, le principal conflit auquel l’être humain doit faire face dans l’évolution de sa personnalité est la recherche de relations personnelles et un mode de relation approprié et engagé. Il cherche la capacité que dans les interrelations peut donner des sentiments de sécurité et de confiance .

7. Générativité vs stagnation

De quarante à soixante ans environ, la personne a tendance à se consacrer à la protection de sa famille et à la recherche et au maintien d'un avenir pour les générations futures.

A ce stade le conflit principal est basé sur l'idée de se sentir utile et productif , sentant que leurs efforts ont un sens. Cependant, il est nécessaire de tenir compte du fait qu’il faut rechercher un équilibre entre activité et calme, sans quoi on risque de ne pas tout atteindre ou de ne pas pouvoir produire ou se sentir utile.

8. Intégrité de soi vs désespoir

La dernière des crises de la vie se produit dans la vieillesse . Lorsque survient le moment où la productivité diminue ou cesse d'exister, le sujet en vient à déterminer si son existence a eu un sens. Accepter la vie que nous avons vécue et la considérer comme valide est l’essentiel de cette étape qui aboutit au moment de la mort.

  • Article connexe: "Théorie du développement psychosocial d'Erikson"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gélis, J. (1989), "L'enfant: de l'anonymat à l'individualité", dans Philippe Ariès et Georges Duby, Une histoire de la vie privée III: Passions de la Renaissance, 309.
  • Kail, Robert; Barnfield, Anne (2014). Les enfants et leur développement. Pearson.
  • Kawamoto, T. (2016). "Changement de personnalité à partir d'expériences de vie: effet de modération de la sécurité de l'attachement." Recherche psychologique japonaise, vol. 58, non. 2, pp. 218-231.

Jean Piaget et les stades de developpement (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes