yes, therapy helps!
The 5 types of alcoholism (and associated disorders)

The 5 types of alcoholism (and associated disorders)

January 22, 2021

Alcohol . This word refers to one of the most popular and consumed legal psychoactive substances in the world. This substance acts as a depressant of the central nervous system, messing up the neuronal membranes and increasing the mobility of the molecules present in the brain.

It has been proven that taking small daily amounts improves health and protects against heart disease, also producing arousal, decreasing the level of anxiety and heart and respiratory rates. However, in higher doses, the level of consciousness and psychomotor coordination, among other effects, decreases. maintaining a continuous consumption can lead to a dependence on this substance, also known as alcoholism , that of being maintained throughout a period of at least twelve months that can cause injuries in diverse cerebral areas.


What is dependency?

Dependence is understood to be that characterized by the existence of the acquisition of a remarkable tolerance, needing to increase the amount of substance to achieve the desired effects, the presence of withdrawal symptoms, the prolonged use of the substance beyond what the consumer intended. , the persistent desire to suppress or control behavior, the deterioration of other activities due to the continuous performance of activities to obtain the substance and the intake of substance despite knowing the affectation that this causes on the person.

In the case of alcohol dependence, this dynamic of constant drinking of alcoholic beverages tends to lead to a series of neurological lesions .


These lesions occur in the corpus callosum, the protuberance and the limbic system, which explains the existence of memory problems and intense emotional reactions. It also decreases the density of neuron dendrite connections and the number of neurons in the cerebellum and hippocampus, which affects the ability of motor coordination and learning.

Types of alcoholism according to the Jellinek classification

There are a large number of causes and patterns of alcohol consumption in dependent persons.

In this sense a large number of classifications have been established, highlighting the proposal by Jellinek . This author classifies the drinkers and alcoholics into five different groups, in order to indicate the social and therapeutic problems of each group.


1. Alpha type drinkers

This type of drinker performs an exaggerated and excessive consumption in order to mitigate the effects of a mental illness or medical In these drinkers there is no real dependence, with which in reality this classification would not fall within the concept of alcoholism.

2. Drinkers type Beta

In this type of drinkers there is no real alcohol dependence either . Social drinkers are included in this classification, who consume excessively something that can cause somatic injury.

3. Gamma-type alcoholism

This type of individuals present a true addiction, manifesting a clear loss of control before drinking , craving or excessive desire to access it, tolerance to alcohol and adaptation to its metabolites. Within this group would be the chronic alcoholic subjects.

4. Delta-type alcoholism

The subjects included in this category also have an alcohol addiction , presenting an inability to maintain abstinence but without presenting a loss of control over drinking. In other words, they need to drink assiduously, but without getting drunk.

5. Alcoholism type Epsilon

The so-called periodic alcoholism occurs in subjects who have loss of control over drinking and behavioral problems , but consuming sporadically, spending long periods between taking and taking.

Disorders derived from alcoholism

The abusive consumption of alcohol can cause serious problems in physical and mental health of consumers.

Alcohol intoxication

Among them stresses the alcoholic intoxication , is caused by the recent ingestion of a high amount of alcohol (or consumed with excessive speed) and is characterized by the presence of psychic and behavioral changes such as aggression, euphoria, poor muscle control, mental and physical slowing, sputtering, alterations of memory, perception and attention. It can go from simple drunkenness to ethyl coma and death.

Abstinence syndrome

Another one of the disorders related to the consumption of alcohol is the syndrome of abstinence . This syndrome, which occurs before the cessation or abrupt interruption in chronic consumers, usually begins with tremors between seven and forty eight hours the last consumption.

Anxiety, agitation, tremor, insomnia, nausea and even hallucinations are frequent.The alterations of this syndrome depend to a great extent on the time and amount of frequent consumption, and seizures and epileptic seizures, alcoholic hallucinosis or even delirium tremens may occur as one of the most severe manifestations of abstinence.

In the case of delirium tremens, it is very important to resort to medical help urgently, since 20% of cases are fatal in case of not going to the hospital, and even with the intervention of specialists, 5% of people die . This clinical picture appears in 3 phases :

  • First phase: anxiety, tachycardia, insomnia and dizziness.
  • Second phase: 24 hours later, the previous symptoms worsen and tremors and abundant sweating appear.
  • Third phase: hallucinations, disorientation, tachycardia, delusions and stupor.

Amnesias induced by alcohol

They are also known blackout, or partial amnesias, which can be classified as amnesia dependent on the state (in which actions performed during drunkenness that are remembered only in a drunken state), fragmentary (amnesia of what happened during intoxication with some intermediate moments preserved) or in block (total forgetting of what happened during the drunkenness).

The habitual abuse of alcohol causes many neurons in the hippocampus to die, and as a consequence there are problems when it comes to creating memories about what happens when the blood alcohol level is high. Both, the declarative memory problems They can remain in the long term.

Sleep disorders

There are also sleep difficulties, decreasing REM sleep and increasing phases 2 and 3 of non-REM sleep to occur in the second half of the night a rebound of REM sleep that can awaken the individual.

Chronic disorders

Besides these disorders of an acute nature, chronic disorders such as Wernicke-Korsakoff syndrome, cognitive alterations (loss of memory, decreased judgment and planning or deterioration of attention among others) or sexual dysfunctions can also occur. personality (including pathological jealousy in couple relationships) and other neurological and hepatic disorders.

Effective treatments established

At the pharmacological level, different medications are used to treat alcohol dependence . Highlights the use of disulfiram to produce an aversive response to alcohol and naltrexone to stop the craving or desire to consume.

Regarding psychological treatment, Over time, multiple programs and treatments have been created to combat alcoholism . Among them, some of the most effective at present are the approach to community reinforcement, cognitive-behavioral therapy and family and couple therapy.

1. Approach to community reinforcement or "Community Reinforcement Approach" (CRA)

Program designed taking into account the importance of the family and society when it comes to reinforcing the sobriety of the alcoholic. Motivational techniques and positive reinforcement are used in it. The main objective of the program is to reduce consumption and increase functional behavior .

Disulfiram is used, training in communication skills, training in job search techniques, play activities not compatible with alcohol and training in contingency management to resist the social pressure to drink through covert awareness. It is the program with the highest level of proven effectiveness.

2. Cognitive-behavioral therapy

Includes training in social skills and coping and relapse prevention.

The first step is to produce an increase in the ability to manage situations that trigger the desire to drink, preparing for change, teaching coping skills and generalizing them to everyday life.

Regarding relapse prevention, the possibility that the subject returns to drink on one occasion (fall), differentiating it from relapse (reinstatement of the habit) so that there is no effect of the violation of abstinence (creating cognitive dissonance and personal self-attribution of addiction, which eventually causes a guilt that facilitates relapse).

3. Family and couple therapy

An essential component in treatment programs. Por yes, it is also very effective . Regardless of the problem itself, it focuses on how it affects the relationship and reinforces communication, negotiation and activities that facilitate maintaining the relationship correctly.

In conclusion

Although alcoholism is a chronic problem, in a large number of cases the prognosis once the behavior is normalized is positive: It has been observed that it has been achieved in more than 65% of treated cases to maintain controlled abstinence . However, it is necessary to detect the problem in time and start a treatment as quickly as possible to prevent the nervous system from being badly damaged.

In some cases, in addition, the withdrawal of alcohol consumption should be done in a controlled manner and supervised by doctors, since the withdrawal syndrome can lead to many problems or even lead to death.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Hunt, G.M. and Azrin, N.H. (1973). A community-reinforcement approach to alcoholism. Behavior Research and Therapy, 11, 91-104
  • Jellinek, E.M. (1960). The disease concept of alcoholism. New Brunswick: Hillhouse Press
  • Kopelman, M.D. (1991). Non-verbal, short-term forging in the alcoholic Korsakoff syndrome and Alzheimer-type dementia. Neuropsychologia, 29, 737-747.
  • Marlatt, G.A. (1993). The prevention of relapses in addictive behaviors: a cognitive-behavioral treatment approach. In Gossop, M., Casas, M. (eds.), Relapse and relapse prevention. Barcelona: Ed.Neurosciences.
  • Santos, J.L; García, L.I .; Calderón, M.A .; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Everything You Wanted to Know about Treatment for Alcohol Use Disorder: A Primer for Non-Clinicians (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 types d'alcoolisme (et troubles associés)

Les 5 types d'alcoolisme (et troubles associés)

Janvier 17, 2022

Alcool . Ce mot désigne l'une des substances psychoactives légales les plus consommées et les plus consommées au monde. Cette substance agit comme un dépresseur du système nerveux central, endommageant les membranes neuronales et augmentant la mobilité des molécules présentes dans le cerveau.

Il a été prouvé que prendre de petites quantités par jour améliore la santé et protège contre les maladies cardiaques, tout en produisant de l'excitation, en diminuant le niveau d'anxiété et les rythmes cardiaque et respiratoire. Cependant, à des doses plus élevées, le niveau de conscience et la coordination psychomotrice, entre autres effets, diminuent. le maintien d'une consommation continue peut entraîner une dépendance à cette substance, également appelée alcoolisme , celle d’être maintenue pendant une période d’au moins douze mois pouvant causer des lésions dans diverses zones cérébrales.


Qu'est-ce que la dépendance?

La dépendance est comprise comme étant caractérisée par l’existence de l’acquisition d’une tolérance remarquable, la nécessité d’augmenter la quantité de substance pour obtenir les effets souhaités, la présence de symptômes de sevrage, l’utilisation prolongée de la substance au-delà de ce que le consommateur souhaitait. , le désir persistant de réprimer ou de contrôler un comportement, la détérioration d’autres activités en raison de la réalisation continue d’activités d’obtention de la substance et la consommation de substance malgré la connaissance de l’affectation que cela entraîne sur la personne.

En cas de dépendance à l'alcool, cette dynamique de consommation constante de boissons alcoolisées a tendance à conduire à une série de lésions neurologiques .


Ces lésions se produisent dans le corps calleux, la protubérance et le système limbique, ce qui explique l'existence de problèmes de mémoire et de réactions émotionnelles intenses. Il diminue également la densité des connexions de neurones dendrites et le nombre de neurones dans le cervelet et l'hippocampe, ce qui affecte la capacité de coordination motrice et d'apprentissage.

Types d’alcoolisme selon la classification de Jellinek

Il existe un grand nombre de causes et de schémas de consommation d’alcool chez les personnes dépendantes.

En ce sens, un grand nombre de classifications ont été établies, soulignant la proposition de Jellinek. . Cet auteur classe les buveurs et les alcooliques en cinq groupes différents, afin d'indiquer les problèmes sociaux et thérapeutiques de chaque groupe.


1. buveurs de type alpha

Ce type de buveur effectue une consommation exagérée et excessive afin d'atténuer les effets d'une maladie mentale ou médical Il n’ya pas de dépendance réelle chez ces buveurs, avec laquelle, en réalité, cette classification ne relèverait pas du concept de l’alcoolisme.

2. Buveurs type Beta

Chez ce type de buveurs, il n’ya pas non plus de réelle dépendance à l’alcool. . Les buveurs sociaux font partie de cette classification et consomment de manière excessive des substances pouvant causer des lésions somatiques.

3. alcoolisme de type gamma

Ce type d’individus présente une véritable dépendance, manifestant une nette perte de contrôle avant de boire , envie ou désir excessif d'y accéder, tolérance à l'alcool et adaptation à ses métabolites. Dans ce groupe, il y aurait les sujets alcooliques chroniques.

4. alcoolisme de type delta

Les sujets inclus dans cette catégorie ont aussi une dépendance à l'alcool , incapable de maintenir l'abstinence, mais sans perte de contrôle de la consommation d'alcool. En d'autres termes, ils doivent boire assidûment, mais sans se saouler.

5. Alcoolisme de type Epsilon

Le soi-disant alcoolisme périodique se produit chez les sujets qui ont une perte de contrôle de la consommation d'alcool et des problèmes de comportement , mais consommant de façon sporadique, passant de longues périodes entre prises et prises.

Troubles dérivés de l'alcoolisme

La consommation abusive d'alcool peut causer de graves problèmes de santé physique et mentale des consommateurs.

Intoxication alcoolique

Parmi eux souligne l'intoxication alcoolique , est causée par l’ingestion récente d’une grande quantité d’alcool (ou consommée avec une vitesse excessive) et se caractérise par la présence de changements psychiques et comportementaux tels qu’agression, euphorie, mauvais contrôle musculaire, ralentissement mental et physique, sputtering, altérations de mémoire, de perception et d'attention. Cela peut aller de la simple ivresse à l'éthyl coma et à la mort.

Syndrome d'abstinence

Un autre des troubles liés à la consommation d'alcool est le syndrome de l'abstinence . Ce syndrome, qui survient avant la cessation ou l'interruption brutale chez les consommateurs chroniques, commence généralement par des tremblements entre sept et quarante huit heures, la dernière consommation.

Anxiété, agitation, tremblements, insomnie, nausée et même hallucinations sont fréquents.Les altérations de ce syndrome dépendent dans une large mesure du moment et de la quantité de consommation fréquente. Les crises épileptiques, les hallucinoses alcooliques ou même le delirium tremens peuvent être l’une des manifestations les plus graves de l’abstinence.

Dans le cas du delirium tremens, il est très important de recourir d'urgence à une assistance médicale, car 20% des cas sont mortels en cas de non hospitalisation et, même avec l'intervention de spécialistes, 5% des décès . Ce tableau clinique apparaît en 3 phases :

  • Première phase: anxiété, tachycardie, insomnie et vertiges.
  • Deuxième phase: 24 heures plus tard, les symptômes précédents s'aggravent et des tremblements apparaissent, accompagnés d'une sudation abondante.
  • Troisième phase: hallucinations, désorientation, tachycardie, délires et stupeur.

Amnésie induite par l'alcool

Ils sont aussi connus panne d'électricitéamnésie partielle, pouvant être classée comme amnésie dépendante de l’état (actions dans lesquelles on se souvient seulement de l’ivrognerie), fragmentaire (amnésie de ce qui s’est passé pendant l’ivresse avec des moments intermédiaires préservés) ou en bloc (oubli total de ce qui s'est passé pendant l'ivresse).

L'abus d'alcool habituel provoque la mort de nombreux neurones dans l'hippocampe, ce qui pose des problèmes pour créer des souvenirs de ce qui se passe lorsque le taux d'alcoolémie est élevé. À la fois, les problèmes de mémoire déclarative Ils peuvent rester à long terme.

Problèmes de sommeil

Il existe également des difficultés de sommeil, une diminution du sommeil paradoxal et une augmentation des phases 2 et 3 du sommeil lent, qui se produisent dans la seconde moitié de la nuit avec un rebond du sommeil paradoxal pouvant réveiller l’individu.

Troubles chroniques

Outre ces troubles de nature aiguë, des troubles chroniques tels que le syndrome de Wernicke-Korsakoff, des altérations cognitives (perte de mémoire, diminution du jugement et planification ou détérioration de l'attention, entre autres) ou des dysfonctionnements sexuels peuvent également survenir. personnalité (y compris la jalousie pathologique dans les relations de couple) et d’autres troubles neurologiques et hépatiques.

Traitements efficaces établis

Au niveau pharmacologique, différents médicaments sont utilisés pour traiter la dépendance à l'alcool . Met en évidence l'utilisation de disulfirame pour produire une réponse aversive à l'alcool et à la naltrexone pour arrêter la envie ou désir de consommer.

En ce qui concerne le traitement psychologique, Au fil du temps, plusieurs programmes et traitements ont été créés pour lutter contre l'alcoolisme. . Parmi ceux-ci, certains des plus efficaces à l'heure actuelle sont l'approche du renforcement de la communauté, de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale et de la thérapie familiale et de couple.

1. Approche du renforcement de la communauté ou "approche de renforcement de la communauté" (ARC)

Programme conçu en tenant compte de l'importance de la famille et de la société lorsqu'il s'agit de renforcer la sobriété de l'alcoolique. Techniques de motivation et renforcement positif y sont utilisés. L'objectif principal du programme est de réduire la consommation et d'améliorer le comportement fonctionnel .

Disulfiram est utilisé, formation aux techniques de communication, formation aux techniques de recherche d’emploi, activités de jeu incompatibles avec l’alcool et formation à la gestion des situations d’urgence pour résister à la pression sociale exercée par une prise de conscience dissimulée. C'est le programme avec le plus haut niveau d'efficacité prouvée.

2. Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale

Comprend une formation en aptitudes sociales et en prévention de l’adaptation et des rechutes.

La première étape consiste à accroître la capacité de gestion des situations qui déclenchent le désir de boire, de se préparer au changement, d’enseigner les techniques d’adaptation et de les généraliser à la vie quotidienne.

Concernant la prévention des rechutes, la possibilité que le sujet recommence à boire une fois (chute), ce qui le différencie d'une rechute (réintégration de l’habitude) afin que la violation de l’abstinence ne soit pas affectée (création d’une dissonance cognitive et d’une auto-attribution personnelle de la dépendance, ce qui provoque finalement une culpabilité facilitant la rechute).

3. Thérapie familiale et de couple

Une composante essentielle des programmes de traitement. Pou oui, c'est aussi très efficace . Indépendamment du problème lui-même, il se concentre sur la manière dont il affecte la relation et renforce la communication, la négociation et les activités facilitant le maintien de la relation correctement.

En conclusion

Bien que l'alcoolisme soit un problème chronique, dans un grand nombre de cas, le pronostic une fois le comportement normalisé est positif: Il a été observé que plus de 65% des cas traités avaient réussi à maintenir une abstinence contrôlée. . Cependant, il est nécessaire de détecter le problème à temps et de commencer un traitement le plus rapidement possible afin d'éviter que le système nerveux ne soit gravement endommagé.

Dans certains cas, en outre, le sevrage de l'alcool doit être contrôlé et supervisé par des médecins, car le syndrome de sevrage peut entraîner de nombreux problèmes, voire entraîner la mort.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Hunt, G.M. et Azrin, N.H. (1973). Une approche de l’alcoolisme axée sur le renforcement de la communauté. Recherche sur le comportement et thérapie, 11, 91-104
  • Jellinek, E.M. (1960). Le concept de maladie de l'alcoolisme. Nouveau-Brunswick: Hillhouse Press
  • Kopelman, M.D. (1991). Forgeage non verbal à court terme du syndrome de Korsakoff alcoolique et de la démence de type Alzheimer. Neuropsychologia, 29, 737-747.
  • Marlatt, G.A. (1993). La prévention des rechutes dans les comportements addictifs: une approche de traitement cognitivo-comportemental. Dans Gossop, M., Casas, M. (dir.), Prévention des rechutes. Barcelone: ​​Ed.Neurosciences.
  • Santos, J.L; García, L.I .; Calderón, M.A .; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

les symptômes de la dépression (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes