yes, therapy helps!
The 5 types of bullying or bullying

The 5 types of bullying or bullying

May 6, 2021

Bullying is a term that has gained popularity over the past few years, but this phenomenon has existed since man exists . Now, what exactly do we mean by bullying or school bullying? This Anglo-Saxon word is used frequently to refer to the typical class thugs. That is, the abusers, either physically or psychologically.

Bullying is a phenomenon that is characterized by harassment harassment and / or intimidation of the abuser on the victim, within the school setting . The stalker enjoys feeling superior to the victim and rejoices with the victim's suffering. The repeated exposure of this condition by the victim can bring serious consequences at the psychological level. In some cases, students who have been victims of bullying may commit suicide.


Harassment in the workplace is called mobbing. You can learn more about this phenomenon in our article: "Mobbing: psychological harassment at work"

The causes of bullying

Bullying is a phenomenon that can be manifested by different causes (personal, family or school), and that is why it can occur in any educational center: whether private or public. Regarding school causes, There seems to be more risk of bullying in large centers than in small ones , because of the difficulty in monitoring the first ones.

A personal cause could be, for example, the low self-esteem of the harasser. Feeling superior to the bullied would be a way to make up for the low self-confidence. Regarding family causes, the origin of the violence of stalking children could be found in the aggressive father model. In addition, the economic tension, the bad relationship between the parents, the acquired values, the absence of rules of coexistence, etc. they could be probable causes of the development of this phenomenon.


Consequences and effects

Victims of bullying they may suffer different negative psychological effects .

An investigation conducted in 2014 at King's College London found that the negative psychological effects suffered by people with bullying remain for 40 years after being the victim of harassment.

This It should make us reflect on the serious psychological impact of harassment in the rest of the affected person's life , presenting worse indicators of their mental and physical health and a worse cognitive performance with respect to individuals who did not suffer harassment.

Let's see what are the negative effects on physical and mental health detected in victims of bullying.

1. Stress

Victims of bullying present stress not only during school but also years later. This follows from a study carried out at Tufts University and reveals that affected people secrete more cortisol, a hormone directly involved in the sensation of stress .


This would explain much of the long-term health consequences for these people, for example the appearance of mental disorders, as pointed out by a study by Johns Hopkins University.

2. Anxiety and depression

Other research, in this case from Duke University, found that bullying victims were more likely to suffer from disorders such as agoraphobia, generalized anxiety disorder and panic attacks. They also had higher rates of depression and social isolation.

3. Somatizations

They can also present psychosomatic disorders. This was detected in a report published by Randy and Lori Sansone in 2008.

4. Suicide

In the same study conducted at Duke, a higher probability of suicide was found in these people. The first case of suicide of a person who suffered bullying was the young Spanish Jokin, who at age 14 decided to end his life after taking years suffering abuse and harassment at his school in the town of Hondarribia.

5. Problems in socialization and the future of work

The victims of bullying in the school present, statistically, worse indicators in what refers to their quality of family life and their purchasing power in their adult life. They may also suffer worse performance in their social and communication skills, as indicated in this study by Claire Fox and Michael Boulton published in the British Psychological Society.

The types of bullying

But what types of school bullying are there? According to the National Center Against Bullying (NCAB, for its acronym in English) bullying can be classified as follows following different criteria .

1. Verbal bullying

What is it?

Verbal bullying or verbal bullying is characterized because the bully expresses cruel words, insults, threats , intimidation, jokes and exclusionary phrases about the appearance, sexual condition, ethnicity, race or disability of the victim. Children are more sensitive to this type of comment.

Example : When a child says to another child: "You are very, very fat, and your mother too".

How to detect it?

Children who are victims of this type of bullying may be absent, moody, or show a change in appetite. They can also say something of what they have been told and ask if it is true.

2. Physical bullying

What is it?

Physical bullying is characterized by aggressive and intimidating behavior by the harasser , which includes kicks, punches, tripping, blocking or pushing. It is the best known form of Bullying.

Example : A child is bullied by another child who drops his pants at recess

How to detect it?

Unfortunately, many children do not tell their parents what has happened. But parents can detect if their child is suffering from physical school bullying because This type of bullying usually leaves marks on the body of the victim , which sends an alarm signal. Some of these corporal marks are: cuts, bruises, broken clothes, etc. In addition, the victim may complain frequently of headaches or belly pains.

3. Social or relational bullying

What is it?

This type of bullying is more complicated to detect and usually happens behind the victim's back. The objective is usually that the person does not join or is not part of a group . Whether in the dining room, in the recreational soccer games or any social or educational activity of the center, the victim is disowned or disowned by his peers.

Example : A group of girls in a gym class take their photos about a party in which one of the girls in the class was not invited, and being present, they treat her as if she were invisible.

How to detect it?

It is common for the victim to show mood swings, avoid peer groups and be alone more than usual . Girls are more prone to suffer this type of bullying. The emotional pain produced by social bullying can be just as intense as that suffered by physical bullying and the aftermath can last even longer.

4. Cyberbullying

What is it?

Cyberbullying is a phenomenon that was born due to the rise of social networks . It is characterized by harassment or intimidation produced through social networks, text messages and emails. Through the digital medium, the harasser spreads false rumors, lies, threats, sexist or racist comments, causing enormous discomfort and psychological and emotional problems in the victim.

Example : When a guy tweets or publishes a state on Facebook, "Ramón is a loser. How is it possible that he has a girlfriend? I'm sure his girlfriend just wants it for the money. "

How to detect it?

It is possible that the victim of cyberbullying spends a lot of time online and is sad and anxious after . In addition, the person who suffers this type of harassment (and any form of bullying) may have trouble sleeping, and may beg to not go to school, absent from activities that previously enjoyed.

5. Carnal bullying

What is it?

This type of bullying is possibly the most complicated to analyze, because many people refuse to accept that there are children who perform this type of behavior. This kind of bullying at school is characterized by sexist or obscene comments, by touching the victim in intimate places or pressuring her to do something she does not want (for example, watch movies for adults). This kind of bullying can cause serious psychological problems and mark forever the intimate and emotional relationships of the victim.

Example : A child in class forces a girl to kiss him repeatedly.

How to detect it?

Generally, the victim of this type of bullying will not express what happens to him, but You will avoid situations where you may encounter the harasser . For example, not attending school.

The diversity of violence in school

The existence of different types of bullying shows us to what extent actions aimed at harming or attacking others can take different forms. For this reason, it is the responsibility of adults and caregivers to detect these forms of physical or psychological violence and put them on hold, focusing on the needs of the victims.

It is crucial that stereotypes about what is violence and what is not do not serve as an excuse to make invisible and normalize unacceptable behaviors that, although they have nothing to do with beatings or injuries, leave psychological marks that can distort the quality of life of children for years.

Bibliographic references:

  • From Acevedo, A. (2010). Someone is bothering me: bullying. Editions B.
  • Barri, F. (2006). S.O.S. Bullying: Prevent School Harassment and Improve Coexistence. Praxis, S.A.
  • Norman K.J., Seiden J.A., Klickstein J.A., Han X., Hwa .LS., Et al. (2015). Social stress and escalated drug self-administration in mice I.Alcohol and corticosterone. Psychopharmacology.
  • Ricou Sanz, J. (2005). Bullying RD Editors.

Types of bullying (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 types d'intimidation ou d'intimidation

Les 5 types d'intimidation ou d'intimidation

Juin 18, 2022

L’intimidation est un terme qui a gagné en popularité au cours des dernières années, mais ce phénomène existe depuis que l'homme existe . Maintenant, qu'entendons-nous exactement par intimidation ou intimidation à l'école? Ce mot anglo-saxon est fréquemment utilisé pour désigner les voyous de la classe. C'est-à-dire les agresseurs, physiquement ou psychologiquement.

L’intimidation est un phénomène qui se caractérise par du harcèlement et / ou de l'intimidation de l'agresseur sur la victime, en milieu scolaire . Le harceleur aime se sentir supérieur à la victime et se réjouit de la souffrance de celle-ci. L'exposition répétée de cette condition par la victime peut avoir des conséquences graves sur le plan psychologique. Dans certains cas, les élèves victimes d’intimidation peuvent se suicider.


Le harcèlement au travail s'appelle le mobbing. Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur ce phénomène dans notre article: "Mobbing: harcèlement psychologique au travail"

Les causes de l'intimidation

L'intimidation est un phénomène qui peut être manifesté par différentes causes (personnelle, familiale ou scolaire) et c'est pourquoi elle peut se produire dans n'importe quel centre d'enseignement: privé ou public. En ce qui concerne les causes scolaires, Il semble y avoir plus de risque d'intimidation dans les grands centres que dans les petits , à cause de la difficulté à surveiller les premiers.

Une cause personnelle pourrait être, par exemple, la faible estime de soi du harceleur. Se sentir supérieur aux victimes serait un moyen de compenser le manque de confiance en soi. En ce qui concerne les causes familiales, l'origine de la violence liée au harcèlement criminel des enfants pourrait être trouvée dans le modèle du père agressif. En outre, la tension économique, les mauvaises relations entre les parents, les valeurs acquises, l’absence de règles de coexistence, etc. ils pourraient être des causes probables du développement de ce phénomène.


Conséquences et effets

Victimes d'intimidation ils peuvent subir différents effets psychologiques négatifs .

Une enquête menée en 2014 au King's College de Londres a révélé que les effets psychologiques négatifs subis par les personnes victimes d'intimidation perdurent 40 ans après avoir été victimes de harcèlement.

Cette Cela devrait nous faire réfléchir aux graves conséquences psychologiques du harcèlement dans le reste de la vie de la personne touchée. , présentant de plus mauvais indicateurs de leur santé mentale et physique et une moins bonne performance cognitive vis-à-vis des personnes ne subissant pas de harcèlement.

Voyons quels sont les effets négatifs sur la santé physique et mentale détectés chez les victimes d'intimidation.

1. le stress

Les victimes d'intimidation présentent un stress non seulement à l'école, mais aussi des années plus tard. Cela découle d’une étude réalisée à l’Université Tufts et révèle que les personnes touchées sécrètent plus de cortisol, une hormone directement impliquée dans la sensation de stress .


Cela expliquerait en grande partie les conséquences à long terme sur la santé de ces personnes, par exemple l'apparition de troubles mentaux, comme le souligne une étude de l'Université Johns Hopkins.

2. Anxiété et dépression

D'autres recherches, menées dans le cas de l'université de Duke, ont montré que les victimes d'intimidation étaient plus susceptibles de souffrir de troubles tels que l'agoraphobie, le trouble d'anxiété généralisée et les attaques de panique. Ils présentaient également des taux plus élevés de dépression et d’isolement social.

3. Somatisations

Ils peuvent également présenter des troubles psychosomatiques. Cela a été détecté dans un rapport publié par Randy et Lori Sansone en 2008.

4. suicide

Dans la même étude menée à Duke, une probabilité plus élevée de suicide a été trouvée chez ces personnes. Le premier cas de suicide d'une personne victime d'intimidation est le jeune espagnol Jokin, qui, à 14 ans, a décidé de mettre fin à ses jours après avoir été victime d'abus et de harcèlement dans son école de la ville de Hondarribia.

5. Problèmes de socialisation et d'avenir du travail

Les victimes de brimades à l'école présentent, statistiquement, de pires indicateurs en ce qui concerne leur qualité de vie familiale et leur pouvoir d'achat à l'âge adulte. Ils risquent également de voir leurs performances sociales et de communication se dégrader, comme l'indiquent Claire Fox et Michael Boulton dans leur étude publiée dans le Société psychologique britannique.

Les types d'intimidation

Mais quels types d'intimidation à l'école existe-t-il? Selon le National Center Against Bullying (NCAB, pour son acronyme en anglais) l'intimidation peut être classée comme suit selon différents critères .

1. L'intimidation verbale

Qu'est que c'est?

L'intimidation verbale ou verbale est caractérisée parce que l'intimidateur exprime des mots cruels, des insultes, des menaces , intimidation, blagues et phrases d'exclusion sur l'apparence, la condition sexuelle, l'origine ethnique, la race ou le handicap de la victime. Les enfants sont plus sensibles à ce type de commentaire.

Exemple : Lorsqu'un enfant dit à un autre enfant: "Tu es très très gros et ta mère aussi".

Comment le détecter?

Les enfants victimes de ce type d'intimidation peuvent être absents, de mauvaise humeur ou manifester un changement d'appétit. Ils peuvent également dire quelque chose de ce qui leur a été dit et demander si c'est vrai.

2. Intimidation physique

Qu'est que c'est?

L'intimidation physique est caractérisée par un comportement agressif et intimidant de la part du harceleur , qui comprend les coups de pied, coups de poing, trébuchement, blocage ou poussée. C'est la forme la plus connue d'intimidation.

Exemple : Un enfant est victime d'intimidation par un autre enfant qui laisse tomber son pantalon à la récréation

Comment le détecter?

Malheureusement, beaucoup d'enfants ne disent pas à leurs parents ce qui s'est passé. Mais les parents peuvent détecter si leur enfant est victime d’intimidation physique à l’école parce que Ce type d’intimidation laisse habituellement des traces sur le corps de la victime , qui envoie un signal d'alarme. Certaines de ces marques corporelles sont: des coupures, des ecchymoses, des vêtements cassés, etc. En outre, la victime peut se plaindre fréquemment de maux de tête ou de douleurs abdominales.

3. Brimades sociales ou relationnelles

Qu'est que c'est?

Ce type d’intimidation est plus compliqué à détecter et se produit généralement dans le dos de la victime. L’objectif est généralement que la personne ne rejoigne pas ou ne fasse pas partie d’un groupe . Que ce soit dans la salle à manger, dans les matchs de football ou dans toute activité sociale ou éducative du centre, la victime est désavouée ou désavouée par ses pairs.

Exemple : Un groupe de filles dans une classe de gymnastique prend leurs photos d'une fête dans laquelle l'une des filles de la classe n'était pas invitée et, étant présente, elles la traitent comme si elle était invisible.

Comment le détecter?

Il est courant que la victime montre des sautes d'humeur, évite les groupes de pairs et reste seule plus que d'habitude . Les filles sont plus susceptibles de subir ce type d’intimidation. La douleur émotionnelle provoquée par l'intimidation sociale peut être aussi intense que celle subie par l'intimidation physique et les conséquences peuvent durer encore plus longtemps.

4. Cyberintimidation

Qu'est que c'est?

La cyberintimidation est un phénomène né de la montée des réseaux sociaux . Il se caractérise par du harcèlement ou de l'intimidation produits par les réseaux sociaux, les SMS et les courriels. Par le biais du média numérique, le harceleur répand de fausses rumeurs, des mensonges, des menaces, des commentaires sexistes ou racistes, causant un énorme inconfort et des problèmes psychologiques et émotionnels chez la victime.

Exemple : Quand un gars tweete ou publie un état sur Facebook, "Ramón est un perdant. Comment est-il possible qu'il ait une petite amie? Je suis sûr que sa petite amie en veut juste pour son argent. "

Comment le détecter?

Il est possible que la victime de cyberintimidation passe beaucoup de temps en ligne et qu'elle soit triste et anxieuse après . En outre, la personne qui subit ce type de harcèlement (et toute forme d'intimidation) peut avoir du mal à dormir et peut demander à ne pas aller à l'école, absente des activités qu'elle pratiquait auparavant.

5. Brimades charnelles

Qu'est que c'est?

Ce type d’intimidation est peut-être le plus compliqué à analyser, car de nombreuses personnes refusent d’accepter qu’il existe des enfants qui présentent ce type de comportement. Ce genre d'intimidation à l'école se caractérise par des commentaires sexistes ou obscènes, en touchant la victime dans des endroits intimes ou en la forçant à faire quelque chose dont elle ne veut pas (par exemple, regarder des films pour adultes). Ce type d'intimidation peut entraîner de graves problèmes psychologiques et marquer à jamais les relations intimes et émotionnelles de la victime.

Exemple : Un enfant en classe oblige une fille à l'embrasser à plusieurs reprises.

Comment le détecter?

En règle générale, la victime de ce type d’intimidation n’exprimera pas ce qui lui arrive, mais Vous éviterez les situations où vous pourriez rencontrer le harceleur . Par exemple, ne pas aller à l'école.

La diversité de la violence à l'école

L’existence de différents types d’intimidation nous montre à quel point les actions visant à blesser ou à attaquer les autres peuvent prendre différentes formes. Pour cette raison, il incombe aux adultes et aux personnes qui s'occupent de l'enfant de détecter ces formes de violence physique ou psychologique et de les suspendre, en mettant l'accent sur les besoins des victimes.

Il est essentiel que les stéréotypes sur ce qui est violence et ce qui ne l’est pas ne servent pas de prétexte pour rendre invisibles et normaliser des comportements inacceptables qui, bien qu’ils n’aient rien à voir avec des coups ou des blessures, laissent des traces psychologiques qui peuvent altérer la qualité des actes de violence. vie des enfants pendant des années.

Références bibliographiques:

  • De Acevedo, A. (2010). Quelqu'un me dérange: l'intimidation. Editions B.
  • Barri, F. (2006). S.O.S. Intimidation: prévenir le harcèlement scolaire et améliorer la coexistence. Praxis, S.A.
  • Norman K. J., Seiden J.A., Klickstein J.A., Han X., Hwa .LS., Et al. (2015). Stress social et auto-administration accrue du médicament chez la souris I.Alcool et corticostérone. Psychopharmacologie.
  • Ricou Sanz, J. (2005). L'intimidation à l'école. RD rédacteurs.
Articles Connexes