yes, therapy helps!
The 5 types of flavors, and where are their receptors in the language

The 5 types of flavors, and where are their receptors in the language

April 16, 2021

Taste and taste are words that evoke pleasure and wellbeing , that speak to us of generally positive perceptions and experiences that our organism allows us and facilitates in the day to day. And they are words associated with feeding, eating.

Feeding and nourishing is fundamental for our survival, but the truth is that the different elements have different compositions and chemical properties that both smell and taste are able to perceive. And we have organs with specific receptors for these properties, something that allows us to perceive different types of flavors.

Throughout this article we will mention The main types of flavors exist .


  • Related article: "Sense of taste: its components and operation"

The sense of taste and taste

Before commenting on the existence of different types of flavors, it is necessary to analyze first what a flavor is and where it comes from. We call flavor to the perception by the organism of the chemical properties of an object or food which is linked to the sense of taste. So the taste itself is the perception that allows this sense: just as sight allows us to see images and hearing to capture sounds, in the case of taste we catch tastes.

Physiologically, the perception of taste is due to the action of certain receptors called gustatory buttons, which are found in the numerous papillae that are located mainly in our tongue (although there is also part of the palate and pharynx).


These receivers they are activated when a substance with certain chemical properties reaches them , which will generate a response that will later be transferred to the nerve pathways and after being processed will be identified with the taste-

Although we generally associate taste merely to pleasure, the truth is that being able to perceive them can mean the difference between life and death, being of vital importance for survival. And is that thanks to the sense of taste and taste perception of food we can detect the chemical properties of what we eat and predict whether or not it may be negative for our survival or on the contrary it favors it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology of food: definition and applications"

Types of flavors

As mentioned above, our sense of taste allows us to detect a certain variety of flavors thanks to the recipients that we have in our language (and part of the palate). Mainly and until now, five basic flavors have been found that our body is able to capture.


1. Sweet

The sweet taste is one of the most basic and relevant for both humans and other species, being one of the first flavors to be perceived and one of the most often seek most living things .

This flavor is generally associated with hydrocarbon compounds such as sugars, and it is generally considered that most receptors of this flavor are found on the tip of the tongue.

Likewise, it is also one of the flavors most associated with the smell, the perception of this flavor and its intensity being easily altered depending on the aroma of the food in question. Generally, at least in humans it is usually one of the preferred flavors throughout life, especially in childhood and in old age.

2. Salty

The second of the basic flavors is the so-called salty flavor. It is a reaction to the detection of sodium chloride and other salts in what we put in our mouths , and that is essential because it helps us look for foods that help regulate the electrolyte balance of our body and maintain homeostasis.

In fact, there is the so-called salt appetite linked to the search at a biological level of the regulation of this need. It usually begins to become increasingly relevant and sought by the human being as we grow and mature, and its recipients they are located mainly in the bands of the tip of the tongue .

3. Acid

This flavor is usually linked to the sour, associated with food in poor condition. This flavor comes from substances that are, as indicated by the name of flavor, acids, and that could have some danger to the body . That is why it is usually unpleasant and avoided for most people, at least in the early stages of life.

However, they also help regulate the pH of our body, their perception being linked to the electrical charge of the molecules that come into contact with their receptors (apparently their channels are sensitive to the concentration of protons in their molecules).

It is present in foods as relevant as citrus. Interestingly, also seems to be linked to the sense of balance , the type of canal (OTOP1) being related to its perception also in the vestibular system. Its main receptors are found in the most posterior bands or sides of the tongue, close to the palate and pharynx.

4. Bitter

This fourth basic flavor is also another of the most relevant and of the first to be possessed, given that it has the peculiarity that It is mostly unpleasant for the human being and usually warns us of being in bad food or with toxic potential. However, many people like some foods that have this type of flavor, including beverages such as coffee. It is usually generated by inorganic salts.

The perception of this taste is important throughout life, and generally the foods that we like come to do so through a habituation process in which initially we find it unpleasant. The majority of receptors of this taste do sit in the inner part of the tongue, in its medial part.

5. Umami

The types of flavors recognized as such at the traditional level, and in fact those that most of us learn during formal education, are the previous four. However, in recent years a new flavor has been discovered which even has specific receptors in the language.

We are talking about the umami flavor, whose translation would be approximately "tasty / delicious" and which to this day has entered into the classification of basic flavors. The perception of this flavor is linked to the effect of glutamic acid or monosodium glutamate. It is found in many products, including meat, sauces (usually used as an enhancer, in fact) and cheeses. It is considered that the recipients of this flavor are distributed throughout the language, on its surface.

Two other flavors proposed and not flavors

The flavors officially accepted as such are the ones mentioned above, although there are others types of flavors proposed and that are in a state of research .

Starchy: the flavor of starch and flour

Another possible taste that has been investigated in universities such as Oregon has not yet gone from being a theoretical budget, not having been found at the moment (it is under investigation) a specific receptor. This flavor is derived from the perception of glucose oligomers , which can be detected even when the candy receptors are blocked.

It is about the starchy, a possible sense of taste linked to the perception of starch, starch and flour products such as bread, pasta or rice , and that according to the experiments would be perceived differently depending on the culture and the type of food we use.

Fatty taste

Probably most of us will have noticed at some point the taste of the fat of a piece of meat, being something that some people consider unpleasant while for others it is a pleasure.

And a few years ago it seems to have been found that at least the human being has a receptor that detects the acids of fats (although it is still under investigation since it is not known exactly how the information coming from them is processed).

This flavor would be a response to the detection of food lipids, which can be detected by itself (for example in fried foods), although it is usually linked to the perception of other flavors. Usually by itself it usually manifests as similar to bitter. Interestingly, it seems that those who have less ability to detect it tend to be more prone to obesity.

A non-taste: the spicy and the pleasure of pain

Although when we talk about flavors we usually think of the first four we have mentioned (sweet, salty, sour and bitter), many people come to think of the possibility of considering the spicy among them. And is that spicy food has been part of the gastronomy of a lot of cultures Throughout history, it is not uncommon to hear about a food having a spicy taste or taste.

However, the truth is that the existence of a spicy taste is not considered as such, given that the sensation of itching produced by a food is not a perception of the chemical properties that give the taste to a food but, in fact, , is a perception between thermal and pain. Spicy does not have a specific receptor, but its perception is due to the release of capsaicin and other components, which generate that the receptors of the tongue raise their temperature in such a way that they generate a stinging or itching sensation, that what we perceive as hot spicy.

Bibliographic references:

  • Castillo, T. (2017). The types of flavors: sweet, bitter, salty, acid and umami.The Food Street Journal. Bon viveur. [On-line]. Available at: //www.bonviveur.es/the-food-street-journal/los-tipos-de-sabores-dulce-amargo-salado-acido-y-umami.
  • Drewnowski, A .; Henderson, S.A .; Driscoll, A. & Rolls, B.J. (nineteen ninety six). Salt taste perceptions and preferences are unrelated to sodium in adults healthy adults. Journal of American Dietetic Association, 96. pp. 471-474.
  • Lapis, T.J .; Penner, M.H. & Lim, J. (2016).Human can taste glucose oligomers independent of the hT1R2 / hT1R3 sweet taste receptor. Chemical Senses, 41 (9): 755-762.
  • Lindemann, B., Ogiwara, Y. & Ninomiya, Y. (2002). The discovery of umami. Chemical Senses, 27 (9): 843-844.
  • López, N.C. (2014) The taste for salty taste. Perspectives in Human Nutrition, 16: 99-109.
  • Martínez, O.L .; Morales, R. and Orfilia, M. (2002). Sensory and molecular theory of sweet taste. Vitae, 9 (1): 15-26.
  • Russell, S.J. & Costanzo, A. (2014). Is fat the sixth taste primary? Evidence and implications Flavor, 4: 5. BioMedical Central.
  • You, Y.H .; Cooper, A.J., Teng, B .; Chang, R.B .; Artiga, D.J .; Turner, H.N .; Mulhall, E.M .; Ye, W .; Smith, A.D. & Liman, E.R. (2018). An evolutionarily conserved gene family encodes proton-selective ion channels. Science, 359: 1047-1050.

How Your Tongue Works (April 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 types de saveurs, et où sont leurs récepteurs dans la langue

Les 5 types de saveurs, et où sont leurs récepteurs dans la langue

Mai 20, 2022

Le goût et le goût sont des mots qui évoquent le plaisir et le bien-être , qui nous parlent de perceptions et d’expériences généralement positives que notre organisme nous permet et facilite au quotidien. Et ce sont des mots associés à nourrir, manger.

Nourrir et nourrir est fondamental pour notre survie, mais la vérité est que les différents éléments ont des compositions et des propriétés chimiques différentes que l’odeur et le goût sont capables de percevoir. Et nous avons des organes avec des récepteurs spécifiques pour ces propriétés, ce qui nous permet de percevoir différents types de saveurs.

Tout au long de cet article, nous allons mentionner Les principaux types de saveurs existent .


  • Article connexe: "Le sens du goût: ses composants et son fonctionnement"

Le sens du goût et du goût

Avant de commenter l’existence de différents types de saveurs, il faut d’abord analyser ce qu’est une saveur et d’où elle provient. Nous appelons la saveur à la perception par l'organisme des propriétés chimiques d'un objet ou d'un aliment qui est lié au sens du goût. Le goût lui-même est donc la perception qui permet ce sens: tout comme la vue nous permet de voir des images et d’entendre pour capturer des sons, dans le cas du goût, nous saisissons les goûts.

Physiologiquement, la perception du goût est due à l'action de certains récepteurs appelés boutons gustatifs, que l'on retrouve dans les nombreuses papilles situées principalement dans notre langue (bien qu'il y ait aussi une partie du palais et du pharynx).


Ces récepteurs ils sont activés lorsqu'une substance présentant certaines propriétés chimiques les atteint , qui générera une réponse qui sera ensuite transférée aux voies nerveuses et, une fois traité, sera identifié avec le goût

Bien que nous n'associons généralement le goût qu'au plaisir, la vérité est que le fait de pouvoir le percevoir peut faire la différence entre la vie et la mort, car il est d'une importance vitale pour la survie. Et c’est grâce au sens du goût et à la perception gustative des aliments que nous pouvons détecter les propriétés chimiques de ce que nous mangeons et prédire s’il peut être négatif pour notre survie ou au contraire le favoriser.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie de l'alimentation: définition et applications"

Types de saveurs

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, notre sens du goût nous permet de détecter une certaine variété de saveurs grâce aux destinataires que nous avons dans notre langue (et une partie de la bouche). Jusqu'à présent, nous avons découvert cinq saveurs de base que notre corps est capable de capturer.


1. doux

Le goût sucré est l’un des plus basiques et pertinent pour les humains et les autres espèces, étant l’un des premiers arômes à être perçu et l'un des plus souvent chercher la plupart des êtres vivants .

Cet arôme est généralement associé à des composés hydrocarbonés tels que les sucres, et on considère généralement que la plupart des récepteurs de cet arôme se trouvent sur le bout de la langue.

De même, il s'agit également de l'un des arômes les plus associés à l'odeur, la perception de cet arôme et son intensité pouvant être facilement modifiées en fonction de l'arôme de l'aliment en question. En général, du moins chez l’homme, c’est l’un des arômes préférés de notre vie, en particulier chez les enfants et les personnes âgées.

2. salé

La deuxième des saveurs de base est la soi-disant saveur salée. C'est une réaction à la détection de chlorure de sodium et d'autres sels dans ce que nous mettons dans la bouche et cela est essentiel car il nous aide à rechercher des aliments qui aident à réguler l'équilibre électrolytique de notre corps et à maintenir l'homéostasie.

En fait, il existe ce que l’on appelle l’appétit du sel, lié à la recherche au niveau biologique de la régulation de ce besoin. Il commence généralement à devenir de plus en plus pertinent et recherché par l'être humain au fur et à mesure que nous grandissons et grandissons, ainsi que ses destinataires. ils sont situés principalement dans les bandes de la pointe de la langue .

3. acide

Cette saveur est généralement liée à l'acide, associée à des aliments en mauvais état. Cet arôme provient de substances qui, comme l’indique le nom de l’arôme, sont acides et cela pourrait avoir un danger pour le corps . C'est pourquoi il est généralement désagréable et évité pour la plupart des gens, du moins dans les premiers stades de la vie.

Cependant, ils aident également à réguler le pH de notre corps, leur perception étant liée à la charge électrique des molécules en contact avec leurs récepteurs (apparemment, leurs canaux sont sensibles à la concentration de protons dans leurs molécules).

Il est présent dans des aliments aussi pertinents que les agrumes. Fait intéressant, aussi semble être lié au sens de l'équilibre , le type de canal (OTOP1) étant lié à sa perception également dans le système vestibulaire. Ses principaux récepteurs se trouvent dans les bandes ou les côtés de la langue les plus postérieurs, près du palais et du pharynx.

4. amer

Cette quatrième saveur de base est aussi une des plus pertinentes et des premières à posséder, étant donné qu’elle a la particularité de C'est surtout désagréable pour l'être humain et nous met habituellement en garde contre la mauvaise nourriture ou le potentiel toxique. Cependant, beaucoup de gens aiment certains aliments qui ont ce type de saveur, y compris les boissons comme le café. Il est généralement généré par les sels inorganiques.

La perception de ce goût est importante tout au long de la vie, et en général les aliments que nous aimons venir à manger à travers un processus d'habituation dans lequel nous trouvons initialement cela désagréable. La majorité des récepteurs de ce goût sont situés dans la partie interne de la langue, dans sa partie médiane.

5. Umami

Les quatre types d'arômes reconnus en tant que tels au niveau traditionnel, et en fait ceux que nous apprenons la plupart d'entre nous au cours de l'éducation formelle, sont les quatre précédents. Cependant, au cours des dernières années, un nouveau parfum a été découvert, qui possède même des récepteurs spécifiques dans la langue.

Nous parlons de la saveur umami, dont la traduction serait approximativement "savoureuse / délicieuse" et qui à ce jour est entré dans la classification des arômes de base. La perception de cette saveur est liée à l'effet de l'acide glutamique ou du glutamate monosodique. On le trouve dans de nombreux produits, y compris la viande, les sauces (généralement utilisées comme exhausteur) et les fromages. On considère que les destinataires de cette saveur sont répartis dans toute la langue, à sa surface.

Deux autres saveurs proposées et non des saveurs

Les arômes officiellement acceptés en tant que tels sont ceux mentionnés ci-dessus, bien qu’il en existe d’autres. types d'arômes proposés et en cours de recherche .

Féculents: la saveur de l'amidon et de la farine

Un autre goût possible qui a été étudié dans des universités telles que l'Oregon n'a pas encore quitté son budget théorique, puisqu'il n'a pas encore été trouvé (il fait actuellement l'objet d'une enquête) d'un récepteur spécifique. Cette saveur est dérivé de la perception des oligomères de glucose , qui peut être détecté même lorsque les récepteurs de bonbons sont bloqués.

Il s’agit des féculents, d’un possible sens du goût lié à la perception de l’amidon, de l’amidon et produits à base de farine tels que le pain, les pâtes ou le riz , et que selon les expériences seraient perçus différemment selon la culture et le type de nourriture que nous utilisons.

Goût gras

La plupart d'entre nous auront probablement remarqué à un moment donné le goût de la graisse d'un morceau de viande, ce que certaines personnes jugent déplaisant, tandis que pour d'autres, c'est un plaisir.

Et il y a quelques années, il semble avoir été découvert qu'au moins l'être humain a un récepteur qui détecte les acides des graisses (bien qu’elle fasse toujours l’objet d’une enquête car on ne sait pas exactement comment les informations qui en proviennent sont traitées).

Cette saveur serait une réponse à la détection des lipides alimentaires, qui peuvent être détectés par elle-même (par exemple dans les aliments frits), bien qu'elle soit généralement liée à la perception d'autres saveurs. Habituellement, par lui-même, il se manifeste généralement comme semblable à amer. Fait intéressant, il semble que ceux qui ont moins de capacité à le détecter ont tendance à être plus sujets à l'obésité.

Un non-goût: l'épicé et le plaisir de la douleur

Bien que, lorsque nous parlons de saveurs, nous pensons généralement aux quatre premiers que nous avons mentionnés (sucré, salé, acide et amer), beaucoup de gens en viennent à penser à la possibilité de considérer l’épicé parmi eux. Et est-ce la nourriture épicée a fait partie de la gastronomie de nombreuses cultures Au cours de l'histoire, il n'est pas rare d'entendre parler d'un aliment ayant un goût ou un goût épicé.

Cependant, la vérité est que l’existence d’un goût épicé n’est pas considérée en tant que telle, étant donné que la sensation de démangeaison produite par un aliment n’est pas une perception des propriétés chimiques qui donnent le goût à un aliment mais bien au contraire. , est une perception entre thermique et douleur. Spicy n’a pas de récepteur spécifique, mais sa perception est due à la libération de capsaïcine et d’autres composants, qui font en sorte que les récepteurs de la langue augmentent leur température de manière à générer une sensation de brûlure ou de démangeaison, ce que nous percevons comme tel. épicé

Références bibliographiques:

  • Castillo, T. (2017). Les types de saveurs: sucré, amer, salé, acide et umami. The Food Street Journal. Bon viveur. [En ligne] Disponible à l’adresse suivante: http://www.bonviveur.es/the-food-street-journal/los-tipos-de-sabores-dulce-amargo-salado-acido-y-umami.
  • Drewnowski, A .; Henderson, S.A .; Driscoll, A. & Rolls, B.J. (1996). La perception et les préférences gustatives du sel ne sont pas liées au sodium chez l'adulte en bonne santé. Journal of American Dietetic Association, 96. p. 471-474.
  • Lapis, T.J .; Penner, M.H. & Lim, J. (2016).Les humains peuvent goûter des oligomères de glucose indépendants du récepteur de goût sucré hT1R2 / hT1R3. Chemical Senses, 41 (9): 755-762.
  • Lindemann, B., Ogiwara, Y. et Ninomiya, Y. (2002). La découverte de l'umami. Chemical Senses, 27 (9): 843-844.
  • López, N.C. (2014) Le goût pour le goût salé. Perspectives in Human Nutrition, 16: 99-109.
  • Martínez, O.L .; Morales, R. et Orfilia, M. (2002). Théorie sensorielle et moléculaire du goût sucré. Vitae, 9 (1): 15-26.
  • Russell, S.J. & Costanzo, A. (2014). La graisse est-elle le sixième goût primaire? Preuves et implications Saveur, 4: 5. BioMedical Central.
  • Vous, Y.H. Cooper, A.J., Teng, B .; Chang, R.B .; Artiga, D.J .; Turner, H.N .; Mulhall, E.M .; Ye, W; Smith, A.D. & Liman, E.R. (2018). Une famille de gènes conservée au cours de l'évolution code pour des canaux ioniques sélectifs du proton. Science, 359: 1047-1050.

AVOIR DES SENS SURDÉVELOPPÉS ? Vrai ou Faux #64 (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes