yes, therapy helps!
The 5 types of social norms: how society modulates behaviors

The 5 types of social norms: how society modulates behaviors

August 3, 2022

Social norms are the parameters that tell us how to act according to the time or circumstance in which we are enrolled. They are fundamental processes in our interaction and in how we perceive ourselves within a group, and we can identify several types and a great multiplicity of expressions.

Next we will review what they are, what they are for, and what kinds of social norms are the most common in our societies .

  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

What are social norms?

Social norms are a set of frames of reference that are shared by the people who make up a group . A frame is something that delimits (that establishes a series of limits) and a reference is something that serves us as a model, that is, that establishes a relationship.


Thus, we can say that social norms are the series of limits that serve as a model, both mental and behavioral, to relate to the world. They are implicit in our relationships and shape much of our expectations. They are implicit because, although they are always present (if not we would not know how to behave or relate to each other), it is not always necessary to express their presence out loud.

So that, we act and even think according to a series of social norms according to the group to which we belong (endogrupo), and also according to the relationships we establish with the other groups (exogrupo). We can even share certain rules with some group, and not with another that seems very different. This happens without necessarily being aware of it.


But social norms are not formed out of nothing, arise from our own action. If they exist and they are maintained, it is because we repeat them constantly, and for the same reason we have some leeway to transgress or modify them .

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 5 differences between law and norm"

What are they for?

Social norms are shared among the members of a group, make people recognize us as part of it; that is why social norms are easily internalized. That is why they are also necessary for socialization, which leads us to consider that social norms are also a type of regulation of power relations, which vary according to the history and conditions of each context.

In short, social norms they are also a psychosocial process , because they are not only visible in observable behavior (individual or group), but also generate expectations of action and ideas about oneself. That is, they connect thought with action, and the individual with groups.


5 types of social norms

The types of social norms are differentiated by the degree of correlation that may exist between normative expectations and normative actions . There is not always an explicit correlation between the two. Sometimes social norms are only translated into actions when it comes to expectations shared by a whole group, be it a group of belonging or a reference group.

The types of norms that we present below take as reference the works of Muzafer Sherif, one of the founders of modern social psychology. We consider them as different types of social norms because they relate expectations of action with possibilities of action according to the interactions that occur within a particular group .

However, there can be many more types and the classification depends largely on the author, because in social and human studies there are different social norms that delimit the information we present.

1. Values

Quality that is conferred to things, to actions, to people. They are a series of ideological or moral principles that are shared by a society and that guide it. For example, honesty, solidarity, punctuality. These values ​​can be shared by some societies or groups, and not by others. Likewise and depending on the life history, they may be more present or more important to some people than to others.

To give a more specific example, there are social groups that have internalized punctuality as an indispensable social norm for coexistence, and in contrast, there are groups for which punctuality may be in the background.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

2. Customs

Customs they are a set of habits , which as such, have been acquired, shared and naturalized by a group or society. They even come to form the distinctive character of that group and the people that compose it.

For example the manners at lunchtime.In some societies it is allowed to eat on the ground or chew with a lot of noise, while doing this in other societies can be read as disrespectful and can affect coexistence. That is, a transgression of the social norm of the group.

3. Fashion

In statistical terms, "fashion" is the value that has the highest frequency within a data set; what could be translated as "what follows the majority". In sociological terms, fashion is a custom that members of a group follow temporarily or temporarily . They can be expressed in different ways and are present in all societies. They suppose a certain validity, with which they momentarily reinforce our sense of belonging to a group, and differentiate us from other groups or from other members of it.

Perhaps the clearest example is the use of certain clothes and the adoption of certain aesthetics and interests according to time and the particular group, which constitutes a social norm because it allows us to establish relationships with the members of the group and identify with them.

4. Stereotypes

Stereotypes are images or models accepted by a majority as patterns or qualities intrinsic to the behavior and personality of some members of the group, or of other groups.

Stereotypes allow us to activate a series of ideas, expectations, predispositions and possibilities for action when we see or think of a person or group of people, even without having lived with them or really knowing them, but simply because we automatically attribute certain qualities to them.

For example, it is very common to see in the Western media, and in much of business advertising, many stereotypes about female beauty, where what is reinforced is the expectation of a slim body, that has a certain height, a certain color , certain aesthetics, etc.

  • Related article: "Stereotypes, prejudice and discrimination: why should we avoid prejudging?"

5. Roles

The word "role" refers to the role played by someone in a particular group, that is, their role and the behaviors that are expected of you.

An example is the traditional gender roles where the family consists of a heterosexual couple, where the man is the one who provides and the woman is the one who takes care of family and domestic care. These roles are social norms because generate expectations, and possibilities for action and relationship that are specific for some people and not for others according to the society in particular.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rodríguez, A. (2009). The social norm on the expression of explicit prejudice towards different social groups. Journal of Social Psychology, 24 (1): 17-27.
  • Sheriff, M. (1936). The psychology of social norms. New York, USA: Harper Bros.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2011). Social Norms Retrieved May 17, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/social-norms/.

Society Meaning (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 types de normes sociales: comment la société module les comportements

Les 5 types de normes sociales: comment la société module les comportements

Septembre 21, 2022

Les normes sociales sont les paramètres qui nous indiquent comment agir en fonction du moment ou des circonstances dans lesquels nous sommes inscrits. Ce sont des processus fondamentaux dans notre interaction et dans notre façon de nous percevoir au sein d'un groupe. Nous pouvons en identifier plusieurs types et une grande multiplicité d'expressions.

Ensuite, nous examinerons ce qu’ils sont, à quoi ils servent, et quels types de normes sociales sont les plus courantes dans nos sociétés .

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Quelles sont les normes sociales?

Les normes sociales sont un ensemble de cadres de référence partagés par les personnes qui composent un groupe . Un cadre est quelque chose qui délimite (qui établit une série de limites) et une référence est quelque chose qui nous sert de modèle, c'est-à-dire qui établit une relation.


Ainsi, nous pouvons dire que les normes sociales sont la série de limites qui servent de modèle, à la fois mental et comportemental, pour établir une relation avec le monde. Ils sont implicites dans nos relations et façonnent une grande partie de nos attentes. Ils sont implicites car, même s'ils sont toujours présents (sinon, nous ne saurions pas nous comporter ni nous rapporter les uns aux autres), il n'est pas toujours nécessaire d'exprimer leur présence à voix haute.

Donc, nous agissons et pensons même selon une série de normes sociales selon le groupe auquel nous appartenons (endogrupo), ainsi que selon les relations que nous établissons avec les autres groupes (exogrupo). Nous pouvons même partager certaines règles avec un groupe et non avec un autre qui semble très différent. Cela se produit sans nécessairement en être conscient.


Mais les normes sociales ne sont pas formées à partir de rien, elles découlent de notre propre action. S'ils existent et sont maintenus, c'est que nous les répétons constamment et pour la même raison nous avons une marge de manœuvre pour les transgresser ou les modifier .

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Les 5 différences entre loi et norme"

A quoi servent-ils?

Les normes sociales sont partagées entre les membres d'un groupe, ce qui permet aux gens de nous reconnaître comme faisant partie de celui-ci. c'est pourquoi les normes sociales sont facilement intériorisées. C'est pourquoi elles sont également nécessaires à la socialisation, ce qui nous amène à considérer que les normes sociales sont aussi un type de régulation des relations de pouvoir, qui varient en fonction de l'histoire et des conditions de chaque contexte.

En bref, les normes sociales ils sont aussi un processus psychosocial , car ils ne sont pas seulement visibles dans des comportements observables (individuels ou en groupe), mais génèrent également des attentes d’action et des idées sur soi-même. C'est-à-dire qu'ils relient la pensée à l'action et l'individu à des groupes.


5 types de normes sociales

Les types de normes sociales sont différenciés par le degré de corrélation qui peut exister entre attentes normatives et actions normatives . Il n'y a pas toujours de corrélation explicite entre les deux. Parfois, les normes sociales ne se traduisent en actes que lorsqu'il s'agit d'attentes partagées par tout un groupe, qu'il s'agisse d'un groupe d'appartenance ou d'un groupe de référence.

Les types de normes que nous présentons ci-dessous prennent comme référence les travaux de Muzafer Sherif, l’un des fondateurs de la psychologie sociale moderne. Nous les considérons comme différents types de normes sociales, car elles associent les attentes d’action aux possibilités d’action. en fonction des interactions au sein d'un groupe particulier .

Cependant, il peut y avoir beaucoup plus de types et la classification dépend en grande partie de l'auteur, car dans les études sociales et humaines, différentes normes sociales délimitent les informations que nous présentons.

1. les valeurs

La qualité qui est conférée aux choses, aux actions, aux gens. Ils sont une série de principes idéologiques ou moraux qui sont partagés par une société et qui la guident. Par exemple, honnêteté, solidarité, ponctualité. Ces valeurs peuvent être partagées par certaines sociétés ou groupes et non par d’autres. De même, et selon l’histoire de la vie, ils peuvent être plus présents ou plus importants pour certaines personnes que pour d’autres.

Pour donner un exemple plus spécifique, il existe des groupes sociaux qui ont intériorisé la ponctualité en tant que norme sociale indispensable à la coexistence et, en revanche, il existe des groupes pour lesquels la ponctualité peut être mise en arrière-plan.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

2. douane

Les habitudes ils sont un ensemble d'habitudes qui, en tant que tels, ont été acquis, partagés et naturalisés par un groupe ou une société. Ils en viennent même à former le caractère distinctif de ce groupe et des personnes qui le composent.

Par exemple les mœurs à l'heure du déjeuner.Dans certaines sociétés, il est permis de manger sur le sol ou de mastiquer avec beaucoup de bruit, alors que cela peut être interprété comme irrespectueux et peut affecter la coexistence. C'est une transgression de la norme sociale du groupe.

3. la mode

En termes statistiques, "mode" est la valeur qui a la fréquence la plus élevée dans un ensemble de données; ce qui pourrait être traduit par "ce qui suit la majorité". En termes sociologiques, la mode est une coutume que les membres d'un groupe suivent temporairement ou temporairement . Ils peuvent être exprimés de différentes manières et sont présents dans toutes les sociétés. Ils supposent une certaine validité avec laquelle ils renforcent momentanément notre sentiment d'appartenance à un groupe et nous différencient des autres groupes ou des autres membres de celui-ci.

L’exemple le plus clair est peut-être l’utilisation de certains vêtements et l’adoption de certaines esthétiques et de certains intérêts en fonction du temps et du groupe, ce qui constitue une norme sociale, car elle nous permet d’établir des relations avec les membres du groupe et de s’identifier à eux.

4. Stéréotypes

Les stéréotypes sont des images ou des modèles acceptés par la majorité comme des modèles ou des qualités intrinsèques au comportement et à la personnalité de certains membres du groupe ou d’autres groupes.

Les stéréotypes nous permettent d’activer une série d'idées, d'attentes, de prédispositions et de possibilités d'action lorsque nous voyons ou pensons à une personne ou à un groupe de personnes, même sans avoir vécu avec elles ni vraiment les connaître, mais simplement parce que nous leur attribuons automatiquement certaines qualités.

Par exemple, il est très courant de voir dans les médias occidentaux, et dans la plupart des publicités, de nombreux stéréotypes sur la beauté féminine, ce qui renforce l’attente d’un corps mince, qui a une certaine hauteur, une certaine couleur. , certaines esthétiques, etc.

  • Article connexe: "Stéréotypes, préjugés et discrimination: pourquoi devrions-nous éviter de préjuger?"

5. Rôles

Le mot "rôle" se réfère à la rôle joué par quelqu'un dans un groupe particulier, c'est-à-dire son rôle et les comportements attendus de vous.

Un exemple est celui des rôles de genre traditionnels dans lesquels la famille est constituée d'un couple hétérosexuel, où l'homme est celui qui fournit et la femme est celui qui s'occupe des soins familiaux et domestiques. Ces rôles sont des normes sociales car générer des attentes et des possibilités d'action et de relation qui sont spécifiques à certaines personnes et pas à d'autres selon la société en particulier.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rodríguez, A. (2009). La norme sociale sur l'expression de préjugés explicites envers différents groupes sociaux. Journal of Social Psychology, 24 (1): 17-27.
  • Sheriff, M. (1936). La psychologie des normes sociales. New York, États-Unis d'Amérique: Harper Bros.
  • Encyclopédie de la philosophie de Stanford (2011). Normes sociales Récupéré le 17 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/social-norms/.

How to understand power - Eric Liu (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes