yes, therapy helps!
The 6 differences between sadness and depression

The 6 differences between sadness and depression

May 6, 2021

They are two different concepts and at the same time with multiple points in common . Two ideas that are often misinterpreted and confused too often.

It's about the sadness and the depression , two terms that we propose to clarify and differentiate once and for all. These differences are not only confined to the emotional expression of both sensations, but also have to do with the psychological and psychophysiological causes that give rise to each of them.

Sadness and depression: a harmful confusion

There is a terrible confusion between both terms, sadness and depression. We will define both concepts and clarify recurring doubts about their similarities and differences.


The signs and symptoms that produce depression and sadness can be difficult to differentiate for an untrained person on the subject. Luckily, mental health professionals know that, based on a good number of scientific research, there are certain signs and signals of different nature that allow us to differentiate between these two states.

By way of summary, we can explain up to six basic points to know when we are facing a sad person, or before someone suffering from a depressive disorder .

To deepen: "Are there several types of depression?"

1. Depression is a psychological disorder

Depression is a psychopathology in which, for different reasons and reasons, the affected person manifests certain symptoms: sadness, apathy, anguish, feelings of hopelessness ... That is, sadness is only one of the facets of depression.


While sadness is a passing mental state, people suffering from a depressive disorder are in a chronic situation of discomfort and uneasiness . To be diagnosed with depression, a person must be at least six months with this type of symptoms.

2. Sadness is a relatively transient state of mind

The feeling of sadness is a relatively common psychological state , and that is not by itself an indicator of any mental disorder. It is, simply, the psychological reaction to something that has hurt us or to difficult circumstances that seem complicated to escape. The appearance of sadness, crying and crying is something totally normal.

Sadness is one more of human emotions, and it is not bad, and we should not worry too much about someone being sad for a few days. We can be sad when we lose a relative or a close friend, we can feel sad when we are truncated a plan and we can even feel that way for no apparent reason, perhaps because of a hormonal change or because we have risen with a low mood.


Therefore, one of the differences between sadness and depression is that the first is expected, while few people develop depression throughout their lives.

3. Neuroimaging tests

As we see in the image below these lines, people with depression have an activation level in several areas of the brain clearly inferior to healthy people. Through different neuroimaging techniques we can see that the depressive brain is clearly differentiated from the healthy brain.

In addition, serotonin levels are much lower in people suffering from a depressive disorder, which influences a large number of mental processes. A sad person, on the other hand, does not experience such radical or lasting changes in his brain activation dynamics.

4. The abulia

Abulia is characterized by affecting people with depression, and leaving them totally (or partially) disabled to face daily life . Going to work, to buy or to make a management becomes an impossible mission for patients with this type of pictures.

Somehow, people with depression feel that there is nothing worth moving for, and act accordingly with this idea. They lack initiative for the most basic, from combing to going out on the street.

The abulia and the different effects on the behavior of people with depression is not something they choose for themselves. The cause of these behavioral manifestations is the deterioration of the nervous and immune systems. Abulia can be common both in people who are sad and in people with depression. The difference is that depressed people have this apathy for weeks and even months .

5. When the sadness gets too far

Sometimes, the sadness prolonged in time can lead to a case of depression . The progressive deterioration in the quality of life of the affected person can be noticed because he becomes incapable of doing his daily tasks, he is affected (crying, isolation) frequently and they are very limited by his psychological state.

If this situation lasts for several months, it is possible that the person is immersed in the development of a depressive picture. Thus, the difference between sadness and depression is, in part, quantitative. But there is also a qualitative difference : in depression many times you can not identify the fact or the memory that generates the discomfort. That is something that does not happen when we are sad; In those situations, we feel this way because of a fact that, more or less, we know.

6. Sadness does not need therapy; depression, yes

As we have seen, or A state of common sadness is transient and not of major importance . It is very likely that people who go through a period of emotional pain do not require any specific professional support. Simply, the return to routine and informal support from friends, family and friends can be more than enough for life to resume its course and overcome this state of sadness.

But nevertheless, Depression is a serious disorder that must be treated by a professional , because it affects the quality of the person's going very significantly. An accurate diagnosis and therapy focused on cognitive restructuring and, if necessary, on psychotropic drugs, can decisively help the patient to recover his psychological well-being and maintain it over time, avoiding relapses.

Another way of looking at it is to consider that sadness is, in reality, a useful emotion. It serves to add emotional tone to certain memories and, in that way, make wiser decisions in the future. The difference between depression and sadness would be, then, that the second in an alteration of the normal functioning of the brain, something that is not useful but that is a barrier. That is why it is considered that the symptoms of depressive disorders should be mitigated, and currently we are working to go to the root of the problem and eliminate the disorder itself , although at the moment we do not know how to do it and many years of research remain ahead.

Bibliographic references:

  • Foti, D. et al (2014). Reward dysfunction in major depression: Multimodal neuroimaging evidence for refining the melancholic phenotype. NeuroImage, 101, pp. 50 - 58

Ask Dr. Oz: How Do I Know If I'm Depressed or Sad? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 différences entre tristesse et dépression

Les 6 différences entre tristesse et dépression

Février 18, 2019

Ils sont deux concepts différents et en même temps avec plusieurs points communs . Deux idées souvent mal interprétées et trop souvent confuses.

Il s'agit de la tristesse et la dépression , deux termes que nous proposons de clarifier et de différencier une fois pour toutes. Ces différences ne se limitent pas à l'expression émotionnelle des deux sensations, elles concernent également les causes psychologiques et psychophysiologiques à l'origine de chacune d'elles.

Tristesse et dépression: une confusion néfaste

Il y a une confusion terrible entre les deux termes, la tristesse et la dépression. Nous définirons les deux concepts et clarifierons les doutes récurrents concernant leurs similitudes et leurs différences.


Les signes et les symptômes qui produisent la dépression et la tristesse peuvent être difficiles à différencier pour une personne non formée sur le sujet. Heureusement, les professionnels de la santé mentale savent que, sur la base de nombreuses recherches scientifiques, certains signes et signaux de nature différente nous permettent de différencier ces deux états.

En résumé, nous pouvons expliquer jusqu'à six points fondamentaux pour savoir quand nous sommes face à une personne triste ou devant une personne souffrant d'un trouble dépressif .

Approfondir: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

1. La dépression est un trouble psychologique

La dépression est une psychopathologie dans laquelle, pour différentes raisons, la personne affectée manifeste certains symptômes: tristesse, apathie, angoisse, sentiment de désespoir… En d'autres termes, la tristesse n'est que l'une des facettes de la dépression.


Alors que la tristesse est un état mental passager, les personnes souffrant d'un trouble dépressif sont dans une situation chronique d'inconfort et de malaise . Pour être diagnostiqué dépressif, une personne doit avoir au moins six mois avec ce type de symptômes.

2. La tristesse est un état d'esprit relativement transitoire

Le sentiment de tristesse est un état psychologique relativement commun et ce n’est pas en soi un indicateur de tout trouble mental. C’est tout simplement la réaction psychologique à quelque chose qui nous a fait mal ou à des circonstances difficiles qui semblent compliquées à échapper. L'apparence de tristesse, de pleurs et de pleurs est quelque chose de tout à fait normal.

La tristesse est une des émotions humaines de plus, et ce n’est pas mauvais, et nous ne devrions pas trop nous inquiéter du fait que quelqu'un soit triste pendant quelques jours. Nous pouvons être tristes lorsque nous perdons un membre de notre famille ou un ami proche, nous pouvons nous sentir tristes lorsque nous sommes tronqués et même sans aucune raison apparente, peut-être à cause d'un changement hormonal ou de notre humeur déprimée.


Par conséquent, l’une des différences entre la tristesse et la dépression est que la première est attendue, alors que peu de personnes développent une dépression tout au long de leur vie.

3. Tests de neuroimagerie

Comme on le voit dans l'image ci-dessous ces lignes, les personnes souffrant de dépression ont un niveau d'activation dans plusieurs zones du cerveau clairement inférieur aux personnes en bonne santé. Grâce à différentes techniques de neuroimagerie, nous pouvons voir que le cerveau dépressif est clairement différencié du cerveau en bonne santé.

De plus, les niveaux de sérotonine sont beaucoup plus bas chez les personnes atteintes d'un trouble dépressif, qui influence un grand nombre de processus mentaux. En revanche, une personne triste n’éprouve pas de tels changements radicaux ou durables dans la dynamique de son activation cérébrale.

4. L'abulia

Abulia se caractérise par le fait d'affecter les personnes souffrant de dépression et de les laisser totalement (ou partiellement) handicapées pour les confronter au quotidien . Aller au travail, acheter ou faire une gestion devient une mission impossible pour les patients avec ce type d’images.

D'une manière ou d'une autre, les personnes déprimées estiment qu'il n'y a rien d'intéressant à bouger et agissent en conséquence avec cette idée. Ils manquent d’initiative pour les choses les plus élémentaires, qu’il s’agisse de peigner ou de sortir dans la rue.

L'abeille et les différents effets sur le comportement des personnes dépressives ne sont pas quelque chose qu'ils choisissent pour eux-mêmes. La cause de ces manifestations comportementales est la détérioration des systèmes nerveux et immunitaire. Abulia peut être commun à la fois chez les personnes tristes et chez les personnes souffrant de dépression. La différence est que les personnes déprimées ont cette apathie pendant des semaines et même des mois .

5. Quand la tristesse va trop loin

Par certaines occasions, la tristesse prolongée dans le temps peut conduire à un cas de dépression . On peut noter la détérioration progressive de la qualité de vie de la personne touchée car elle devient incapable de faire ses tâches quotidiennes, elle est souvent affectée (pleurs, isolement) et son état psychologique l’a très souvent limitée.

Si cette situation dure plusieurs mois, il est possible que la personne soit immergée dans le développement d'une image dépressive. Ainsi, la différence entre la tristesse et la dépression est en partie quantitative. Mais il y a aussi une différence qualitative : dans la dépression plusieurs fois, vous ne pouvez pas identifier le fait ou la mémoire qui génère le malaise. C'est quelque chose qui n'arrive pas quand nous sommes tristes; Dans ces situations, nous sommes du même avis parce que nous le savons plus ou moins.

6. La tristesse n'a pas besoin de thérapie; dépression, oui

Comme nous l'avons vu, vous Un état de tristesse commune est transitoire et sans importance majeure . Il est très probable que les personnes qui traversent une période de douleur émotionnelle n’ont pas besoin de soutien professionnel particulier. Simplement, le retour à un soutien de routine et à un soutien informel de la part d'amis, de la famille et des amis peut être amplement suffisant pour que la vie reprenne son cours et surmonte cet état de tristesse.

Cependant, La dépression est un trouble grave qui doit être traité par un professionnel , car cela affecte la qualité de la personne va très significativement. Un diagnostic précis et une thérapie axée sur la restructuration cognitive et, si nécessaire, sur les médicaments psychotropes peuvent aider le patient à retrouver son bien-être psychologique et à le maintenir avec le temps, en évitant les rechutes.

Une autre façon de voir les choses est de considérer que la tristesse est, en réalité, une émotion utile. Cela sert à ajouter un ton émotionnel à certains souvenirs et, de cette manière, à prendre des décisions plus sages à l'avenir. La différence entre dépression et tristesse serait donc que ce soit la seconde modification du fonctionnement normal du cerveau, ce qui n’est pas utile mais qui constitue une barrière. C’est pourquoi il est considéré que les symptômes des troubles dépressifs doivent être atténués et nous nous efforçons actuellement de résoudre le problème à fond. éliminer le désordre lui-même , bien que pour le moment nous ne sachions pas comment faire et que de nombreuses années de recherche restent à venir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Foti, D. et al (2014). Récompense de dysfonctionnement dans la dépression majeure: données de neuro-imagerie multimodales permettant d'affiner le phénotype mélancolique. NeuroImage, 101, pp. 50 - 58

Dr Ferreri : 2/16 : Tristesse, Dépression, les signes d'alerte - Live Doctors (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes