yes, therapy helps!
The 6 main types of toxic relationships

The 6 main types of toxic relationships

May 6, 2021

We have previously talked about toxic relationships, but there is one fact that needs attention: this is a concept that encompasses many different types of situations.

That is There are several types of toxic relationships with different characteristics that encompass different forms of relationship in which one or both members of the couple experience discomfort.

Why do some people insist on complicating the lives of others?

For example, in some cases the toxic relationship is part of a dynamic of mistreatment towards the couple, while in others it is a relationship in which resentment and frustration appear but you do not get to hurt the other person deliberately.


These are relationships that tend to get worse over time due to the attitude of a particular person. The problem with this type of relationship is that, in the end, there is always someone who ends up paying for the broken plates and suffering .

The main types of toxic relationships

That is why it is good to have in mind even if it is a scheme about the main toxic relationships and the way in which they can be identified.

1. The relationship in which power of decision is given

In some couples, one of the two people takes the ability to make important decisions and becomes, in some way, the boss or head of the relationship. Of course, this hierarchy of the couple has no real justification, since unlike what happens in teams focused on a specific goal (sell or produce a type of product), the couple is not focused on performing certain tasks with efficiency: its existence is justified by the affective bonds of its members.


Therefore, the reasons behind this takeover can not be justified in view of how useful this is to achieve certain goals and, in addition, It undermines the autonomy of one of the couple's components, which sees their decision power drastically reduced .

This may not be perceived as a problem at first, since it can be seen as a type of relationship in which the other person is the one who takes risks and makes things more difficult. But nevertheless, entering these dynamics will cause one of the parties to get used to command and the other to obey without questioning .

2. The relationship based on blackmail

Sometimes, the affections and love that were once the basis and justification of the relationship are replaced by a form of blackmail that extends the life of the relationship in a damaging and artificial way.


The case of emotional blackmail is clear: a person feels sorry for his partner and grants him privileged and favorable treatment , which in turn serves so that the other person learns to "be a victim" to collect their benefits. In this relationship the main victim is the one who gives in constantly, since in practice he is being controlled and manipulated by his partner.

This can make you see that it leaves the other a total capacity to make decisions about your own life, but indirectly does things so that the other feels bad when, for example, go out with friends or friends of the opposite sex and without their "supervision". In other words, the tool that the manipulating party uses to get benefit is its ability to induce the feeling of guilt in the other .

3. The other idealized

This type of toxic relationship appears when it begins to become evident that one or both members of the couple have not fallen in love with the person with whom they share affection, but with an idealized version of it. Although this fact may have already been intuited during the first months of the relationship, it is possible that little importance will be paid to it and that, in any case, this cognitive dissonance has been solved by overestimating the ability of the other to change in the future and conform to our expectations.

When it becomes evident that the other person will not change as we want, the grudge appears . However, the worst scenario that can occur from this type of toxic relationship is when the pressure that one of the two exerts on the other to try to change is transformed into a form of abuse.

4. The idealized relationship

Just as you can idealize a person, the same can also happen with relationships. If the degree of idealization is sufficiently intense, this will transform it into a type of toxic relationship .

The fundamental problem in this type of relationship is that the partners start with very different expectations about what their relationship will be like. It's basically about a communication problem during the first stages of the relationship .

For example, if there is a lot of distance between the two houses, one of them can assume that after a few months of saving the other person will go to live with her, or it can be assumed that at one point both will move in. to a city in which neither of them has lived, while the other prefers not to make this sacrifice because he is happy to see his partner only during weekends.

This is one of the types of toxic relationships whose effects are felt in the long term, when several sacrifices have been made by the couple that at one point can be seen as vain or useless, which it can produce a lot of anger and frustration .

5. The instrumental relationship based on the lie

This is a type of toxic relationship in which the couple is seen as a means to fill a void or existential crisis, to obtain the approval of others or to have access to certain resources, and in which the other person is deceived about the nature of the affective ties that have been created between both parties.

It can also be the case that the person is not fully aware of the real motivations that lead him to continue with the relationship .

6. Relations based on fear

Of course, relationships in which there is clear abuse based on aggressions (physical or verbal) and the fear that the couple will retaliate if they find out about certain things is not only a toxic relationship, but a serious threat whose resolution should be be managed through the judicial system.


6 Unhealthy Mother-Daughter Relationships (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 principaux types de relations toxiques

Les 6 principaux types de relations toxiques

Novembre 1, 2022

Nous avons déjà parlé des relations toxiques, mais il y a un fait qui mérite l'attention: c'est un concept qui englobe de nombreux types de situations.

C'est que Il existe plusieurs types de relations toxiques aux caractéristiques différentes qui englobent différentes formes de relations. dans lequel un ou les deux membres du couple éprouvent une gêne.

Pourquoi certaines personnes insistent-elles pour compliquer la vie des autres?

Par exemple, dans certains cas, la relation toxique s’inscrit dans une dynamique de maltraitance envers le couple, alors que dans d'autres c'est une relation dans laquelle le ressentiment et la frustration apparaissent mais vous ne faites pas de mal à l'autre personne délibérément.


Ce sont des relations qui ont tendance à s’aggraver avec le temps en raison de l’attitude d’une personne en particulier. Le problème avec ce type de relation est que, à la fin, il y a toujours quelqu'un qui finit par payer pour les assiettes brisées et souffrantes .

Les principaux types de relations toxiques

C'est pour ça que il est bon d’avoir à l’esprit même s’il s’agit d’un stratagème sur les principales relations toxiques et la manière dont ils peuvent être identifiés.

1. La relation dans laquelle le pouvoir de décision est donné

Dans certains couples, l'une des deux personnes prend la capacité de prendre des décisions importantes et devient en quelque sorte le patron ou le chef de la relation. Bien entendu, cette hiérarchie du couple n’a aucune justification réelle, car contrairement à ce qui se passe dans des équipes concentrées sur un objectif spécifique (vendre ou produire un type de produit), le couple n’est pas concentré sur certaines tâches. avec efficacité: son existence est justifiée par les liens affectifs de ses membres.


Par conséquent, les raisons de cette prise de contrôle ne sauraient être justifiées, compte tenu de son utilité pour atteindre certains objectifs et, en outre, Cela sape l’autonomie de l’un des composants du couple, ce qui voit leur pouvoir de décision considérablement réduit .

Cela peut ne pas être perçu comme un problème au début, car il peut être perçu comme un type de relation dans lequel l'autre personne est celle qui prend des risques et rend les choses plus difficiles. Cependant, En entrant dans cette dynamique, l’une des parties s’habitue à commander et l’autre à obéir sans se poser de questions. .

2. La relation basée sur le chantage

Parfois, les affections et l’amour qui étaient jadis le fondement et la justification de la relation sont remplacés par une forme de chantage qui prolonge la vie de la relation d’une manière dommageable et artificielle.


Le cas de chantage émotionnel est clair: une personne se sent désolée pour sa partenaire et lui accorde un traitement privilégié et favorable , qui à son tour sert à ce que l’autre personne apprenne à «être une victime» pour percevoir ses prestations. Dans cette relation, la victime principale est celle qui cède constamment car, dans la pratique, il est contrôlé et manipulé par son partenaire.

Cela peut vous faire comprendre que cela laisse à l'autre une capacité totale de prendre des décisions concernant votre propre vie, mais indirectement, il fait des choses pour que l'autre se sente mal, par exemple, sortir avec des amis ou des amis du sexe opposé "supervision". En d'autres termes, l'outil que la partie manipulatrice utilise pour obtenir des avantages est sa capacité à induire le sentiment de culpabilité chez l'autre .

3. L'autre idéalisé

Ce type de relation toxique apparaît lorsqu'il commence à devenir évident qu'un ou les deux membres du couple ne sont pas tombés amoureux de la personne avec qui ils partagent une affection, mais d'une version idéalisée de celle-ci. Bien que ce fait ait peut-être déjà été intuitif au cours des premiers mois de la relation, il est possible que peu d’importance y soit accordée et que, de toute façon, cette dissonance cognitive ait été résolue en surestimant la capacité de l’autre à changer à l’avenir et conforme à nos attentes.

Quand il devient évident que l'autre personne ne changera pas comme nous le souhaitons, la rancune apparaît . Cependant, le pire scénario pouvant résulter de ce type de relation toxique est lorsque la pression exercée par l’un des deux sur l’autre pour tenter de changer se transforme en une forme d’abus.

4. La relation idéalisée

Tout comme vous pouvez idéaliser une personne, il en va de même pour les relations. Si le degré d'idéalisation est suffisamment intense, cela le transformera en un type de relation toxique .

Le problème fondamental de ce type de relation est que les partenaires commencent avec des attentes très différentes quant à la nature de leur relation. Il s'agit essentiellement de un problème de communication au cours des premières étapes de la relation .

Par exemple, s’il ya beaucoup de distance entre les deux maisons, l’une d’elles peut supposer qu’après quelques mois de sauvetage, l’autre va vivre avec elle, ou qu’on peut supposer qu’à un moment donné, elles emménageront. dans une ville où ni l'un ni l'autre n'a vécu, tandis que l'autre préfère ne pas faire ce sacrifice car il est heureux de voir son partenaire uniquement le week-end.

C’est l’un des types de relations toxiques dont les effets se font sentir à long terme, lorsque le couple a fait plusieurs sacrifices qui peuvent être vus à un moment comme vains ou inutiles, qui il peut produire beaucoup de colère et de frustration .

5. La relation instrumentale basée sur le mensonge

C’est un type de relation toxique dans lequel le couple est perçu comme un moyen de combler une crise vide ou existentielle, d’obtenir l’approbation d’autres personnes ou d’avoir accès à certaines ressources, et dans lequel l’autre personne est trompée. sur la nature des liens affectifs créés entre les deux parties.

Il se peut aussi que la personne n'est pas pleinement consciente des véritables motivations qui l'amènent à poursuivre la relation .

6. Relations basées sur la peur

Bien sûr, les relations dans lesquelles il y a des abus clairement fondés sur des agressions (physiques ou verbales) et la crainte que les époux se vengent si elles apprennent certaines choses constituent non seulement une relation toxique, mais aussi une menace sérieuse qu'il convient de résoudre être géré par le système judiciaire.


6 PROFILS DE PERSONNES TOXIQUES A FUIR - IDENTIFIER ET GÉRER LES NUISIBLES DE LA CONVERSATION (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes