yes, therapy helps!
The 6 psychological benefits of yoga

The 6 psychological benefits of yoga

January 25, 2022

The yoga is a very old physical and mental practice that has been expanding all over the worldbecause of its benefits and to that it guarantees a firm body, a stable mind and a benevolent spirit.

It is a millenary art that has amply demonstrated that it can improve our quality of life, not only physically but also mentally and spiritually.

Psychology and yoga

It consists of postures (asanas), relaxation (savasana), meditation (dhyana), breathing (pranayama), kriyas (cleanings), mudras (energetic seals), kirtan (songs), mantra or rituals. In addition to one exercise, for many, it is a way of life that seeks well-being, inner peace and implies a lifestyle that commits to the observance of ethical guidelines , principles of life and proper nutrition.


Yoga achieves the integration of movement with breathing until they cease to be two separate entities and become one. His practice becomes an extremely powerful agent of transformation that provokes profound changes in our health . In fact, its use is seen as a preventive or rehabilitative medicine because it stimulates the metabolic and anabolic processes and improves the circulation of energy, oxygenating the body. When we talk about yoga, we can not only refer to the physiological benefits (for example, increased flexibility, decreased muscle stiffness, etc.), but we have to mention the positive consequences produced in the mind, emotional well-being and the brain.


Next, from Psychology and Mind , we present the six psychological benefits of practicing yoga.

1. Reduce stress

The lifestyle of Western societies can lead many people to suffer stress, causing psychological health problems such as depression, anxiety, etc. A study of Thirthalli and Naveen (2013) it shows that the treatment with yoga reduces cortisol levels , a hormone that is released in response to stress.

Cortisol is necessary for the body because it regulates and mobilizes energy in stressful situations, but if we have too much or it increases in situations that we do not need it, it produces many side effects. By practicing yoga we can lower the levels of this hormone, and therefore, reduce stress.

2. Improves sleep

Serotonin (5-HT) is a neurotransmitter that is derived from an amino acid called tryptophan. It sends messages within the brain and through the nervous system, and participates in many processes such as regulating mood or appetite. In addition, one of its main tasks is increase the production of melatonin , a hormone that regulates sleep cycles.


To achieve a peaceful rest, likewise, serotonin intervenes in the control of stress and body temperature . "The practice of yoga increases serotonin levels so it helps you sleep better," explains Dr. Murali Doraiswam, author of a study by Duke University that included the review of more than 100 research papers on the yoga.

3. Improves the mood

As we mentioned in the previous point, serotonin (5-HT) also regulates mood. Low levels of 5-HT are associated with depressive and obsessive behaviors. An investigation by Cabral, Meyer and Ames (2011) found that regular yoga practice produces significant improvements in patients with depression and anxiety similar to physical exercise, due to the increase in serotonin.

Another neurotransmitter that seems to influence this aspect is GABA. A recent study from Boston University and the University of Utah has shown that there is also an increase in this neurotransmitter in yoga practitioners .

4. Lengthens life and prevents degenerative diseases

American researchers at the Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital have shown, after a study, that yoga and meditation increase the size of telomeres, structures that are located at the ends of chromosomes and which are directly related to aging, the development of certain pathologies and even premature death.

The study concludes that there seems to be a positive correlation between healthy and large telomeres, and the increase in longevity, the prevention of degenerative diseases and the health of people. Doing yoga only 15 minutes a day is enough to produce biochemical changes in the brain and neurons .

5. Improves concentration

Yoga practitioners they improve concentration, coordination, reaction time, memory, learning and show greater ability to solve problems According to a study by Neha Gothe, a professor at Wayne State University in Detroit. According to his research, published in The Journal of Physical Activity and Health, 20 minutes of yoga a day are more beneficial cognitively than a session of intense physical activity.

Related article: "9 tips to improve concentration"

6. Improves the couple's relationship and sexual relations

According to Pete McCall, exercise physiologist and personal trainer for the American Council on Exercise: "Yoga can result in better sex because it will help your flexibility and strengthen the pelvic muscles." A study published in The Journal of Sexual Medicine suggests that yoga can treat premature ejaculation and improve sexual satisfaction

In addition, as other research from the University of British Columbia mentions, the reduction of stress thanks to the practice of yoga, increases libido and sexual vitality. Therefore, by improving the  Sexual life in different ways, it is possible that the couple's relationship is also benefited.


Mayo Clinic Minute: Yoga helps mind and body (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 bienfaits psychologiques du yoga

Les 6 bienfaits psychologiques du yoga

Septembre 28, 2022

Le le yoga est une très ancienne pratique physique et mentale qui a pris de l'expansion partout dans le mondeen raison de ses avantages et à cela il garantit un corps ferme, un esprit stable et un esprit bienveillant.

C'est un art millénaire qui a amplement démontré qu'il peut améliorer notre qualité de vie, non seulement physiquement, mais aussi mentalement et spirituellement.

Psychologie et yoga

Il se compose de postures (les asanas), détente (Savasana), méditation (dhyana), respirer (pranayama), kriyas (nettoyages), mudras (sceaux énergiques), kirtan (chants), mantra ou rituels. En plus d’un exercice, pour beaucoup, c’est un mode de vie qui recherche le bien-être, la paix intérieure et implique un style de vie qui respecte les règles éthiques , principes de vie et bonne nutrition.


Le yoga réalise l'intégration du mouvement avec la respiration jusqu'à ce qu'ils cessent d'être deux entités distinctes et le deviennent. Sa pratique devient un agent de transformation extrêmement puissant qui provoque changements profonds dans notre santé . En fait, son utilisation est considérée comme un médecine préventive ou de rééducation car il stimule les processus métaboliques et anaboliques et améliore la circulation de l'énergie, oxygénant le corps. Lorsque nous parlons de yoga, nous pouvons non seulement faire référence aux avantages physiologiques (par exemple, augmentation de la flexibilité, diminution de la raideur musculaire, etc.), mais également aux conséquences positives produites par l’esprit, le bien-être émotionnel. et le cerveau.


Ensuite, de Psychologie et esprit , nous présentons les six avantages psychologiques de la pratique du yoga.

1. réduire le stress

Le mode de vie des sociétés occidentales peut amener de nombreuses personnes à souffrir de stress, entraînant des problèmes de santé psychologiques tels que la dépression, l'anxiété, etc. Une étude de Thirthalli et Naveen (2013) ça montre que le traitement avec le yoga réduit les niveaux de cortisol , une hormone qui est libérée en réponse au stress.

Le cortisol est nécessaire pour le corps car il régule et mobilise l'énergie dans des situations stressantes, mais si nous en avons trop ou qu'il augmente dans des situations où nous n'en avons pas besoin, il produit de nombreux effets secondaires. En pratiquant le yoga, nous pouvons réduire les niveaux de cette hormone et, par conséquent, réduire le stress.

2. améliore le sommeil

La sérotonine (5-HT) est un neurotransmetteur dérivé d'un acide aminé appelé tryptophane. Il envoie des messages dans le cerveau et à travers le système nerveux et participe à de nombreux processus tels que la régulation de l'humeur ou de l'appétit. En outre, l’une de ses tâches principales est de: augmenter la production de mélatonine , une hormone qui régule les cycles du sommeil.


Pour obtenir un repos paisible, de même, la sérotonine intervient dans le contrôle du stress et de la température corporelle . "La pratique du yoga augmente les niveaux de sérotonine, vous aidant ainsi à mieux dormir", explique le Dr Murali Doraiswam, auteur d'une étude menée par la Duke University et comprenant l'examen de plus de 100 articles de recherche sur yoga

3. améliore l'ambiance

Comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment, la sérotonine (5-HT) régule également l'humeur. De faibles niveaux de 5-HT sont associés à des comportements dépressifs et obsessionnels. Une enquête menée par Cabral, Meyer et Ames (2011) a révélé que la pratique régulière du yoga entraînait des améliorations significatives chez les patients souffrant de dépression et d'anxiété similaires à l'exercice physique, en raison de l'augmentation de la sérotonine.

Un autre neurotransmetteur qui semble influencer cet aspect est le GABA. Une étude récente de l'Université de Boston et de l'Université de l'Utah a montré qu'il y avait aussi une augmentation de ce neurotransmetteur chez les praticiens de yoga .

4. Allonge la vie et prévient les maladies dégénératives

Des chercheurs américains de la Harvard Medical School et du Massachusetts General Hospital ont montré, après une étude, que le yoga et la méditation augmentaient la taille des télomères, structures situées aux extrémités des chromosomes et qui sont directement liés au vieillissement, au développement de certaines pathologies et même à la mort prématurée.

L'étude conclut qu'il semble exister une corrélation positive entre les télomères sains et les grands télomères et l'augmentation de la longévité, la prévention des maladies dégénératives et la santé des personnes. Faire du yoga seulement 15 minutes par jour est suffisant pour produire changements biochimiques dans le cerveau et les neurones .

5. améliore la concentration

Praticiens de yoga ils améliorent concentration, coordination, temps de réaction, mémoire, apprentissage et capacité accrue à résoudre des problèmes Selon une étude de Neha Gothe, professeur à la Wayne State University de Detroit. Selon ses recherches, publiées dans Le journal de l'activité physique et de la santé, 20 minutes de yoga par jour sont plus bénéfiques sur le plan cognitif qu’une séance d’activité physique intense.

Article connexe: "9 conseils pour améliorer la concentration"

6. améliore la relation du couple et les relations sexuelles

Selon Pete McCall, physiologiste de l'exercice et entraîneur personnel pour l'American Council on Exercise: "Le yoga peut améliorer les relations sexuelles, car il améliore votre souplesse et renforce les muscles pelviens." Une étude publiée dans Le journal de la médecine sexuelle suggère que le yoga peut traiter l'éjaculation prématurée et améliorer la satisfaction sexuelle

En outre, comme le mentionnent d’autres recherches de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, la réduction du stress, grâce à la pratique du yoga, augmente la libido et la vitalité sexuelle. Par conséquent, en améliorant la  La vie sexuelle de différentes manières, il est possible que la relation du couple en profite également.


Les 6 bienfaits psychologiques qu’il y a à pratiquer du yoga. (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes