yes, therapy helps!
The 6 steps to overcome a loving rejection

The 6 steps to overcome a loving rejection

January 25, 2022

Loving rejections can be ana experiences that produce more anguish and discomfort if you do not know how to manage well .

On the one hand, the self-esteem of the person who experiences it may be affected if he interprets this episode as a sign that it is worth little as a human being and that other people do not want to relate to it. On the other, rejection can be, at the same time, a way for a series of life plans and illusions to be truncated about how the relationship with the other person can evolve, which produces a disappointment that can lead to anguish or anxiety.

How to overcome a loving rejection with philosophy

However, the rejections of love do not have to be a big problem if you know how to deal with them with philosophy. Because It is worth training in the ability to adapt to these situations , which will allow us to stop avoiding the possibility of happening (fleeing from situations in which we must express our feelings) and at the same time adapt to a series of events that are beyond our control and have to do with the interests of another person .


1. Doubt of one's intentions

There is a strong social influence that pushes us to be constantly looking for a partner, even when we want to be alone. A good way to fit a rejection is to question to what extent we feel a sincere desire to be with that person . The emotional intelligence that helps us see personal relationships from an appropriate perspective is also related to the ability to review and question assumptions about our own intentions, motivations and true objectives.

That is why, to overcome a rejection, it is essential to first consider whether it is a genuine rejection, that is, if what has not been reciprocated by the other person is a true couple project.


2. Taking the situation as an opportunity

The rejection of love also can be an opportunity to train one's emotions management and become people Emotionally strong The very fact of having the ability to stand up to situations in which luck does not accompany is already a very valuable asset, and this ability can only be trained by taking advantage of moments of adversity.

Taking management of a rejection with a constructive spirit will not only contribute to the negative emotions associated with it going away as we pay less attention to them, but also helps us in our personal development plans.

3. Recognize the power of attention management

We tend to believe that our perception of reality is given by our senses, but there is another factor that we almost never consider: attention . In cases where someone does something that we feel bad, we tend to focus on the unusual aspect that causes us discomfort (his hurtful statements, his hostile attitude towards us, etc.) and we will not realize that it would be perfectly possible to perceive the same stimuli distancing us from the unpleasant aspects of the scene.


Similarly, to overcome a rejection it is important to take into account that we take the controls of our attention to direct it towards the positive (or neutral) aspects of the situation is a big part of the solution.

When we overcome a rejection, we are also overcoming the loop of negative emotions that this produces. That is why it is good to remember that a great part of the pain that triggers a rejection originates not because of what the other person has done, but because of our focus on the negative sensations and the thoughts that weigh down. We must learn to correct "manually" the tendency of our brain to focus attention on what is potentially hurtful to get out of the loop of negative emotions.

4. Avoid "suppressing" negative emotions

This step is derived from the previous one. Stop focusing on the negative aspects of rejection does not mean fighting to forget this rejection nor to show that it has not been passed through, but to reformulate this experience in other terms. Trying to mentally "block" all the memories associated with the other person does not cease to be a way of always having in mind what we intend to avoid, since both the objective and the plan to forget all of this refer to the aspects of the rejection that more we hurt. While it may be wise to stop seeing the other person as often as before for a few days, the goal of this should be to get used to new habits and have time to devote to self-reflection, not the simple fact of burying this relationship.

In short, learning to implement coping strategies to overcome a rejection of love implies having confidence in one's ability to deal with negative emotions, instead of denying them.

5. Demystifying the rejection

Just as certain people believe that the universe can conspire in their favor to help them achieve their goals, when it comes to facing a rejection of love it is possible that we perceive it as a sign that something that should go well in the face of our interests has come out very bad for reasons that we can not explain and that, somehow, we attract bad luck. This thought is not only not rational, but it can be an obstacle to promote personal projects, since it induces us to presuppose that everything will fail and that, therefore, it is better not to invest much effort in certain things .

For that reason, it is very good to have in mind a very simple fact: practically everyone has faced a loving rejection, but this is not something that usually speaks easily. If we think that a rejection is something exceptional that could only happen to us, it is because we do not have access to the private compartments of the lives of other people.

Yes, loving rejections can be very hard. But much of this feeling of anguish and discomfort have to do with taking this type of situation too seriously to believe that it is a very particular case. We magnify the drama that supposes that a person does not correspond to another as the latter would want, but the fact is that this happens constantly, as expected in living beings that do not have identical interests and interests.

6. Detect recurring thoughts

When we face situations that unleash stress or anguish, It is frequent that at the beginning we lose the ability to control our flow of thoughts just like we usually do. That is why recurrent thoughts usually appear that are in line with our mood and feed each other, producing a greater sense of discomfort in the event that emotions are negative.

Knowing how to detect recurrent thoughts related to rejecting oneself (such as "you're worthless" or "nobody wants to know anything about you") is fundamental to overcoming a rejection.

Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 étapes pour vaincre un rejet amoureux

Les 6 étapes pour vaincre un rejet amoureux

Avril 22, 2019

Aimer les rejets peut être unna expériences qui produisent plus d’angoisse et d’inconfort si vous ne savez pas bien gérer .

D'un côté, l'estime de soi de la personne qui en fait l'expérience peut être affectée s'il interprète cet épisode comme un signe qu'il ne vaut pas grand-chose en tant qu'être humain et que les autres ne veulent pas en parler. D'autre part, le rejet peut être en même temps un moyen de tronquer une série de projets de vie et d'illusions sur la façon dont la relation avec l'autre peut évoluer, ce qui produit une déception qui peut conduire à l'angoisse ou à l'anxiété.

Comment vaincre un rejet amoureux avec philosophie

Cependant, les rejets d'amour ne doivent pas être un gros problème si vous savez comment les traiter avec philosophie. Pour cela Cela vaut la peine d'apprendre à être capable de s'adapter à ces situations. , ce qui nous permettra d’arrêter d’éviter la possibilité de se produire (fuyant des situations dans lesquelles nous devons exprimer nos sentiments) et de nous adapter en même temps à une série d’événements qui échappent à notre contrôle et qui ont à voir avec les intérêts d’une autre personne .


1. doute de ses intentions

Il existe une forte influence sociale qui nous pousse à rechercher constamment un partenaire, même lorsque nous voulons être seuls. Un bon moyen de s’adapter à un rejet est de: question à quel point nous ressentons un désir sincère d'être avec cette personne . L'intelligence émotionnelle qui nous aide à voir les relations personnelles d'un point de vue approprié est également liée à la capacité de réviser et de remettre en question des hypothèses sur nos propres intentions, motivations et objectifs véritables.

C’est pourquoi, pour vaincre un rejet, il est essentiel d’abord de déterminer s’il s’agit d’un rejet réel, c’est-à-dire si ce qui n’a pas été échangé par l’autre personne est un vrai projet de couple.


2. Prendre la situation comme une opportunité

Le rejet de l'amour aussi peut être l'occasion de former sa gestion des émotions et de devenir des personnes Émotionnellement fort Le fait même d’être capable de résister à des situations dans lesquelles la chance n’accompagne pas est déjà un atout précieux, et cette capacité ne peut être formée qu’en tirant parti des moments difficiles.

Prendre en charge un rejet avec un esprit constructif contribuera non seulement à faire disparaître les émotions négatives associées à ce refus à mesure que nous leur accordons moins d’attention, mais nous aidera également dans nos plans de développement personnel.

3. Reconnaître le pouvoir de la gestion de l'attention

Nous avons tendance à croire que notre perception de la réalité est donnée par nos sens, mais il y a un autre facteur que nous ne prenons presque jamais en considération: l'attention . Dans les cas où quelqu'un fait quelque chose que nous sentons mal, nous avons tendance à nous concentrer sur l'aspect inhabituel qui nous cause un malaise (ses déclarations blessantes, son attitude hostile envers nous, etc.) et nous ne réaliserons pas qu'il serait parfaitement possible de percevoir les mêmes stimuli nous éloignant des aspects désagréables de la scène.


De même, pour vaincre un rejet il est important de prendre en compte que nous prenons les contrôles de notre attention pour le diriger vers les aspects positifs (ou neutres) de la situation est une grande partie de la solution.

Lorsque nous surmontons un rejet, nous surmontons également la boucle d’émotions négatives que cela produit. C'est pourquoi il est bon de se rappeler qu'une grande partie de la douleur qui déclenche un rejet provient non pas de ce que l'autre personne a fait, mais de notre focalisation sur les sensations négatives et les pensées qui pèsent. Nous devons apprendre à corriger "manuellement" la tendance de notre cerveau à attirer l'attention sur ce qui est potentiellement blessant de sortir de la boucle des émotions négatives.

4. Évitez de "réprimer" les émotions négatives

Cette étape est dérivée de la précédente. Cesser de se concentrer sur les aspects négatifs du rejet ne signifie pas se battre pour oublier ce rejet. ni pour montrer qu'elle n'a pas été passée, mais pour reformuler cette expérience en d'autres termes. Essayer de «bloquer» mentalement tous les souvenirs associés à l’autre personne ne cesse d’être un moyen de toujours garder à l’esprit ce que nous entendons éviter, car l’objectif et le plan d’oublier tout cela font référence aux aspects du rejet que plus nous avons mal. Même s’il est sage de ne plus voir cette personne aussi souvent qu’avant pendant quelques jours, l’objectif devrait être de s’habituer à de nouvelles habitudes et de consacrer du temps à la réflexion personnelle, et non au simple fait d’enterrer cette relation.

En bref, apprendre à mettre en œuvre des stratégies d'adaptation pour surmonter le rejet de l'amour implique d'avoir confiance en sa capacité à gérer ses émotions négatives, au lieu de les nier.

5. Démystifier le rejet

De même que certaines personnes croient que l'univers peut conspirer en leur faveur pour les aider à atteindre leurs objectifs, lorsqu'il est question de rejeter l'amour, il est possible que nous le percevions comme un signe que quelque chose qui devrait aller bien face à nos intérêts est sorti très mauvais pour des raisons que nous ne pouvons pas expliquer et que, en quelque sorte, nous attirons la malchance. Cette pensée n’est pas seulement rationnelle, mais elle peut aussi être un obstacle à la promotion de projets personnels, car cela nous incite à présupposer que tout va échouer et qu'il est donc préférable de ne pas investir beaucoup d'effort dans certaines choses .

Pour cette raison, il est très bon d'avoir à l'esprit un fait très simple: pratiquement tout le monde a été confronté à un rejet aimant, mais ce n'est pas quelque chose qui parle généralement facilement. Si nous pensons qu'un rejet est une chose exceptionnelle qui ne peut que nous arriver, c'est parce que nous n'avons pas accès aux compartiments privés de la vie des autres.

Oui, aimer les rejets peut être très difficile. Mais une grande partie de ce sentiment d’angoisse et d’inconfort tient au fait de prendre ce type de situation trop au sérieux pour qu’il s’agisse d’un cas très particulier. Nous magnifions le drame cela suppose qu'une personne ne corresponde pas à une autre comme le voudrait ce dernier, mais le fait est que cela se produit constamment, comme on pouvait s'y attendre chez des êtres vivants qui n'ont pas des intérêts et des intérêts identiques.

6. Détecter les pensées récurrentes

Lorsque nous sommes confrontés à des situations qui déclenchent le stress ou l’angoisse, Il est fréquent qu'au début nous perdions la capacité de contrôler notre flux de pensées comme nous le faisons habituellement. C’est la raison pour laquelle des pensées récurrentes qui correspondent à notre humeur et se nourrissent mutuellement apparaissent, produisant un plus grand sentiment de malaise au cas où les émotions seraient négatives.

Savoir comment détecter les pensées récurrentes liées au rejet de soi (par exemple, "tu ne vaux rien" ou "personne ne veut rien savoir de vous") est fondamental pour surmonter un rejet.


Les 5 phases du deuil amoureux : comment surmonter sa séparation (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes