yes, therapy helps!
The 6 theories of interpersonal attraction

The 6 theories of interpersonal attraction

March 1, 2021

One of the main concerns that has traditionally invaded the human being as a social animal is the search for a person to occupy the role of a partner or sexual partner.

However, what mechanisms underlie the fact of focusing more on some people than others? Why are we attracted to some people and not others?

Some theorists of social psychology have defined a series of theories of attraction They try to explain what mechanisms or steps a person follows, unconsciously, when feeling any type of attraction for another.

  • Related article: "The power of looking at each other's eyes: playing with the laws of attraction"

What is the attraction?

The physical or sexual attraction that people experience it is defined as the faculty of generating and attracting interest on a physical, sexual or emotional level of other people. Also, according to some authors, the attraction would refer exclusively to sexual or erotic interest.


However it is found that people can also feel a romantic attraction towards someone, It is not necessary that sexual attraction and emotional attraction occur simultaneously, that is, the existence of one does not necessarily imply the existence of the other.

Research in the field of psychology has revealed that there are a number of variables that influence the time a person may feel attracted to another or not. The variables that influence the attraction are:

1. Physical attractiveness

Regardless of the conceptions that each individual has about who is attractive and who is not, this point has a very important weight when it comes to feel attraction to a person.


2. Excitation

According to a series of investigations, Contexts or situations that generate high emotional excitement They create a perfect environment to generate passionate stimuli.

In this way, people who are involved, together, in situations or states of tension, are more likely to be attracted to each other.

3. Proximity

This is one of the simplest and at the same time most important variables. The spatial proximity factor is what determines how many people we can meet , and therefore with how many you can have the possibility of intimacy.

However, in the age of internet, the so-called "virtual proximity" element that increasingly gains more weight, enabling people to get to know each other without the need to be geographically close.

4. Reciprocity

Demonstrations or displays of intimacy almost always produce more expressions of intimacy. This means that it is usually the people they are attracted to other people that they like or, at least, those who think they like it.


In addition, reciprocity is usually important insofar as it allows knowing the other. That is, people tend to be attracted to those who show themselves as they are. Likewise, when one person opens up to another, feelings of attraction are usually generated as long as they occur reciprocally.

5. Similarity

This factor can occur in different ways, such as similarities in terms of age, education, economic status, hobbies , self-esteem, etc. The more similarities there are between two people, the more likely they are to be attracted to each other.

6. Obstacles

According to this factor, as in the case of Romeo and Juliet, love increases with obstacles. In many occasions, the interferences that may arise end up intensifying the feelings for the other person even more, or making two people feel even more united when having a "common enemy" to fight.

This factor can occur to such an extent that couples believe supposed external enemies against whom fight together However, it is necessary that these "enemies" are rather weak. In addition, this constant search for interference to enhance feelings of love may end up turning against the couple.

Theories of attraction

Although they do not have to occur simultaneously, all these factors and previous variables are necessary to be present to a greater or lesser extent so that they can trigger the attraction or even the infatuation.

Following them, a series of interpersonal attraction theories have been developed that explain how different feelings of attraction arise in people.

1. Theory of "hard to get"

This theory is related to the factor of the obstacles in the relationship. His main idea is that People are attracted to what they can not get or that, at a minimum, there are a large number of difficulties for this.

This observation can also be attributed to interpersonal relationships, in which both men and women are attracted to those people they perceive as "hard to come by". However, this theory specifies that the attraction is not towards people who are perceived to be hard to get for others, but relatively affordable for oneself.

In psychology this fact is explained by the theory of the reactance , according to which many people want that is impossible or complicated to achieve. These individuals feel that their freedom to choose or are opposed to restricting their freedom is being undermined.

On the other hand, this assumption also explains that a person who has never felt any interest in a third party that has always perceived as achievable or available, begins to desire it at the moment when it ceases to be.

  • Related article: "Psychological reactance: what is it and what are its effects?"

2. Theory of similarity

As described above, the similarity factor is a very important element when it comes to feeling attracted to someone.

According to this hypothesis, people tend to choose as a couple those with whom they feel comforted, and possibly the most comforting characteristic of a potential loving partner is that looks as much as possible to oneself , at least in some fundamental factors.

3. Theory of complementarity

Related to the previous theory, some researchers propose that people do not choose their partners by similarity, but by complementarity.

This means that potential couples are chosen because they are complementary to the person. That is, they have a series of skills or they stand out in aspects in which the person does not do it . For example, if a person describes himself or herself as a talker, it is very likely that he will turn his attention to someone who can listen.

  • Related article: "Are polar opposites really attracted?"

4. Theory of sequential filtering

This theory combines the two previous ones. According to this theoretical model, At first the person seeks that the other is similar to her in certain basic aspects such as age, education, social class, etc.

In the event that the relationship prospers, and you begin to see the other as a potential romantic partner, the similarity of personal values ​​begins to become relevant and, finally, in a third stage the complementary aspects come into play.

5. Theory of role-stimulus-value

In relation to the approaches that this theory proposes, for two people to feel a mutual attraction it is necessary, first of all, that these correspond to each other at a basic level, this level is formed by age, physical appearance, economic position, first impressions, etc.

After the union, the person begins to give greater importance to the values ​​of the other Having the relationship more chances of success if at a deeper level people share their personal values.

In the last stage of the attraction and falling in love process, Potential partners are discarded as long as the issues of role are not compatible . Two people may have very close values, but over time discover that their expectations of role as a couple do not match.

6. Theory of the dyadic formation

This last theory proposes that in order for a relationship to develop positively a series of stages must be completed, otherwise, sooner or later, the relationship will be broken. These stages or processes are:

  • Perception of similarities
  • Good relationship
  • Fluid communication through mutual opening
  • Affable roles for each one separately
  • Affable roles within the couple
  • Dyadic crystallization: it consists in the creation of an identity as a couple and in the determination of the level of commitment.

All these theories come mainly from social psychology. However, there is a group of theories called Practical Theories that are the result of the professional experiences of professional psychotherapists, including Sigmund Freud, Abraham Maslow or Erich Fromm.


Interpersonal Attraction (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 théories de l'attraction interpersonnelle

Les 6 théories de l'attraction interpersonnelle

Août 11, 2020

L'une des principales préoccupations qui a toujours envahi l'être humain en tant qu'animal social est la recherche d'une personne pour occuper le rôle de partenaire ou de partenaire sexuel.

Cependant, quels mécanismes sous-tendent le fait de se concentrer davantage sur certaines personnes que sur d'autres? Pourquoi sommes-nous attirés par certaines personnes et pas d'autres?

Certains théoriciens de la psychologie sociale ont défini une série de théories d'attraction Ils essaient d'expliquer quels mécanismes ou quelles étapes une personne suit, inconsciemment, lorsqu'elle ressent un quelconque attrait pour une autre.

  • Article connexe: "Le pouvoir de se regarder les yeux: jouer avec les lois de l'attraction"

Quelle est l'attraction?

L'attraction physique ou sexuelle que ressentent les gens il est défini comme la faculté de générer et de susciter un intérêt sur le plan physique, sexuel ou émotionnel des autres. De plus, selon certains auteurs, l'attrait se rapporterait exclusivement à un intérêt sexuel ou érotique.


Cependant, on constate que les gens peuvent aussi ressentir une attirance romantique pour quelqu'un, Il n'est pas nécessaire que l'attraction sexuelle et l'attraction émotionnelle se produisent simultanément, c'est-à-dire que l'existence de l'un n'implique pas nécessairement l'existence de l'autre.

Des recherches dans le domaine de la psychologie ont révélé qu'il existe un certain nombre de variables qui influencent le temps qu'une personne peut se sentir attirée ou non par une autre. Les variables qui influencent l'attraction sont:

1. attractivité physique

Quelles que soient les conceptions de chaque individu sur ce qui est attractif et ce qui ne l'est pas, ce point a un poids très important lorsqu'il s'agit de ressentir de l'attirance envers une personne.


2. excitation

Selon une série d'enquêtes, Contextes ou situations générant une grande émotion émotionnelle Ils créent un environnement parfait pour générer des stimuli passionnés.

De cette manière, les personnes impliquées ensemble dans des situations ou des états de tension sont plus susceptibles d'être attirées les unes par les autres.

3. proximité

C'est l'une des variables les plus simples et les plus importantes. Le facteur de proximité spatiale est ce qui détermine le nombre de personnes que nous pouvons rencontrer et donc avec combien vous pouvez avoir la possibilité d'intimité.

Cependant, à l'ère d'Internet, l'élément dit de "proximité virtuelle" gagne de plus en plus en poids, permettant aux gens de se connaître sans avoir à se rapprocher géographiquement.

4. Réciprocité

Les manifestations ou les manifestations d'intimité produisent presque toujours davantage d'expressions d'intimité. Cela signifie que ce sont généralement les gens ils sont attirés par d'autres personnes qu'ils aiment ou du moins ceux qui pensent aimer cela.


De plus, la réciprocité est généralement importante dans la mesure où elle permet de connaître l’autre. C'est-à-dire que les gens ont tendance à être attirés par ceux qui se montrent tels qu'ils sont. De même, lorsqu'une personne s'ouvre à une autre, des sentiments d'attraction sont généralement générés tant qu'ils se produisent de manière réciproque.

5. similitude

Ce facteur peut se produire de différentes manières, telles que des similitudes en termes d'âge, d'éducation, de statut économique, de loisirs , estime de soi, etc. Plus il y a de similitudes entre deux personnes, plus elles sont susceptibles d'être attirées l'une par l'autre.

6. Obstacles

Selon ce facteur, comme dans le cas de Roméo et Juliette, l'amour augmente avec les obstacles. Dans de nombreuses occasions, les interférences qui peuvent en résulter finissent par intensifier davantage les sentiments pour l'autre personne ou par rendre deux personnes encore plus unies lorsqu'elles ont un "ennemi commun" au combat.

Ce facteur peut se produire dans une telle mesure que les couples croient ennemis supposés externes contre qui se battent ensemble Cependant, il est nécessaire que ces "ennemis" soient plutôt faibles. De plus, cette recherche constante d'interférences pour renforcer les sentiments d'amour peut finir par se retourner contre le couple.

Théories de l'attraction

Bien qu'ils ne doivent pas nécessairement se produire simultanément, tous ces facteurs et les variables précédentes doivent être présents plus ou moins pour pouvoir déclencher l'attraction ou même l'engouement.

À la suite de ces expériences, une série de théories sur l’attraction interpersonnelle ont été développées pour expliquer comment différents sentiments d’attraction se développent chez les individus.

1. Théorie du "difficile à obtenir"

Cette théorie est liée au facteur des obstacles dans la relation. Son idée principale est que Les gens sont attirés par ce qu'ils ne peuvent pas obtenir ou que, au minimum, il existe un grand nombre de difficultés pour cela.

Cette observation peut également être attribuée aux relations interpersonnelles, dans lesquelles les hommes et les femmes sont attirés par les personnes qu’ils perçoivent comme "difficiles à trouver". Cependant, cette théorie précise que l'attrait n'est pas envers les personnes perçues comme difficiles à obtenir pour les autres, mais relativement abordables pour soi-même.

En psychologie ce fait s'explique par la théorie de la réactance , selon lequel beaucoup de gens veulent que ce soit impossible ou compliqué à réaliser. Ces personnes ont le sentiment que leur liberté de choisir ou s'opposent à la restreindre est compromise.

D'autre part, cette hypothèse explique également qu'une personne qui n'a jamais ressenti le moindre intérêt pour un tiers et qui a toujours perçu comme réalisable ou disponible, commence à le désirer au moment où elle cesse de l'être.

  • Article connexe: "La réactance psychologique: qu'est-ce que c'est et quels sont ses effets?"

2. Théorie de la similitude

Comme décrit ci-dessus, le facteur de similarité est un élément très important lorsqu'il s'agit de se sentir attiré par quelqu'un.

Selon cette hypothèse, les gens ont tendance à choisir en couple ceux avec qui ils se sentent réconfortés, et la caractéristique la plus réconfortante d'un partenaire potentiellement affectueux est probablement: qui ressemble le plus possible à soi , du moins dans certains facteurs fondamentaux.

3. Théorie de la complémentarité

En relation avec la théorie précédente, certains chercheurs proposent que les personnes ne choisissent pas leurs partenaires par similarité, mais par complémentarité.

Cela signifie que les couples potentiels sont choisis parce qu'ils sont complémentaires à la personne. Autrement dit, ils ont une série de compétences ou ils se démarquent dans des aspects où la personne ne le fait pas . Par exemple, si une personne se décrit comme un interlocuteur, il est très probable qu'elle dirigera son attention vers une personne capable d'écouter.

  • Article connexe: "Les opposés polaires sont-ils vraiment attirés?"

4. Théorie du filtrage séquentiel

Cette théorie combine les deux précédentes. Selon ce modèle théorique, Au début, la personne cherche à ce que l’autre lui ressemble dans certains aspects fondamentaux tels que l'âge, l'éducation, la classe sociale, etc.

Dans le cas où la relation prospère et que vous commencez à voir l’autre comme un partenaire romantique potentiel, la similitude des valeurs personnelles commence à devenir pertinente et, enfin, dans une troisième étape, les aspects complémentaires entrent en jeu.

5. Théorie de rôle-stimulus-valeur

En ce qui concerne les approches proposées par cette théorie, pour que deux personnes ressentent une attirance mutuelle, il est nécessaire, tout d’abord, qu’elles se correspondent au niveau de base, ce niveau est formé par l’âge, l’apparence physique, la situation économique, en premier. impressions, etc.

Après l'union, la personne commence à donner plus d'importance aux valeurs de l'autre La relation a plus de chances de réussir si, à un niveau plus profond, les personnes partagent leurs valeurs personnelles.

Dans la dernière étape du processus d’attraction et de tomber amoureux, Les partenaires potentiels sont écartés tant que les questions de rôle ne sont pas compatibles . Deux personnes peuvent avoir des valeurs très proches, mais au fil du temps, elles découvrent que leurs attentes concernant le rôle de couple ne correspondent pas.

6. Théorie de la formation dyadique

Cette dernière théorie propose que pour que la relation se développe positivement, une série d'étapes doit être complétée, sans quoi, tôt ou tard, la relation sera rompue. Ces étapes ou processus sont:

  • Perception des similitudes
  • Bonne relation
  • Communication fluide par ouverture mutuelle
  • Rôles affables pour chacun séparément
  • Rôles affables au sein du couple
  • Cristallisation dyadique: elle consiste à créer une identité de couple et à déterminer le niveau d'engagement.

Toutes ces théories proviennent principalement de la psychologie sociale. Cependant, il existe un groupe de théories appelées théories pratiques qui résultent des expériences professionnelles de psychothérapeutes professionnels, notamment Sigmund Freud, Abraham Maslow ou Erich Fromm.


Sternberg's Theory of Love: Intimacy, Commitment, Passion (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes