yes, therapy helps!
The 6 types of Coaching: the different coaches and their functions

The 6 types of Coaching: the different coaches and their functions

March 1, 2021

Before knowing the Types of Coaching It is important to know, of course, what Coaching is.

Coaching is a methodology that achieves the maximum professional and personal development of the people and that influences the transformation of these, generating changes of perspective, increasing motivation, commitment and responsibility. Therefore, Coaching is a systematic process that facilitates learning and promotes changes cognitive, emotional and behavioral that expand the capacity of action in function of the achievement of the proposed goals. There are different classifications of the types of Coaching.

Types of coaching: according to the content

The concept of Coaching is broad, and to avoid confusion, certain limits are established to reduce the scope of action. It is not the same to work for the development of a person than to work with a manager of a company. Because of this, there are different types of Coaching depending on the work area :


Personal Coaching

Also called life coach , refers to the Coaching of skills for daily life. We work on life projects, the personal mission, the objectives, the strategies for change, and so on. This type of Coaching pursues the well-being of the person in the different areas of life.

Organizational coaching

It can be divided into two different types of Coaching:

  • Business coaching : It is aimed at organizations or companies in general and not only executives. It includes topics such as empowerment, time management, favoring relations among workers, productivity, customer satisfaction, teamwork, etc.
  • Executive coaching : Within the types of organizational coaching, this type of Coaching is aimed at senior executives. It refers to leadership development and explores interpersonal leadership and communication skills, staff performance, etc.

Sports coaching

The Sports coaching mainly works the motivation and development of everything the potential of the athlete . It also works on empowerment and leadership skills. In case of injury helps in the recovery process. In addition, it also works with the coach and the referees, and improves the work of the group of athletes, establishing, for example, short and long-term objectives for athletes.


You can find out more about Sports Coaching in:

"Fitness Coach vs Personal Trainer: Psychology in the gym"

Types of Coaching: according to the method used

In addition to the types of Coaching that have been exposed above, below are different types of coaching based on the methods that the coach uses in their sessions. These types of Coaching can be individual or group:

Ontological coaching

It is a process oriented towards optimization of language, processes and linguistic tools used by the person. Its purpose is the modification and improvement in the way in which individuals express themselves. It is based on language and emotions and uses questions, conversations and body movement to bring about change.

Systemic coaching

This coaching process considers the person as part of a system, that is, does not consider it as an isolated element . It is useful to analyze the impact of the acts of the person in their environment.


Coaching with Emotional Intelligence

This type of coaching is based on the contributions of Daniel Goleman on Emotional Intelligence. Self-knowledge and the way of regulating emotions is basic to achieve personal development and well-being. Emotional intelligence, if handled properly, is useful for one's own benefit and that of others.

Coercive coaching

It is based on training seminars that claim to achieve a profound change in the person through its high impact techniques . This type of coaching has been object of much criticism for its methods used . In our article "Firewalking: psychological benefits of walking on the embers (the new fashion of Coaching)" you can see an example.

NLP Coaching (Neurolinguistic Programming)

Analyze how the person interprets and confronts reality (visual, auditory, kinesthetic) to help modify certain behaviors. This type of coaching combines Coaching with Neuro-Linguistic Programming.

We recommend that you take a look at the interview conducted by Psychology and Mind with a NLP coaching professional:

"Lydia Boschetti:" Coaching helps free up all the talent of the client "

Cognitive coaching

This type of Coaching allows the effective transmission of knowledge in the Coaching process. Take into account the Cognitive function training ; expressive and receptive functions, memory, learning and thinking.


3 Main Coaching Styles (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 types de coaching: les différents coachs et leurs fonctions

Les 6 types de coaching: les différents coachs et leurs fonctions

Avril 14, 2021

Avant de connaître le Types de coaching Il est important de savoir, bien sûr, ce qu'est le coaching.

Le coaching est une méthodologie qui réalise le développement professionnel et personnel maximal des personnes et cela influe sur leur transformation, en générant des changements de perspective, en augmentant la motivation, l’engagement et la responsabilité. Par conséquent, le coaching est un processus systématique qui facilite l'apprentissage et favorise les changements cognitifs, émotionnels et comportementaux qui élargissent la capacité d’action en fonction de la réalisation des objectifs proposés. Il existe différentes classifications des types de coaching.

Types de coaching: selon le contenu

Le concept de coaching est large et, pour éviter toute confusion, certaines limites sont établies pour réduire le champ d'action. Travailler pour le développement d'une personne, ce n'est pas la même chose que de travailler avec un dirigeant d'entreprise. Pour cette raison, il existe différents types de coaching en fonction de la zone de travail :


Coaching personnel

Aussi appelé coach de vie , fait référence au coaching de compétences pour la vie quotidienne. Nous travaillons sur des projets de vie, la mission personnelle, les objectifs, les stratégies de changement, etc. Ce type de coaching vise le bien-être de la personne dans les différents domaines de la vie.

Coaching organisationnel

Il peut être divisé en deux types de coaching:

  • Coaching d'affaires : Il s’adresse aux organisations ou aux entreprises en général et pas seulement aux cadres. Cela inclut des sujets tels que l'autonomisation, la gestion du temps, la promotion des relations entre les travailleurs, la productivité, la satisfaction de la clientèle, le travail d'équipe, etc.
  • Coaching exécutif : Dans les types de coaching organisationnel, ce type de coaching est destiné aux cadres supérieurs. Il fait référence au développement du leadership et explore les compétences en leadership interpersonnel et en communication, la performance du personnel, etc.

Coaching sportif

Le Coaching sportif travaille principalement la motivation et le développement de tout le potentiel de l'athlète . Cela fonctionne aussi sur autonomisation et compétences en leadership. En cas de blessure aide dans le processus de récupération. En outre, il travaille également avec l'entraîneur et les arbitres et améliore le travail du groupe d'athlètes, en établissant par exemple des objectifs à court et à long terme pour les athlètes.


Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur le coaching sportif en:

"Entraîneur physique vs entraîneur personnel: Psychologie au gymnase"

Types de Coaching: selon la méthode utilisée

En plus des types de coaching exposés ci-dessus, vous trouverez ci-dessous différents types de coaching basés sur les méthodes que le coach utilise lors de leurs sessions. Ces types de coaching peuvent être individuels ou en groupe:

Coaching ontologique

C’est un processus orienté vers optimisation du langage, des processus et des outils linguistiques utilisé par la personne. Son but est la modification et l'amélioration de la manière dont les individus s'expriment. Il est basé sur le langage et les émotions et utilise des questions, des conversations et des mouvements corporels pour provoquer un changement.

Coaching systémique

Ce processus de coaching considère la personne comme faisant partie d’un système, c’est-à-dire ne le considère pas comme un élément isolé . Il est utile d’analyser l’impact des actes de la personne sur son environnement.


Coaching avec intelligence émotionnelle

Ce type de coaching est basé sur les contributions de Daniel Goleman sur l'intelligence émotionnelle. La connaissance de soi et la manière de réguler les émotions sont essentielles au développement personnel et au bien-être. L'intelligence émotionnelle, si elle est gérée correctement, est utile pour son propre bénéfice et celui des autres.

Coaching coercitif

Il est basé sur des séminaires de formation qui prétendent réaliser un changement profond de la personne à travers ses techniques à fort impact . Ce type de coaching a été objet de beaucoup de critiques pour ses méthodes utilisées . Dans notre article "Marche sur le feu: avantages psychologiques de la marche sur la braise (la nouvelle mode du coaching)", vous pouvez voir un exemple.

Coaching PNL (Programmation Neurolinguistique)

Analyser comment la personne interprète et confronte la réalité (visuelle, auditive, kinesthésique) pour aider à modifier certains comportements. Ce type de coaching combine le coaching avec Programmation neurolinguistique.

Nous vous recommandons de jeter un coup d’œil à l’interview réalisée par Psychology and Mind avec un coach professionnel en PNL:

"Lydia Boschetti:" Le coaching aide à libérer tous les talents du client "

Coaching cognitif

Ce type de coaching permet la transmission efficace des connaissances dans le processus de coaching. Prendre en compte le Entraînement des fonctions cognitives ; fonctions expressives et réceptives, mémoire, apprentissage et réflexion.


Comprendre le financement des entreprises. Où trouver l'argent ? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes