yes, therapy helps!
The 6 types of Democracy and their characteristics

The 6 types of Democracy and their characteristics

November 27, 2021

Democracy is a type of governance within the society that refers to a balance of forces between citizens and the representatives they choose to empower them to legislate and execute those policies that concern them or that seem to them a priority.

Although the concept of democracy is one and unequivocal, there are different varieties and types of State organization, whose differences are especially marked by the exceptionality of each society, such as religion, territorial character or the ethnicity of different communities. Then we will see what are the different types of democracy .


  • You may be interested: "Is a person's IQ related to their political ideology?"

What is democracy?

The terminology of democracy dates back to the early fifth century, in ancient Greece. More concretely, it is in Athens where the birth of this political system took place , although with very important limitations. "Demos" refers to "people" and "cracia" comes from the etymology "kratos", which refers to "power" or "government".

In general terms, democracy constitutes a series of fundamental requirements that make up a variety of civil rights that are distinguished from other political systems. Some of them are suffrage (right to vote), freedom of expression and freedom of political action (being part of power).


The 6 types of democracy

Due to the centuries passed since its origin, democracy has been transformed and adapted to the increasingly heterogeneous times of modern societies.

In this article we will review The 6 most common types of democracy of our times.

1. Direct democracy

It is the type of democracy most desired and still desired in overpopulated countries since direct democracy It is usually implemented in spaces of few inhabitants , as this is a direct participation system, as its name indicates, without intermediaries or representatives. Normally debates and decisions are instrumentalized through the assembly system.

2. Liberal

Liberal democracy is common in the Western world, whose system is defined by the election of the rulers by vote (suffrage), those representatives where they are subject to a rule of law, laws and the Constitution that have emanated from the same people.


In this type of democracy, citizens enjoy rights and freedoms, both individually and collectively, democratic pluralism, political, social and religious tolerance. Alternation in power is another requirement fundamental of this model. In addition, there is a control system for the government that monitors the quality of the mandate.

3. Christian Democrat

Democrat democracy It was very widespread in some European countries in the 20th century , in countries like Germany, Ireland or Italy. It consists in governing the laws of public life with the commandments and values ​​of the Christian religion, including Catholics and Protestants.

In this sense, the Christian Democratic ideology tends to turn to the right, to more conservative legislations and to a liberalization of the economy.

4. Indirect or representative

Indirect democracy or also known as representative, is the most implemented today . Here citizens choose different political profiles (presidents, delegates, mayors, senators, deputies) to represent them in public life and in political decisions.

5. Partial

Partial democracy refers to political systems where the powers of the people are well limited in the sphere and political activities (decision-making power). They comply with the basic requirements of any democracy such as elections, freedom of expression and plurality of parties, but the citizens do not enjoy real access to the state administrations .

On the other hand, this kind of democracy It is customary to be a personalist and the ruling party has mechanisms to strengthen or increase its executive and legislative capacity over parliament and the Constitution of the country in question.

6. Popular

It is perhaps the most controversial and complex type of democracy. It is said of the popular governments those who have broken their ties with imperialism , colonialism or have achieved their independence through resistance (armed in some cases) popular with the invader.

These systems they are socialist and progressive , and the government party holds hegemony, nationalizes companies and opposes Globalization.They were devised by the former Soviet Union, and were implemented in the countries of their influence, called satellite states.

It is a case in which, indeed, democratic elections have taken place. But these have been preceded by events such as a coup d'état, after which the dominant force seeks to legitimize its power through free elections.

In many cases they emerge with overwhelming popular support that, over time, is shrinking as the regime perpetuates itself in power for long periods, missing its initial promise to return power to the masses.


Types of Democracy (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 types de démocratie et leurs caractéristiques

Les 6 types de démocratie et leurs caractéristiques

Janvier 26, 2020

La démocratie est un type de gouvernance au sein de la société qui fait référence à un rapport de forces entre les citoyens et les représentants qu’ils choisissent de leur donner le pouvoir de légiférer et d’appliquer les politiques qui les concernent ou qui leur semblent prioritaires.

Bien que le concept de démocratie soit un et sans équivoque, il existe différentes variétés et types d’organisations étatiques, dont les différences sont particulièrement marquées par les particularités de chaque société, telles que la religion, le caractère territorial ou l’appartenance ethnique de communautés différentes. Ensuite nous verrons quels sont les différents types de démocratie .


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le QI d'une personne est-il lié à son idéologie politique?"

Qu'est ce que la démocratie?

La terminologie de la démocratie remonte au début du cinquième siècle, dans la Grèce antique. Plus concrètement, c'est à Athènes que la naissance de ce système politique a eu lieu , bien qu'avec des limitations très importantes. "Démos" se réfère à "peuple" et "cracia" vient de l'étymologie "kratos", qui signifie "pouvoir" ou "gouvernement".

En termes généraux, la démocratie constitue un ensemble d’exigences fondamentales qui constituent une variété de droits civils qui se distinguent des autres systèmes politiques. Certains d'entre eux sont suffrage (droit de vote), liberté d'expression et la liberté d'action politique (faire partie du pouvoir).


Les 6 types de démocratie

Au fil des siècles, depuis son origine, la démocratie s'est transformée et adaptée aux temps de plus en plus hétérogènes des sociétés modernes.

Dans cet article, nous allons passer en revue Les 6 types de démocratie les plus courants de notre temps.

1. Démocratie directe

C’est le type de démocratie le plus désiré et le plus désiré dans les pays surpeuplés depuis la démocratie directe Il est généralement mis en œuvre dans des espaces de peu d'habitants , comme il s’agit d’un système à participation directe, comme son nom l’indique, sans intermédiaires ni représentants. Normalement, les débats et les décisions sont instrumentalisés à travers le système de montage.

2. libéral

La démocratie libérale est courante dans le monde occidental, dont le système est défini par l’élection des gouvernants au suffrage, ces représentants soumis à la primauté du droit, aux lois et à la Constitution et émanant du même peuple.


Dans ce type de démocratie, les citoyens jouissent des droits et des libertés, tant individuellement que collectivement, du pluralisme démocratique et de la tolérance politique, sociale et religieuse. L'alternance au pouvoir est une autre exigence fondamental de ce modèle. En outre, il existe un système de contrôle pour le gouvernement qui surveille la qualité du mandat.

3. démocrate chrétien

Démocratie démocrate Il était très répandu dans certains pays européens au 20ème siècle , dans des pays comme l'Allemagne, l'Irlande ou l'Italie. Elle consiste à appliquer les lois de la vie publique aux commandements et aux valeurs de la religion chrétienne, y compris les catholiques et les protestants.

En ce sens, l'idéologie démocrate-chrétienne a tendance à se tourner vers la droite, vers des législations plus conservatrices et vers une libéralisation de l'économie.

4. Indirect ou représentant

Démocratie indirecte ou aussi appelée représentant, est le plus mis en œuvre aujourd'hui . Les citoyens choisissent ici différents profils politiques (présidents, délégués, maires, sénateurs, députés) pour les représenter dans la vie publique et dans les décisions politiques.

5. partielle

La démocratie partielle fait référence à des systèmes politiques dans lesquels les pouvoirs du peuple sont bien limités dans la sphère et dans les activités politiques (pouvoir décisionnel). Ils satisfont aux exigences fondamentales de toute démocratie, telles que les élections, la liberté d’expression et la pluralité des partis. les citoyens ne bénéficient pas d'un accès réel aux administrations de l'Etat .

D'autre part, ce genre de démocratie Il est de coutume d'être un personnaliste et le parti au pouvoir dispose de mécanismes pour renforcer ou augmenter ses capacités exécutives et législatives sur le parlement et la constitution du pays en question.

6. populaire

C'est peut-être le type de démocratie le plus controversé et complexe. On dit des gouvernements populaires ceux qui ont rompu leurs liens avec l'impérialisme , le colonialisme ou ont atteint leur indépendance par la résistance (armée dans certains cas) populaire avec l'envahisseur.

Ces systèmes ils sont socialistes et progressistes , et le parti gouvernemental détient l’hégémonie, nationalise les entreprises et s’oppose à la mondialisation.Ils ont été conçus par l'ancienne Union soviétique et ont été mis en œuvre dans les pays de leur influence, appelés États satellites.

C’est un cas dans lequel des élections démocratiques ont effectivement eu lieu. Mais ceux-ci ont été précédés par des événements tels que le coup d'État, à la suite duquel la force dominante cherche à légitimer son pouvoir par le biais d'élections libres.

Dans de nombreux cas, ils émergent avec un soutien populaire écrasant qui, avec le temps, se contracte au fur et à mesure que le régime se maintient au pouvoir pendant de longues périodes, manquant ainsi sa promesse initiale de rendre le pouvoir aux masses.


La démocratie représentative, pouvoir du peuple ? - Politikon #5 (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes