yes, therapy helps!
The 6 types of mobbing or workplace harassment

The 6 types of mobbing or workplace harassment

May 6, 2021

Workplace bullying (mobbing) is a reality that is increasingly studied and recognized. But nevertheless, it can still be difficult to identify mobbing where it occurs , especially considering that this form of harassment does not always have the same characteristics.

The different types of mobbing cause that, at times, this phenomenon is camouflaged or even interpreted as something that falls within normality. After all, wherever this form of harassment occurs there are interests in which what happens can not be used before a judge, and this means that in each type of work environment these attacks adapt to the circumstances.

But nevertheless, distinguish the different types of mobbing is not impossible . In this article we will review them, but before we will see an example that will serve to recognize the characteristics of this kind of harassment.


A history of workplace harassment

Cristobal He was a worker highly valued by his company dedicated to tourism, as he responded effectively to any problem that might arise in dealing with customers. He was disciplined, responsible and even had extra hours; simply because he enjoyed his work. He was an employee that any businessman would want to have on his team, so he was quickly promoted within his organization to be placed as head of airport area.

He had been with the company for three years and there were no complaints about him because of his good professional work, but everything changed for him from the fourth year due to the restructuring his company had suffered, in which the director had changed. Apparently, Cristóbal was not to his liking, probably because he barely knew him and had not hired him .


Changes in the company

After his arrival, the new director accused him of working little, of being sexist without any foundation (because of a conflict with an employee that was of the director's trust and in which Cristóbal was right) and decided that he should carry out tasks that were not productive at all In addition, the fifth year decided to place a supervisor who was hierarchically above him. It must be said that the supervisor was not competent enough, because he did not know how to work in such a company.

It was Cristóbal himself who had to teach him how to do the job effectively . The director's strategy was to have Cristóbal controlled, something that was unnecessary since the levels of customer satisfaction in his area of ​​work were the best in the company throughout the Spanish territory. The mission was clear: demotivating Cristóbal to present the voluntary resignation and thus leave the company.


At different specific moments, the director accused Cristóbal of creating bad atmosphere at work without having any proof of it . Simply to agree with his trusted men. And, in addition, he invented lies to discredit his good professional work.

The result was that Cristóbal decided to leave the job because of the psychological damage to which he had been subjected . As a victim of mobbing, he tried to defend himself several times until, as a result of the emotional exhaustion that had come with this situation, he resigned to remain in the company.

Mobbing: a reality present in the workplace

The example above is a case of mobbing, also known as workplace bullying. A phenomenon that occurs in the workplace, and in which an individual or others systematically and repeatedly exert psychological violence about another individual or individuals, over a prolonged period of time.

Stalkers they can be co-workers, superiors or subordinates , and this behavior can affect workers of any type of company.

In addition, in many cases it is a question of confusing the victim so that she believes that she is the culprit of everything that happens, sometimes reaching question the sound judgment of who suffers everything . This phenomenon, known as Gaslighting, is very common in cases of maltreatment, but also occurs in workplace harassment. One of its effects is that the victim is paralyzed and anchored in the doubts, which makes it possible to continue with flagrant injustices.

The effects of harassment

The attacks suffered in the workplace can cause serious psychological problems in the victim or victims (for example, anxiety, depression, stress), demotivation at work, disruption of the exercise of their work and, in most cases, a damage to the reputation of this one. The more this situation persists, worse is the discomfort that is generated . 

Types of mobbing

Mobbing can be classified in two ways: according to the hierarchical position or according to the objective . What are these types of workplace harassment? The following are summarized:

one.Workplace harassment according to the hierarchical position

Depending on the hierarchical position, mobbing can be:

1.1. Horizontal mobbing

This type of mobbing it is characterized because the harasser and the victim are in the same hierarchical rank . That is, it tends to occur between co-workers, and the repercussions at the psychological level for the victim can be devastating.

The causes of this type of workplace harassment can be many and varied, although the most common are: to force a worker to comply with certain rules, by enmity, to attack the weakest, by differences with the victim, or by lack of work and boredom.

1.2. Vertical mobbing

Vertical workplace bullying receives this name because either the bully is at a higher level than the victim or is at a lower level than the victim . Therefore, there are two types of vertical mobbing: ascending and descending.

  • Upward Mobbing : Occurs when an employee of a higher hierarchical level is attacked by one or more of his subordinates.
  • Descending mobbing or bossing : Occurs when an employee of lower hierarchical level receives psychological harassment by one or more employees who occupy higher positions in the hierarchy of the company. As we have seen in the case of Cristóbal, it can be carried out as a business strategy to get the harassed worker to leave the company.

2. Labor harassment according to the objective

Depending on the objectives that the attacker intends to achieve with mobbing, it can be classified as follows:

2.1. Strategic mobbing

This is a type of downward or "institutional" harassment . It is characterized because mobbing is part of the company's strategy, and the objective is usually that the harassed person rescinds his contract voluntarily. In this way, the company does not have to pay the compensation that would correspond to unfair dismissal.

2.2. Mobbing of management or management

This type of mobbing is carried out by the management of the organization , usually for several reasons: to dispense with a worker who is not very submissive, to arrive at situations of labor slavery or to end up with a worker who does not conform to the expectations of the boss (for example, by being too trained or to leave him in evidence) .

In addition, this type of workplace harassment can be carried out to maximize the company's productivity through fear, employing repeated threats of dismissal in case of non-compliance with work objectives.

2.3. Perverse Mobbing

Perverse workplace harassment refers to a type of mobbing that does not have a labor objective, but the causes are in the manipulative personality and harasser of the harasser. It is a type of mobbing very harmful because the causes that produce the harassment can not be solved by implementing other work dynamics while the person who harasses is in the organization or not re-educated.

This type of stalker usually carries out the mobbing in front of the victim, without witnesses. It is very seductive and quickly gets the trust of others. It is common for perverse mobbing to be a horizontal or ascending mobbing.

2.4. Disciplinary mobbing

This type of mobbing is used so that the harassed person understands that he must "enter the mold" because if he does not, he will be punished. But with this type of harassment not only fear is infused in the victims, but it also warns the other comrades of what could happen to them to act like this, creating a work environment in which nobody dares to contradict the superior.

It is also used against those people who have many sick leave, pregnant women, and all those who denounce the fraud of the institution (for example, the accountant who witnesses bribes by the company).

Bibliographic references:

  • Piñuel, I. (2003).Mobbing: how to survive psychological harassment at work. Ed. Reading Point. Madrid.

The Four Workplace Bully Types (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 types de mobbing ou de harcèlement au travail

Les 6 types de mobbing ou de harcèlement au travail

Mai 11, 2021

Le harcèlement moral au travail (mobbing) est une réalité de plus en plus étudiée et reconnue. Cependant, il peut encore être difficile d'identifier le mobbing là où il se produit , d'autant plus que cette forme de harcèlement n'a pas toujours les mêmes caractéristiques.

Les différents types de mobbing font que ce phénomène est parfois camouflé ou même interprété comme quelque chose qui relève de la normalité. Après tout, partout où cette forme de harcèlement se produit, il existe des intérêts dans lesquels ce qui se passe ne peut être invoqué devant un juge. Cela signifie que, dans chaque type de milieu de travail, ces attaques s’adaptent aux circonstances.

Cependant, distinguer les différents types de mobbing n'est pas impossible . Dans cet article, nous les passerons en revue, mais avant nous verrons un exemple qui permettra de reconnaître les caractéristiques de ce type de harcèlement.


Une histoire de harcèlement au travail

Cristóbal Il était un travailleur hautement apprécié par sa société dédiée au tourisme, car il répondait efficacement à tout problème pouvant survenir dans le traitement des clients. Il était discipliné, responsable et avait même des heures supplémentaires; tout simplement parce qu'il aimait son travail. C'était un employé que tout homme d'affaires voudrait avoir dans son équipe. Il a donc rapidement été promu au sein de son organisation pour être nommé chef de la zone aéroportuaire.

Il travaillait pour la société depuis trois ans et ne s’était jamais plaint de son travail professionnel, mais tout a changé pour lui à partir de la quatrième année en raison de la restructuration de son entreprise, à laquelle le directeur a changé. Apparemment, Cristóbal n’était pas à son goût, probablement parce qu’il le connaissait à peine et ne l’avait pas embauché. .


Changements dans l'entreprise

Après son arrivée, le nouveau directeur l'a accusé de travailler peu, d'être sexiste sans fondement (à cause d'un conflit avec un employé qui était de la confiance du directeur et dans lequel Cristóbal avait raison) et a décidé qu'il devrait s'acquitter de ses tâches. qui n'étaient pas productifs du tout En outre, la cinquième année a décidé de placer un superviseur hiérarchiquement supérieur à lui. Il faut dire que le superviseur n’était pas assez compétent, car il ne savait pas travailler dans une telle entreprise.

C'était Cristóbal lui-même qui devait lui apprendre à faire le travail efficacement . La stratégie du directeur consistait à faire contrôler Cristóbal, ce qui était inutile car les niveaux de satisfaction de la clientèle dans son domaine d'activité étaient les meilleurs de la société sur l'ensemble du territoire espagnol. La mission était claire: démotiver Cristóbal pour présenter la démission volontaire et ainsi quitter l'entreprise.


À différents moments spécifiques, le directeur a accusé Cristóbal d'avoir créé une mauvaise ambiance au travail sans en avoir la preuve . Simplement être d'accord avec ses hommes de confiance. Et, en outre, il a inventé des mensonges pour discréditer son bon travail professionnel.

Le résultat fut que Cristóbal décida de quitter son emploi en raison des dommages psychologiques auxquels il avait été soumis. . En tant que victime de mobbing, il a essayé de se défendre plusieurs fois jusqu'à ce que, en raison de l'épuisement émotionnel provoqué par cette situation, il ait démissionné pour rester dans l'entreprise.

Mobbing: une réalité présente sur le lieu de travail

L'exemple ci-dessus est un cas de mobbing, également connu sous le nom d'intimidation en milieu de travail. Un phénomène qui se produit sur le lieu de travail, et dans lequel un individu ou d’autres personnes exercent systématiquement et à plusieurs reprises des violences psychologiques sur un autre individu ou des individus, sur une période de temps prolongée.

Les intimidateurs ils peuvent être des collègues, des supérieurs ou des subordonnés , et ce comportement peut affecter les travailleurs de tout type d’entreprise.

De plus, dans de nombreux cas, il s’agit de confondre la victime pour qu’elle se croie coupable de tout ce qui se passe, parfois jusqu’à atteindre remettre en question le bon jugement de qui subit tout . Ce phénomène, appelé Gaslighting, est très courant dans les cas de maltraitance, mais se produit également dans le harcèlement au travail. L'un de ses effets est que la victime est paralysée et ancrée dans les doutes, ce qui permet de continuer avec des injustices flagrantes.

Les effets du harcèlement

Les agressions subies sur le lieu de travail peuvent entraîner de graves problèmes psychologiques chez la victime ou les victimes (anxiété, dépression, stress, par exemple), une démotivation au travail, une perturbation de l'exercice de leur travail et, dans la plupart des cas, dommage à la réputation de celui-ci. Plus cette situation persiste, le pire est le malaise qui est généré . 

Types de mobbing

Le mobbing peut être classé de deux manières: en fonction de la position hiérarchique ou en fonction de l'objectif . Quels sont ces types de harcèlement au travail? Les éléments suivants sont résumés:

1Harcèlement au travail selon la position hiérarchique

Selon la position hiérarchique, le mobbing peut être:

1.1. Mobbing horizontal

Ce type de mobbing il se caractérise par le fait que le harceleur et la victime sont au même rang hiérarchique . Autrement dit, cela a tendance à se produire entre collègues et les répercussions sur le plan psychologique pour la victime peuvent être dévastatrices.

Les causes de ce type de harcèlement au travail peuvent être nombreuses et variées, bien que les plus courantes soient: forcer un travailleur à respecter certaines règles, par inimitié, à attaquer les plus faibles, par se différencier avec la victime ou par manquer de travail et d'ennui.

1.2. Mobbing vertical

L’intimidation verticale en milieu de travail reçoit ce nom parce que l'intimidateur est à un niveau supérieur à celui de la victime ou est inférieur à celui de la victime . Par conséquent, il existe deux types de mobbing vertical: ascendant et descendant.

  • Mobbing ascendant : Se produit lorsqu'un employé d'un niveau hiérarchique supérieur est attaqué par un ou plusieurs de ses subordonnés.
  • Mobbing descendant ou bossing : Se produit lorsqu'un employé de niveau hiérarchique inférieur subit le harcèlement moral d'un ou de plusieurs employés occupant des positions supérieures dans la hiérarchie de l'entreprise. Comme nous l'avons vu dans l'affaire Cristóbal, il peut s'agir d'une stratégie commerciale visant à amener le travailleur harcelé à quitter l'entreprise.

2. Harcèlement au travail en fonction de l'objectif

Selon les objectifs que l'attaquant a l'intention d'atteindre avec le mobbing, il peut être classé comme suit:

2.1. Mobbing stratégique

C'est un type de harcèlement à la baisse ou "institutionnel" . Cela se caractérise par le fait que le harcèlement moral fait partie de la stratégie de l'entreprise et que l'objectif est généralement que la personne harcelée résilie volontairement son contrat. De cette manière, l'entreprise n'a pas à payer l'indemnisation correspondant au licenciement abusif.

2.2. Mobbing de management ou de management

Ce type de mobbing est effectuée par la direction de l'organisation , généralement pour plusieurs raisons: se passer d'un travailleur peu soumis, aboutir à des situations d'esclavage professionnel ou se retrouver avec un travailleur qui ne se conforme pas aux attentes du patron (en étant par exemple trop formé ou en le laissant en évidence) .

En outre, ce type de harcèlement sur le lieu de travail peut être utilisé pour maximiser la productivité de l'entreprise par peur, en recourant à des menaces répétées de licenciement en cas de non-respect des objectifs de travail.

2.3. Mobbing pervers

Harcèlement au travail pervers se réfère à un type de mobbing qui n'a pas d'objectif de travail, mais les causes en sont dans la personnalité manipulatrice et harceleur du harceleur. C'est un type de mobbing très préjudiciable car les causes qui produisent le harcèlement ne peuvent pas être résolues en mettant en œuvre d'autres dynamiques de travail alors que la personne qui harcèle est dans l'organisation ou n'est pas rééduquée.

Ce type de harceleur effectue habituellement le harcèlement moral devant la victime, sans témoin. C'est très séduisant et obtient rapidement la confiance des autres. Il est courant que le mobbing pervers soit un mobbing horizontal ou ascendant.

2.4. Mobbing disciplinaire

Ce type de mobbing est utilisé pour que la personne harcelée comprenne qu’elle doit "entrer dans le moule" parce que s'il ne le fait pas, il sera puni. Mais avec ce type de harcèlement, non seulement la peur est infusée chez les victimes, mais elle avertit également les autres camarades de ce qui pourrait leur arriver d'agir ainsi, en créant un environnement de travail dans lequel personne n'ose contredire le supérieur hiérarchique.

Il est également utilisé contre les personnes qui ont de nombreux congés de maladie, les femmes enceintes et tous ceux qui dénoncent la fraude de l'institution (par exemple, le comptable qui est témoin des pots-de-vin de la société).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Piñuel, I. (2003).Mobbing: comment survivre au harcèlement psychologique au travail. Ed. Point de lecture. Madrid

Le harcèlement psychologique le travail sens dessus dessous partie 6 (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes