yes, therapy helps!
The 6 types of narrators, and how they are used in literature

The 6 types of narrators, and how they are used in literature

July 12, 2024

When it comes to telling stories, whether real or fictional, not only does it matter how the world is described and the events that occur in it. The way in which the figure of the narrator is used is also crucial, even when it seems that this is not part of the narrative itself.

In this article we will see what they are the main types of narrators in the different works of literature that explain stories, and in which way to choose one or the other has an effect on the psychological impact that these works cause.

  • Related article: "The 16 types of books that exist (according to different criteria)"

The different types of narrators, and their characteristics

Human beings are characterized, among other things, by creating stories, stories. These stories go far beyond the world of leisure, as one might think if, having in mind the concept of what literature is, we should only concentrate on the best-selling novels. They offer a way to interpret reality .


Thus, to stop to know better what are the main types of narrator is not a frivolity, since this choice is part of the creative process of explaining something. Each of them gives a different whole to the story. Let's see a classification of these categories when narrating, going from first-person narrators to second-person narratives, finally reaching third-person narrators.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 differences between a story and a novel"

1. Narrator in the first person

This type of narrator is very common, and serves to print a realistic and experiential tone to the story that is narrated. Be supposed to the person who tells us the story was there when everything happened , so that we assume that the universe in which it occurs is the same as the one in which the narrator is present, so that it is subject to the same rules, approximately.


In addition, the fact that everything is narrated in first person allows us to have more information about this character, that although it does not have to be the protagonist, it usually has importance in history, even if it is to help build the rest of characters through the interaction of the first with the seconds, seeing how their personalities affect each other .

In turn, this category can be divided into other types of narrators. They are the following.

1.1. Witness Narrator

In these cases, the character who has the role of narrator does not act as a protagonist, but as a person close to the protagonist and who attends the main events that articulate the story.

He is a type of narrator very useful when you want to show the personality of the protagonist , as well as his personal evolution and his narrative arc, in a subtle way, suggesting more than describing in a direct way, since one does not have access to the real thoughts of that character. However, it is also possible to adopt a more impersonal style, as if everything were composed of reports.


Examples of this type of narrator are John Watson in the novels of Sherlock Holmes or Nick Carraway in The Great Gatsby.

1.2. Narrator protagonist

This is probably the most popular and used type of first-person narrator, since it is also one of the most intuitive and simple: the story is explained from the point of view of the person who must go through the main plot arc of the story , just as we would in real life if we explained something that has happened to us .

However, when using this resource it is possible to use many nuances. For example, narrating talking about what is happening in the present allows the audience to be immersed in the story.

1.3. Narrator in flow of thoughts

This is a type of narrator very little used, since it tries to describe literally the thoughts of someone, just as they emerge to consciousness . Therefore, all is explained in real time, the present being the reference moment.

The different narrators of The noise and the fury, by William Faulkner, are an example of this.

2. Narrator in the second person

This type of narrator is characterized by explaining a story to a specific person. It can be presented in epistolary format, as if everything were composed of letters oriented to a recipient, or as if it were a real dialogue in which basically one speaks and the other listens, sometimes making you see that you answer questions asked by the listener .

3. Narrator in the third person

Finally, in the narrator in the third person, who tells us the story is characterized by not participate at all, or participate as little as possible, in the course of history . It can be divided into two categories.

3.1. Omniscient narrator

One of the most used narrator types.It is spoken from the point of view of an entity completely alien to the plane of reality in which everything that is explained occurs, as if it were a kind of god who has access to all the information at once, even to the mental states of all the characters , directly.

Keep in mind that although you can describe reliably what each character thinks and feels, for issues related to the coherence and quality of the narrative, you avoid going from one mind to another in a chaotic way, and instead from that it is chosen to focus the focus of attention on a character and what happens around him.

The novel Champion's breakfast, by Kurt Vonnegut, combines this type of narration with that of witness narrator, for example. Something similar happens in Fog, by Miguel de Unamuno.

3.2. Observer narrator

It is similar to the previous one, but in this case you do not have direct access to all the information of what happens. But nevertheless, the narrator gets involved as little as possible in what happens , both physically and psychologically. Try to be neutral and objective.


POV: Point of View (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 6 types de narrateurs et leur utilisation dans la littérature

Les 6 types de narrateurs et leur utilisation dans la littérature

Juin 30, 2022

Quand il s’agit de raconter des histoires, qu’elles soient réelles ou fictives, la manière dont le monde est décrit et les événements qui s’y déroulent importent peu. La manière dont la figure du narrateur est utilisée est également cruciale, même lorsqu'il semble que cela ne fait pas partie du récit lui-même.

Dans cet article, nous verrons ce qu'ils sont les principaux types de narrateurs dans les différentes œuvres littéraires qui expliquent des histoires et dans quelle manière choisir l’une ou l’autre a un effet sur l’impact psychologique que ces œuvres produisent.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 types de livres existants (selon différents critères)"

Les différents types de narrateurs et leurs caractéristiques

Les êtres humains se caractérisent, entre autres, par la création d'histoires, d'histoires. Ces histoires vont bien au-delà du monde des loisirs, comme on pourrait le penser si, gardant à l'esprit le concept de littérature, nous ne devrions nous concentrer que sur les romans les plus vendus. Ils offrent un moyen d'interpréter la réalité .


Ainsi, arrêter de mieux connaître les principaux types de narrateurs n’est pas une frivolité, car ce choix fait partie du processus créatif d’explication. Chacun d'eux donne un tout différent à l'histoire. Voyons une classification de ces catégories lors de la narration, en passant de narrateurs à la première personne à des narrations à la deuxième personne, pour atteindre finalement des narrateurs à la troisième personne.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 8 différences entre une histoire et un roman"

1. Narrateur à la première personne

Ce type de narrateur est très courant et permet d’imprimer un ton réaliste et expérientiel à l’histoire racontée. On suppose que la personne qui nous raconte l'histoire était là quand tout s'est passé , de sorte que nous supposons que l'univers dans lequel il se produit est le même que celui dans lequel le narrateur est présent, de sorte qu'il est soumis aux mêmes règles, approximativement.


De plus, le fait que tout soit raconté à la première personne nous permet d’avoir plus d’informations sur ce personnage, que même s’il n’est pas forcément le protagoniste, il a généralement une importance dans l’histoire, même si c’est pour aider à personnages à travers l'interaction du premier avec les secondes, voir comment leurs personnalités se touchent .

À son tour, cette catégorie peut être divisée en d'autres types de narrateurs. Ils sont les suivants.

1.1. Témoin Narrateur

Dans ces cas, le personnage qui joue le rôle de narrateur n'agit pas en tant que protagoniste, mais en tant que personne proche du protagoniste et qui assiste aux principaux événements qui articulent l'histoire.

C'est un type de narrateur très utile quand on veut montrer la personnalité du protagoniste , ainsi que son évolution personnelle et son arc narratif, d’une manière subtile, suggérant plus que de décrire de manière directe, puisqu’on n’a pas accès aux pensées réelles de ce personnage. Cependant, il est également possible d'adopter un style plus impersonnel, comme si tout était composé de rapports.


Des exemples de ce type de narrateur sont John Watson dans les romans de Sherlock Holmes ou Nick Carraway dans Le grand gatsby.

1.2. Le protagoniste du narrateur

C’est probablement le type de narrateur à la première personne le plus populaire et le plus utilisé, car c’est aussi l’un des plus intuitif et simple: l’histoire est expliquée du point de vue de la personne qui doit suivre l’arc principal de l’intrigue , comme nous le ferions dans la vraie vie si nous expliquions quelque chose qui nous est arrivé .

Cependant, lors de l'utilisation de cette ressource, il est possible d'utiliser de nombreuses nuances. Par exemple, parler de ce qui se passe dans le présent permet au public d'être immergé dans l'histoire.

1.3. Narrateur en flux de pensées

Ceci est un type de narrateur très peu utilisé, car il essaie de décrire littéralement les pensées de quelqu'un, tout comme ils émergent à la conscience . Par conséquent, tout est expliqué en temps réel, le présent étant le moment de référence.

Les différents narrateurs de Bruit et fureur, par William Faulkner, en sont un exemple.

2. Narrateur à la deuxième personne

Ce type de narrateur est caractérisé en expliquant une histoire à une personne spécifique. Il peut être présenté sous forme épistolaire, comme si tout était composé de lettres adressées à un destinataire, ou comme s’il s’agissait d’un vrai dialogue dans lequel l’un parle et l’autre écoute, faisant parfois voir que vous répondez aux questions posées par l'auditeur .

3. Narrateur à la troisième personne

Enfin, dans le narrateur à la troisième personne, qui nous raconte l’histoire se caractérise par ne pas participer ou participer le moins possible au cours de l'histoire . Il peut être divisé en deux catégories.

3.1. Narrateur omniscient

Un des types de narrateurs les plus utilisés.Il est parlé du point de vue d'une entité totalement étrangère au plan de la réalité dans lequel tout ce qui est expliqué se produit, comme s'il s'agissait d'une sorte de dieu ayant accès à toutes les informations à la fois, même aux états mentaux de tous les personnages directement.

N'oubliez pas que, même si vous pouvez décrire de manière fiable ce que chaque personnage pense et ressent, pour les problèmes liés à la cohérence et à la qualité du récit, vous évitez de passer d'un esprit à l'autre de manière chaotique à partir de là, on choisit de centrer l’attention sur un personnage et sur ce qui se passe autour de lui.

Le roman Le petit déjeuner des champions, de Kurt Vonnegut, combine ce type de narration avec celui de narrateur témoin, par exemple. Quelque chose de semblable se passe dans Brouillardpar Miguel de Unamuno.

3.2. Observateur narrateur

C'est semblable au précédent, mais dans ce cas, vous n'avez pas un accès direct à toutes les informations sur ce qui se passe. Cependant, le narrateur s'implique le moins possible dans ce qui se passe , à la fois physiquement et psychologiquement. Essayez d'être neutre et objectif.


The West | ContraPoints (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes