yes, therapy helps!
The 7 best remedies for constipation

The 7 best remedies for constipation

July 19, 2024

The digestive system is one of the most important in our body, since it allows us to obtain enough nutrients for the body to continue functioning and survive. But our body does not absorb all of the food, generating after the digestion a series of waste that we will later expel in the form of faeces.

However, it is possible that at some time and due to various circumstances we are not able to excrete these residues, which accumulate in the final part of the digestive tract, or despite being able to do so, it is carried out with difficulty. This is known as constipation, which can cause great discomfort and even be dangerous if there is an accumulation of feces inside. It is because of that Throughout this article we will see different remedies for constipation .


  • Related article: "This is the chemical dialogue between your brain and your stomach"

What is constipation?

In order to take into account what problem we want to act on, it is relevant to make a brief mention about what is or what constipation supposes.

We give the name of constipation to the medical condition in which defecation and expulsion of faecal waste does not occur with the usual frequency , generally due to the existence of a hardening and excessive dehydration of the feces. It is usually considered as such the existence of difficulties to defecate at least one out of four times or the absence of evacuation for three or more days.


Constipation can have a lot of origins, from a diet low in fiber to different functional problems of the excretory organs or even the existence of various diseases of which it can be a symptom. Also the existence of nerve activation such as stress and anxiety can contribute to its appearance.

Although usually constipation is usually a temporary problem (although there are people who have chronic constipation), the truth is that it usually generates discomfort such as pain if defecation is achieved, feeling full or gastric discomfort . In those cases in which stool is not expelled, some type of intervention will be necessary, either at the pharmacological level, through food or even in extreme cases through surgical procedures, since it can end up causing serious problems for the patient. health.


Different remedies for constipation

Here we indicate a series of different recommended remedies to encourage the expulsion of stool and relieve or eliminate constipation.

1. Hydrate

One of the problems that constipation usually generates is the dehydration of fecal waste and that of the subject himself. Drinking enough water is not an absolute guarantee of not suffering from constipation, but it is essential to stay hydrated so that the body does not look for the water it needs in elements such as feces : this hardens them and makes their passage difficult.

2. Consume fiber

Another element that makes us go to the bathroom more regularly It is the consumption of foods rich in fiber, such as cereals, legumes, nuts and fruit.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Astringent diet: how to carry it out and benefits"

3. Employ relaxation techniques

The existence of stress and anxiety can greatly hinder excretion, and it is therefore useful to perform different relaxation techniques. Among them we can find breathing techniques, progressive muscle relaxation or alternatives such as mindfulness.

4. Get massaged

Another way to promote the motility of our intestines is through mechanical stimulation, through various techniques of abdominal self-massage. Gentle pressure should be applied along the digestive tract , and it is advisable to apply circular movements.

5. Use physical activity

Another possible remedy for constipation to consider is through the realization of physical activity, which helps to stimulate the body. Among those who are considered most helpful is running (running), dancing or swimming. They can also help activities that include a direct exercise of the abdominal area, such as abdominal exercises.

6. Nutrition: use of foods with laxative and probiotic properties

There are many foods that have the ability to stimulate intestinal transit and facilitate defecation. Plums, orange, banana, honey, apple, lettuce, broccoli, raisins, papaya, lentils, licorice or yogurt are useful examples, as well as any food that includes a high fiber content . Usually we are talking about fruits, vegetables and cereals .

7. Use of laxative drugs

Beyond the above and in case the other options do not work, you can resort to the use of laxatives synthesized at the pharmacological level, like Dulcolax or Microlax . Of course, we must bear in mind that its use should be sporadic and limited to specific moments, because if a long-term continuous consumption is made it can cause our body to decrease its capacity to generate intestinal motility in a natural way or different side effects of variable severity.

Bibliographic references:

  • Longstreth GF, Thompson WG, Chey WD, Houghton LA, Mearin F, Spiller RC (2006). Functional bowel disorders. Gastroenterology (in English) 130 (5): 1480-91.
  • King, E. (2006). Information to the patient: Constipation. Spanish Journal of Digestive Diseases, 98 (4). Madrid Spain.

Remedy for Constipation in Newborns (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 meilleurs remèdes contre la constipation

Les 7 meilleurs remèdes contre la constipation

Décembre 7, 2021

Le système digestif est l’un des plus importants de notre corps, car il nous permet d’obtenir suffisamment de nutriments pour que le corps puisse continuer à fonctionner et à survivre. Mais notre corps n'absorbe pas toute la nourriture, générant après la digestion une série de déchets que nous évacuerons plus tard sous forme de matières fécales.

Cependant, il est possible qu'à un moment donné et en raison de circonstances diverses, nous ne soyons pas en mesure d'excréter ces résidus qui s'accumulent dans la partie finale du tube digestif ou bien qu'ils puissent le faire, ils sont difficiles à réaliser. Ceci est connu sous le nom de constipation, ce qui peut causer un grand inconfort et même être dangereux s'il y a une accumulation de matières fécales à l'intérieur. C'est pourquoi Tout au long de cet article, nous verrons différents remèdes contre la constipation. .


  • Article connexe: "Ceci est le dialogue chimique entre votre cerveau et votre estomac"

Qu'est-ce que la constipation?

Afin de prendre en compte le problème sur lequel nous voulons agir, il est pertinent de mentionner brièvement ce qui est ou ce que la constipation suppose.

Nous donnons le nom de constipation à l'état de santé dans lequel la défécation et l'expulsion des déchets fécaux ne se produisent pas à la fréquence habituelle , généralement due à l’existence d’un durcissement et d’une déshydratation excessive des matières fécales. On considère généralement comme telles l'existence de difficultés à déféquer au moins une fois sur quatre ou l'absence d'évacuation pendant trois jours ou plus.


La constipation peut avoir de nombreuses origines, d'un régime alimentaire pauvre en fibres à différents problèmes fonctionnels des organes excréteurs ou même à l'existence de diverses maladies dont elle peut être un symptôme. L'existence d'une activation nerveuse telle que le stress et l'anxiété peut également contribuer à son apparition.

Bien que la constipation soit généralement un problème temporaire (bien que certaines personnes souffrent de constipation chronique), la vérité est qu'elle génère généralement un inconfort, par exemple une douleur, lorsque la défécation est réalisée. sensation de malaise gastrique . Dans les cas où les selles ne sont pas expulsées, un certain type d'intervention sera nécessaire, que ce soit au niveau pharmacologique, par le biais de la nourriture, voire même dans des cas extrêmes, au moyen d'interventions chirurgicales, car cela peut entraîner de graves problèmes pour le patient. la santé.


Différents remèdes contre la constipation

Nous indiquons ici une série de différents remèdes recommandés pour encourager l'expulsion des selles et soulager ou éliminer la constipation.

1. hydrater

Un des problèmes que la constipation génère habituellement est la déshydratation des déchets fécaux et celle du sujet lui-même. Boire suffisamment d'eau n'est pas une garantie absolue de ne pas souffrir de constipation, mais il est essentiel de rester hydraté afin que le corps ne cherche pas l'eau dont il a besoin dans des éléments tels que les matières fécales : cela les durcit et rend leur passage difficile.

2. consommer des fibres

Un autre élément qui nous fait aller aux toilettes plus régulièrement C'est la consommation d'aliments riches en fibres, tels que les céréales, les légumineuses, les noix et les fruits.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Régime astringent: comment le mener et bienfaits"

3. Employer des techniques de relaxation

L'existence de stress et d'anxiété peut considérablement entraver l'excrétion et il est donc utile de pratiquer différentes techniques de relaxation. Parmi eux, on peut trouver des techniques de respiration, une relaxation musculaire progressive ou des alternatives telles que la pleine conscience.

4. se faire masser

Une autre façon de promouvoir la motilité de nos intestins est la stimulation mécanique, à travers diverses techniques d'auto-massage abdominal. Une légère pression doit être appliquée le long du tube digestif , et il est conseillé d’appliquer des mouvements circulaires.

5. Utilisez l'activité physique

Un autre remède possible pour la constipation à considérer est la réalisation d'une activité physique, qui aide à stimuler le corps. Parmi ceux qui sont considérés comme les plus utiles, il y a la course à pied, la danse ou la natation. Ils peuvent également aider les activités qui incluent un exercice direct de la région abdominale, tels que des exercices abdominaux.

6. Nutrition: utilisation d'aliments aux propriétés laxatives et probiotiques

Il existe de nombreux aliments capables de stimuler le transit intestinal et de faciliter la défécation. Les prunes, les oranges, les bananes, le miel, les pommes, la laitue, le brocoli, les raisins secs, la papaye, les lentilles, la réglisse et le yogourt sont des exemples utiles, de même que tout aliment à haute teneur en fibres . D'habitude on parle de fruits, légumes et céréales .

7. Utilisation de laxatifs

Au-delà de ce qui précède et si les autres options ne fonctionnent pas, vous pouvez avoir recours à des laxatifs synthétisés au niveau pharmacologique, comme Dulcolax ou Microlax . Bien sûr, nous devons garder à l'esprit que son utilisation doit être sporadique et limitée à des moments spécifiques, car si une consommation continue à long terme est prise, notre corps peut être amené à réduire sa capacité à générer de la motilité intestinale de manière naturelle ou à produire différents effets secondaires. de gravité variable.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Longstreth GF, GT Thompson, Chey WD, LA Houghton, Mearin F, Spiller RC (2006). Troubles de l'intestin fonctionnel. Gastroenterology (en anglais) 130 (5): 1480-91.
  • King, E. (2006). Information au patient: Constipation. Journal espagnol des maladies digestives, 98 (4). Madrid Espagne.

Les 8 meilleurs remèdes contre la constipation (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes