yes, therapy helps!
The 7 best sentences of Alexander Luria, the Russian neuropsychologist

The 7 best sentences of Alexander Luria, the Russian neuropsychologist

May 29, 2024

Alexander Luria (1902 - 1977), whose official name is transcribed as Aleksandr Románovich Lúriya, was the pioneer of modern neuropsychology.

Born in Kazan, Russia, before the Russian Revolution, he developed various studies and investigations that have formed the basis for this subdiscipline within psychology, in which the brain is the architect that originates the behavior.

In this article we have set out to make a collection of phrases by Alexander Luria that will allow us to know better their contributions and their theories.

  • Recommended article: "Alexander Luria: biography of the pioneer of neuropsychology"

Famous quotes from Alexander Luria

Born into a family of Jewish origin, Luria spoke German, French, English and Russian fluently. A disciple of Lev Vygotsky and a personal friend of Sigmund Freud, Alexander Luria shared his scientific contributions in more than 350 publications.


Without further delay, we will know his famous quotes together with a brief contextualization of each of them.

1. It is difficult to know the reason for my choice for psychology as the terrain of my immediate professional activity.

The academic career of Alexander Luria is somewhat strange. Contextualizing, it must be understood that the Russian Revolution happened just at a decisive moment of its formation, at the tender age of 7 years. He entered the university with only 15 years to study Psychology.

The phrase number 1 corresponds to his autobiographical book "Looking back", written in the year 1979. It is an opinion about his genuine interest in mental mechanisms.


2. The responsibilities we had and the opportunity to study a large number of patients with brain injuries were impressive. Thus, the years of disaster gave us the greatest opportunity to advance science.

In this sentence, Alexander Luria talks about neuropsychology in people with lesions in the brain. The branch of neuropsychology does not have as a means to cause certain injuries to evaluate the effects, but simply studies existing cases of people who have undergone certain reparative surgeries.

3. In a certain Siberian village, all bears are white. Your neighbor went to that town and saw a bear. What color was the bear?

The syllogism of phrase number three became especially popular in his day. Luria described this logical fallacy in one of his trips to visit an indigenous village in central Asia. I wanted to discover if there was a kind of logical reasoning that was used in all cultures and societies. Interestingly, the most common response among the members of that town was: "I do not know, why do not you ask my neighbor?"


Although Luria is widely known for his research and discoveries in patients with acquired brain damage and for the location in the brain of certain mental functions, it is also important to know that he was one of the pioneers in the design of lie detectors. And although he was a great scholar of psychophysiology, he also inquired about psychoanalysis and about human emotions in search of methods of "supplemented motor responses".

4. Talking is a miracle.

A phrase by Alexander Luria in which he shows us his deep interest and admiration for mental processes. Luria conceives the brain as a holistic entity and, like his teacher Lev Vygotsky, I try to find out the brain functions that, in association with others, form the fundamental basis of thought. This approach clashes with the postulates of other prestigious academics at the time, such as Karl Wernicke or Paul Broca, who were followers of the idea that certain specific regions of the brain corresponded to certain motor and cognitive functions.

This controversy between supporters of localizationism and anti-localization remained for much of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. At present, most academics agree that there is a middle ground between both positions: our brain functions as a system of interrelations, although it is also possible to detect some regions that are responsible for specific mental processes (for example, the Broca's area is especially linked to the production of language).

The same Alexander Luria proposed a theory on the organization in three levels of the brain: primary, secondary and tertiary. According to his approach, each brain area, through a complex network of neuronal connections, is responsible for specific mental functions:

  • Waking state, primary memory and internal homeostasis: brainstem, hypothalamus and limbic system.
  • Processing and storage of information: temporal lobe, occipital lobe and parietal lobe.
  • Motor capacity and behavioral programming: frontal lobe.

5. Our mission is not to "locate" man's superior psychological processes in limited areas of the cortex, but to find out, by careful analysis, which groups of concerted work areas of the brain are responsible for the execution of complex mental activity.

Always following Luria, these three levels constitute a functional system that interrelate. The superior type functions involve different brain regions and are carried out in a coordinated manner.

6. The knowledge that we have today of the brain is relatively small if we compare it with what we still have to discover and very large if we compare it with what we knew only a few years ago.

The Russian neuropsychologist was right to comment, in one of his books, that research on mental and brain processes is still very recent, and congratulated for the numerous knowledge that was being achieved in his time. The previous sentence by Alexander Luria is a good example of this.

7. In order to progress from the establishment of the symptom (loss of a given function) to the location of the corresponding mental activity, there is still a long way to go.

The work of Alexander Luria has been key to the time that the scientific community deepened in the investigation of the neuropsychological bases of human consciousness. His important discoveries in the field of neuropsychology have resulted in a scientific field of special interest for mental health professionals.


2017 Maps of Meaning 8: Neuropsychology of Symbolic Representation (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 meilleures phrases du neuropsychologue russe Alexander Luria

Les 7 meilleures phrases du neuropsychologue russe Alexander Luria

Juin 5, 2020

Alexander Luria (1902 - 1977), dont le nom officiel est transcrit en Aleksandr Románovich Lúriya, fut le pionnier de la neuropsychologie moderne.

Né à Kazan, en Russie, avant la révolution russe, il a développé diverses études et enquêtes qui ont constitué la base de cette sous-discipline psychologique, dans laquelle le cerveau est l'architecte à l'origine du comportement.

Dans cet article nous avons entrepris de faire une collection de phrases d'Alexander Luria cela nous permettra de mieux connaître leurs contributions et leurs théories.

  • Article recommandé: "Alexander Luria: biographie du pionnier de la neuropsychologie"

Citations célèbres d'Alexander Luria

Née dans une famille d'origine juive, Luria parle couramment l'allemand, le français, l'anglais et le russe. Disciple de Lev Vygotsky et ami personnel de Sigmund Freud, Alexander Luria a partagé ses contributions scientifiques dans plus de 350 publications.


Sans plus tarder, nous connaîtrons ses citations célèbres ainsi qu’une brève contextualisation de chacune d’elles.

1. Il est difficile de connaître la raison de mon choix pour la psychologie en tant que terrain de mon activité professionnelle immédiate.

La carrière académique d'Alexander Luria est quelque peu étrange. En contextualisant, il faut comprendre que la révolution russe s'est produite juste à un moment décisif de sa formation, à l'âge tendre de 7 ans. Il est entré à l'université avec seulement 15 ans pour étudier la psychologie.

La phrase numéro 1 correspond à son livre autobiographique "Looking back", écrit en 1979. Il s'agit d'un avis sur son véritable intérêt pour les mécanismes mentaux.


2. Les responsabilités que nous avions et l'opportunité d'étudier un grand nombre de patients souffrant de lésions cérébrales étaient impressionnantes. Ainsi, les années de désastre nous ont offert la plus grande opportunité de faire progresser la science.

Dans cette phrase, Alexander Luria parle de neuropsychologie chez les personnes atteintes de lésions cérébrales. La branche de la neuropsychologie n'a pas le moyen de causer certaines blessures pour en évaluer les effets, elle étudie simplement les cas existants de personnes ayant subi certaines chirurgies réparatrices.

3. Dans un certain village sibérien, tous les ours sont blancs. Votre voisin est allé dans cette ville et a vu un ours. De quelle couleur était l'ours?

Le syllogisme de la phrase numéro trois est devenu particulièrement populaire à son époque. Luria a décrit cette erreur logique dans l'un de ses voyages pour visiter un village autochtone d'Asie centrale. Je voulais découvrir s'il existait une sorte de raisonnement logique utilisé dans toutes les cultures et toutes les sociétés. Fait intéressant, la réponse la plus commune parmi les membres de cette ville a été: "Je ne sais pas, pourquoi ne demandez-vous pas à mon voisin?"


Bien que Luria soit largement connu pour ses recherches et ses découvertes sur des patients atteints de lésions cérébrales acquises et pour la localisation de certaines fonctions mentales dans le cerveau, il est également important de savoir qu'il était l'un des pionniers dans la conception de détecteurs de mensonges. Et même s’il était un grand érudit en psychophysiologie, il s’intéressait également à la psychanalyse et aux émotions humaines à la recherche de méthodes de «réponses motrices complétées».

4. Parler est un miracle.

Une phrase d'Alexander Luria dans laquelle il nous montre son intérêt profond et son admiration pour les processus mentaux. Luria conçoit le cerveau comme une entité holistique et, à l'instar de son professeur Lev Vygotsky, j'essaie de découvrir les fonctions cérébrales qui, en association avec d'autres, forment la base fondamentale de la pensée. Cette approche se heurte aux postulats d'autres universitaires prestigieux de l'époque, tels que Karl Wernicke ou Paul Broca, adeptes de l'idée que certaines régions spécifiques du cerveau correspondaient à certaines fonctions motrices et cognitives.

Cette controverse entre partisans du localisationnisme et de l'anti-localisation a duré une grande partie des XIXe et XXe siècles. À l’heure actuelle, la plupart des universitaires s’accordent pour dire qu’il existe un compromis entre les deux positions: notre cerveau fonctionne comme un système d’interrelations, bien qu’il soit également possible de détecter certaines régions responsables de processus mentaux spécifiques (par exemple, la La région de Broca est particulièrement liée à la production de la langue).

Le même Alexander Luria a proposé une théorie sur l'organisation en trois niveaux du cerveau: primaire, secondaire et tertiaire. Selon son approche, chaque zone du cerveau, à travers un réseau complexe de connexions neuronales, est responsable de fonctions mentales spécifiques:

  • État de veille, mémoire primaire et homéostasie interne: tronc cérébral, hypothalamus et système limbique.
  • Traitement et stockage de l'information: lobe temporal, lobe occipital et lobe pariétal.
  • Capacité motrice et programmation comportementale: lobe frontal.

5. Notre mission n'est pas de "localiser" les processus psychologiques supérieurs de l'homme dans des zones limitées du cortex, mais de découvrir, par une analyse minutieuse, quels groupes d'aires de travail concertées du cerveau sont responsables de l'exécution d'une activité mentale complexe.

Toujours à la suite de Luria, ces trois niveaux constituent un système fonctionnel interdépendant. Les fonctions de type supérieur impliquent différentes régions du cerveau et sont réalisées de manière coordonnée.

6. La connaissance que nous avons du cerveau aujourd'hui est relativement petite si nous la comparons avec ce que nous avons encore à découvrir et très grande si nous la comparons avec ce que nous savions seulement il y a quelques années.

Le neuropsychologue russe a eu raison de dire, dans l'un de ses livres, que la recherche sur les processus mentaux et cérébraux est encore très récente, et s'est félicité des nombreuses connaissances acquises à son époque. La phrase précédente d'Alexander Luria en est un bon exemple.

7. Pour passer de l’établissement du symptôme (perte d’une fonction donnée) à la localisation de l’activité mentale correspondante, il reste encore un long chemin à parcourir.

Les travaux d’Alexander Luria ont été déterminants à une époque où la communauté scientifique s’approfondissait dans la recherche des bases neuropsychologiques de la conscience humaine. Ses importantes découvertes dans le domaine de la neuropsychologie ont donné naissance à un domaine scientifique présentant un intérêt particulier pour les professionnels de la santé mentale.


2017 Maps of Meaning 8: Neuropsychology of Symbolic Representation (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes