yes, therapy helps!
The 7 differences between liberals and conservatives

The 7 differences between liberals and conservatives

October 31, 2022

Liberalism and conservatism, two philosophies that include political, economic, social and cultural aspects, are currently confused because of their frequent association in the same individuals and political movements. However, from a theoretical and historical point of view both ideologies are opposed in many key points.

In this article we will describe the main differences between the perspectives of the conservatives and those of the liberals . It is important to bear in mind that it is not the only political philosophies, but there are other very influential ones such as socialism, anarchism and authoritarianism. The union of several ideologies is extremely common.


  • Related article: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

What is conservatism?

In political science, the term "conservatism" refers to ideologies that focus on the conservation of social institutions of a given group , which can be framed in abstract concepts such as "nation" or in more concrete ones, such as States. It is also very common that conservatism is related to religion.

Throughout history there have been innumerable forms of conservatism, given that its manifestations depend on the characteristics of the sociocultural, temporal and geographical context in which they occur. However, conservative movements tend to have a vision of the human being and society that defends itself as "natural".


Conservative people tend to reject behaviors and ideas that do not correspond to the social norms they defend: those that are associated with the majority culture in a specific geographical area. A) Yes, conservatism defends tradition , which is understood as a way to preserve the social structure and stability.

The radical side of conservatism is made up of reactionary movements that oppose change and defend the recovery of "traditional values" that in many cases have practically disappeared in the present moment. This is the case of anti-abortionist currents that have had some political success in Spain in recent years.

  • You may be interested: "The philosophical theory of Edmund Burke"

Defining liberalism

Liberalism, at least in its most representative variant, emerged in Europe in the eighteenth century, in the context of the Enlightenment. At that time the main characteristic of the liberals was their rejection of established norms defended by conservatives , among them the absolute monarchy, the union between State and religion or the division of society into classes.


Currently the term "liberalism" is confused by the multiple uses that have been given. Predominate the conception of liberalism in its economic side (which defends the nonintervention of the State in the markets) and the American nomenclature, which is associated with progressivism; nevertheless, classical liberalism includes many different aspects.

What the different conceptions of liberalism have in common, whatever the priority aspect (economic, social, political and religious are some of the most important), is that they defend individual freedom in some of its facets . Thus, a social liberal could defend the homosexual marriage and an economic one the minimization of the taxes.

Currently there is an evident conflict between economic and social liberalism . The alliance between free market supporters, conservatives and state apparatuses increasingly harms individual rights, equality between people born in different social classes or freedom of opinion, fundamental aspects for classical liberals.

Differences between liberals and conservatives

The differences between liberalism and conservatism They cover a wide range of facets, from the ethics or vision of the human being to the conception of the State and the social structure. In any case, it is very common for conservative and liberal ideas to coexist in the same people, as is the case with other political philosophies.

Probably the most significant common ground between these two ideologies is that both support the primacy of private property over public . This characteristic, which is opposed to the approaches of socialism or those of social democracy, explains to a large extent the alliances between conservatives and liberals.

1. Tradition and change

Conservative people consider that maintaining traditions and social norms is fundamental to the health of society; this makes them reluctant to change, which can have negative consequences. Instead, Liberalism is opposed to any obstacle that prevents individual freedom and it has as an ideal the progress of humanity.

2. Individuality and collectivism

While conservatism is associated with the structuring of society according to the groups that compose it, such as families, for liberalism the individual is the basic human unit. In this sense, there is a clear mistrust regarding conformity with social norms and the subordination of minorities with respect to majorities.

  • You may be interested: "Is a person's IQ related to their political ideology?"

3. Personal freedom and civil rights

The basic value of liberalism is, as its name suggests, freedom; however, the way in which this concept is understood depends to a large extent on personal and ideological factors. In this sense historically they have defended social rights much more than conservatives although, again, there are many forms of conservatism.

4. Social structure and mobility

In general, conservative approaches propose that a certain social stratification, associated with historical and practical factors, is the natural and desirable state of human groups - at least of their own. On the other hand, for liberalism the social structure must depend on the skills and economic success of each individual.

5. Religion and moral values

In liberalism, the religious freedom of individuals prevails; the same happens with moral values, which should not be imposed on others beyond minimums preferably determined by society as a whole. In contrast, conservatism often uses religious morality as a tool of cohesion and social control .

  • Related article: "The 4 differences between moral, immoral and amoral"

6. Nationalism and internationalism

In the conservative ideologies, the exaltation of tradition, shared values ​​and the identity of a given group are combined in a natural way; this often leads to nationalism and protectionism. Liberals tend to defend internationalism and the minimization of trade restrictions worldwide.

7. Vision of the State and democracy

From a political point of view, liberals believe that the size and weight of the State in the functioning of society should be limited to the maximum; They also defend democracy and equality in the right to vote. Conservatism may be associated with an even greater rejection of the State , prioritizing the class structure and therefore the oligarchical tendencies.


The Differences among Liberals, Conservatives and Libertarians (Robert A. Levy) (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 différences entre libéraux et conservateurs

Les 7 différences entre libéraux et conservateurs

Novembre 20, 2022

Le libéralisme et le conservatisme, deux philosophies comprenant des aspects politiques, économiques, sociaux et culturels, sont actuellement confus en raison de leur association fréquente au sein des mêmes individus et des mêmes mouvements politiques. Cependant, d'un point de vue théorique et historique, les deux idéologies sont opposées sur de nombreux points essentiels.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les principaux différences entre les perspectives des conservateurs et celles des libéraux . Il est important de garder à l'esprit que ce ne sont pas les seules philosophies politiques, mais il en existe d'autres très influentes telles que le socialisme, l'anarchisme et l'autoritarisme. L'union de plusieurs idéologies est extrêmement commune.


  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

Qu'est-ce que le conservatisme?

En science politique, le terme "conservatisme" désigne des idéologies qui se concentrent sur la conservation des institutions sociales d'un groupe donné , qui peuvent être encadrés dans des concepts abstraits tels que «nation» ou plus concrets, tels que les États. Il est également très courant que le conservatisme soit lié à la religion.

Tout au long de l’histoire, il y a eu d'innombrables formes de conservatisme, étant donné que ses manifestations dépendent des caractéristiques du contexte socioculturel, temporel et géographique dans lequel ils se produisent. Cependant, les mouvements conservateurs ont tendance à avoir une vision de l'homme et de la société qui se défend comme "naturelle".


Les conservateurs ont tendance à rejeter les comportements et les idées qui ne correspondent pas aux normes sociales qu’ils défendent: ceux qui sont associés à la culture majoritaire dans une zone géographique donnée. Ainsi, le conservatisme défend la tradition , ce qui est compris comme un moyen de préserver la structure et la stabilité sociales.

Le radicalisme du conservatisme est constitué de mouvements réactionnaires qui s'opposent au changement et défendent la reconquête de "valeurs traditionnelles" qui, dans de nombreux cas, ont pratiquement disparu à l'heure actuelle. C'est le cas des courants anti-avortement qui ont connu un certain succès politique en Espagne ces dernières années.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "La théorie philosophique d'Edmund Burke"

Définir le libéralisme

Le libéralisme, du moins dans sa variante la plus représentative, est apparu en Europe au dix-huitième siècle, dans le contexte des Lumières. A cette époque, la principale caractéristique des libéraux était leur rejet des normes établies défendues par les conservateurs parmi eux, la monarchie absolue, l’union entre l’Etat et la religion ou la division de la société en classes.


Actuellement, le terme "libéralisme" est confondu avec les multiples utilisations qui ont été données. Prédominance de la conception du libéralisme dans sa dimension économique (qui défend la non-intervention de l'État sur les marchés) et dans la nomenclature américaine, qui est associée au progressisme; néanmoins, le libéralisme classique comprend de nombreux aspects différents.

Les conceptions différentes du libéralisme ont en commun, quel que soit leur aspect prioritaire (économique, social, politique et religieux, sont les plus importantes), c’est qu’elles défendent la liberté individuelle sous certaines de ses facettes. . Ainsi, un social libéral pourrait défendre le mariage homosexuel et un économique la minimisation des taxes.

Actuellement il y a un conflit évident entre le libéralisme économique et social . L'alliance entre partisans du marché libre, conservateurs et appareils d'État porte de plus en plus atteinte aux droits individuels, à l'égalité entre les personnes nées de différentes classes sociales ou à la liberté d'opinion, aspects fondamentaux des libéraux classiques.

Différences entre libéraux et conservateurs

Les différences entre libéralisme et conservatisme Ils couvrent un large éventail de facettes, allant de l'éthique ou de la vision de l'être humain à la conception de l'État et à la structure sociale. En tout état de cause, il est très courant que des idées conservatrices et libérales coexistent dans le même peuple, comme c'est le cas avec d'autres philosophies politiques.

Le point commun le plus important entre ces deux idéologies est probablement que les deux soutiennent la primauté de la propriété privée sur le public . Cette caractéristique, opposée aux approches du socialisme ou de la social-démocratie, explique dans une large mesure les alliances entre conservateurs et libéraux.

1. Tradition et changement

Les conservateurs considèrent que le maintien des traditions et des normes sociales est fondamental pour la santé de la société. cela les rend peu enclins à changer, ce qui peut avoir des conséquences négatives. En échange, Le libéralisme s'oppose à tout obstacle empêchant la liberté individuelle et il a comme idéal le progrès de l'humanité.

2. Individualité et collectivisme

Alors que le conservatisme est associé à la structuration de la société en fonction des groupes qui la composent, tels que les familles, pour le libéralisme, l'individu est l'unité humaine de base. En ce sens, la méfiance vis-à-vis de la conformité aux normes sociales et de la subordination des minorités aux majorités est évidente.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le QI d'une personne est-il lié à son idéologie politique?"

3. Liberté personnelle et droits civils

La valeur fondamentale du libéralisme est, comme son nom l'indique, la liberté; Cependant, la manière dont ce concept est compris dépend dans une large mesure de facteurs personnels et idéologiques. Dans ce sens, historiquement ils ont défendu les droits sociaux beaucoup plus que les conservateurs encore une fois, il existe de nombreuses formes de conservatisme.

4. Structure sociale et mobilité

En général, les approches conservatrices suggèrent qu’une certaine stratification sociale, associée à des facteurs historiques et pratiques, constitue l’état naturel et souhaitable des groupes humains - du moins les leurs. Par contre, pour le libéralisme la structure sociale doit dépendre des compétences et du succès économique de chaque individu.

5. Religion et valeurs morales

Dans le libéralisme, la liberté religieuse des individus prévaut; Il en va de même pour les valeurs morales, qui ne doivent pas être imposées à d'autres que des minima déterminés de préférence par la société dans son ensemble. En revanche, le conservatisme utilise souvent la morale religieuse comme outil de cohésion et contrôle social .

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 différences entre moral, immoral et amoral"

6. Nationalisme et internationalisme

Dans les idéologies conservatrices, l'exaltation de la tradition, les valeurs partagées et l'identité d'un groupe donné se combinent de manière naturelle; cela conduit souvent au nationalisme et au protectionnisme. Les libéraux ont tendance à défendre l'internationalisme et la minimisation des restrictions commerciales dans le monde entier.

7. Vision de l'Etat et démocratie

D'un point de vue politique, les libéraux estiment que la taille et le poids de l'État dans le fonctionnement de la société devraient être limités au maximum. Ils défendent également la démocratie et l'égalité dans le droit de vote. Le conservatisme peut être associé à un rejet encore plus grand de l'État , en donnant la priorité à la structure de classe et donc aux tendances oligarchiques.


"Le "président des riches" se penche sur les pauvres" (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes