yes, therapy helps!
The 7 most common specific phobias

The 7 most common specific phobias

July 18, 2024

Specific phobias are a fairly common clinical picture in psychology consultations. We all know someone who feels horror when they see a spider in the distance, even if it measures less than two centimeters.

He panics as he climbs the steps of a spiral staircase. That turns pale when you see an airplane taking off, even if it's in a movie or you climb seven floors on foot in order not to take an elevator, when we are not ourselves affected.

Next we will see which are the most common specific phobias and what are their characteristics.

What are specific phobias?

Specific phobias are those in which the element that produces strong fear or fear can be located and isolated from the rest in a relatively simple way.


Within anxiety disorders, specific phobias are the most frequent in the general population, with an estimated prevalence of 10%.

In phobias there is an intense and persistent fear, excessive or irrational beforeobjects or concrete situations (animals, heights, closed spaces, etc). Physical proximity or anticipation of the object or situation feared causes an immediate response of anxiety (sweating, tachycardia, palpitations, tremors, dizziness, etc.) that can lead to panic attack, so the person will try to avoid those objects or situations in the future . To be able to diagnose a phobia, it must produce a great interference or high degree of discomfort in the life of the subject.


  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Most common specific phobias

Below you can see a compilation of the most widespread specific phobias, with a basic description of each one.

1. Phobia to heights or acrophobia

Acrophobia is an intense and irrational fear of heights, even when there is no risk. People who are afraid of heights are very anxious when approaching a lookout, or precipice, climbing a high floor, crossing bridges, or even staying in high places in cinemas, theaters or stadiums.

Many patients with phobia of heights they fear the sensations they experience in the heights , such as unstable balance, sweating or dizziness. The feeling of panic can be disproportionate even with little height. It is estimated that between 3 and 5% of the population suffers fear of heights, being one of the most common phobias.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Acrophobia (fear of heights): what is it and how to overcome it?"

2. Fear of flying or aerophobia

Aerophobia is the irrational and excessive fear of traveling by plane. The fear of flying is related to having an accident, perceive instability in the plane , to think about not being able to escape in mid-flight, to feel that one does not have control of the situation or to suffer feelings of panic during the flight.

Although it seems that more than 90% of passengers travel with fears of some kind, people suffering from this phobia, approximately 3%, not only experience a slight concern at the time of landing and takeoff, but intense anxiety and excessive that prevent them from planning, or imagine a future trip by plane, even months before carrying it out.

3. Claustrophobia

This disorder involves the excessive fear of being in small spaces . It is estimated that between 2 and 4% of the population suffers from this phobia. Breathing difficulties and fear of suffocation, along with the fear of not being able to move or escape, are typical phenomena in claustrophobia. These people tend to avoid elevators, tunnels, the subway, small or windowless rooms, telephone booths, closing the door or bolt in a bathroom, etc.

4. Animal phobia (zoophobia)

Fear of some animals (spiders, dogs, birds, snakes, cats) have their origin in ancestral fears that have allowed our ancestors to survive . The phobia of animals is another of the most common, affecting between 3 and 5% of the population. Among the fears of animals (zoophobia), the most frequent are arachnophobia (fear of spiders), ophidophobia (fear of snakes), cynophobia (fear of dogs), ornithophobia (fear of birds) or ailurophobia ( fear of cats).

It is common for people with this phobia to fear the physical appearance and movements of the feared animals. In the case of small animals (insects, spiders, rats) there is both a reaction of fear and a feeling of disgust or disgust. Interestingly, many affected do not believe that the animal will hurt them, but think that they will experience unpleasant sensations, lose control, or hurt themselves while trying to escape.

5. Blood phobia, injections or wounds (SIH)

Approximately 2-3% of the population has a blood phobia, injections or wounds (SIH).People who have this type of phobia, usually avoid all situations where they anticipate that they will see or be in contact with blood, as in blood draws. Most phobic to blood (hematophobia) They also have phobia of injections, although only a minority of them have a blood phobia.

Unlike the other phobias, the pattern of anxiety response is very different. A response occurs in two phases, in which at first, and in the presence of needles, blood or wounds appears a rapid increase in anxiety (palpitations, increased frequency and intensity of breathing, muscle tension, sweating) and later, in a second phase, a rapid drop in blood pressure and heart rate, which causes dizziness and can lead to fainting.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Blood phobia: everything there is to know about hematophobia"

6. Brontofobia

the brontofobia is the fear of atmospheric phenomena such as thunder, lightning and storms . Approximately 2% present this phobia. It usually begins in childhood and can continue into adult life. When the lightning appears or the sound of thunder is heard, the anxiety begins to increase in the affected person.

The main fear is to suffer damage or be struck by lightning, although it is also possible that other fears appear, such as losing control of the situation, becoming unconscious or suffering a heart attack because of the anxiety experienced.

7. Dentophobia or dental phobia

Dental phobia, consists of a extreme, unjustified and persistent fear of the dentist . Between 2 and 3% of the population suffers from this phobia, where it is very common that just the mere thought of going to the dentist causes high anxiety, even weeks before the appointment.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bados, A. (2009). Specific phobias: Nature, evaluation and treatment. Electronic publication

Symptoms of Phobia (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 phobies spécifiques les plus courantes

Les 7 phobies spécifiques les plus courantes

Novembre 11, 2022

Les phobies spécifiques constituent un tableau clinique assez commun dans les consultations de psychologie. Nous connaissons tous quelqu'un qui éprouve de l'horreur lorsqu'il voit une araignée au loin, même si elle mesure moins de deux centimètres.

Il panique en montant les marches d'un escalier en colimaçon. Ça pâlit quand on voit un avion décoller, que ce soit dans un film ou qu'on grimpe sur sept étages à pied pour ne pas prendre l'ascenseur, quand on n'est pas nous-mêmes touchés.

Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont les phobies spécifiques les plus courantes et quelles sont leurs caractéristiques.

Quelles sont les phobies spécifiques?

Les phobies spécifiques sont celles dans lesquelles l'élément qui produit une peur ou une peur forte peut être situé et isolé du reste d'une manière relativement simple.


Parmi les troubles anxieux, les phobies spécifiques sont les plus fréquentes dans la population générale, avec une prévalence estimée à 10%.

Dans les phobies, il existe une peur intense et persistante, excessive ou irrationnelle devant des objets ou des situations concrètes (animaux, hauteurs, espaces clos, etc.). La proximité physique ou l’anticipation de l’objet ou de la situation redouté provoque une réaction immédiate d’anxiété (transpiration, tachycardie, palpitations, tremblements, vertiges, etc.) pouvant conduire à une attaque de panique, de sorte que va essayer d'éviter ces objets ou situations à l'avenir . Pour pouvoir diagnostiquer une phobie, celle-ci doit provoquer une grande interférence ou un degré élevé d'inconfort dans la vie du sujet.


  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Phobies spécifiques les plus courantes

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une compilation des phobies spécifiques les plus répandues, avec une description de base de chacune d’elles.

1. Phobie à la hauteur ou acrophobie

L'acropophobie est une peur intense et irrationnelle des hauteurs, même sans risque. Les gens qui ont peur des hauteurs sont très inquiets lorsqu'ils s'approchent d'un belvédère, d'un précipice, de monter un étage élevé, de traverser des ponts ou même de rester en hauteur dans les cinémas, les théâtres ou les stades.

Beaucoup de patients atteints de phobie des hauteurs ils craignent les sensations qu'ils éprouvent dans les hauteurs , tels que l’équilibre instable, la transpiration ou les vertiges. La sensation de panique peut être disproportionnée même avec une petite hauteur. On estime qu'entre 3 et 5% de la population souffre de la peur des hauteurs, l'une des phobies les plus courantes.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'acrophobie (peur des hauteurs): qu'est-ce que c'est et comment le surmonter?"

2. Peur de voler ou aérophobie

L’aérophobie est la peur irrationnelle et excessive de voyager en avion. La peur de voler est liée à un accident, perçoit une instabilité dans l'avion , penser à ne pas pouvoir s’échapper en plein vol, à sentir que l’on n’a pas le contrôle de la situation ou à ressentir un sentiment de panique pendant le vol.

Bien qu’il semble que plus de 90% des passagers voyagent avec des craintes, les personnes souffrant de cette phobie, environ 3%, éprouvent non seulement une légère préoccupation au moment de l’atterrissage et du décollage, mais aussi une anxiété intense et excessifs qui les empêchent de planifier ou d’imaginer un futur voyage en avion, même des mois avant de l’exécuter.

3. Claustrophobie

Ce trouble implique la peur excessive d'être dans de petits espaces . On estime qu'entre 2 et 4% de la population souffre de cette phobie. Les difficultés respiratoires et la peur d'étouffement, ainsi que la peur de ne pas pouvoir bouger ou de s'échapper, sont des phénomènes typiques de la claustrophobie. Ces personnes ont tendance à éviter les ascenseurs, les tunnels, le métro, les petites pièces sans fenêtre, les cabines téléphoniques, la fermeture de la porte ou le verrou d'une salle de bain, etc.

4. Phobie animale (zoophobie)

Peur de certains animaux (araignées, chiens, oiseaux, serpents, chats) ont leur origine dans les peurs ancestrales qui ont permis à nos ancêtres de survivre . La phobie des animaux est une autre des plus courantes, touchant entre 3 et 5% de la population. Parmi les peurs des animaux (zoophobie), les plus fréquentes sont l'arachnophobie (peur des araignées), l'ophidophobie (peur des serpents), la cynophobie (peur des chiens), l'ornithophobie (peur des oiseaux) ou l'ailurophobie ( peur des chats).

Il est fréquent que les personnes atteintes de cette phobie craignent l'apparence physique et les mouvements des animaux redoutés. Dans le cas de petits animaux (insectes, araignées, rats), il y a à la fois une réaction de peur et un sentiment de dégoût ou de dégoût. Fait intéressant, beaucoup de personnes touchées ne croient pas que l'animal va leur faire mal, mais pensent qu'elles vont éprouver des sensations désagréables, perdre le contrôle de leur esprit ou se faire mal en essayant de s'échapper.

5. Phobie sanguine, injections ou plaies (SIH)

Environ 2 à 3% de la population souffre de phobie du sang, d’injections ou de plaies (SIH).Les personnes atteintes de ce type de phobie évitent généralement toutes les situations dans lesquelles elles prévoient voir ou être en contact avec du sang, comme lors de la prise de sang. Phobique au sang (hématophobie) Ils ont également une phobie des injections, bien que seule une minorité d’entre eux ait une phobie du sang.

Contrairement aux autres phobies, le schéma de réponse à l'anxiété est très différent. Une réponse se produit en deux phases, au cours desquelles apparaissent d'abord une augmentation rapide de l'anxiété (palpitations, augmentation de la fréquence et de l'intensité de la respiration, de la tension musculaire, de la transpiration) en présence d'aiguilles, de sang ou de plaies. et plus tard, dans une deuxième phase, une chute rapide de la pression artérielle et du rythme cardiaque, ce qui provoque des vertiges et peut provoquer des évanouissements.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Phobie sanguine: tout ce qu'il y a à savoir sur l'hématophobie"

6. Brontofobia

le brontofobia est le peur des phénomènes atmosphériques tels que le tonnerre, la foudre et les tempêtes . Environ 2% présentent cette phobie. Il commence généralement dans l'enfance et peut continuer jusqu'à l'âge adulte. Lorsque la foudre apparaît ou que le tonnerre se fait entendre, l'anxiété commence à augmenter chez la personne touchée.

La peur principale est de subir des dommages ou d'être frappé par la foudre, bien qu'il soit également possible que d'autres craintes apparaissent, telles que la perte de contrôle de la situation, la perte de conscience ou une crise cardiaque en raison de l'anxiété ressentie.

7. Dentophobie ou phobie dentaire

Phobie dentaire, se compose d'un peur extrême, injustifiée et persistante du dentiste . De 2 à 3% de la population souffre de cette phobie, où il est très courant que le simple fait d'aller chez le dentiste provoque une grande anxiété, même des semaines avant le rendez-vous.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bados, A. (2009). Phobies spécifiques: Nature, évaluation et traitement. Publication électronique
Articles Connexes