yes, therapy helps!
The 7 most important human values: what they are and how to develop them

The 7 most important human values: what they are and how to develop them

January 27, 2023

It may seem normal to us today, but to consider that all human beings have a series of inviolable rights is something relatively new. Until not so long ago, slavery was still allowed and enjoyed good social acceptance, and racist theories are used as an excuse to discriminate flagrantly and in full view.

The entrance onto the scene of human values it has been one of the factors that has precipitated the change in the last decades. The popularization of this notion, which goes hand in hand with human rights, has helped us to create a frame of reference from which to judge whether people are treated with dignity and whether their integrity is at risk or not. Let's see which are the main ones and in what way we are affected by the fact of having them present and keeping them present in our day to day life.


  • Related article: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

What are values?

To understand what human values ​​are, we must first understand what values ​​are in the context of philosophy and ethics. These are the set of ideas that guide our way of thinking and set goals in relation to the impact we must have on society and on the environment in general (and, by extension, on ourselves, given that we are in that environment). So, it is a set of beliefs that tell us about how things should be. They serve as reference to know what is right and what is wrong, and therefore have a great importance as a common element by which a society decides which are the principles that govern it.


Human values, in particular, are those that they are a fundamental and necessary part of the existence of societies in which as many people as possible are comfortable and can live well. They are the guidelines that serve as a guide to behave in a way that benefits the maximum number of human beings.

Since they are very important, many of them appear in many cultures, although in different forms and being applied to different groups.

Therefore, human values ​​go hand in hand with human rights, since they establish a framework of minimum requirements necessary to create social fabrics in which no one is excluded a priori and in which the only thing that defines how we are treated is how we act: if against others or in favor of their well-being.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 6 differences between ethics and morals"

The main human values

Although there is no objective and rigid way to categorize different human values, in general it is understood that the most important are the following. In the following list you can better understand what each of them refers to.


1. Humility

Humility is not just a matter of maintaining a pleasant public image for others, away from arrogance. It is also a value that helps us to promote the appearance of changes to better both in our lives and in those of others.

In the first place, it helps us because its presence means that we do not rest on our laurels, that is, that we assume the fragility of our successes and the way in which a change of context can make those progresses disappear. In other words, it helps us to be proactive and at the same time to reinforce the projects we undertake, making mistakes and setbacks not cost us so expensive.

On the other, this is one of the human values ​​that favor others by providing motivation. Maintaining humility means being human at all times, so that the rest can identify with us more easily and will be less likely to feel intimidated when embarking on a similar path.

2. Responsibility

Responsibility makes us assume the consequences of our actions, and that among these consequences we contemplate the impact that what we do can have on the lives of others. In other words, it helps us not to do things that have a high cost for the rest, which obviously benefits those around us but also us, since it facilitates us to create social bonds.

3. Honesty

Honesty leads us to create bonds of empathy with the rest and, at the same time, to share with others the relevant information that we have obtained from our experiences. In this way, information flows through personal relationships, and that serves as a glue of social cohesion, essential to create environments in which cooperation helps us not to leave anyone behind .

4. Respect

Respect leads us to create a climate of communication in which no one feels attacked. This seems a minor detail, but in fact it is relevant, especially in relationships where there is not too much closeness. In the face of uncertainty, it is very easy to get defensive and create conflicts from nothing , which is especially risky in societies where there are no mechanisms to prevent the onset of violence.

5. Gratitude

This is a human value that leads us to want to compensate in some way the forms of altruism, so that the latter is promoted. Much of what makes us progress is based on favors performed spontaneously , by the simple recognition of the appreciation we feel for another person.

6. Prudence

Prudence leads us not to rush and to consider the pros and cons of an action with significant consequences , which is important if we bear in mind that acting without foreseeing what can happen can negatively affect several people and destabilize environments.

7. Sensitivity

It is what leads us to connect with others taking into account their fears, their needs and their beliefs. It is a value of damage control, which prevents us from accidentally damaging others, from the adoption of their point of view.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gelfand, Michele J. (2018). Rule Makers, Rule Breakers: How Tight and Loose Cultures Wire Our World. Simon & Schuster.
  • Tetlock, Philip E. (2007). Thinking the unthinkable: sacred values ​​and taboo cognitions. Trends in Cognitive Sciences. 7 (7): pp. 320 - 24.

Why Every Man NEEDS Core Values + 10 Personal Values of History's Great Men (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 valeurs humaines les plus importantes: ce qu'elles sont et comment les développer

Les 7 valeurs humaines les plus importantes: ce qu'elles sont et comment les développer

Mars 7, 2021

Cela peut sembler normal pour nous aujourd'hui, mais considérer que tous les êtres humains ont une série de droits inviolables est une chose relativement nouvelle. Il n'y a pas si longtemps, l'esclavage était encore autorisé et bénéficiait d'une bonne acceptation sociale, et les théories racistes sont utilisées comme prétexte pour discriminer de manière flagrante et complète.

L'entrée sur la scène des valeurs humaines c'est l'un des facteurs qui a précipité le changement au cours des dernières décennies. La vulgarisation de cette notion, qui va de pair avec les droits de l'homme, nous a permis de créer un cadre de référence permettant de juger si une personne est traitée avec dignité et si son intégrité est en danger ou non. Voyons quels sont les principaux et de quelle manière nous sommes touchés par leur présence et leur maintien dans notre vie quotidienne.


  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

Quelles sont les valeurs?

Pour comprendre ce que sont les valeurs humaines, nous devons d’abord comprendre ce que sont les valeurs dans le contexte de la philosophie et de l’éthique. Ce sont les ensemble d'idées qui guident notre façon de penser et fixent des objectifs en ce qui concerne l'impact que nous devons avoir sur la société et sur l'environnement en général (et, par extension, sur nous-mêmes, étant donné que nous sommes dans cet environnement). C'est donc un ensemble de croyances qui nous dit comment les choses devraient être. Ils servent de référence pour savoir ce qui est juste et ce qui est faux, et ont donc une grande importance en tant qu’élément commun permettant à une société de décider quels sont les principes qui la régissent.


Les valeurs humaines, en particulier, sont celles qui ils sont une partie fondamentale et nécessaire de l'existence des sociétés dans lequel autant de personnes que possible sont à l'aise et peuvent bien vivre. Ce sont les lignes directrices qui servent de guide pour se comporter d'une manière qui profite au plus grand nombre possible d'êtres humains.

Étant donné qu’ils sont très importants, beaucoup d’entre eux apparaissent dans de nombreuses cultures, bien que sous des formes différentes et s’appliquant à différents groupes.

Par conséquent, les valeurs humaines vont de pair avec les droits de l'homme, puisqu'elles établissent un cadre d'exigences minimales nécessaires pour créer des tissus sociaux dans lesquels personne ne soit exclu a priori et dans lesquelles la seule chose qui définit la manière dont nous sommes traités est la manière dont nous sommes traités. nous agissons: si contre les autres ou en faveur de leur bien-être.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 6 différences entre éthique et morale"

Les principales valeurs humaines

Bien qu’il n’existe aucun moyen objectif et rigide de catégoriser différentes valeurs humaines, il est généralement admis que les plus importantes sont les suivantes. Dans la liste suivante, vous comprendrez mieux à quoi chacun d'entre eux fait référence.


1. humilité

L'humilité ne consiste pas seulement à maintenir une image publique agréable pour les autres, loin de l'arrogance. C'est aussi une valeur qui nous aide à promouvoir l’apparition de changements pour mieux à la fois dans nos vies et dans celles des autres.

En premier lieu, cela nous aide parce que sa présence signifie que nous ne nous reposons pas sur nos lauriers, c’est-à-dire que nous assumons la fragilité de nos succès et la manière dont un changement de contexte peut faire disparaître ces progrès. En d’autres termes, cela nous aide à être proactifs et à renforcer les projets que nous entreprenons, en faisant des erreurs et des revers qui ne nous coûtent pas si cher.

De l’autre, c’est l’une des valeurs humaines qui favorisent les autres en les motivant. Maintenir l'humilité signifie être humain à tout moment, de sorte que le reste puisse s'identifier plus facilement à nous et risque moins de se sentir intimidé lorsqu'il s'engage dans une voie similaire.

2. responsabilité

La responsabilité nous oblige à assumer les conséquences de nos actes et, parmi ces conséquences, nous envisageons l'impact que nos actions peuvent avoir sur la vie des autres. En d'autres termes, cela nous aide à ne pas faire des choses qui ont un coût élevé pour le reste, ce qui profite évidemment à notre entourage mais également à nous, car cela nous permet de créer des liens sociaux.

3. honnêteté

L’honnêteté nous amène à créer des liens d’empathie avec les autres et, en même temps, à partager avec d’autres les informations pertinentes que nous avons obtenues de nos expériences. De cette manière, l’information circule dans les relations personnelles et constitue un élément de cohésion sociale indispensable pour créer environnements dans lesquels la coopération nous aide à ne laisser personne derrière .

4. le respect

Le respect nous amène à créer un climat de communication dans lequel personne ne se sent attaqué. Cela semble un détail mineur, mais en réalité, il est pertinent, en particulier dans les relations où il n’ya pas trop de proximité. Face à l'incertitude, il est très facile d'être défensif et de créer des conflits à partir de rien , ce qui est particulièrement risqué dans les sociétés où il n’existe aucun mécanisme permettant d’empêcher le déclenchement de la violence.

5. Gratitude

C’est une valeur humaine qui nous conduit à vouloir compenser d’une manière ou d’une autre les formes d’altruisme, afin de promouvoir ces dernières. Une grande partie de ce qui nous fait progresser est basé sur des faveurs effectuées spontanément , par la simple reconnaissance de l'appréciation que nous ressentons pour une autre personne.

6. Prudence

La prudence nous conduit à ne pas nous précipiter et à considérer les avantages et les inconvénients de une action aux conséquences importantes , ce qui est important si nous gardons à l'esprit qu'agir sans prévoir ce qui peut arriver peut affecter négativement plusieurs personnes et déstabiliser des environnements.

7. sensibilité

C'est ce qui nous amène à nous connecter aux autres en tenant compte de leurs peurs, de leurs besoins et de leurs croyances. C’est une valeur du contrôle des dommages, qui nous empêche d’endommager accidentellement d’autres, de l’adoption de leur point de vue.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gelfand, Michele J. (2018). Créateurs de règles, briseurs de règles: Comment des cultures serrées et lâches nouent notre monde. Simon et Schuster.
  • Tetlock, Philip E. (2007). Penser l'impensable: valeurs sacrées et cognitions taboues. Tendances en sciences cognitives. 7 (7): pp. 320 - 24.

Comment peut-on transmettre les valeurs à ses enfants ? (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes