yes, therapy helps!
The 7 phases of senile and early dementia

The 7 phases of senile and early dementia

November 25, 2022

The concept "senile dementia" is used to refer to degenerative diseases that affect cognitive functioning, particularly memory, and that occur at advanced ages. Conversely, we speak of early or presenile dementia when symptoms occur earlier than expected, usually at maturity.

In this article we will describe the 7 phases of senile dementia and premature dementia indistinctly, since the development of cognitive deterioration follows the same approximate general lines regardless of the age at which the symptoms begin to manifest.

  • Related article: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

The 7 phases of dementia

There are a large number of diseases that can cause dementia; Some of the most common and known are Alzheimer's, Lewy and recurrent strokes. Each disorder of this type initially affects different regions of the brain, although symptomatic differences are reduced in advanced stages.


Although the symptoms of dementia depend on the specific alteration of each patient, the overall progress of these diseases has been divided into seven phases depending on the degree of cognitive deterioration that the person presents at a given moment.

1. Absence of cognitive impairment

The first stage of cognitive deterioration corresponds to the absence of it; therefore, most people are in this phase, which can be included along with the next two in the category "pre-dementia", characterized by a normal or almost normal cognitive functioning.

A person is considered to be in phase 1 when does not present significant cognitive symptoms that may be attributable to brain deterioration, as memory losses more relevant than those that occur due to lack of energy or attention, among other common factors.


2. Memory deficits associated with age

Aging, and in particular the arrival of old age, is naturally associated with small memory losses that are manifested mainly in forgetting names or locations of objects. The second phase of cognitive deterioration is characterized by the presence of these deficits in a more or less usual way.

Although in many cases the appearance of occasional forgetfulness is only a consequence of age, in some cases the memory losses may indicate a future severe impairment of cognition , especially if the frequency of these is high and if the person is relatively young so as to have typical forgetfulness of old age.

3. Mild cognitive impairment

The concept of "mild cognitive impairment" is used to describe cases in which there are notable signs of memory impairment and in the performance of daily tasks. In this phase, the cognitive deficits are more marked than would be expected for the age of the person, even taking into account aging.


People with mild cognitive impairment have a greater risk of developing dementia that those that do not present it, although frequently the progress of the deficits stops at this stage. It is usual that those who suffer this type of deterioration have problems to retain information, to remember words, to concentrate or to orient themselves.

  • Related article: "Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI): concept, causes and symptoms"

4. Mild or early dementia

The fourth phase corresponds to the onset of dementia as such. In this stage, which usually lasts approximately two years, changes in personality and mood begin to appear . Since social skills also deteriorate, the frequency of social interaction is often reduced.

Cognitive problems become much more evident from the onset of dementia. Patients usually have some awareness of their disease when they reach this stage, although dementia also affects this recognition. They also tend to deny their symptoms as a defense mechanism.

5. Moderate dementia

During the intermediate stage of dementia, the affected people begin to need the help of other people to carry out daily tasks . As the disease progresses, capacities such as using money, telephones or kitchen tools, reading and writing, remembering information about oneself and even dressing up deteriorate.

6. Moderately severe dementia

In this phase the problems of memory and cognition have worsened to the point that they interfere in the realization of a large number of activities; it will continue to increase as dementia progresses. The most frequent when reaching this stage is that the person need constant supervision of one or more caregivers .

As for the most common symptoms and signs, in addition to the worsening of memory problems (which already include the recognition of close people) we find the appearance of feelings of anxiety and agitation, problems sleeping, ambulation, obsessive and repetitive behaviors, delusions or aggressiveness.

7. Severe or advanced dementia

The average duration of the final stage of dementia is approximately two and a half years. Advanced dementia is characterized by Generalized loss of psychomotor skills , including those that are necessary to talk, walk, eat or use the bathroom.

Although the progress of each case of dementia depends on the disease that causes it, they are all very similar during the final period because structural deterioration has spread to all regions of the brain.


Caregiver Training: Refusal to Bathe | UCLA Alzheimer's and Dementia Care (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 phases de la démence sénile et précoce

Les 7 phases de la démence sénile et précoce

Juillet 16, 2022

Le concept de "démence sénile" est utilisé pour désigner les maladies dégénératives qui affectent le fonctionnement cognitif, en particulier la mémoire, et qui surviennent à un âge avancé. Inversement, on parle de démence précoce ou présénile lorsque les symptômes apparaissent plus tôt que prévu, généralement à maturité.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les 7 phases de démence sénile et de démence prématurée indistinctement, le développement de la détérioration cognitive suit les mêmes lignes générales approximatives, quel que soit l’âge auquel les symptômes commencent à se manifester.

  • Article connexe: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

Les 7 phases de la démence

Un grand nombre de maladies peuvent causer la démence. Parmi les plus courantes et les plus connues sont la maladie d'Alzheimer, l'AVC et les AVC récurrents. Chaque trouble de ce type affecte initialement différentes régions du cerveau, bien que les différences symptomatiques soient réduites aux stades avancés.


Bien que les symptômes de la démence dépendent de l'altération spécifique de chaque patient, l'évolution globale de ces maladies a été divisée en trois catégories: sept phases en fonction du degré de détérioration cognitive que la personne présente à un moment donné.

1. Absence de déficience cognitive

Le premier stade de détérioration cognitive correspond à son absence; par conséquent, la plupart des gens entrent dans cette phase, qui peut être incluse avec les deux suivantes dans la catégorie "pré-démence", caractérisée par un fonctionnement cognitif normal ou presque normal.

Une personne est considérée comme étant en phase 1 lorsque ne présente pas de symptômes cognitifs importants pouvant être attribuable à la détérioration du cerveau, les pertes de mémoire étant plus importantes que celles dues à un manque d'énergie ou d'attention, entre autres facteurs communs.


2. Déficits de mémoire associés à l'âge

Le vieillissement, et en particulier l'arrivée de la vieillesse, est naturellement associé à de petites pertes de mémoire qui se manifestent principalement par l'oubli de noms ou d'emplacements d'objets. La deuxième phase de détérioration cognitive est caractérisée par la présence de ces déficits de manière plus ou moins habituelle.

Bien que dans de nombreux cas, l'apparition d'oubli occasionnel ne soit qu'une conséquence de l'âge, dans certains cas, les pertes de mémoire peut indiquer une future déficience cognitive grave , surtout si leur fréquence est élevée et si la personne est relativement jeune afin d’avoir l’oubli typique de la vieillesse.

3. Déficience cognitive légère

Le concept de "déficience cognitive légère" est utilisé pour décrire les cas dans lesquels il existe des signes notables de troubles de la mémoire et dans l'exécution de tâches quotidiennes. Dans cette phase, les déficits cognitifs sont plus marqués que prévu pour l'âge de la personne, même en tenant compte du vieillissement.


Personnes atteintes de troubles cognitifs légers avoir un plus grand risque de développer une démence que ceux qui ne le présentent pas, bien que fréquemment le progrès des déficits s'arrête à ce stade. Il est habituel que ceux qui souffrent de ce type de détérioration aient des problèmes pour conserver les informations, se souvenir des mots, se concentrer ou s’orienter.

  • Article associé: "Déficience cognitive légère (MCI): concept, causes et symptômes"

4. Démence légère ou précoce

La quatrième phase correspond à l'apparition de la démence en tant que telle. À ce stade, qui dure généralement environ deux ans, les changements de personnalité et d'humeur commencent à apparaître . Comme les compétences sociales se détériorent également, la fréquence des interactions sociales est souvent réduite.

Les problèmes cognitifs deviennent beaucoup plus évidents dès l'apparition de la démence. Les patients sont généralement conscients de leur maladie lorsqu'ils atteignent ce stade, bien que la démence affecte également cette reconnaissance. Ils ont également tendance à nier leurs symptômes en tant que mécanisme de défense.

5. démence modérée

Au stade intermédiaire de la démence, les personnes touchées commencent à besoin de l'aide d'autres personnes pour effectuer les tâches quotidiennes . À mesure que la maladie progresse, les capacités telles que l’utilisation d’argent, de téléphones ou d’outils de cuisine, la lecture et l’écriture, la mémorisation d’informations sur soi-même et même l’habillage se détériorent.

6. Démence modérément sévère

Au cours de cette phase, les problèmes de mémoire et de cognition se sont aggravés au point d’interférer dans la réalisation d’un grand nombre d’activités; il continuera à augmenter à mesure que la démence progresse. Le plus fréquent quand on atteint ce stade est que la personne besoin de surveillance constante d'un ou plusieurs soignants .

En ce qui concerne les symptômes et les signes les plus courants, outre l'aggravation des problèmes de mémoire (qui incluent déjà la reconnaissance des personnes proches), on observe l'apparition de sentiments d'anxiété et d'agitation, de problèmes de sommeil, de déambulation, de comportements obsessionnels et répétitifs, ou l'agressivité.

7. Démence sévère ou avancée

La durée moyenne du stade final de la démence est d'environ deux ans et demi. La démence avancée est caractérisée par Perte généralisée de compétences psychomotrices , y compris ceux qui sont nécessaires pour parler, marcher, manger ou utiliser la salle de bain.

Bien que l'évolution de chaque cas de démence dépende de la maladie qui l'a provoquée, ils sont tous très similaires au cours de la dernière période car la détérioration structurelle s'est étendue à toutes les régions du cerveau.


Les 10 signes qui montrent l'arrivée d'ALZHEIMER (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes