yes, therapy helps!
The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)

The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)

May 6, 2021

We have all felt anxiety from time to time. It is a normal emotion. It is possible that, just before an exam, because of a work problem or because you needed to make an important decision, you experienced its symptoms.

This happens because anxiety is a normal reaction of people facing situations of stress and uncertainty. The problem arises when several anxious symptoms cause anguish or some degree of functional deterioration in the life of the individual who suffers it, since it affects the functioning in different areas of his life. For example: social and family relationships, work, school. Then the anxiety disorder is diagnosed.

Anxiety disorders: a very common pathology

The anxiety disorder It is one of the most common pathologies. Now, with proper treatment, people who suffer from it can learn to manage their symptoms and improve their quality of life.


Since there are notable differences between the different types of anxiety disorders, in today's article we explain the different types of anxiety:

1. Generalized anxiety disorder

Many individuals feel anxiety or worry from time to time, especially when they have to face situations that can be stressful: public speaking, playing a football game that means a lot or going to a job interview. This type of anxiety can make you alert, helping you to be more productive and to perform work more efficiently.

People who suffer in Generalized anxiety disorder (ADD) However, they feel anxiety and worry most of the time, not just in potentially stressful situations. These concerns are intense, irrational, persistent (at least half of the days for at least 6 months) and interfere with normal functioning in your daily life (activities such as work, school, friends and family), They are difficult to control.


You can know more about the symptomatology. the causes and treatment of this pathology in the article: "Generalized Anxiety Disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment"

2. Panic disorder

Thepanic disorder It is a very debilitating anxiety disorder and different from ADD. While generalized anxiety disorder is known as trait anxiety, it is more durable, panic disorder It is known as anxiety state, because its symptomatology is acute

People with panic disorder experience feelings of death or the possibility of running out of air, which can cause both psychological and physical problems. In fact, the sensation can be so intense that it requires hospitalization.

In summary, the panic attack is characterized by:

  • The presence of recurrent and unexpected panic attacks
  • Worry after having had a panic attack that another will occur, at least for a month.
  • Concern about the implications or consequences of a panic attack (like thinking that the panic attack is a sign of an undiagnosed medical problem). For example, some people have repeated medical tests due to these concerns and, despite the negative results of the tests, they still have fears of discomfort.
  • Significant changes in behavior that are related to panic attacks (such as avoiding activities such as physical exercise, since it increases the heart rate).

Panic attacks reach their peak at 10 minutes and they usually last up to half an hour, making the person feel tired or exhausted. They can happen several times a day or only once every few years.


You can learn more about the panic attack in our article: "Panic attacks: causes, symptomatology and treatment"

3. Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

Anxious thoughts can influence our behavior, which can be positive sometimes. For example, thinking that you may have left the oven on can make you go check it out. But nevertheless, If these kinds of thoughts are recurring, it can lead an individual to carry out unhealthy behaviors .

The Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) It is characterized because the individual who suffers it has intrusive thoughts, ideas or images. These cause anxiety (obsessions), and cause the person to perform certain rituals or actions (compulsions) to reduce the discomfort.

Some examples of obsessive thoughts are: fear of becoming contaminated or feeling of doubt (for example, will I have closed the house door?), Among others. The compulsions are, for example: wash your hands, check repeatedly that the door is closed, count, repeatedly organize things, and so on.

In our article "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD): what is it and how does it manifest?" You can go deeper into this psychopathology

Four.Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

This condition occurs when the person has experienced a traumatic situation that has caused great psychological stress , which can be disabling. When the person relives the event that caused the trauma, he may experience the following symptoms: nightmares, feelings of anger, irritability or emotional fatigue, detachment from others, and so on.

Due to the great anxiety that the individual feels. he can try to avoid situations or activities that remind him of the event that caused the trauma. Traumatic events can be, for example. a serious traffic accident, sexual abuse, torture during the war ...

Learn more about the anxiety disorder that can appear after a great emotional shock in our text: "Posttraumatic Stress Disorder or PTSD"

5. Social phobia

The social phobia It is characterized by an irrational fear towards situations of social interaction. For example, individuals suffering from this type of anxiety disorder they feel a crippling anxiety when they have to speak in public , because they are afraid to be judged, criticized, humiliated and think that others will laugh at them in front of others. Social phobia is a serious disorder, and some individuals may even suffer it by talking on the phone or eating in front of other people

Although these people know that they should not feel so bad in the face of the triggering situations, they can not control their fear and anxiety, so they often avoid this type of situation. It is common to confuse social phobia with shyness, but not all shy people suffer from social phobia. According to a study published in the Journal Pediatrics in 2011, only 12 percent of people with shyness met the criteria of social phobia.

We explain more about this study and about social phobia in this link.

6. Agoraphobia

The agoraphobia usually associated with irrational fear of being in open spaces such as large streets or parks. Actually, the agoraphobic feels a strong anguish produced by situations in which he feels unprotected and vulnerable in the face of anxiety crises that are beyond your control. Therefore, fear is not produced by these spaces per se, but by the consequences of being exposed to that place, in which you feel helpless. This means that in the most serious cases the patient can be confined to his home as a form of avoidance.

If you are interested in learning more about agoraphobia, click here.

7. Specific phobia

A specific phobia is an anxiety disorder that is characterized by a strong irrational fear of a stimulus, for example, a situation, an object, a place or an insect . The person who suffers a phobic disorder does everything possible to avoid that stimulus that causes anxiety, and this avoidance behavior can interfere with the normal functioning of their daily lives.

Specific phobias are many, some of them very strange. Some phobias are known and others not so much, such as coulrophobia or fear of clowns, philophobia or fear of falling in love, amaxophobia or fear of driving.

The DSM IV manual distinguishes between five subtypes of specific phobias. Know them in this article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

The 5 Major Anxiety Disorders (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)

Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)

Février 18, 2019

Nous avons tous ressenti de l'anxiété de temps en temps. C'est une émotion normale. Il est possible que, juste avant un examen, à cause d'un problème de travail ou parce que vous deviez prendre une décision importante, vous ayez ressenti ses symptômes.

Cela se produit parce que l’anxiété est une réaction normale des personnes confrontées à des situations de stress et d’incertitude. Le problème se pose lorsque plusieurs symptômes anxieux provoquent une angoisse ou un certain degré de détérioration fonctionnelle de la vie de la personne qui la subit, dans la mesure où il affecte le fonctionnement de différents aspects de sa vie. Par exemple: relations sociales et familiales, travail, école. Ensuite, le trouble d'anxiété est diagnostiqué.

Troubles anxieux: une pathologie très commune

Le trouble d'anxiété C'est l'une des pathologies les plus courantes. Maintenant, avec un traitement approprié, les personnes qui en souffrent peuvent apprendre à gérer leurs symptômes et à améliorer leur qualité de vie.


Comme il existe des différences notables entre les différents types de troubles anxieux, nous expliquons dans cet article les différents types d'anxiété:

1. Trouble d'anxiété généralisé

De nombreuses personnes sont angoissées ou inquiètes de temps en temps, en particulier lorsqu'elles doivent faire face à des situations stressantes: parler en public, jouer à un match de football qui compte beaucoup ou se rendre à un entretien d'embauche. Ce type d'anxiété peut vous rendre alerte, vous aider à être plus productif et à travailler plus efficacement.

Les gens qui souffrent dans Trouble d'anxiété généralisée (TDA) Cependant, ils ressentent de l'anxiété et s'inquiètent la plupart du temps, pas seulement dans des situations potentiellement stressantes. Ces préoccupations sont intenses, irrationnelles, persistantes (au moins la moitié des jours pendant au moins 6 mois) et entravent le fonctionnement normal de votre vie quotidienne (activités telles que le travail, l’école, les amis et la famille), Ils sont difficiles à contrôler.


Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur la symptomatologie. les causes et le traitement de cette pathologie dans l'article: "Anxiété généralisée: symptômes, causes et traitement"

2. trouble panique

Letrouble panique C'est un trouble d'anxiété très débilitant et différent du TDA. Bien que le trouble d'anxiété généralisé soit appelé anxiété caractéristique, il est plus durable, le trouble panique C'est ce qu'on appelle l'état d'anxiété, car sa symptomatologie est aiguë.

Les personnes atteintes de trouble panique éprouvent le sentiment de mort ou la possibilité de manquer d’air, ce qui peut entraîner des problèmes à la fois psychologiques et physiques. En fait, la sensation peut être si intense qu’elle nécessite une hospitalisation.

En résumé, l'attaque de panique se caractérise par:

  • La présence d'attaques de panique récurrentes et inattendues
  • Inquiétude après avoir eu une attaque de panique qu'une autre se produira, au moins pendant un mois.
  • Préoccupation concernant les implications ou les conséquences d'une attaque de panique (par exemple, penser que l'attaque de panique est un signe d'un problème médical non diagnostiqué). Par exemple, certaines personnes subissent des examens médicaux répétés en raison de ces préoccupations et, malgré leurs résultats négatifs, elles craignent toujours d'être gênées.
  • Changements importants du comportement liés aux attaques de panique (tels que l’évitement d’activités telles que l’activité physique, car ils augmentent le rythme cardiaque).

Les attaques de panique atteignent leur apogée à 10 minutes et ils durent généralement jusqu'à une demi-heure, provoquant une sensation de fatigue ou d'épuisement de la personne. Ils peuvent se produire plusieurs fois par jour ou une fois toutes les quelques années.


Vous pouvez en apprendre plus sur l'attaque de panique dans notre article: "Attaques de panique: causes, symptomatologie et traitement"

3. Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif

Des pensées anxieuses peuvent influencer notre comportement, ce qui peut parfois être positif. Par exemple, penser que vous avez peut-être laissé le four en marche peut vous inciter à aller le vérifier. Cependant, Si ce genre de pensées se reproduit, cela peut amener une personne à adopter des comportements malsains .

Le Trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) Elle se caractérise par le fait que la personne qui la subit a des pensées, des idées ou des images intrusives. Celles-ci provoquent de l'anxiété (obsessions) et amènent la personne à effectuer certains rituels ou actions (compulsions) pour réduire l'inconfort.

Voici quelques exemples de pensées obsessionnelles: peur de la contamination ou sentiment de doute (par exemple, aurai-je fermé la porte de la maison?), Entre autres. Les compulsions sont, par exemple, les suivantes: se laver les mains, vérifier à plusieurs reprises que la porte est fermée, compter, organiser à plusieurs reprises, etc.

Dans notre article "Le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC): de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?" Vous pouvez approfondir cette psychopathologie

4Trouble de stress post-traumatique (SSPT)

Cette condition se produit lorsque la personne a vécu une situation traumatique qui a provoqué un stress psychologique important , ce qui peut être invalidant. Lorsque la personne revit l'événement qui a provoqué le traumatisme, elle peut présenter les symptômes suivants: cauchemars, sentiments de colère, irritabilité ou fatigue émotionnelle, détachement des autres, etc.

En raison de la grande anxiété que ressent l'individu. il peut essayer d'éviter des situations ou des activités qui lui rappellent l'événement qui a provoqué le traumatisme. Les événements traumatisants peuvent être, par exemple. un grave accident de la route, des abus sexuels, des tortures pendant la guerre ...

Apprenez-en plus sur le trouble anxieux qui peut apparaître après un choc émotionnel important dans notre texte: "Trouble de stress post-traumatique ou SSPT"

5. Phobie sociale

Le phobie sociale Il se caractérise par une peur irrationnelle vis-à-vis des situations d’interaction sociale. Par exemple, les personnes souffrant de ce type de trouble anxieux ils ressentent une anxiété invalidante lorsqu'ils doivent parler en public , parce qu’ils ont peur d’être jugés, critiqués, humiliés et pensent que les autres se moqueront d’eux devant d’autres. La phobie sociale est un trouble grave, et certaines personnes peuvent même en souffrir en parlant au téléphone ou en mangeant devant d'autres personnes.

Bien que ces personnes sachent qu'elles ne devraient pas se sentir si mal face aux situations qui les déclenchent, elles ne peuvent contrôler leur peur et leur anxiété et évitent donc souvent ce type de situation. Il est courant de confondre phobie sociale et timidité, mais toutes les personnes timides ne souffrent pas de phobie sociale. Selon une étude publiée dans le Journal Pédiatrie En 2011, seulement 12% des personnes timides répondaient aux critères de la phobie sociale.

Nous expliquons plus en détail cette étude et la phobie sociale dans ce lien.

6. Agoraphobie

Le agoraphobie généralement associée à la peur irrationnelle d'être dans des espaces ouverts tels que les grandes rues ou les parcs. En réalité, l'agoraphobe ressent une forte angoisse produite par des situations dans lesquelles il se sent non protégé et vulnérable face à des crises d’anxiété indépendantes de votre volonté. Par conséquent, la peur n'est pas produite par ces espaces en soi, mais par les conséquences d'être exposé à cet endroit, dans lequel vous vous sentez impuissant. Cela signifie que, dans les cas les plus graves, le patient peut être confiné à son domicile en tant que forme d’évitement.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur l'agoraphobie, cliquez ici.

7. Phobie spécifique

Ongle phobie spécifique est un trouble d'anxiété caractérisé par une forte peur irrationnelle d'un stimulus, par exemple une situation, un objet, un lieu ou un insecte . La personne atteinte d'un trouble phobique fait tout son possible pour éviter ce stimulus qui cause de l'anxiété, et ce comportement d'évitement peut nuire au fonctionnement normal de sa vie quotidienne.

Les phobies spécifiques sont nombreuses, certaines très étranges. Certaines phobies sont connues et d'autres moins, comme la coulrophobie ou la peur des clowns, la philophobie ou la peur de tomber amoureux, l'amaxophobie ou la peur de la conduite.

Le manuel DSM IV distingue cinq sous-types de phobies spécifiques. Connaissez-les dans cet article: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

L' ANXIÉTÉ / LE TROUBLE ANXIEUX : symptômes , causes , prévention , traitement / Noura Marashi (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes