yes, therapy helps!
The 7 types of gender violence (and characteristics)

The 7 types of gender violence (and characteristics)

January 1, 2023

A woman arrives at the hospital due to a series of injuries . A bruise on the eye, burns, scratches on the back, fractured wrist, damage to the genital tract, a history of visits to the hospital for alleged falls ... Although they can be due to many different causes, the combined presence of these factors makes one suspect of the existence of gender violence.

This type of violence is a problem that still remains in today's society and that has led the lives of many people, killed at the hands of their partner. But gender violence is not reduced to physical aggression. There are different types of gender violence , which distorts and diminishes the situation of a person because of his gender.


The concept of gender violence

It is understood by gender violence (or sexist violence, according to other sources) to all that type of violence that is carried out by harming the physical, psychological or relational well-being of a person due to their gender or gender identity. Aggression is intentionally used, whether by physical force or, for the purpose of causing harm, coercing, limiting or manipulating the person subjected to violence.

This type of violence can have devastating effects on victims . At a physical level, serious injuries can occur that can lead to incapacitation, coma or even death. At the psychological level, it is frequent that people who suffer gender violence are not able to denounce, usually due to fear of possible repercussions for them or their loved ones, the presence of disbelief or the belief that they will not be supported.


Nor is it uncommon for victims to feel guilty or responsible for the situation or to be afraid of causing pain in other people (for example, in the presence of children). Even, depending on the type of education received or the time the victim has been manipulated, one may think that it is normal behavior and / or that they feel worthy of it.

Causes

Generally the aggressor part acts moved by the desire of power and domination, and is frequently influenced by gender stereotypes . Generally behind it there are feelings of insecurity and low self-esteem that one tries to supply through the domination of those who the individual considers inferior or unable to cope.

It is also possible that there is an exaggerated self-esteem with narcissistic overtones that results in their own rights being considered above those of the rest. In some cases, an instrumental abuse directed to a specific objective may be found. Finally, the absence of empathy is a phenomenon and / or uncontrolled impulsivity can facilitate aggression.


Distinguishing types of aggressions

When we talk about gender violence, we usually think of situations where aggression occurs within a couple . The most common gender violence situation is that of a man who commits a series of continuous and systematic abuses a woman because she is a woman, whom she considers inferior or pretends to dominate.

That is why gender violence is often confused with sexist violence or violence against women. However, it should not be forgotten that there are also men who suffer this type of violence from their partners. In addition, although it is not usually considered gender violence because it is not based on sex or sexual identity, the existence of partner violence in same-sex couples must not be forgotten. That is why today, more than gender violence should talk about dating violence.

Types of gender violence

As indicated above, the concept of gender violence includes a wide variety of attitudes and actions that can harm the person from different dimensions. After all, there are many ways to harm a person.

Although not in all cases the person is attacked from all areas, Within gender violence we can find the following types of violence .

1. Physical violence

The most visible and recognized as gender violence, Physical violence is considered to be any act in which physical harm is inflicted on the victim that through direct aggression . This damage can be temporary or permanent.

Within this type of violence include blows, wounds, fractures, scratches. Although sometimes they can be trivialized or considered that they can occur during a discussion, shoving and jostling also fall into the category of physical violence. Physical incapacitation can occur due to the consequences of the assaults, and even depending on the level of damage caused, it can lead to death.

2. Psychological violence

This type of violence is characterized because, although physically there may not be an aggression, the victim is humiliated, undervalued and psychologically attacked . This attack can be direct and actively carried out in the form of insults and humiliations or carried out in a more passive way, devaluing the couple without the latter considering that they are suffering an attack.

Psychological violence includes the presence of humiliations, threats and coercion (using in some cases the threat of physical aggression against the victim or relatives), contempt and devaluation. Also make the person feel helpless, forced to do certain actions and dependent on the aggressor, guilty of the situation of abuse and deserving of punishment.

Because in many cases a direct aggression is not perceived in the message, many victims are not aware of being mistreated and do not take action against the aggressor. It can be considered that practically in all cases of gender violence, regardless of the type and reason for it, there is violence of a psychological nature.

  • Related article: "Profile of the psychological abuser: 21 features in common"

3. Sexual violence

While it could somehow be considered within physical violence, sexual violence refers specifically to those situations in which a person is forced or coerced to carry out activities of a sexual nature against their will, or in that sexuality is limited or imposed by another person.

It is not necessary that there is penetration or that the sexual act occurs. It includes the presence of rape within the couple, forced prostitution, forcing conception or abortion, genital mutilation, sexual harassment or unwanted touching, among others.

  • It may interest you: "Psychological profile of the rapist: 12 traits and attitudes in common"

4. Economic violence

This type of violence is based on the reduction and deprivation of economic resources to the couple or their offspring as a measure of coercion, manipulation or with the intention of damaging their integrity. It is also considered as such the fact of obliging the aggressor to depend economically, preventing the victim's access to the labor market through threats, coercion or physical restraint.

5. Heritage violence

Usurpation or destruction of objects, goods and property is considered patrimonial violence of the victim of violence with the intention of controlling or causing psychological harm. In many ways, these assets are the fruit of decades of work, and destroying them is a way to show that all these efforts have not served any purpose. However, it should be noted that this type of aggression may affect other people, especially the neighbors.

6. Social violence

Social violence is based on the limitation, control and induction of social isolation of the person . The victim is separated from family and friends, depriving them of social support and distancing them from their usual environment. Sometimes the victim is placed against their environment, causing the victim or environment to decide to disassociate.

For example, attacks against the façade of the home are very characteristic of this type of violence, since they allow leaving visible signs throughout the world that the victim deserves to be attacked in the sight of all.

7. Vicarious violence

A large number of couples in which gender violence occurs have children . In many cases the aggressor decides to threaten, attack and even kill these children with the purpose of damaging their partner or ex-partner.

This type of violence is called vicarious violence, which also includes the harm caused to minors by the observation of mistreatment between the parents. The psychological impact is what is sought, through control, submission and aggressions to people who are not directly involved in the core of the conflict.

Beware: gender violence is not only in the couple

When we think of gender violence in the first thing we think is the existence of abuse in situations of a couple. But gender violence is not specific to the area of ​​the couple, but can occur in multiple areas without the need for the person to carry it out is a spouse. Institutions, the family and society in general can also be places where situations of gender violence appear like the previous ones.

It is necessary to work to prevent and raise awareness among citizens, educating in different aspects such as tolerance of diversity, equality of rights and opportunities and emotional education in order to avoid new situations of gender violence.

Bibliographic references:

  • Durán, M. (2004). Legal-feminist analysis of the Organic Law of Integral Protection Measures against Gender Violence. Article 14. A gender perspective. Legal Information and Analysis Bulletin. Andalusian Institute for Women.
  • Kilmartin, C; Allison, J. A. (2007). Men's Violence Against Women: Theory, Research, and Activism. Routledge.
  • Organic Law on Comprehensive Protection Measures against Gender Violence of December 28, 2004, BOE of December 29, 2004.
  • Lorente, M. (2001). My husband hit me normal. Aggression to women: realities and myths. Ares y Mares, Editorial Crítica, Madrid.
  • Pérez, J.M .; Montalvo, A. (2010). Gender violence: analysis and approach to its causes and consequences. Gender violence: prevention, detection and attention. Editorial Group.

5 types of abuse - The Sheepfold - Domestic Violence (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 types de violence de genre (et caractéristiques)

Les 7 types de violence de genre (et caractéristiques)

Juin 22, 2022

Une femme arrive à l'hôpital suite à une série de blessures . Une ecchymose à l'œil, des brûlures, des égratignures au dos, une fracture du poignet, des lésions du tractus génital, des antécédents de visites à l'hôpital pour des chutes présumées ... Bien qu'elles puissent avoir différentes causes, la présence combinée de ces facteurs permet de suspecter de l'existence de la violence de genre.

Ce type de violence est un problème qui subsiste dans la société actuelle et qui a coûté la vie à de nombreuses personnes, tuées par les mains de leur partenaire. Mais la violence de genre ne se réduit pas à une agression physique. Il existe différents types de violence de genre qui déforme et diminue la situation d’une personne en raison de son sexe.


Le concept de violence de genre

On entend par violence sexuelle (ou violence sexiste, selon d'autres sources) tout type de violence exercée en portant atteinte au bien-être physique, psychologique ou relationnel d'une personne en raison de son sexe ou de son identité de genre. L'agression est intentionnellement utilisée, que ce soit par la force physique ou, dans le but de causer un préjudice, par la contrainte, la limitation ou la manipulation de la personne soumise à la violence.

Ce type de violence peut avoir des effets dévastateurs sur les victimes . Sur le plan physique, des blessures graves peuvent survenir pouvant entraîner une incapacité, le coma ou même la mort. Sur le plan psychologique, il est fréquent que les personnes victimes de violences sexuelles ne soient pas en mesure de dénoncer, généralement par crainte d'éventuelles répercussions pour elles-mêmes ou leurs proches, par la présence d'incrédulité ou par la conviction qu'elles ne seront pas soutenues.


Il n’est pas rare non plus que les victimes se sentent coupables ou responsables de la situation ou aient peur de causer de la douleur à d’autres personnes (par exemple, en présence d’enfants). Même en fonction du type d'éducation reçue ou du moment où la victime a été manipulée, on peut penser que c'est un comportement normal et / ou qu'elle se sent digne de l'être.

Les causes

En général, la partie agressive agit en raison du désir de pouvoir et de domination, et est souvent influencé par les stéréotypes de genre . Généralement derrière cela, il y a des sentiments d'insécurité et de faible estime de soi qu'on essaie de nourrir par la domination de ceux que l'individu considère comme inférieurs ou incapables de faire face.

Il est également possible qu'il existe une estime de soi exagérée avec des accents narcissiques qui fait que leurs propres droits sont considérés au-dessus de ceux des autres. Dans certains cas, un abus instrumental visant un objectif spécifique peut être constaté. Enfin, l'absence d'empathie est un phénomène et / ou une impulsivité incontrôlée peut faciliter l'agressivité.


Distinguer les types d'agressions

Quand on parle de violence de genre, on pense généralement à des situations d'agression au sein d'un couple . La situation de violence sexiste la plus courante est celle d'un homme qui commet une série de violences systématiques et continuelles envers une femme parce qu'elle est une femme qu'elle considère comme inférieure ou prétend dominer.

C’est pourquoi la violence sexiste est souvent confondue avec la violence sexiste ou la violence à l’égard des femmes. Cependant, il ne faut pas oublier qu'il y a aussi des hommes qui subissent ce type de violence de la part de leurs partenaires. En outre, bien que cela ne soit généralement pas considéré comme une violence de genre, car il n’est pas fondé sur le sexe ou l’identité sexuelle, l’existence de la violence entre partenaires dans les couples de même sexe ne doit pas être oubliée. C'est pourquoi aujourd'hui, plus que la violence de genre devrait parler de violence dans les fréquentations.

Types de violence de genre

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, le concept de violence sexiste comprend une grande variété d'attitudes et d'actions pouvant nuire à la personne sous différentes dimensions. Après tout, il existe de nombreuses façons de nuire à une personne.

Bien que dans tous les cas, la personne soit attaquée de toutes les régions, Dans la violence de genre, nous pouvons trouver les types de violence suivants .

1. Violence physique

Le plus visible et reconnu comme violence de genre, La violence physique est considérée comme tout acte dans lequel la victime subit un préjudice physique qui, par l'agression directe . Ces dommages peuvent être temporaires ou permanents.

Ce type de violence comprend les coups, les blessures, les fractures et les égratignures. Bien que parfois ils puissent être banalisés ou considérés comme pouvant survenir lors d'une discussion, les bousculades et les bousculements entrent également dans la catégorie de la violence physique. Une incapacité physique peut survenir en raison des conséquences des agressions, et même en fonction du niveau des dommages causés, elle peut entraîner la mort.

2. Violence psychologique

Ce type de violence se caractérise par le fait que, bien qu’il ne puisse y avoir physiquement d’agression, la victime est humiliée, sous-évaluée et psychologiquement attaquée . Cette attaque peut être directe et activement menée sous forme d'insultes et d'humiliations ou de manière plus passive, dévaluant le couple sans que celui-ci ne se considère victime d'une agression.

La violence psychologique comprend la présence d'humiliations, de menaces et de coercition (utilisant parfois la menace d'agression physique contre la victime ou ses proches), le mépris et la dévaluation. Assurez-vous également que la personne se sent impuissante, contrainte de faire certaines actions et dépendante de l'agresseur, coupable d'abus et méritant d'être punie.

Parce que dans de nombreux cas, le message ne fait pas apparaître d'agression directe, de nombreuses victimes ne sont pas conscientes d'être maltraitées et ne prennent aucune mesure contre l'agresseur. On peut considérer que dans pratiquement tous les cas de violence sexiste, quels que soient le type et le motif de celle-ci, il existe une violence de nature psychologique.

  • Article connexe: "Profil de l'agresseur psychologique: 21 caractéristiques communes"

3. Violence sexuelle

Alors que cela pourrait en quelque sorte être considéré dans la violence physique, la violence sexuelle fait spécifiquement référence aux situations dans lesquelles une personne est forcée ou contrainte d'exercer des activités de nature sexuelle contre leur volonté, ou que cette sexualité soit limitée ou imposée par une autre personne.

Il n'est pas nécessaire qu'il y ait pénétration ou que l'acte sexuel ait lieu. Cela inclut la présence de viols au sein du couple, la prostitution forcée, la conception forcée ou l'avortement, les mutilations génitales, le harcèlement sexuel ou les attouchements non désirés, entre autres.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Profil psychologique du violeur: 12 traits et attitudes en commun"

4. Violence économique

Ce type de violence est basé sur la réduction et la privation de ressources économiques au couple ou leur progéniture en tant que mesure de contrainte, de manipulation ou dans l'intention de nuire à leur intégrité. On considère également en tant que tel le fait d'obliger l'agresseur à dépendre économiquement, empêchant ainsi l'accès de la victime au marché du travail par la menace, la contrainte ou la contrainte physique.

5. Violence du patrimoine

L'usurpation ou la destruction d'objets, de biens et de biens est considérée comme une violence patrimoniale victime de violence avec l’intention de contrôler ou de causer un préjudice psychologique. À bien des égards, ces atouts sont le fruit de décennies de travail et leur destruction est un moyen de montrer que tous ces efforts n’ont servi à rien. Cependant, il convient de noter que ce type d'agression peut toucher d'autres personnes, en particulier les voisins.

6. Violence sociale

La violence sociale est basée sur la limitation, le contrôle et l'induction de l'isolement social de la personne . La victime est séparée de sa famille et de ses amis, ce qui les prive de soutien social et les éloigne de leur environnement habituel. Parfois, la victime est placée dans son environnement, ce qui amène la victime ou son environnement à décider de se dissocier.

Par exemple, les attaques contre la façade de la maison sont très caractéristiques de ce type de violence, car elles permettent de laisser des signes visibles dans le monde entier que la victime mérite d'être attaquée à la vue de tous.

7. Violence par procuration

Un grand nombre de couples victimes de violence sexuelle ont des enfants . Dans de nombreux cas, l’agresseur décide de menacer, d’attaquer et même de tuer ces enfants dans le but d’endommager leur partenaire ou leur ex-partenaire.

Ce type de violence s'appelle violence par procuration, ce qui comprend également les dommages causés aux mineurs par l'observation de mauvais traitements entre les parents. L’impact psychologique est ce que l’on cherche à obtenir, par le contrôle, la soumission et des agressions envers des personnes qui ne sont pas directement impliquées dans le cœur du conflit.

Attention, la violence de genre ne concerne pas que le couple

Quand nous pensons à la violence de genre, la première chose que nous pensons est l’existence de mauvais traitements dans les situations de couple. Mais la violence de genre n'est pas spécifique à la région du couple, mais peut se produire dans plusieurs régions sans que la personne ait besoin de la réaliser soit un conjoint. Les institutions, la famille et la société en général peuvent également être des lieux de violence comme les précédents.

Il est nécessaire de travailler pour prévenir et sensibiliser les citoyens, en prenant en compte différents aspects tels que la tolérance à la diversité, l'égalité des droits et des chances et l'éducation psychologique, afin d'éviter de nouvelles situations de violence sexiste.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Durán, M. (2004). Analyse juridico-féministe de la loi organique sur les mesures de protection intégrale contre la violence de genre. Article 14. Une perspective de genre. Bulletin d'information juridique et d'analyse. Institut andalou de la femme.
  • Kilmartin, C; Allison, J. A. (2007). La violence des hommes envers les femmes: théorie, recherche et activisme. Routledge.
  • Loi organique du 28 décembre 2004 sur les mesures de protection globales contre la violence sexiste, BOE du 29 décembre 2004.
  • Lorente, M. (2001). Mon mari me frappe normalement. Agression envers les femmes: réalités et mythes. Ares y Mares, Editorial Critique, Madrid.
  • Pérez, J.M .; Montalvo, A. (2010). Violence de genre: analyse et approche de ses causes et conséquences. Violence de genre: prévention, détection et attention. Groupe éditorial.

La violence (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes