yes, therapy helps!
The 7 types of humanism and their characteristics

The 7 types of humanism and their characteristics

May 21, 2022

Humanism is a philosophical current that has had a great influence on psychology, politics and the social sciences in general. But nevertheless, it does not exist as something homogeneous, but there are different types of humanism .

Each of these classes of humanism expresses, in its own way, the fundamental idea of ​​this way of thinking: that the lives of all human beings matter and that, by default, we must respect the lives of others without pretending to alter them unjustifiably or without considering his opinion. Let's see how they do it.

What is humanism?

Humanism is a way of thinking that emphasizes the value of the subjective and private experiences of each . Thus, for example, Humanistic Psychology takes many influences from phenomenology (the sensations and private and conscious experiences of each person are valuable and unique) and existentialism (each person constructs a vital narrative that gives meaning to their existence).


In practice, in psychology, humanism has been noted in therapeutic proposals such as Gestalt Therapy by Fritz Perls and the contributions of psychologists such as Abraham Maslow or Carl Rogers. This group of thinkers defended the idea of ​​not imposing a rigid system of intervention on people, but adapting to each case, letting the person take charge of the sessions.

  • Related article: "Maslow's pyramid: the hierarchy of human needs"

The main types of humanism

These are the fundamental characteristics of the different types of humanism. To fully understand them, however, we must bear in mind that each of them has emerged in a different historical context , and can not be understood without understanding the degree of technological, philosophical and ethical development that existed at the time of its appearance.


1. Theocentric humanism

This type of humanism bases all its morality on the existence of a god determined that reveals what is good and what is bad and, therefore, how human beings should be treated.

2. Historical humanism

This was a type of humanism born in Florence at the end of the Middle Ages. In him, the arts and the intellectual activity was focusing little by little on the human, ceasing to consider that the divine was the center of everything.

3. Anthropocentric humanism

This type of humanism was what began to characterize Western societies from the Renaissance and, especially, from the time of the Enlightenment.

Here, the figure of God ceases to be the center of the moral system, and the human being receives all the protagonism . So much attention is given to the code of conduct written in sacred texts and new forms of humanistic ethics are formulated.


In the same way, the idea that one human being can control another is rejected; What can be controlled and subdued is nature, seen as a set of resources that can be used for the welfare of the species.

4. Empirical humanism

This is one of the types of humanisms that try to differentiate themselves from the rest because they are more practical and applied. While other forms of this current of thought are based more on abstract ideas, such as the need not to dominate other human beings, this focuses on the rejection or acceptance of certain actions or specific attitudes .

For example, empirical humanism rejects violence, declares a total freedom of expression and beliefs, and emphasizes the need to highlight the ways of living minority life.

5. Existentialist humanism

This form of humanism emphasizes the importance of rejecting the material and intellectual totalitarianisms that force people to be recruited for a specific cause, preventing them from thinking beyond it.

For existentialist philosophers like Jean-Paul Sartre, it is the individual who must construct a meaning for his own life without others interfering in this system of ideas and symbols.

6. Marxist humanism

Very much based on the philosophy of the philosopher Karl Marx, this type of humanism that emerged from World II World emphasizes the idea that the human being is a social being whose identity only emerges from the interaction with others , allowed thanks to the bonds of solidarity present in well-united and united societies.

This philosophy rejects the individualism of many of the other types of humanism, and points out that the welfare of the individual depends on collective phenomena in which everyone must participate so as not to be manipulated.

7. Universalist humanism

It is a way of thinking very influenced by postmodern philosophy . It points out the need to create inclusive societies for all people, respect the different cultures that are present in society and not be guided only by rigid codes of conduct, but quite the opposite: appreciate spontaneity and creativity in all aspects of life .


A Core Definition Of Humanism - A Humanist Response (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 types d'humanisme et leurs caractéristiques

Les 7 types d'humanisme et leurs caractéristiques

Août 21, 2019

L'humanisme est un courant philosophique qui a eu une grande influence sur la psychologie, la politique et les sciences sociales en général. Cependant, il n'existe pas comme quelque chose d'homogène, mais il existe différents types d'humanisme .

Chacune de ces catégories d'humanisme exprime, à sa manière, l'idée fondamentale de cette façon de penser: que la vie de tous les êtres humains compte et que, par défaut, nous devons respecter la vie des autres sans prétendre la modifier de manière injustifiée ou non. sans tenir compte de son opinion. Voyons comment ils le font.

Qu'est-ce que l'humanisme?

L’humanisme est une façon de penser que souligne la valeur des expériences subjectives et privées de chaque . Ainsi, par exemple, la psychologie humaniste tire de nombreuses influences de la phénoménologie (les sensations et les expériences personnelles et conscientes de chaque personne sont précieuses et uniques) et de l'existentialisme (chaque personne construit un récit vital qui donne un sens à leur existence).


En pratique, en psychologie, l'humanisme a été noté dans des propositions thérapeutiques telles que la Gestalt Therapy de Fritz Perls et les contributions de psychologues tels qu'Abraham Maslow ou Carl Rogers. Ce groupe de penseurs a défendu l'idée de ne pas imposer aux personnes un système d'intervention rigide, mais de s'adapter à chaque cas, en laissant la personne prendre en charge les sessions.

  • Article connexe: "La pyramide de Maslow: la hiérarchie des besoins humains"

Les principaux types d'humanisme

Ce sont les caractéristiques fondamentales des différents types d'humanisme. Pour bien les comprendre, cependant, nous devons garder à l’esprit que chacun d'entre eux a émergé dans un contexte historique différent et ne peut être compris sans comprendre le degré de développement technologique, philosophique et éthique qui existait au moment de son apparition.


1. Humanisme théocentrique

Ce type d'humanisme base toute sa moralité sur l'existence d'un dieu déterminé qui révèle ce qui est bon et ce qui est mauvais et, par conséquent, comment les êtres humains doivent être traités.

2. Humanisme historique

C'était un type d'humanisme né à Florence à la fin du Moyen Âge. En lui, les arts et l'activité intellectuelle se concentraient peu à peu sur l'humain, cessant de considérer que le divin était le centre de tout.

3. Humanisme anthropocentrique

C'est ce type d'humanisme qui a commencé à caractériser les sociétés occidentales de la Renaissance et, en particulier, du siècle des Lumières.

Ici, la figure de Dieu cesse d'être le centre du système moral, et l'être humain reçoit tout le protagonisme . Une grande attention est accordée au code de conduite écrit dans les textes sacrés et à la formulation de nouvelles formes d'éthique humaniste.


De la même manière, l’idée qu’un être humain puisse en contrôler un autre est rejetée; Ce qui peut être contrôlé et maîtrisé, c'est la nature, considérée comme un ensemble de ressources pouvant être utilisées pour le bien-être de l'espèce.

4. Humanisme empirique

C'est l'un des types d'humanismes qui essaient de se différencier des autres parce qu'ils sont plus pratiques et plus appliqués. Tandis que d’autres formes de ce courant de pensée reposent davantage sur des idées abstraites, telles que la nécessité de ne pas dominer les autres êtres humains, cela se produit. se concentre sur le rejet ou l'acceptation de certaines actions ou attitudes spécifiques .

Par exemple, l'humanisme empirique rejette la violence, déclare une liberté totale d'expression et de conviction et souligne la nécessité de mettre en valeur les modes de vie des minorités.

5. Humanisme existentialiste

Cette forme d'humanisme souligne l'importance de rejeter les totalitarismes matériel et intellectuel qui forcent les gens à être recrutés pour une cause spécifique, les empêchant de penser au-delà.

Pour les philosophes existentialistes comme Jean-Paul Sartre, c'est l'individu qui doit construire un sens pour sa propre vie sans que d'autres s'immiscent dans ce système d'idées et de symboles.

6. Humanisme marxiste

Très basé sur la philosophie du philosophe Karl Marx, ce type d'humanisme issu du Monde II Monde met en exergue l'idée que l'être humain est un être social dont l'identité ne ressort que de l'interaction avec les autres , permis grâce aux liens de solidarité présents dans des sociétés bien unies et unies.

Cette philosophie rejette l'individualisme de nombreux autres types d'humanisme et souligne que le bien-être de l'individu dépend de phénomènes collectifs auxquels tous doivent participer pour ne pas être manipulés.

7. Humanisme universaliste

C'est une façon de penser très influencé par la philosophie postmoderne . Il souligne la nécessité de créer des sociétés inclusives pour tous, de respecter les différentes cultures présentes dans la société et de ne pas se laisser guider par des codes de conduite rigides, mais au contraire: apprécier la spontanéité et la créativité dans tous les aspects de la vie. .


Les Mouvements Littéraires [De l'Humanisme au Nouveau Roman] (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes