yes, therapy helps!
The 7 types of neurological tests

The 7 types of neurological tests

July 19, 2024

The nervous system in a set of organs and structures, formed by nervous tissue, which are responsible for collecting and processing signals to then control and organize the other organs, and thus get a correct interaction of the person with their environment.

The science responsible for studying all this complex structure is neurology. Which tries to evaluate, diagnose and treat all kinds of disorders of the nervous system. For the work of evaluation and diagnosis a series of neurological tests have been developed that allow medical personnel to observe the operation of said system.

  • Related article: "The 15 most common neurological disorders"

What are neurological tests?

Neurological tests or examinations are performed in order to examine whether the patient's nervous system is functioning properly. These tests can be more or less exhaustive depending on what the doctor tries to assess, in addition to the age or the state in which the patient is.


The importance of these tests lies in their usefulness in detecting possible alterations early , and thus eliminate or reduce, as far as possible, possible complications that may appear in the long term.

The first tests that the clinician performs are the physical tests, in which by means of the use of hammers, tuning forks, flashlights, etc. the nervous system is put to the test.

The aspects that are evaluated during this type of neurological examination are:

  • Mental state (consciousness)
  • Reflexes
  • Motor abilities
  • Sensory capacities
  • Balance
  • Operation of the nerves
  • Coordination

However, in the case that there is suspicion of a possible alteration in any of these aspects, the medical professional has at his disposal a large number of specific and very revealing clinical tests at the time of diagnosing any type of neurological problem.


Types of neurological tests

There are more than a dozen tests to evaluate the state of the nervous system, any of them will be more or less useful depending on what the clinician wants to look for.

Here some of them are explained.

1. Brain angiography

Cerebral angiography, also known as arteriography, is a procedure to locate possible vascular singularities in the brain . These irregularities range from possible brain aneurysms, obstructions of the blood vessels or stroke, to brain inflammations or malformations in the veins of the brain.

To detect any of these abnormalities, the doctor injects a radiopaque substance into one of the cerebral arteries, thus making visible any vascular problems in the brain on the radiographs.

2. Electroencephalogram (EEG)

If what the doctor needs is to monitor brain activity, the electroencephalogram can be his reference test. During this test a series of electrodes are placed on the patient's head, these small electrodes transport the electrical activity of the brain to an apparatus that reads said activity and converts it into a trace of the electrical record.


Likewise, the patient may be subjected to various tests in which he is presented with a series of stimuli such as lights, noise or even medication . In this way the EEG can detect changes in brain wave patterns.

If the medical professional sees it necessary to further narrow the search or make it more exhaustive, it may be possible to place these electrodes directly in the patient's brain through a surgical incision in the patient's skull.

The electroencephalogram is very interesting when diagnosing diseases or alterations such as

  • Brain tumors
  • Psychiatric disorders
  • Metabolic disorders
  • Injuries
  • Brain or spinal inflammation
  • Seizure disorders

3. Lumbar puncture

Lumbar punctures are performed with the objective of obtaining samples of cerebrospinal fluid . This fluid is analyzed to check for bleeding or brain hemorrhages, as well as to measure intracranial pressure. The aim is to diagnose a possible infection of the brain or marrow, such as those that occur in some neurological diseases such as multiple sclerosis or meningitis.

Commonly, the procedure to follow in this test begins by laying the patient on one side, asking him to place the knees next to his chest. The doctor then places the position between the vertebrae in the middle of which the puncture will be performed. After administering a local anesthetic, the doctor inserts a special needle and extracts a small sample of fluid.

4. Computerized tomography (CT)

This test is part of the so-called brain ultrasound , among which are also magnetic resonance and positron emission tomography. The advantage of all of them is that they are painless and non-invasive processes.

Thanks to computerized tomography, quick and clear images of organs, brain, tissues and bones are obtained.

Neurological CT can help to make differential diagnoses in neurological disorders with several similar properties. In addition, it is especially effective in detecting, among others:

  • Epilepsy
  • Encephalitis
  • Clots or intracranial bleeds
  • Brain damage due to injury
  • Brain tumors and cysts

The test lasts around 20 minutes, during which the patient must remain rested inside the CT chamber. For this test the person must remain very still while X-rays scan their body from different angles.

The final result is several transverse images of the internal structure, in this case the internal structure of the brain. Occasionally, contrast fluid can be introduced into the bloodstream to facilitate the differentiation of different brain tissues.

5. Magnetic resonance (MR)

To obtain images obtained by magnetic resonance, radio waves are used that are generated in an apparatus and a large magnetic field that reveal the details of organs, tissues, nerves and bones.

As in CT, the patient must remain reclining and immobile and to which is inserted inside a hollow conduit surrounded by a large magnet.

During the test, a large magnetic field is created around the patient and through a series of reactions a resonance signal is produced from various angles of the patient's body. A specialized computer treats this resonance by converting it into a three-dimensional image or a two-dimensional transverse image.

Also, there is also functional magnetic resonance, in which images of the blood flow of different areas of the brain are obtained thanks to the magnetic properties of the blood.

6. Positron emission tomography (PET)

In positron emission tomography the clinician can get images, in two or three dimensions, of brain activity . This image is achieved through the measurement of radioactive isotopes injected into the patient's bloodstream.

These radioactive isotopes attached to chemicals that run to the brain are tracked while the brain performs different tasks. Meanwhile, gamma-ray sensors scan the patient and a computer processes all the information by displaying it on a screen. Different compounds can be injected to examine more than one brain function at a time.

PETs are especially useful when it comes to:

  • Detect infected tumors and tissues
  • Determine brain changes after the consumption of substances or injuries
  • Evaluate patients with memory disorders
  • Seizure disorders evaluation
  • Measure cellular metabolism
  • Show blood flow

7. Evoked potentials

In the evoked potential test, possible sensory nervous problems can be evaluated , as well as corroborate certain neurological conditions such as brain tumors, marrow lesions or multiple sclerosis.

These potentials or evoked responses calibrate the electrical signals that visual, auditory or tactile stimuli send to the brain.

Through the use of electrode needles, nerve damage is evaluated. A pair of these electrodes measures the electrophysiological response of the stimuli in the patient's scalp, and the other pair is placed in the area of ​​the body that is to be examined. Next, the clinician notes the time it takes for the impulse generated to reach the brain.

Other tests frequently used for the evaluation and diagnosis of neuronal disorders are:

  • Biopsy
  • Single photon emission tomography
  • Doppler ultrasound
  • Myelography
  • Electromyography

Gaits Examination (Stanford Medicine 25) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 7 types de tests neurologiques

Les 7 types de tests neurologiques

Juin 21, 2022

Le système nerveux d'un ensemble d'organes et de structures, formés de tissus nerveux, qui sont chargés de collecter et de traiter les signaux pour ensuite contrôler et organiser les autres organes, et ainsi obtenir une interaction correcte de la personne avec son environnement.

La science responsable de l'étude de toute cette structure complexe est la neurologie. Qui essaie d'évaluer, de diagnostiquer et de traiter toutes sortes de troubles du système nerveux. Pour le travail d’évaluation et de diagnostic, une série de tests neurologiques ont été développés qui permettent au personnel médical d'observer le fonctionnement dudit système.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus courants"

Que sont les tests neurologiques?

Des tests ou des examens neurologiques sont effectués afin de vérifier si le système nerveux du patient fonctionne correctement. Ces tests peuvent être plus ou moins exhaustifs en fonction de ce que le médecin essaie d'évaluer, en plus de l'âge ou de l'état dans lequel se trouve le patient.


L’importance de ces tests réside dans leur utilité dans la détection précoce des altérations possibles. et ainsi éliminer ou réduire autant que possible les complications éventuelles pouvant apparaître à long terme.

Les premiers tests que le clinicien effectue sont les tests physiques, qui consistent à utiliser des marteaux, des diapasons, des lampes de poche, etc. le système nerveux est mis à l'épreuve.

Les aspects évalués lors de ce type d’examen neurologique sont:

  • État mental (conscience)
  • Réflexions
  • Capacités motrices
  • Capacités sensorielles
  • Solde
  • Opération des nerfs
  • La coordination

Toutefois, en cas de suspicion d’une modification éventuelle de l’un de ces aspects, le professionnel de la santé dispose d'un grand nombre de tests cliniques spécifiques et très révélateurs au moment de diagnostiquer tout type de problème neurologique.


Types de tests neurologiques

Il existe plus d'une douzaine de tests permettant d'évaluer l'état du système nerveux; chacun d'entre eux sera plus ou moins utile en fonction de ce que le clinicien souhaite rechercher.

Ici, certains d'entre eux sont expliqués.

1. Angiographie cérébrale

L'angiographie cérébrale, également appelée artériographie, est une procédure permettant de localiser d'éventuelles singularités vasculaires dans le cerveau. . Ces irrégularités vont des anévrismes cérébraux possibles, des obstructions des vaisseaux sanguins ou des accidents vasculaires cérébraux aux inflammations ou malformations cérébrales des veines cérébrales.

Pour détecter l'une quelconque de ces anomalies, le médecin injecte une substance radio-opaque dans l'une des artères cérébrales, rendant ainsi visibles les problèmes vasculaires cérébraux sur les radiographies.

2. Électroencéphalogramme (EEG)

Si le médecin a besoin de surveiller l'activité cérébrale, l'électroencéphalogramme peut être son test de référence. Au cours de ce test, une série d'électrodes est placée sur la tête du patient. Ces petites électrodes transportent l'activité électrique du cerveau vers un appareil qui lit cette activité et la convertit en une trace de l'enregistrement électrique.


De même le patient peut être soumis à divers tests dans lesquels il est soumis à une série de stimuli tels que des lumières, du bruit ou même des médicaments . De cette manière, l'EEG peut détecter des changements dans les schémas des ondes cérébrales.

Si le professionnel de la santé juge nécessaire de restreindre davantage la recherche ou de la rendre plus exhaustive, il est possible de placer ces électrodes directement dans le cerveau du patient par le biais d'une incision chirurgicale dans le crâne du patient.

L’électroencéphalogramme est très intéressant pour diagnostiquer des maladies ou des altérations telles que

  • Tumeurs cérébrales
  • Troubles psychiatriques
  • Troubles métaboliques
  • Blessures
  • Inflammation du cerveau ou de la colonne vertébrale
  • Troubles épileptiques

3. Ponction lombaire

Les ponctions lombaires sont réalisées dans le but de prélever des échantillons de liquide céphalo-rachidien . Ce liquide est analysé pour vérifier les saignements et les hémorragies cérébrales, ainsi que pour mesurer la pression intracrânienne. Le but est de diagnostiquer une éventuelle infection du cerveau ou de la moelle osseuse, telle que celles qui surviennent lors de certaines maladies neurologiques telles que la sclérose en plaques ou la méningite.

Généralement, la procédure à suivre dans ce test commence par placer le patient sur un côté, lui demandant de placer les genoux près de la poitrine. Le médecin place ensuite la position entre les vertèbres au milieu de laquelle la ponction sera effectuée. Après avoir administré un anesthésique local, le médecin insère une aiguille spéciale et extrait un petit échantillon de liquide.

4. Tomographie informatisée (CT)

Ce test fait partie de la soi-disant échographie cérébrale , parmi lesquels figurent également la tomographie par résonance magnétique et par émission de positrons. L'avantage de tous est qu'ils sont des processus indolores et non invasifs.

Grâce à la tomographie informatisée, des images claires et rapides des organes, du cerveau, des tissus et des os sont obtenues.

La TDM neurologique peut aider à établir des diagnostics différentiels dans les troubles neurologiques ayant plusieurs propriétés similaires. De plus, il est particulièrement efficace pour détecter, entre autres:

  • L'épilepsie
  • Encéphalite
  • Caillots ou saignements intracrâniens
  • Lésions cérébrales dues à des blessures
  • Tumeurs cérébrales et kystes

Le test dure environ 20 minutes, pendant lesquelles le patient doit rester au repos dans la chambre de tomodensitomètre. Pour ce test, la personne doit rester immobile pendant que les rayons X analysent son corps sous différents angles.

Le résultat final est plusieurs images transversales de la structure interne, en l'occurrence la structure interne du cerveau. Parfois, un liquide de contraste peut être introduit dans la circulation sanguine pour faciliter la différenciation des différents tissus cérébraux.

5. Résonance magnétique (MR)

Pour obtenir des images obtenues par résonance magnétique, des ondes radio sont utilisées qui sont générés dans un appareil et un grand champ magnétique qui révèlent les détails des organes, des tissus, des nerfs et des os.

Comme en scanner, le patient doit rester incliné et immobile et s’insérer dans un conduit creux entouré d’un grand aimant.

Pendant le test, un large champ magnétique est créé autour du patient et, à travers une série de réactions, un signal de résonance est produit à partir de divers angles du corps du patient. Un ordinateur spécialisé traite cette résonance en la convertissant en une image tridimensionnelle ou en une image transversale bidimensionnelle.

Il existe également une résonance magnétique fonctionnelle dans laquelle des images du flux sanguin de différentes zones du cerveau sont obtenues grâce aux propriétés magnétiques du sang.

6. Tomographie par émission de positrons (PET)

En tomographie par émission de positons, le clinicien peut obtenir des images de l'activité cérébrale en deux ou trois dimensions. . Cette image est obtenue par la mesure des isotopes radioactifs injectés dans la circulation sanguine du patient.

Ces isotopes radioactifs liés aux produits chimiques qui se dirigent vers le cerveau sont suivis pendant que le cerveau effectue différentes tâches. Pendant ce temps, des capteurs de rayons gamma analysent le patient et un ordinateur traite toutes les informations en les affichant sur un écran. Différents composés peuvent être injectés pour examiner plus d'une fonction cérébrale à la fois.

Les PET sont particulièrement utiles lorsqu'il s'agit de:

  • Détecter les tumeurs et les tissus infectés
  • Déterminer les changements cérébraux après la consommation de substances ou de blessures
  • Évaluer les patients souffrant de troubles de la mémoire
  • Évaluation des troubles épileptiques
  • Mesurer le métabolisme cellulaire
  • Montrer le flux sanguin

7. Potentiels évoqués

Dans l'épreuve de potentiel évoqué, il est possible d'évaluer les problèmes sensoriels et nerveux , ainsi que corroborer certaines conditions neurologiques telles que les tumeurs cérébrales, les lésions de la moelle osseuse ou la sclérose en plaques.

Ces potentiels ou réponses évoquées calibrent les signaux électriques que les stimuli visuels, auditifs ou tactiles envoient au cerveau.

L'utilisation d'aiguilles à électrodes permet d'évaluer les dommages nerveux. Une paire de ces électrodes mesure la réponse électrophysiologique des stimuli dans le cuir chevelu du patient, l'autre paire étant placée dans la zone du corps à examiner. Ensuite, le clinicien note le temps nécessaire pour que l'impulsion générée atteigne le cerveau.

Les autres tests fréquemment utilisés pour l'évaluation et le diagnostic des troubles neuronaux sont:

  • Biopsie
  • Tomographie par émission de photons uniques
  • Échographie Doppler
  • Myélographie
  • Électromyographie

Neurology - Topic 14 - Parkinsons disease - examining a patient (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes