yes, therapy helps!
The 8 benefits of assertiveness: what are they?

The 8 benefits of assertiveness: what are they?

May 24, 2022

Assertiveness is a communication strategy that allows us to defend our rights and express our opinion freely and clearly from our own and others' respect. Now ... what is useful, exactly, in our day to day?

  • Related article: "Assertiveness: 5 basic habits to improve communication"

Learn to say "no"

The assertive person knows to say "no" and is able to show their opinions and positions clearly (for example, manifesting a reasoning in order to justify an idea, a feeling or a request). The assertive person expresses understanding towards the visions, feelings and demands of others. Know their own rights and defend them trying not to go "to win", but to reach an agreement.


His speech is fluid and safe. Maintains direct eye contact (without being challenging) and a relaxed body position. It also has the capacity to disagree openly giving shape to their own tastes and interests, asking for clarifications and saying "no" when necessary. The feelings that are often associated with the assertive person respond to a good self-esteem, a feeling of emotional control and a high satisfaction in personal relationships.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Assertiveness to seduce: 9 tricks to improve your communication"

What characterizes the passive communicative style?

The passive person shows little ambition, few desires and principles. Defend others but do not defend their personal interests . The behavior that we usually observe is characterized by a low tone of voice, a little fluent speech and the avoidance of eye contact.


The submissive person denotes an important insecurity about the discourse itself ("what I can say is not important") and its figure in relation to others ("I do not participate so as not to disturb"), at the same time that it manifests frequent complaints to third parties ("this person does not understand me") ). The most recurrent feelings of the passive person are related to impotence, guilt, frustration, and low self-esteem.

And what characterizes the aggressive communicative style?

The aggressive person defends excessively personal rights and interests without taking into account those of others (sometimes, he does not take them into account, sometimes he lacks the skills to face certain situations). The behavior that we often observe from this communicative style is a high tone of voice, a sharp speech, a fast and precipitate conversation rhythm, a challenging eye contact, and a clear tendency to counterattack.


Some of the thoughts that the aggressive person can present are: "what you think does not interest me, only I matter", "I do not make mistakes", "people should be like me", etc. Growing anxiety, loneliness, guilt, the feeling of lack of control, frustration and low self-esteem are feelings that are intimately linked.

What could be the reason for the lack of assertiveness?

There are four main causes by which a person can present assertiveness problems :

The first cause is observed when the person has not learned to be assertive or has done it in an inappropriate way. Behaviors or skills to be assertive are learned; they are habits or behavior patterns . There is no innate assertive or non-assertive personality.

Assertive behavior is learned by imitation and reinforcement (parents, grandparents, tutors and friends are some models). In the learning of a non-assertive person, there may have been a systematic punishment to assertive behaviors , a lack of reinforcement to them, or that the reinforcement towards passive or aggressive behaviors has been greater (for example in the case of a passive person who, thanks to the fragility, has received extra attention).

The second cause appears when the person knows the appropriate behavior but the anxiety prevents him from carrying it out . In this case there is an association with highly unpleasant / traumatic experience / s that has been able to limit or block the assertive response.

The third cause is that in which the person does not know or reject their rights (for example, the result of an education that has made that individual submissive).

And finally the fourth cause we see it when the person has irrational thought patterns (concrete mental patterns and associated beliefs) that prevent you from acting assertively.

  • Related article: "Why women apologize more than men"

Is it related to self-love?

Being assertive helps us to be treated with respect and dignity, to express our own feelings and opinions, to be heard, to know how to say without feeling guilty, to make requests, to be independent, to enjoy and enjoy, to feel relaxed and to dedicate a time for us.

The fact of establishing a little assertive communication can cause interpersonal conflicts, frustration, feelings of guilt, low self-esteem, tension, loneliness, and loss of control. With an assertive communication style one solves problems more easily, feels more relaxed, more at ease with himself, satisfied and, in this way, gets what he wants more easily without generating conflicts.

Can we train this habit?

Of course. Remember that we are not born being assertive people, Assertive behavior is learned . A good way to start being assertive is to use the following phrases when starting a conversation:

  • I think…
  • My opinion is…
  • I would like…

The objective is develop a speech and offer a space when interacting with others in order to allow and allow yourself to be heard.

The benefits of assertiveness

Being an assertive person has a number of benefits. They are the following:

  • Assertiveness allows us to have a greater sense of control over the environment and about ourselves .
  • Having control over oneself and setting limits improves self-esteem.
  • Assertiveness does not seek conflict, but is based on efficient communication and, therefore, empowers the person.
  • It improves well-being and life satisfaction and helps to live more rewarding situations and experiences.
  • Improves communication between the actors in a relationship.
  • Causes an improvement in interpersonal relationships which is the result of better communication, honesty and sincerity.
  • Improves self-knowledge and emotional management.
  • It allows resolving conflicts and preventing problems from being magnified as a result of the non-expression of one's needs and emotions.

Assertive Skills Benefits (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 avantages de l'affirmation de soi: quels sont-ils?

Les 8 avantages de l'affirmation de soi: quels sont-ils?

Septembre 18, 2019

L'assertivité est une stratégie de communication cela nous permet de défendre nos droits et d'exprimer notre opinion librement et clairement par respect pour nous-mêmes et pour les autres. Maintenant ... qu'est-ce qui est utile, exactement, dans notre quotidien?

  • Article connexe: "Affirmation de soi: 5 habitudes de base pour améliorer la communication"

Apprenez à dire "non"

La personne assurée sait dire "non" et est capable de montrer clairement ses opinions et ses positions (par exemple, manifester un raisonnement pour justifier une idée, un sentiment ou une demande). La personne affirmée exprime sa compréhension des visions, des sentiments et des exigences des autres. Connaître ses propres droits et les défendre en essayant de ne pas aller "pour gagner", mais pour parvenir à un accord


Son discours est fluide et sûr. Maintient le contact visuel direct (sans être difficile) et une position du corps détendue. Il a également la capacité d'être en désaccord ouvertement en donnant forme à ses propres goûts et intérêts, en demandant des éclaircissements et en disant "non" lorsque cela est nécessaire. Les sentiments souvent associés à la personne assertive répondent à une bonne estime de soi, à un sentiment de contrôle des émotions et à une grande satisfaction dans les relations personnelles.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Assertivité pour séduire: 9 astuces pour améliorer votre communication"

Qu'est-ce qui caractérise le style de communication passif?

La personne passive montre peu d'ambition, peu de désirs et de principes. Défendre les autres mais ne pas défendre leurs intérêts personnels . Le comportement que nous observons habituellement se caractérise par un ton de voix faible, un langage peu parlant et l’évitement du contact visuel.


La personne soumise dénote une insécurité importante sur le discours lui-même ("ce que je peux dire n'est pas important") et sa figure par rapport aux autres ("je ne participe pas pour ne pas déranger"), en même temps qu'il manifeste de fréquentes plaintes à des tiers ("cette personne ne me comprend pas") ). Les sentiments les plus récurrents de la personne passive sont liés à l'impuissance, à la culpabilité, à la frustration et à une faible estime de soi.

Et qu'est-ce qui caractérise le style de communication agressif?

La personne agressive défend excessivement les droits et intérêts personnels sans tenir compte de ceux des autres (parfois, il ne les prend pas en compte, parfois il manque les compétences pour faire face à certaines situations). Le comportement que nous observons souvent de ce style de communication est un ton de voix élevé, un discours aigu, un rythme de conversation rapide et précipité, un contact visuel stimulant et une nette tendance à la contre-attaque.


Certaines des pensées que la personne agressive peut exprimer sont les suivantes: "Ce que tu penses ne m'intéresse pas, seulement j'importe", "Je ne fais pas d'erreur", "Les gens devraient être comme moi", etc. L’anxiété croissante, la solitude, la culpabilité, le sentiment de manque de contrôle, la frustration et une faible estime de soi sont des sentiments intimement liés.

Quelle pourrait être la raison du manque d'affirmation de soi?

Il y a quatre principales causes par lesquelles une personne peut présenter des problèmes d'affirmation de soi :

La première cause est observée lorsque la personne n'a pas appris à s'affirmer ou l'a fait de manière inappropriée. Les comportements ou les compétences pour s'affirmer sont appris; ce sont des habitudes ou des comportements . Il n'y a pas de personnalité innée affirmée ou non affirmée.

Le comportement assertif s'apprend par imitation et renforcement (les parents, les grands-parents, les tuteurs et les amis sont des modèles). Dans l’apprentissage d’une personne non affirmée, il se peut qu’il y ait eu une punition systématique pour les comportements assertifs , un manque de renforcement, ou que le renforcement vers des comportements passifs ou agressifs ait été plus important (par exemple dans le cas d’une personne passive qui, grâce à la fragilité, a reçu une attention particulière).

La deuxième cause apparaît lorsque la personne connaît le comportement approprié mais l'inquiétude l'empêche de l'exécuter . Dans ce cas, il existe une association avec des expériences très désagréables / traumatiques qui ont pu limiter ou bloquer la réponse affirmative.

La troisième cause est celle dans laquelle la personne ignore ou rejette ses droits (par exemple, le résultat d’une éducation qui l’a rendu soumis).

Et enfin la quatrième cause que nous voyons quand la personne a des schémas de pensée irrationnels (schémas mentaux concrets et croyances associées) qui vous empêchent d’agir avec assurance.

  • Article connexe: "Pourquoi les femmes s'excusent plus que les hommes"

Est-ce lié à l'amour de soi?

L’affirmation de soi nous aide à être traités avec respect et dignité, à exprimer nos propres sentiments et opinions, à être entendus, à savoir comment dire sans nous sentir coupables, à faire des demandes, à être indépendants, à apprécier et à apprécier, à se détendre et à consacrer un temps pour nous.

Le fait d'établir un peu de communication assertive peut entraîner des conflits interpersonnels, de la frustration, des sentiments de culpabilité, une faible estime de soi, des tensions, de la solitude et une perte de contrôle. Avec un style de communication assuré, on résout les problèmes plus facilement, on se sent plus détendu, plus à l'aise avec soi-même, satisfait et, de cette manière, on obtient ce qu'il veut plus facilement sans générer de conflits.

Peut-on former cette habitude?

Bien sûr. Rappelez-vous que nous ne naissons pas en tant que personnes affirmées, Comportement assertif est appris . Un bon moyen de commencer à s'affirmer consiste à utiliser les expressions suivantes pour engager une conversation:

  • Je pense…
  • Mon opinion est…
  • J'aimerais…

L'objectif est développer un discours et offrir un espace pour interagir avec les autres afin de vous permettre et de vous permettre d'être entendu.

Les avantages de l'affirmation de soi

Être une personne assertive présente de nombreux avantages. Ils sont les suivants:

  • L’affirmation de soi nous permet d’avoir un plus grand sens du contrôle sur l'environnement et sur nous-mêmes .
  • Avoir le contrôle de soi et fixer des limites améliore l'estime de soi.
  • L’affirmation de soi ne cherche pas le conflit, mais repose sur une communication efficace et, par conséquent, responsabilise la personne.
  • Il améliore le bien-être et la satisfaction de la vie et aide à vivre des situations et des expériences plus enrichissantes.
  • Améliore la communication entre les acteurs d'une relation.
  • Les causes une amélioration des relations interpersonnelles ce qui résulte d'une meilleure communication, de l'honnêteté et de la sincérité.
  • Améliore la connaissance de soi et la gestion émotionnelle.
  • Cela permet de résoudre les conflits et d'empêcher que les problèmes ne soient amplifiés du fait de la non-expression de ses besoins et de ses émotions.

Assertivité - Affirmation de soi - la voie royale vers la confiance en soi (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes