yes, therapy helps!
The 8 benefits of going to psychological therapy

The 8 benefits of going to psychological therapy

January 22, 2021

For many people going to the psychologist is synonymous with being a weak person , but in reality, going to psychological therapy can make you a stronger emotionally, and can provide you with tools to be able to adapt better to the difficult situations that may occur throughout your life.

When to go to a psychologist?

So, going to therapy is an act of intelligence and courage , since in many occasions the person who needs help is not aware that he has the problem or avoids confronting reality. Many people still do not know when they should think about going to a psychologist, especially because of the false beliefs about what psychotherapy is and to whom it is addressed. In this regard, we recommend that you read this article:


The 8 reasons why you should go to a psychologist

A psychotherapist is a mental health professional specializing in the cognitive (thinking), affective (emotions) and behavioral (behavior) areas, and can help you to empower yourself in the face of everyday circumstances and improve your quality of life .

For that reason, next we present you the benefits provided by psychological therapy .

1. It helps you feel better

When you face together with a psychotherapist those problems that cause you pain or discomfort, and be able to speak with confidence and with freedom about yourself to someone who does not judge you about your feelings and your repressed experiences, you are letting express your thoughts and hidden sensations, which one it is beneficial for the well-being .


When you express how you feel and release your emotional charge, you feel relieved. This is known as catharsis, a Greek word that refers to purification and is used in psychology to explain the process of liberation of negative emotions.

2. Teaches you tools to handle conflicts

The conflicts they are normal in people's lives and, in many cases, they are necessary for personal growth or coexistence with other individuals. Psychotherapy sessions teach you new ways (more adaptive ) to solve problems.

In addition, it can help you to perceive conflicts in a different way, so that they affect you less and be able to relativize the importance of tense situations. In this way, your way of adapting to the new circumstances of the day to day will be much better and, in general, you will have less difficulties in your personal relationships or even in the professional field.


3. It helps you change limiting beliefs

With our beliefs and values we give meaning and coherence to our world model. The same situation can be experienced differently by each person. The beliefs help us in the end, to simplify the world around us, and are interpretations of reality and not made facts.

Some beliefs are maladaptive or limiting and it is necessary to correct them, because they are not innate, we acquire them throughout our lives. Thus, the psychologist can help you identify them, analyze them, test them and modify them .

4. It helps you to live in harmony with yourself and with others

The introspection that is carried out when attending therapy allows you to know yourself better and overcome, for example, an existential crisis. In addition, psychotherapy is effective for work problems (burnout, stress, etc.) or partner problems.

Therefore, psychological therapy can help you solve these types of problems, and It is beneficial to find yourself and to relate to others more effectively . This will positively affect your mental health, and allow you to find inner peace and well-being.

5. Confidentiality of the sessions

The relationship with the psychologist It is confidential and strictly professional . As expressed in the ethical and deontological code of the Official College of Psychologists, the professional of psychology must guarantee the secrecy and confidentiality of everything referred by whoever consults him.

Therefore, everything you say in a therapeutic session will be a secret between you and your therapist. This allows a relational framework in which very intimate fears can be treated.

6. Relationship of trust and empathy

In addition to the knowledge and professionalism that the psychologist must show, the environment of trust that is created between both will allow you to express the problems and feelings that you consider more delicate (and that possibly you would not tell anyone else).

The psychologist will not judge you and, in addition, has the necessary training to create a good environment of trust and empathy for you to express yourself without fear.

7. Professional advice

The psychotherapist is an expert in psychological therapy, and has extensive knowledge about human behavior , because he has studied psychology in a regulated university. To get to work as a psychotherapist, it is very possible that you have completed some postgraduate university about some specialty (for example, sexology, couple's therapy or clinical psychology), and surely you have acquired the necessary experience to be able to contribute all your knowledge in your benefit.

Psychological therapy is not telling the problems to a friend or family member, there is a solid base (both theoretical and practical) endorsed by science .

8. It empowers you in front of life

One of the goals of psychotherapy is that the relationship between the therapist and the patient is not dependent . Therefore, the psychologist helps you to be the owner of yourself and to acquire new skills that will be useful to you on a day-to-day basis.

Attending psychological therapy is not expecting the psychologist to solve the problems, is to learn to accept and love what one is and to put the will necessary to change what causes us discomfort or prevents us from growing .

Bonus: Psychological therapy changes your brain

Neurological studies are increasingly finding empirical evidence of the capacity of psychotherapy to modify brain structures and improve them, getting a better vital attitude to face the day to day.

You can check it by reading this article by psychologist Eduardo Valenciano:

"Psychotherapy produces changes in the brain"

5 Signs that You Need Therapy! (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 avantages de la thérapie psychologique

Les 8 avantages de la thérapie psychologique

Juillet 16, 2022

Pour beaucoup de gens aller chez le psychologue est synonyme d'être une personne faible , mais en réalité, la thérapie psychologique peut vous rendre plus fort émotionnellement et vous fournir des outils pour mieux s'adapter aux situations difficiles qui peuvent se produire tout au long de votre vie.

Quand aller chez un psychologue?

Pourtant, aller en thérapie est un acte d'intelligence et de courage , car dans de nombreuses occasions, la personne qui a besoin d’aide n’est pas consciente du problème ou évite de faire face à la réalité. Beaucoup de gens ne savent toujours pas quand ils devraient songer à consulter un psychologue, notamment à cause des fausses croyances sur ce qu'est la psychothérapie et à qui s'adresse-t-elle. À cet égard, nous vous recommandons de lire cet article:


Les 8 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez aller chez un psychologue

Un psychothérapeute est un professionnel de la santé mentale spécialisé dans les domaines cognitif (pensée), affectif (émotions) et comportemental (comportement), et peut vous aider à vous responsabiliser face aux circonstances de la vie quotidienne et à améliorer votre qualité de vie .

Pour cette raison, nous vous présentons ensuite le avantages fournis par la thérapie psychologique .

1. Cela vous aide à vous sentir mieux

Lorsque vous affrontez avec un psychothérapeute ces problèmes qui vous causent douleur ou malaise et que vous pouvez parler avec confiance et en toute liberté de vous-même à quelqu'un qui ne vous juge pas à propos de vos sentiments et de vos expériences refoulées, vous laissez exprimer vos pensées et vos sensations cachées, qui c'est bénéfique pour le bien-être .


Lorsque vous exprimez ce que vous ressentez et libérez votre charge émotionnelle, vous vous sentez soulagé. C'est ce qu'on appelle la catharsis, un mot grec qui fait référence à la purification et qui est utilisé en psychologie pour expliquer le processus de libération des émotions négatives.

2. Vous apprend des outils pour gérer les conflits

Le des conflits ils sont normaux dans la vie des gens et, dans de nombreux cas, ils sont nécessaires à la croissance personnelle ou à la coexistence avec d'autres individus. Les séances de psychothérapie vous apprennent de nouvelles façons (plus adaptatif ) pour résoudre des problèmes.

En outre, cela peut vous aider à percevoir les conflits d’une manière différente, de sorte qu’ils vous touchent moins et moins pouvoir relativiser l'importance des situations tendues. De cette manière, votre façon de vous adapter aux nouvelles conditions de la vie quotidienne sera bien meilleure et, en général, vous aurez moins de difficultés dans vos relations personnelles ou même dans le domaine professionnel.


3. Cela vous aide à changer les croyances limitantes

Avec notre croyances et valeurs nous donnons un sens et une cohérence à notre modèle mondial. La même situation peut être vécue différemment par chaque personne. Les croyances nous aident à la fin, à simplifier le monde qui nous entoure, et sont des interprétations de la réalité et non des faits.

Certaines croyances sont inadaptées ou limitantes et il est nécessaire de les corriger, car elles ne sont pas innées, nous les acquérons tout au long de notre vie. Pour lui, le psychologue peut vous aider à les identifier, les analyser, les tester et les modifier .

4. Cela vous aide à vivre en harmonie avec vous-même et avec les autres

Le introspection cela se fait lorsque la thérapie vous permet de mieux vous connaître et de surmonter, par exemple, une crise existentielle. De plus, la psychothérapie est efficace pour les problèmes de travail (épuisement professionnel, stress, etc.) ou les problèmes de partenaire.

Par conséquent, la thérapie psychologique peut vous aider à résoudre ces types de problèmes, et Il est bénéfique de se retrouver et de communiquer plus efficacement avec les autres . Cela affectera positivement votre santé mentale et vous permettra de trouver la paix intérieure et le bien-être.

5. Confidentialité des sessions

La relation avec le psychologue C'est confidentiel et strictement professionnel . Comme indiqué dans le code éthique et déontologique de la Collège officiel des psychologues, le professionnel de la psychologie doit garantir le secret et la confidentialité de tout ce qui est référé par celui qui le consulte.

Par conséquent, tout ce que vous dites pendant une séance thérapeutique sera un secret entre vous et votre thérapeute. Cela permet un cadre relationnel dans lequel les peurs très intimes peuvent être traitées.

6. Relation de confiance et d'empathie

En plus des connaissances et du professionnalisme que le psychologue doit démontrer, l'environnement de confiance créé entre les deux vous permettra d'exprimer les problèmes et les sentiments que vous considérez comme plus délicat (et que vous ne diriez peut-être à personne d’autre).

Le psychologue ne vous jugera pas et dispose en outre de la formation nécessaire pour créer un bon environnement de confiance et d'empathie vous permettant de vous exprimer sans crainte.

7. Conseil professionnel

Le psychothérapeute est un expert en psychothérapie, et a une connaissance approfondie du comportement humain , car il a étudié la psychologie dans une université réglementée. Pour aller travailler en tant que psychothérapeute, il est très possible que vous ayez terminé université de troisième cycle sur une spécialité (par exemple, la sexologie, la thérapie de couple ou la psychologie clinique), et vous avez sûrement acquis l'expérience nécessaire pour pouvoir mettre toutes vos connaissances à profit.

Thérapie psychologique ne dit pas les problèmes à un ami ou un membre de la famille, il y a une base solide (à la fois théorique et pratique) approuvé par la science .

8. Il vous donne le pouvoir devant la vie

Un des objectifs de la psychothérapie est que la relation entre le thérapeute et le patient ne soit pas dépendante . Par conséquent, le psychologue vous aide à être le propriétaire de vous-même et à acquérir de nouvelles compétences qui vous seront utiles au quotidien.

Assister à une thérapie psychologique, ce n’est pas attendre du psychologue à résoudre les problèmes, est d'apprendre à accepter et à aimer ce que l'on est et à mettre la volonté nécessaire pour changer ce qui nous gêne ou nous empêche de grandir .

Bonus: un traitement psychologique modifie votre cerveau

Les études neurologiques trouvent de plus en plus de preuves empiriques de la capacité de la psychothérapie à modifier les structures du cerveau et les améliorer, en obtenant une meilleure attitude vitale pour faire face au jour le jour.

Vous pouvez le vérifier en lisant cet article du psychologue Eduardo Valenciano:

"La psychothérapie produit des changements dans le cerveau"

Thérapie Cognitivo-Comportementale: Relation d'aide, mieux-être psychologique (résumé) (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes