yes, therapy helps!
The 8 branches of philosophy (and its main thinkers)

The 8 branches of philosophy (and its main thinkers)

April 29, 2024

Philosophy is one of the most difficult areas of knowledge to define. This makes that, throughout history, there have been many thinkers who have proposed the task of putting words to this abstract concept.

Maybe less difficult is delimit the different branches of philosophy for, by specifying more of what each one deals with, having a better global vision of both this discipline and the philosophers who dedicate themselves to it.

  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Main branches of philosophy

Bearing in mind that everything we think we know can be questioned in a thousand different ways, and that whatever type of belief we have, however entrenched, is in danger before philosophy, it is interesting to know which are the different sides for which the task of the philosophers can serve so that we learn, leaving behind outdated ideas.


Next, we will review the different branches of philosophy, which as a whole are evidence of the extent to which this is a varied and prolific activity, as well as the different thinkers who stood out in each one of them.

1. Epistemology

Epistemology focuses on the study of the way in which human beings generate knowledge from our reflections and our relationship with the environment.

The aim is to examine both the validity of the conclusions reached by taking into account both the initial data and the methodology used, but also considering the social and historical context in which the hypotheses and questions that must be answered arise.


Epistemology has existed for many centuries, since the Renaissance, and among its most famous representatives are historical figures such as René Descartes, David Hume or John Locke.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

2. Philosophy of Logic

The philosophers belonging to this field they are dedicated to studying the logical systems , its qualities and coherence, as well as the way in which knowledge can be extracted. In addition, it currently has a close relationship with the fields of computer engineering.

Kurt Gödel, Aristotle or Charles Sanders Peirce are some of the thinkers who stood out in this discipline.

3. Ethics

Ethics is the branch of philosophy that is responsible for examining the ways in which we can establish what is morally correct and what is not. Practically all people act following a morality, but very few questions are asked systematically to examine to what extent their scales of values ​​and their application of morality are correct.


Socrates, Plato or Thomas Aquinas are examples of this type of philosopher.

  • Related article: "The 10 types of values: principles that govern our lives"

4. Aesthetics

This is the branch of philosophy that focuses on the study of the perception of beauty , inside and outside the forms of expression of art, and whether it is a visual perception or not. Although not dedicated solely to this branch, Martin Heidegger, Plato or Denis Diderot worked in this field.

5. Philosophy of science

This is the branch of philosophy that is responsible for examining both the nature of science and to what extent it is applied to practice to obtain valid and reliable knowledge.

Its appearance dates back to the late 1920s, at which time emerged from epistemology from the Vienna Circle . Among the most outstanding thinkers in this field are Rudolf Carnap, Karl Popper and Thomas Kuhn.

6. Ontology

Ontology is the branch of philosophy dedicated to investigating the existence of phenomena. This does not only mean asking about what exists and what does not, but also consider in what sense things exist : Is a crocodile the same as the concept of a dragon, since the latter only exists in fiction?

Some of the philosophers who stood out in this area were Plato, Aristotle, Georg Hegel, Gottfried Leibniz or George Berkeley.

7. Political Philosophy

The thinkers dedicated to this tradition are dedicated to think and research about the concepts and the logics behind political ideologies, social movements and of the value systems that underlie political and economic proposals.

Montesquieu, Adam Smith, Max Stirner, Karl Marx, Simone de Beauvoir or Thomas Hobbes are some of the most important thinkers in this field.

8. Philosophy of Language

This branch of philosophy directs its inquiries into the nature of language and the type of information exchange that is carried out through its daily or institutional use. In addition, it can support the plots of science dedicated to understanding the use of language in practice.

Ferdinand de Saussure or Ludwig Wittgenstein They are examples of thinkers who were interested in this area.


Branches of philosophy: Metaphysics, epistemology and ethics (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 branches de la philosophie (et ses principaux penseurs)

Les 8 branches de la philosophie (et ses principaux penseurs)

Mai 11, 2021

La philosophie est l’un des domaines de connaissance les plus difficiles à définir. Cela fait qu'au cours de l'histoire, de nombreux penseurs ont proposé de mettre des mots sur ce concept abstrait.

Peut-être que moins difficile est délimiter les différentes branches de la philosophie car, en précisant plus de ce que chacun traite, avoir une meilleure vision globale de cette discipline et des philosophes qui s’y consacrent.

  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Branches principales de la philosophie

Sachant que tout ce que nous pensons savoir peut être remis en question de mille façons différentes et que, quel que soit le type de croyance que nous ayons enracinée, elle est en péril avant la philosophie, il est intéressant de savoir quelles sont les différentes parties pour lesquelles la tâche de les philosophes peuvent servir pour que nous apprenions, laissant derrière nous des idées dépassées.


Ensuite, nous passerons en revue les différentes branches de la philosophie, qui dans leur ensemble démontrent à quel point il s’agit d’une activité variée et prolifique, ainsi que les différents penseurs qui se sont distingués dans chacune d’elles.

1. Epistémologie

L'épistémologie se concentre sur l'étude de la manière dont les êtres humains génèrent des connaissances à partir de nos réflexions et de nos relations avec l'environnement.

L'objectif est d'examiner à la fois la validité des conclusions tirées en tenant compte à la fois des données initiales et de la méthodologie utilisée, mais également en tenant compte du contexte social et historique dans lequel se posent les hypothèses et les questions auxquelles il faut répondre.


L'épistémologie existe depuis plusieurs siècles, depuis la Renaissance, et parmi ses représentants les plus célèbres figurent des personnalités historiques telles que René Descartes, David Hume ou John Locke.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

2. Philosophie de la logique

Les philosophes appartenant à ce domaine ils sont dédiés à l'étude des systèmes logiques , ses qualités et sa cohérence, ainsi que la manière dont la connaissance peut être extraite. En outre, il entretient actuellement des relations étroites avec les domaines de l'ingénierie informatique.

Kurt Gödel, Aristote ou Charles Sanders Peirce sont quelques-uns des penseurs qui se sont distingués dans cette discipline.

3. éthique

L'éthique est la branche de la philosophie chargée d'examiner les moyens par lesquels nous pouvons établir ce qui est moralement correct et ce qui n'est pas. Pratiquement toutes les personnes agissent suivant une moralité, mais très peu de questions sont posées systématiquement pour examiner dans quelle mesure leurs échelles de valeurs et leur application de la moralité sont correctes.


Socrates, Platon ou Thomas d'Aquin sont des exemples de ce type de philosophe.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 types de valeurs: principes qui régissent nos vies"

4. Esthétique

C’est la branche de la philosophie qui se concentre sur l'étude de la perception de la beauté , à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des formes d’expression de l’art, qu’il s’agisse ou non d’une perception visuelle. Martin Heidegger, Plato ou Denis Diderot ont travaillé dans ce domaine sans s’occuper uniquement de cette branche.

5. Philosophie de la science

C'est la branche de la philosophie qui est chargée d'examiner à la fois la nature de la science et dans quelle mesure elle est appliquée à la pratique pour obtenir des connaissances valides et fiables.

Son apparition remonte à la fin des années 1920, époque à laquelle émergé de l'épistémologie du cercle de Vienne . Rudolf Carnap, Karl Popper et Thomas Kuhn comptent parmi les penseurs les plus remarquables dans ce domaine.

6. Ontologie

L'ontologie est la branche de la philosophie consacrée à la recherche de l'existence de phénomènes. Cela ne signifie pas seulement demander ce qui existe et ce qui ne l’est pas, mais aussi considérer dans quel sens les choses existent : Un crocodile est-il identique au concept de dragon, puisque ce dernier n'existe que dans la fiction?

Platon, Aristote, Georg Hegel, Gottfried Leibniz ou George Berkeley sont parmi les philosophes qui se sont distingués dans ce domaine.

7. Philosophie politique

Les penseurs consacrés à cette tradition se consacrent à la réflexion et à la recherche sur les concepts et les les logiques derrière les idéologies politiques, les mouvements sociaux et des systèmes de valeurs qui sous-tendent les propositions politiques et économiques.

Montesquieu, Adam Smith, Max Stirner, Karl Marx, Simone de Beauvoir ou Thomas Hobbes comptent parmi les penseurs les plus importants du domaine.

8. Philosophie du langage

Cette branche de la philosophie oriente ses recherches sur la nature du langage et le type d’échange d’informations effectué par le biais de son utilisation quotidienne ou institutionnelle. En outre, il peut soutenir les projets scientifiques consacrés à la compréhension de l’utilisation du langage dans la pratique.

Ferdinand de Saussure ou Ludwig Wittgenstein Ce sont des exemples de penseurs intéressés par ce domaine.


De la Peur à la Joie - Documentaire (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes