yes, therapy helps!
The 8 characteristics of people really educated according to Anton Chekhov

The 8 characteristics of people really educated according to Anton Chekhov

May 9, 2021

What does it mean, exactly, to be a cultured person? There are many cultural habits and concerns that we could identify with this group of people, and sometimes it is not very clear if these characteristics really tell us about someone's way of thinking or are simply a description of the ways in which they are expressed. his arrogance or vanity.

Sometimes, what we know as cultured people are only members of the upper classes who have had the privilege of being able to access books, films and other cultural products too luxurious to be paid for by the majority of the people. In others, what we call culture is a simple façade that is used to gain power of influence .


Both options were despised by the young Anton Chekhov, born in 1860, who would be one of the most important Russian writers in history. But nevertheless, Chekhov did believe in the existence of really educated people , and in one of his letters to his brother Nikolai he spoke about the eight characteristics that, according to him, define them.

The true educated people according to Anton Chekhov

Nikolai, who at the time when his younger brother Antón wrote the letter was 28 years old, began to be a recognized painter and people with studies began to be interested in him. Due to this fact, Anton Chekhov included in one of his missives to Nikolai a list of those that, for him, are the characteristics that define educated people , so that his brother could see to what extent he did not belong to that kind of circles.


In this way, Antón Chéjov tried to encourage his brother to undertake the lifestyle of the truly cultured people, away from any trace of vanity and superficiality, and to start working every day to train in that direction.

Beyond the intentions that 26-year-old Antón de Chéjov had at the time of writing this text (which can be found in Chekhov's compilation of letters), anyone can find in this list of characteristics a reasonable way to identify educated people. Below is summarized.

1. They are kind and respect each other

Chekhov claimed that, by default, everyone is treated with respect and kindness by educated people . That means that they never come to prejudge those who do not know and who are educated with everyone, without favors only to the people who can return them.


2. They show sympathy not only for beggars and cats

The educated people take the initiative to help others and they care about the people with whom they have established little or no contact.

3. Respect the property of others

The educated people they know that stealing is not the only way to damage the properties of others , and therefore pay all their debts.

4. Flee from the lie

Educated people do not lie even in the smallest details . They consider the lie as a lack of respect towards the interlocutor and they show themselves on the street as they are at home.

5. They do not manipulate or allow themselves to be manipulated by compassion

They are not afraid to arouse compassion before others , and neither try to produce compassion to take advantage of the favor of others.

6. Do not embrace vanity

The educated people they do not try to relate to other people for the simple fact that they are popular or powerful . Nor do they strut to speculate with their own public image.

7. Cultivate your talents

If they have a talent, cultured people strive to develop it, and sacrifice immediate pleasures for it.

8. They develop aesthetic intuition

They do not worry only about living life through a pragmatic sense of utility, but that they think about what they do in aesthetic terms . Therefore, especially if they are artists, they reject some habits simply because of the aesthetic appreciation they have over them.

Another conception of culture

In his letter, Chekhov emphasized the fact that the fact of becoming a cultured person or not is a matter of attitude , more than access to books.

Therefore, culture is defined as the property of interiorizing the most positive and socializing elements of the culture in which a person lives, not isolating themselves from others through the elitist barrier of access to luxuries. It is an idea that, today, we could claim more.


The Seven Poor Travellers by Charles Dickens (Audiobook) | SHORT STORY | #charlesdickens (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 caractéristiques des personnes réellement éduquées selon Anton Chekhov

Les 8 caractéristiques des personnes réellement éduquées selon Anton Chekhov

Août 8, 2022

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie exactement d'être une personne cultivée? Il existe de nombreuses habitudes et préoccupations culturelles que nous pourrions identifier avec ce groupe de personnes, et il est parfois difficile de savoir si ces caractéristiques nous disent vraiment la façon de penser de quelqu'un ou s'il s'agit simplement d'une description de la manière dont elles sont exprimées. son arrogance ou sa vanité.

Parfois, ce que nous savons en tant que personnes cultivées ne sont que des membres des classes supérieures qui ont eu le privilège de pouvoir accéder à des livres, des films et d’autres produits culturels trop luxueux pour être payés par la majorité des gens. Dans d'autres, ce que nous appelons la culture est une façade simple utilisée pour acquérir un pouvoir d'influence .


Le jeune Anton Tchekhov, né en 1860, serait l'un des écrivains russes les plus importants de l'histoire. Cependant, Tchekhov croyait en l'existence de personnes vraiment instruites et dans une de ses lettres à son frère Nikolaï, il a parlé des huit caractéristiques qui, selon lui, les définissent.

Les vrais gens éduqués selon Anton Tchekhov

Nikolai, qui, à l'époque où son frère cadet Antón a écrit cette lettre, avait 28 ans, a commencé à être un peintre reconnu et les personnes qui avaient fait des études ont commencé à s'intéresser à lui. De ce fait, Anton Chekhov a inclus dans une de ses missives à Nikolai une liste de celles qui, pour lui, sont les caractéristiques qui définissent les personnes instruites , afin que son frère puisse voir dans quelle mesure il n'appartenait pas à ce genre de cercles.


De cette façon, Antón Chéjov a tenté d’encourager son frère à adopter le style de vie de gens véritablement cultivés, à l’abri de toute trace de vanité et de superficialité, et à commencer chaque jour à s’entraîner dans cette direction.

Au-delà des intentions d’Antón de Chéjov, âgé de 26 ans au moment de la rédaction de ce texte (que l’on trouve dans la compilation de lettres de Tchekhov), chacun peut trouver dans cette liste de caractéristiques un moyen raisonnable d’identifier personnes instruites. Ci-dessous est résumé.

1. Ils sont gentils et se respectent

Tchekhov a affirmé que, par défaut, tout le monde est traité avec respect et gentillesse par des gens instruits . Cela signifie qu'ils ne viennent jamais pour préjuger ceux qui ne le savent pas et qui sont éduqués avec tout le monde, sans faveurs envers ceux qui peuvent les renvoyer.


2. Ils montrent de la sympathie non seulement pour les mendiants et les chats

Les gens instruits prendre l'initiative d'aider les autres et ils se soucient des personnes avec lesquelles ils ont établi peu ou pas de contact.

3. Respecter la propriété des autres

Les gens instruits ils savent que voler n'est pas le seul moyen de nuire aux propriétés d'autrui , et donc payer toutes leurs dettes.

4. Fuyez le mensonge

Les personnes instruites ne mentent pas même dans les moindres détails . Ils considèrent le mensonge comme un manque de respect envers l'interlocuteur et se montrent dans la rue comme chez eux.

5. Ils ne manipulent pas ou ne se laissent manipuler par compassion

Ils n'ont pas peur d'éveiller la compassion avant les autres et n'essayez pas non plus de produire de la compassion pour profiter de la faveur d'autrui.

6. Ne pas embrasser la vanité

Les gens instruits ils n'essayent pas d'entrer en relation avec d'autres personnes pour le simple fait qu'ils sont populaires ou puissants . Ils ne cherchent pas non plus à spéculer avec leur propre image publique.

7. Cultivez vos talents

S'ils ont un talent, les personnes cultivées s'efforcent de le développer et en sacrifient les plaisirs immédiats.

8. Ils développent une intuition esthétique

Ils ne se soucient pas seulement de vivre leur vie à travers un sens pragmatique de l’utilité, mais ils pensent à ce qu'ils font en termes esthétiques . Par conséquent, surtout s’il s’agit d’artistes, ils rejettent certaines habitudes simplement en raison de l’appréciation esthétique qu’ils ont sur elles.

Une autre conception de la culture

Dans sa lettre, Tchekhov insister sur le fait que le fait de devenir une personne cultivée ou non est une question d’attitude , plus que l’accès aux livres.

Par conséquent, la culture est définie comme la propriété d'intégrer les éléments les plus positifs et les plus socialisants de la culture dans laquelle une personne vit, et non de s'isoler des autres par le biais de la barrière élitiste de l'accès au luxe. C’est une idée qu’aujourd’hui, nous pourrions réclamer plus.


An epidemic of beauty sickness | Renee Engeln | TEDxUConn 2013 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes