yes, therapy helps!
The 8 consequences of overwork: physical and mental health problems

The 8 consequences of overwork: physical and mental health problems

October 1, 2022

Work is necessary both to guarantee the forms of subsistence and to develop a good self-esteem; When we feel useful, we learn to believe in ourselves. However, like any habit, overwork can damage our physical and mental health with amazing ease.

That is why it is important to always control the amount of work we face on a day-to-day basis, on the one hand, and the way we react to it, on the other. Otherwise, the logic of productivity will drag us down to make professional work our reason for living, something that can not be healthy.

  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

These are the effects of overwork

To prevent problems related to overwork, we must know how to recognize the warnings sent by the body. Then you can see what they are and how they are expressed in your body.


1. Anxiety

It is the clearest consequence of all. It is a feeling of discomfort and alertness that, in turn, makes it more difficult for us to face the challenges that lie ahead. Anxiety makes us always activated but that, at the same time, we are afraid to think about our responsibilities, which is why we postpone some of them. This procrastination contributes to the accumulation of obligations.

2. Burnout

Burnout syndrome is a psychological and physical condition typical of demanding work environments and with little capacity to respond to the needs of professionals. It consists of a mixture of depersonalization, crisis due to absence of motivating expectations, and anxiety generated by labor stagnation and monotony.


Keep in mind that the Burnout syndrome does not have to appear because of an excess of work, but rather it has to do with repetition and the lack of moments to take a break and get away from the work context . Thus, taking time to replenish energy and clear the mind often helps, but in other cases it is necessary to change occupation to feel good.

  • Related article: "Burnout (Burning Syndrome): how to detect it and take action"

3. Work addiction

Paradoxically, overwork can make us even more enslaved under the yoke of future tasks to be performed and needs to be addressed. Why? Because the fact of having gone through difficult and unpleasant situations to reach the objectives that we have set makes us deny less margin to choose if in the future we will be in a similar situation.


Simply, the possibility of making our project or company damaged by our inability to work more seems an intolerable idea in view of the sacrifices we have had to make so that this initiative does not fail.

On the other hand, we run the risk of normalizing the excess of work, assuming the belief that always going overflow is what you always expect, the normal. From this point of view, avoid working more or taking a break is irresponsible.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Workaholic: causes and symptoms of workaholism"

4. Carpal tunnel syndrome

It is one of the most common physical problems among workers who use computers a lot, such as administrative, computer or copywriters. It appears when the fact of having the hand in the same position to use the keyboard causes one of the nerves of the hand to be pressed at the height of the wrist.

5. Lumbar pain

By accumulating work, it is much less likely that we perform the tasks necessary to work while maintaining standards of well-being, and take breaks to change posture or stretch your legs is one of those options.

Sit all the time in the two or three positions that we believe help us to produce faster It damages both our muscles and the joints of our spine . Over time, it helps us to adopt that stooped position when walking or standing.

6. Insomnia

Sleeping problems are common when there is too much work. The causes of this are rumination and recurrent thoughts based on one's obligations, as well as the desestructuración of the labor schedule and the excessive use of screens.

  • Related article: "Combat insomnia: 10 solutions to sleep better"

7. Gastric problems

The digestive system is very sensitive to the problems of stress and anxiety, so the excess of work feels like a blow to its operation. That causes gases, diarrhea and other complications to appear. Not only are they annoying, but they affect in a very clear way all the rest of the functions that take place in our body.Ultimately, we are what we eat, which includes the way we assimilate the food.

8. Cardiovascular problems

This problem is related to poor management of anxiety, which becomes chronic, and the bad habits of diet and exercise that result from the lack of time to exercise and eat healthy. Hypertension is the alarm signal .


How stress affects your body - Sharon Horesh Bergquist (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 conséquences du surmenage: problèmes de santé physique et mentale

Les 8 conséquences du surmenage: problèmes de santé physique et mentale

Juin 18, 2022

Le travail est nécessaire à la fois pour garantir les formes de subsistance et pour développer une bonne estime de soi; Lorsque nous nous sentons utiles, nous apprenons à croire en nous. Cependant, comme toute habitude, le surmenage peut nuire à notre santé physique et mentale avec une facilité incroyable.

C'est pourquoi il est important de toujours contrôler la quantité de travail à laquelle nous sommes confrontés au quotidien, d'une part, et la façon dont nous réagissons, de l'autre. Sinon, la logique de la productivité nous entraînera à faire du travail professionnel notre raison de vivre, ce qui ne peut pas être sain.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Ce sont les effets du surmenage

Pour prévenir les problèmes liés au surmenage, il faut savoir reconnaître les avertissements envoyés par le corps. Ensuite, vous pouvez voir ce qu’ils sont et comment ils sont exprimés dans votre corps.


1. anxiété

C'est la conséquence la plus évidente de toutes. C’est un sentiment d’inconfort et de vigilance qui nous rend plus difficile la tâche de relever les défis qui nous attendent. L'inquiétude nous rend toujours activés mais en même temps, nous avons peur de penser à nos responsabilités, raison pour laquelle nous en reportons certaines. Cette procrastination contribue à l'accumulation d'obligations.

2. Burnout

Le syndrome de l'épuisement professionnel est une condition psychologique et physique typique des environnements de travail exigeants et avec une faible capacité à répondre aux besoins des professionnels. Il s'agit d'un mélange de dépersonnalisation, de crise due à l'absence d'attentes motivantes et d'anxiété générée par la stagnation et la monotonie du travail.


N'oubliez pas que le syndrome de l'épuisement professionnel ne doit pas nécessairement apparaître à cause d'un excès de travail, mais qu'il s'agit plutôt de répétition et le manque de moments pour faire une pause et s'éloigner du contexte de travail . Il est donc souvent utile de prendre du temps pour reconstituer l’énergie et vider l’esprit, mais dans d’autres cas, il est nécessaire de changer de profession pour se sentir bien.

  • Article connexe: "Burnout (syndrome de brûlure): comment le détecter et agir"

3. La dépendance au travail

Paradoxalement, le surmenage peut nous rendre encore plus esclaves sous le joug de tâches futures à accomplir et devant être abordées. Parce que? Parce que le fait d’avoir traversé des situations difficiles et désagréables pour atteindre les objectifs que nous nous sommes fixés nous empêche de choisir une marge de manœuvre si, à l’avenir, nous nous trouvons dans une situation similaire.


Simplement, la possibilité de causer des dommages à notre projet ou à notre entreprise en raison de notre incapacité à travailler davantage semble une idée intolérable compte tenu des sacrifices que nous avons dû faire pour que cette initiative ne manque pas.

D'autre part, nous courons le risque de normaliser l'excès de travail, en partant du principe que l'excès de débordement est ce que vous attendez toujours, la normale. De ce point de vue, éviter de travailler plus ou prendre une pause est irresponsable.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Bourreau de travail: causes et symptômes du bourreau de travail"

4. Syndrome du canal carpien

C'est l'un des problèmes physiques les plus courants chez les travailleurs qui utilisent beaucoup d'ordinateurs, tels que les administrateurs, les ordinateurs ou les rédacteurs. Il apparaît que le fait d’avoir la main dans la même position pour utiliser le clavier provoque l’appui d’un des nerfs de la main à la hauteur du poignet.

5. Douleur lombaire

En accumulant du travail, il est beaucoup moins probable que nous accomplissions les tâches nécessaires pour travailler tout en maintenant les normes de bien-être. Prendre des pauses pour changer de posture ou vous dégourdir les jambes est l'une de ces options.

Asseyez-vous tout le temps dans les deux ou trois positions qui, selon nous, nous aident à produire plus rapidement Il endommage nos muscles et les articulations de notre colonne vertébrale . Au fil du temps, cela nous aide à adopter cette position inclinée lorsque vous marchez ou que vous vous tenez debout.

6. l'insomnie

Les problèmes de sommeil sont fréquents lorsqu'il y a trop de travail. Les causes en sont la rumination et les pensées récurrentes basées sur ses obligations, ainsi que la desestructuración de l'horaire de travail et l'utilisation excessive d'écrans.

  • Article connexe: "Combattez l'insomnie: 10 solutions pour mieux dormir"

7. Problèmes gastriques

Le système digestif est très sensible aux problèmes de stress et d’anxiété, l’excès de travail est alors considéré comme un coup dur pour son fonctionnement. Cela provoque l'apparition de gaz, de diarrhée et d'autres complications. Non seulement ils sont ennuyeux, mais ils affectent de manière très claire toutes les autres fonctions de notre corps.En fin de compte, nous sommes ce que nous mangeons, ce qui inclut la façon dont nous assimilons la nourriture.

8. Problèmes cardiovasculaires

Ce problème est lié à une mauvaise gestion de l'anxiété, qui devient chronique, et aux mauvaises habitudes d'alimentation et d'exercice qui résultent du manque de temps pour faire de l'exercice et manger sainement. L'hypertension est le signal d'alarme .


Comment détecter les premiers signes du surmenage ? (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes