yes, therapy helps!
The 8 differences between a story and a novel

The 8 differences between a story and a novel

January 17, 2022

"Once upon a time…". This well-known construction resonates in our minds as the one that starts a large part of the stories we have heard in our childhood.

The story, like other types of literary genre, a form of narration that explains a story in the form of prose. Another genre that works the narrative from prose is the novel. Both types of narration have characteristics in common that cause them to sometimes get confused, but nevertheless they also have multiple differences that make them recognizable and different.

In this article we will expose the main differences between story and novel .


  • Recommended article: "The 13 types of text and their characteristics"

Defining concepts: story and novel

The novel and the story are, as we have said, literary genres written in prose that tell and transmit a story in the form of a narrative. Although similar in some ways, they have multiple differences that make them easily recognizable.

A novel is a relatively extensive narrative that tells a story of fiction (be it totally fictitious or based in part on real events), elaborated for recreational purposes. A series of events are presented in which a series of characters will be involved, which will also be developed throughout history. The action is contextualized in a specific point of space-time, although it refers to non-existent environments or worlds. The themes of this can be varied and have different structures and ways of carrying out.


Regarding the story, it is a short and concise narrative that tells a specific fictional situation in which a few characters are involved and whose main function is to entertain as well as transmit certain values ​​or teachings. Its structure is simple, and although there are exceptions with generally not located in a specific time or special moment.

Main differences

Although in the previous section we can already deduce some differences between a story and a novel, then proceed to highlight them and explain them .

1. Extension

One of the easiest differences to detect between story and novel is the difference in its extension . While the story is generally short and usually does not cover more than a few pages, the novel usually presents a fairly marked extension. Despite this we must bear in mind that extension is a confusing parameter when establishing a limit between both types of narration, since there are very long stories and short novels that may be similar in this factor.


2. Level of specification and complexity

As a general rule, the novel presents a high level of complexity , presenting diverse situations that may be difficult to understand at first and that will be developed and varied throughout the narrative. However, the story tends to be simple and concise, proposing a situation that is very delimited and easy to understand and without usually appearing as complications beyond the initial proposals.

3. Thematic variation

While stories are usually related to a single topic on which to work throughout history, in the novels different themes, subplots and script turns may emerge that enrich reading but make it more complex and difficult to follow.

4. Structure

In both narrative genres we find a structure in the form of an approach, a node and an outcome. However, while the story adheres firmly to this structure and it is easy to define at what point in history we are, in the novel may appear script turns , new beginnings or even a series of parallel stories which make their structure more complex.

5. Characters

The emphasis given to the characters also differs in novel and story . While the story usually focuses on what happens to a few characters most of which are delimited from the beginning, in the novel may appear a wide variety of characters whose role may vary and will be developed with different levels of deepening.

6. Scenario

Another point in which story and novel differ is the use given to space and time . The facts that the story tells tend to occur in a single area or place or relate to a single trip, while in the novel the plot can take the characters to different environments very different from each other. Regarding time, although in both types of narration the events can happen in a short or long time interval, it is more frequent that in the story things happen in short time periods while in the novels the events are prolonged.

In the same way, often neither the moment nor the place are themselves analyzed in the story and only inferred, while in novels these aspects are usually delimited with greater precision while the story is much more contextualized (even if it is a question of places). and times that have never existed).

7. Purpose

The purpose of both genders also presents differences. While it is true that both are a playful element, The novel aims to entertain and in some cases make people think while the story focuses on transmitting a teaching (usually in the form of a moral).

8. Form of transmission

A final difference can be found in the novel is a literary development that is transmitted in writing . On the other hand, although the story may appear in writing, it has traditionally been transmitted orally.


How is writing a short story different from a novel? (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 différences entre une histoire et un roman

Les 8 différences entre une histoire et un roman

Juin 12, 2024

"Il était une fois…". Cette construction bien connue résonne dans nos esprits comme celle qui commence une grande partie des histoires que nous avons entendues dans notre enfance.

L'histoire, comme d'autres types de genre littéraire, une forme de narration qui explique une histoire sous forme de prose. Un autre genre qui utilise le récit à partir de la prose est le roman. Les deux types de narration ont des caractéristiques communes qui les rendent parfois confus, mais ils présentent néanmoins de nombreuses différences qui les rendent reconnaissables et différents.

Dans cet article nous exposerons les principales différences entre histoire et roman .


  • Article recommandé: "Les 13 types de texte et leurs caractéristiques"

Définition des concepts: histoire et roman

Le roman et l'histoire sont, comme nous l'avons dit, des genres littéraires écrits en prose qui racontent et transmettent une histoire sous la forme d'un récit. Bien que similaires à certains égards, ils présentent de nombreuses différences qui les rendent facilement reconnaissables.

Un roman est un récit relativement long racontant une histoire de fiction (que ce soit totalement fictif ou basé en partie sur des événements réels), élaboré à des fins récréatives. Une série d'événements sont présentés dans lesquels une série de personnages sera impliquée, qui sera également développée au cours de l'histoire. L'action est contextualisée dans un point spécifique de l'espace-temps, bien qu'elle fasse référence à des environnements ou des mondes inexistants. Les thèmes de celui-ci peuvent être variés et avoir différentes structures et manières de mener à bien.


En ce qui concerne l'histoire, il s'agit d'un récit court et concis qui raconte une situation fictive spécifique. dans lequel quelques personnages sont impliqués et dont la fonction principale est de divertir et de transmettre certaines valeurs ou certains enseignements. Sa structure est simple et, à quelques exceptions près, elle ne se situe généralement pas dans un moment précis ni dans un moment particulier.

Principales différences

Bien que, dans la section précédente, nous puissions déjà déduire certaines différences entre une histoire et un roman, puis passez à les mettre en évidence et à les expliquer .

1. extension

Une des différences les plus faciles à détecter entre une histoire et un roman est la différence de son extension. . Bien que l'histoire soit généralement courte et ne couvre généralement pas plus de quelques pages, le roman présente généralement une extension assez marquée. Malgré cela, nous devons garder à l’esprit que l’extension est un paramètre confus lorsqu’on établit une limite entre les deux types de narration, car il existe de très longs récits et de courts romans qui peuvent être similaires dans ce facteur.


2. Niveau de spécification et complexité

En règle générale, le roman présente un haut niveau de complexité , présentant diverses situations qui peuvent être difficiles à comprendre au début et qui seront développées et variées tout au long du récit. Cependant, l’histoire a tendance à être simple et concise, proposant une situation très délimitée, facile à comprendre et sans apparaître comme une complication au-delà des propositions initiales.

3. Variation thématique

Alors que les histoires sont généralement liées à un seul sujet sur lequel travailler tout au long de l'histoire, dans les romans, différents thèmes, sous-intrigues et scripts peuvent apparaître cela enrichit la lecture mais la rend plus complexe et difficile à suivre.

4. structure

Dans les deux genres narratifs, nous trouvons une structure sous la forme d'une approche, d'un nœud et d'un résultat. Cependant, alors que l'histoire adhère fermement à cette structure et qu'il est facile de définir à quel moment de l'histoire nous sommes, dans le roman peut apparaître des tours de script , nouveaux commencements ou même une série d'histoires parallèles qui rendent leur structure plus complexe.

5. Caractères

L'accent mis sur les personnages diffère également dans le roman et l'histoire . Bien que l'histoire se concentre généralement sur ce qu'il advient de quelques personnages dont la plupart sont délimités depuis le début, le roman peut contenir une grande variété de personnages dont le rôle peut varier et sera développé avec différents niveaux d'approfondissement.

6. Scénario

L’utilisation de l’espace et du temps est un autre point de différenciation entre histoire et roman. . Les faits relatés par l'histoire ont tendance à se produire dans une même zone ou un seul lieu ou à être liés à un seul voyage, alors que dans le roman, l'intrigue peut amener les personnages dans des environnements très différents les uns des autres. En ce qui concerne le temps, bien que dans les deux types de narration, les événements puissent se dérouler dans un intervalle de temps court ou long, il est plus fréquent que, dans le récit, les choses se déroulent dans de courtes périodes tandis que dans les romans, les événements sont prolongés.

De même, souvent, ni le moment ni le lieu ne sont eux-mêmes analysés dans le récit et ne sont qu'inférés, alors que dans les romans, ces aspects sont généralement délimités avec davantage de précision, tandis que le récit est beaucoup plus contextualisé (même s'il s'agit de lieux). et des temps qui n’ont jamais existé).

7. but

Le but des deux sexes présente également des différences. S'il est vrai que les deux sont un élément ludique, Le roman a pour but de divertir et, dans certains cas, de faire réfléchir les gens, tandis que l’histoire se concentre sur la transmission d’un enseignement. (généralement sous la forme d'une morale).

8. Forme de transmission

Une dernière différence peut être trouvée dans le roman est un développement littéraire qui est transmis par écrit . D'autre part, bien que l'histoire puisse apparaître par écrit, elle est traditionnellement transmise oralement.


What If the Soviet Union Reunited Today? (Juin 2024).


Articles Connexes