yes, therapy helps!
The 8 main types of maps, and their characteristics

The 8 main types of maps, and their characteristics

June 11, 2024

The different types of maps that exist they give account of the complexity of the territorial organization of the human beings and of the regions that we inhabit. These elements related to cartography can adopt the most unsuspected forms, depending on the criteria that have been used to design them.

In the next lines we will see a summary of the different kinds of maps going beyond the simple classification that distinguishes between the electronic map and the physical one.

  • Related article: "The 13 types of text and their characteristics"

The main types of maps

Here is a classification of the most popular types of maps.


1. Political map

This is one of the types of map in which physical elements are not represented, but rather only political territories and their limits appear: the borders . In them appear States or regions with a certain sovereignty and self-government. Regardless of the scale of what one wants to represent, be it a county or a supra-state organization, emphasis is placed on the notions of "inside" and "outside."

In cases where there is a territorial conflict that creates discrepancies between many parties involved, the borders are represented by dashed lines, a representation resource that is often used to mark the edges of a country's territorial waters.


Of course, as in a political map appear mainly theoretical constructs, to realize one it is necessary that they exist certain consensus on the limits of each political entity represented .

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 4 main branches of Anthropology: how they are and what they investigate"

2. Geographic map

Being probably one of the most used types of maps, try to give the information considered most relevant in most cases with regard to the physical elements of a territory, including scale representations of natural surfaces or built by human beings.

Normally, what you see in one of these maps is what you would see from a zenith perspective if you were to adopt a perspective of space from a very high point of view. You try to achieve a good level of realism.


On the other hand, the size of what you want to represent can vary a lot, going from the entire land surface to the area occupied by a single municipality .

3. Topographic map

This type of map is characterized by highlighting height differences (expressed in contour lines) and in general the relief of the earth's surface . It is also common to use coloring patterns to mark the space occupied by different kinds of geographical features.

4. Geological map

This type of map can be similar to the topological, since it represents natural elements, but in this case there is not so much emphasis on the relief and the shape of the earth's surface, and the type of minerals that make up the land. The latter is expressed many times using icons as symbology for the different minerals and natural formations such as springs, volcanoes, special mineral veins, and the like.

Thus, the variations of the territory that appear have to do with the characteristics of the mineral distribution and the shape of the tectonic plates. In general, it is about giving an image of both what is on the surface and what is underground.

5. Climate map

In this case, it is a matter of highlighting the climatic differences between regions. This is done by coloring in a homogeneous way each zone that shares the same type of climate, sometimes creating overlapping areas (in which several colors are mixed using patterns of thin stripes.

6. Urban map

Urban maps put emphasis on the elements of urbanized areas, that is, constructions made by humans and pedestrians and vehicles, to the point that in many cases nothing more than that appears, with the exception of natural elements such as coasts and rivers.

So, normally they represent only the space occupied by a city, district or neighborhood , everything to scale. The type of graphic elements used for this purpose are usually simple and minimalist, in most cases using only polygons.

Sometimes color changes are used to indicate the presence of different types of spaces: old center, parks, beaches, etc.

7. Transit map

This is a variation of the urban map that almost exclusively represents the layout of the public transport routes of a city, in a very simplified way. The routes of buses, trains, metro networks, and trams they are represented with colored lines, and the stations are marked for the main means of transport.

8. Weather map

This is the support used to show what the meteorological phenomena are or are going to be in each region, being represented with symbols that represent rain, storm, cloudy, etc. Due, the representation of the territory is usually simple , created only so that each region can be easily recognized without the need to include more information not related to meteorology, something that would saturate the image visually.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cosgrove D. E. (ed.) (1999). Mappings London: Reaktion Books.
  • O'Connor, J.J. and E.F. Robertson (2002) .The History of Cartography. St. Andrews: St. Andrews University.

Types of Maps (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 principaux types de cartes et leurs caractéristiques

Les 8 principaux types de cartes et leurs caractéristiques

Janvier 22, 2022

Les différents types de cartes qui existent ils rendent compte de la complexité de l'organisation territoriale des êtres humains et des régions que nous habitons. Ces éléments liés à la cartographie peuvent adopter les formes les plus insoupçonnées, en fonction des critères utilisés pour les concevoir.

Dans les lignes suivantes, nous verrons un résumé des différents types de cartes allant au-delà de la simple classification qui distingue la carte électronique de la carte physique.

  • Article connexe: "Les 13 types de texte et leurs caractéristiques"

Les principaux types de cartes

Voici une classification des types de cartes les plus populaires.


1. Carte politique

C’est l’un des types de carte dans lequel les éléments physiques ne sont pas représentés, mais plutôt seuls les territoires politiques et leurs limites apparaissent: les frontières . En eux apparaissent des États ou des régions dotés d’une certaine souveraineté et d’un gouvernement autonome. Quelle que soit l'ampleur de ce que l'on veut représenter, qu'il s'agisse d'un comté ou d'une organisation supranationale, l'accent est mis sur les notions d '"intérieur" et de "extérieur".

Dans les cas où un conflit territorial crée des divergences entre de nombreuses parties impliquées, les frontières sont représentées par des lignes pointillées, une ressource de représentation souvent utilisée pour marquer les limites des eaux territoriales d'un pays.


Bien sûr, comme dans une carte politique apparaissent principalement des constructions théoriques, pour en réaliser une, il est nécessaire qu’elles existent. consensus sur les limites de chaque entité politique représentée .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 4 branches principales de l'anthropologie: comment elles sont et ce qu'elles étudient"

2. Carte géographique

Étant probablement l’un des types de cartes les plus utilisés, essayez de donner les informations considérées comme les plus pertinentes dans la plupart des cas en ce qui concerne les éléments physiques d’un territoire, y compris des représentations à l’échelle de surfaces naturelles ou construites par des êtres humains.

Normalement, sur l'une de ces cartes, vous voyez ce que vous verriez d'un point de vue du zénith si vous deviez adopter une perspective de l'espace d'un très haut point de vue. Vous essayez d'atteindre un bon niveau de réalisme.


D'autre part, la taille de ce que vous voulez représenter peut varier beaucoup, allant de toute la surface du terrain à la superficie occupée par une seule municipalité .

3. Carte topographique

Ce type de carte se caractérise par la mise en évidence des différences de hauteur (exprimées en courbes de niveau) et en général le relief de la surface de la terre . Il est également courant d’utiliser des motifs de coloration pour marquer l’espace occupé par différents types de caractéristiques géographiques.

4. Carte géologique

Ce type de carte peut être similaire à la carte topologique, car il représente des éléments naturels, mais dans ce cas, l’accent n’est pas mis sur le relief, la forme de la surface de la Terre et le type de minéraux qui le composent. le terrain. Ce dernier est exprimé à plusieurs reprises en utilisant des icônes comme symbologie pour les différents minéraux et formations naturelles tels que des sources, des volcans, des veines minérales spéciales, etc.

Ainsi, les variations du territoire qui apparaissent dépendent des caractéristiques de la distribution des minéraux et de la forme des plaques tectoniques. En général, il s'agit de donner une image à la fois de ce qui est à la surface et de ce qui est sous terre.

5. Carte climatique

Dans ce cas, il s’agit de mettre en évidence les différences climatiques entre les régions. Ceci est fait en colorant de manière homogène chaque zone qui partage le même type de climat, créant parfois des zones qui se chevauchent (dans lesquels plusieurs couleurs sont mélangées en utilisant des motifs de fines rayures.

6. Carte urbaine

Les cartes urbaines mettent l’accent sur les éléments des zones urbanisées, c’est-à-dire les constructions construites par les hommes et les piétons et les véhicules, à tel point que, dans de nombreux cas, rien de plus n’apparaît à part éléments naturels tels que les côtes et les rivières.

Donc, normalement, ils ne représentent que l'espace occupé par une ville, un quartier ou un quartier , tout à l'échelle. Les types d'éléments graphiques utilisés à cette fin sont généralement simples et minimalistes, n'utilisant généralement que des polygones.

Parfois, les changements de couleur sont utilisés pour indiquer la présence de différents types d'espaces: centre ancien, parcs, plages, etc.

7. Carte de transit

Il s’agit d’une variante de la carte urbaine qui représente de manière très simple le tracé des voies de transport en commun d’une ville. Les itinéraires de bus, trains, réseaux de métro et tramways elles sont représentées par des lignes de couleur et les gares sont désignées comme principal moyen de transport.

8. Carte météorologique

C’est le support utilisé pour montrer ce que sont ou seront les phénomènes météorologiques dans chaque région, représenté par des symboles représentant la pluie, l’orage, les nuages, etc. Comme conséquence, la représentation du territoire est généralement simple , créé uniquement pour que chaque région puisse être facilement reconnue sans qu'il soit nécessaire d'inclure davantage d'informations non liées à la météorologie, ce qui saturerait l'image visuellement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cosgrove D. E. (ed.) (1999). Mappages Londres: Reaktion Books.
  • O'Connor, J.J. et E.F. Robertson (2002) .L'histoire de la cartographie. St. Andrews: Université de St. Andrews.

Microphones partie 1 : Les principaux types (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes