yes, therapy helps!
The 8 most common mental disorders in adolescence

The 8 most common mental disorders in adolescence

June 8, 2022

Mental problems do not occur only in adulthood, but approximately 1 out of 5 children and adolescents suffer from a psychological disorder . In fact many of the most common disorders, such as mood and anxiety, often develop or begin to manifest during adolescence and youth.

  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

Common psychological disorders in adolescence

In this article we will describe 8 of the most common mental health problems in adolescence . All of them are caused to a greater or lesser extent by an interaction between the biological predisposition and the effects of the environment, and their symptoms tend to resemble those of adults the older the adolescent is.


1. Major depression and dysthymia

According to the DSM-IV, major depressive disorder is characterized by the presence of a pathologically low mood and difficulty in obtaining pleasure through the performance of rewarding activities (anhedonia). Dysthymia is a depressive disorder whose symptoms have a lower intensity but which remain chronic for at least 2 years.

Depressive disorders are twice as common in women as in men and begin more frequently in the third and fourth decades of life, although they can appear at any age. The experience of traumatic experiences and learning deogenous beliefs during childhood they are relevant factors in its development.


  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

2. Generalized anxiety disorder

People with generalized anxiety disorder worry excessively and systematically because of their negative, often irrational, expectations. This causes associated physical and cognitive symptoms to appear as insomnia, irritability, stomach pain, sweating and muscle tension .

Like depression, generalized anxiety disorder is twice as common in women. It is very common that people with this problem are also diagnosed with other anxiety and mood disorders, especially dysthymia.

  • You may be interested: "Generalized Anxiety Disorder: symptoms, causes and treatment"

3. Substance abuse and dependence

The consumption of psychoactive substances, such as alcohol, cannabis or cocaine, commonly begins during adolescence. Although many adolescents make a punctual consumption or leave it after a while, in other cases they can develop disorders due to abuse or dependence of these substances with a high risk of chronification.


4. Dissocial and defiant negativist disorders

Dyssocial disorder is a variant of early onset and less severe antisocial personality disorder. The criteria for dissocial disorder include the use of physical and verbal violence against people or other animals, theft, the destruction of other people's property or serious violations of parental and academic school rules.

An associated problem is the defiant negativist disorder, which is diagnosed in children and adolescents who disobey adults, have a marked tendency to anger and accuse other people of their bad behavior. The diagnostic criteria for these behavior disorders have been criticized for including value judgments of an ethical nature.

5. Anorexia, bulimia and binge eating disorder

Anorexia and bulimia nervosa are frequently associated with adolescence and youth, although they can appear at any time of life. Psychosocial factors are currently contributing to a advance of the average age of onset of these eating disorders in a good part of the world.

Binge eating disorder is an alteration that is included in the same category and has recently been included in the DSM-5. It is characterized by the presence of episodes of compulsive eating similar to those that occur in bulimia, although it is associated with obesity due to the absence of compensatory behaviors such as the induction of vomiting.

  • Related article: "The 10 most common eating disorders"

6. Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder

The controversial attention deficit hyperactivity disorder is usually diagnosed in childhood. In more than half of the cases the symptoms remit in the adolescence and the youth, but in the rest they remain during the adult life. ADHD implies an increase in the likelihood of developing addictions, depression or anxiety disorders .

Since the popularization of the diagnosis of ADHD is relatively recent, it is common to find similar alterations in adults diagnosed with impulse control disorders, as well as other psychological problems related to impulsiveness and psychophysiological agitation.

7. Social phobia

People with social anxiety disorder, better known as social phobia, feel great discomfort in situations that involve interaction with other people . This can cause physical and cognitive symptoms typical of panic attacks, such as tachycardia and breathing difficulties. In many cases it is due to rejection or bullying.

8. Adaptive and stress disorders

Adaptive disorders are diagnosed when the person presents anxious or depressive symptoms of moderate intensity as a consequence of significant life events. These problems are more common in young people, including adolescents, since they tend to have less effective strategies to cope with stress.

Something similar happens with acute stress disorder and with post-traumatic stress disorder. While the first label is used when the symptoms caused by a traumatic event last less than a month, post-traumatic stress disorder is a more serious and lasting variant that carries a high risk of suicide.


How to Recognize Signs of Mental Illness in Children (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 troubles mentaux les plus courants à l'adolescence

Les 8 troubles mentaux les plus courants à l'adolescence

Août 17, 2019

Les problèmes mentaux ne surviennent pas seulement à l’âge adulte, mais environ 1 enfant et adolescent sur 5 souffre d'un trouble psychologique . En fait, bon nombre des troubles les plus courants, tels que l'humeur et l'anxiété, se développent ou commencent à se manifester pendant l'adolescence et la jeunesse.

  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Troubles psychologiques courants à l'adolescence

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire 8 des problèmes de santé mentale les plus courants à l'adolescence . Tous sont plus ou moins causés par une interaction entre la prédisposition biologique et les effets de l’environnement, et leurs symptômes ont tendance à ressembler à ceux des adultes plus l’âge de l’adolescent est grand.


1. Dépression majeure et dysthymie

Selon le DSM-IV, le trouble dépressif majeur est caractérisé par la présence d'une humeur pathologiquement basse et par la difficulté à obtenir du plaisir par l'exercice d'activités enrichissantes (anhédonie). La dysthymie est un trouble dépressif dont les symptômes sont moins intenses mais qui restent chroniques pendant au moins deux ans.

Les troubles dépressifs sont deux fois plus fréquents chez les femmes que chez les hommes et commencent plus fréquemment au cours des troisième et quatrième décennies de la vie, bien qu'ils puissent apparaître à tout âge. L'expérience des expériences traumatiques et l'apprentissage des croyances déogènes pendant l'enfance, ce sont des facteurs pertinents dans son développement.


  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

2. Trouble d'anxiété généralisé

Les personnes atteintes de trouble d'anxiété généralisée s'inquiètent excessivement et systématiquement à cause de leurs attentes négatives, souvent irrationnelles. Cela provoque l'apparition de symptômes physiques et cognitifs associés. insomnie, irritabilité, maux d'estomac, transpiration et tension musculaire .

Comme la dépression, le trouble d'anxiété généralisé est deux fois plus répandu chez les femmes. Il est très courant que les personnes atteintes de ce problème reçoivent également un diagnostic d'anxiété et de troubles de l'humeur, en particulier de dysthymie.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Trouble d'anxiété généralisée: symptômes, causes et traitement"

3. Toxicomanie et dépendance

La consommation de substances psychoactives, telles que l'alcool, le cannabis ou la cocaïne, commence généralement pendant l'adolescence. Bien que beaucoup d'adolescents fassent une consommation ponctuelle ou la quittent au bout d'un moment, dans d'autres cas, ils peuvent développer des troubles dus à l'abus ou à la dépendance de ces substances avec un risque élevé de chronification.


4. Troubles négativistes dissociaux et provocants

Le trouble dyssocial est une variante du trouble de la personnalité antisociale précoce et moins grave. Les critères pour le désordre dissocial incluent l'utilisation de la violence physique et verbale contre des personnes ou d'autres animaux, le vol, la destruction de biens d'autrui ou de graves violations des règles de l'école parentale et académique.

Un problème associé est le trouble négativiste provocant, qui est diagnostiqué chez les enfants et les adolescents qui désobéissent aux adultes, ont une tendance marquée à la colère et à accuser les autres personnes de leur mauvais comportement. Les critères de diagnostic de ces troubles du comportement ont été critiqués pour leur inclusion de jugements de valeur de nature éthique.

5. Anorexie, boulimie et frénésie alimentaire

L'anorexie et la boulimie sont fréquemment associées à l'adolescence et à la jeunesse, bien qu'elles puissent apparaître à tout moment de la vie. Des facteurs psychosociaux contribuent actuellement à une avance de l'âge moyen d'apparition de ces troubles de l'alimentation dans une bonne partie du monde.

La frénésie alimentaire est une modification qui fait partie de la même catégorie et qui a récemment été incluse dans le DSM-5. Il se caractérise par la présence d'épisodes de consommation compulsive similaires à ceux de la boulimie, bien qu'il soit associé à l'obésité en raison de l'absence de comportements compensatoires tels que l'induction de vomissements.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants"

6. Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention

Le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention controversé est généralement diagnostiqué pendant l'enfance. Dans plus de la moitié des cas, les symptômes disparaissent à l'adolescence et chez les jeunes, mais dans le reste, ils persistent pendant la vie adulte. TDAH implique une augmentation de la risque de développer une dépendance, une dépression ou des troubles anxieux .

La vulgarisation du diagnostic de TDAH étant relativement récente, il est fréquent de trouver des altérations similaires chez les adultes diagnostiqués avec des troubles du contrôle des impulsions, ainsi que d'autres problèmes psychologiques liés à l'impulsivité et à l'agitation psychophysiologique.

7. Phobie sociale

Les personnes atteintes de trouble d'anxiété sociale, mieux connues sous le nom de phobie sociale, ressentent un grand inconfort situations qui impliquent une interaction avec d'autres personnes . Cela peut provoquer des symptômes physiques et cognitifs typiques des attaques de panique, tels que la tachycardie et des difficultés respiratoires. Dans de nombreux cas, cela est dû au rejet ou à l’intimidation.

8. Troubles d'adaptation et de stress

Les troubles adaptatifs sont diagnostiqués lorsque la personne présente symptômes anxieux ou dépressifs d'intensité modérée comme conséquence d'événements de la vie importants. Ces problèmes sont plus fréquents chez les jeunes, y compris les adolescents, car ils ont tendance à avoir des stratégies moins efficaces pour faire face au stress.

Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec le trouble de stress aigu et le trouble de stress post-traumatique. Alors que la première étiquette est utilisée lorsque les symptômes causés par un événement traumatique durent moins d’un mois, le syndrome de stress post-traumatique est une variante plus grave et durable comportant un risque élevé de suicide.


Marc Gury et Noëlle Jouadi : Repérer les signes d'alerte chez les adolescents (Août 2019).


Articles Connexes